Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    C

    Excellent location, worn out hotel room

    Reviewed by CanUk9 on Dec 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is our 3rd (and final) stay at this hotel. Our oceanfront room #1434 had superb views of Waikiki beach but the room was a big let-down. We asked for a special cleaning of the bathroom as we felt it was dirty but as the enclosed photos show, the cleaning did not remove the grunge around the bath and sink overflows or behind the sink. Most nights we endured howling wind noise due to badly fitting doors. This hotel is outdated and needs to be brought up to 21st century standards. To add insult to injury we were charged a "Resort amenity" fee of nearly CDN$400 per week for benefits we did not use.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4433 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Overcharged resort fees twice!

    Reviewed by Anya911(Sydney, Australia) on Jun 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    My stay at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel was hit and miss. Partial ocean view room had a view of next door building and I was overcharged resort fees twice. According to the hotel I have never paid it, and according to my booking agent I have. The hotel ignoring my emails in regards to refund for 2 weeks now, I would not recommend dealing with them to anybody, check and print your bookings twice and be prepared to wait long time for check in, no big towels available for the beach and you can not put a chair to your balcony because it will not fit ( see my photos).Also you can not open balcony door fully, only as much as it showed on the photo. On a bright side housekeeping did an excellent job, my room was always very clean, had no issues with wifi either. I am very disappointed with my stay, especially because of the hotel ignoring mine and my agent emails for 2 weeks now, I will not stay there ever again, hope they will use my money to improve their “resort services” that do not exist anyway.

    2nd time and didn't disappoint!

    Reviewed by Cheryl P() on Jun 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Aloha. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is beachfront down the zoo end of Waikiki across the road from Kuhio Beach and it’s a pleasant 10 minute walk to the centre of the strip. Location, location, location. There is a trolley stop and tour bus pick up /drop off just near the concierge desk. It was a short walk to Kuhio Avenue to get The Bus. Just got home from my second visit to Oahu and my second stay at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. They kindly gave us a 20% discount as returning customers. I requested and was given the same room as last time on the 10th floor in a premier oceanfront room which was a pleasant surprise as I did not really expect it. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable as last time. The view from the full lanai (witch had two chairs) was stunning as I had remembered it. Many a morning and night it was well utilised to watch the sunsets, fireworks and two different parades for King Kamehameha and the Pan Pacific Festival or to just chill. There is a small fridge and Keurig coffee machine in the room that was well used. They give you two free coffee pods every day. The toiletries were good quality however there was no shower cap so I would advise you to take one as I did. There is a safe, a hairdryer and an iron with ironing board and two bathrobes for use. The room was serviced every day and supplies were replenished. We left housekeeping a few dollars tip each day as I imagine it is back breaking work. We always left the room clean and tidy for her. The wifi was brilliant. Never an issue. Same with the in room air conditioning. There was an ice machine on our floor which was handy to refill our drink bottles with iced water before going out exploring. We used the pool area to cool down after a day out touring which was quick and refreshing along with a cocktail from Tiki’s bar. Economical too if you go during happy hour (s). You can’t charge to your room so you will need some cash. You can sign out pool towels and beach chairs to use outside of the hotel without cost. With the beach across the road this was very handy. One of the stand out aspects of this hotel is the staff. Sean on the front desk was friendly, professional and informative as we arrived after our long flight and he got us into our room within minutes. Mercy the room attendant was unobtrusive, thorough, and always greeting us with a smile and aloha (as did every staff member we came across). The lifts have a unique system which I think work very well. You punch in your room number and scan your door card and you are directed to a particular lift. This is a good safety feature. It seems to group floors together. That is, floor 10 and over, levels one and three etc. One day, we got the hotel shuttle to Waikele outlets for $16 each return. They had various pick up and drop off times. We had used their Pearl Harbour shuttle the visit before. Anyway, I accidently left a perfume package in the shuttle. I had so many bags that day! The kind concierge organised for it to be dropped off the next day. I didn’t get his name however I would like to thank him very much. This was a no frills kind of place however I believe the Coconut Club has just been launched which would suit some people. Thank you Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel for another wonderful stay. Your staff are a credit to your organisation. I will be back. Mahalo.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Good value

    Reviewed by jsdkoc(Auckland Central, New Zealand) on Jun 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    When we arrived at level 1 and it was crowded and basic looking, I wondered if our booking was a big mistake. However our room was well very equipped and comfortable with a fabulous view and the staff were very friendly and helpful. E.g. the room only has a coffee machine, so I phoned housekeeping and a kettle was delivered within 5 minutes. This hotel is not flashy but it's good value and well served by restaurants another shops nearby and the waikiki trolley stops right outside the door. I do think the $39/day resort fee is too high for what you get.

    $100 p/day now for parking & resort fees.....

    Reviewed by JR M(Anchorage, Alaska) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I have stayed here twice a year for over a decade and have watched the prices go up as the services go down... No more buffet breakfasts, parking and resort fees have doubled, live music at the Tiki Bar was inconsistent as compared to the past... The Staff were friendly and my room was always cleaned daily but with the double the costs in fees it is no longer the great deal it used to be... At my last check in, the Receptionist had no idea I had stayed there before, she said there were new Owners and the records were purged, after 20 visits over a decade I can see they have no concern about repeat cliental... Time to explore other Hotels to find a better value...

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-2

    Out of the hustle and bustle

    Reviewed by taram772(Louisville, Kentucky) on Jun 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This property is on the south end of Waikiki, toward the end of the hustle and bustle of the strip. Convenient to walk to most shops and restaurants in Waikiki and will be a reasonable walk to Diamond Head once the west entrance opens. We didn't take advantage of the pool or other commons areas, but we paid a hefty resort fee for them. The room was comfortable, though the elevator system is a pain, especially when crowds are light. Oh, and there are several desks of agents selling tours of the area; don't make eye contact.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX