Aina Nalu Lahaina by Outrigger Condo

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    B

    It sucked! Our entire vacation was ruined because of this.

    Reviewed by Beverly Berger on Mar 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    NEVER go back. 4th yr there. Wrong room. Asked for 582 which we always got prior. Husband booked through West Jet and said Garden View instead of Courtside. Hotel said the notified you that Room 582 was not in Garden View. Nobody notified us of the error therefore we had no option to correct it. We spent first week moving from room to room. Spent 2 days waiting to get into our room. Had cockroach in one room. All rooms face the sun. Could not use balcony (like we always did) as so frickin' hot. One room on lawn level; next one had huge tree that had branches rubbing on the balcony railings; thank God that was the one with the cockroach so then they moved us. Nothing done in this area of hotel. 1960's look. Not even drapes. Wooden barn door type covering over balcony doors. Hallways absolutely filthy. This is at 2:15 A.M. that we are hauling our luggage round. Also, with room changes on gift for someone had home "vanished" as did 1 blush and 2 eye shadows. Not impressed. So finally, I think this brings us to fourth room. It was good. Had go view but too hot to experience it as again we were place on the south side of hotel. We spent 1/2 of our previous 3 vacations on the balcony as was on north side of building. They should let people know of the disarray that part of the hotel is in. Obviously no updates since it was built. There was a shower in that room that I would have barely fit in to. I am 5'2" and weigh 134 lbs. My husband is a tall large man would have never even got in.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    b

    Don't stay if you are seeking relaxation

    Reviewed by bpenbert on Feb 24, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Pros: Location, Beds, Bathrooms, WIFI, Cable, Washer/Dryer, Microwave and good Air Conditioners, but they are loud. TV's are HD but not large. Negatives: No seating, there are two big chairs and a couch with broken springs or something, need a pillow to sit on, the chairs are good for two people to sit and the bar stools face away from the living room and TV. No dining or kitchen table. Parking is 20.00USD/Day Very small fridge. Only one pot to cook in and all non stick frying pans stick, Small and Noisy Dishwasher. No Late checkout, you must vacate at 11:00AM, even if flights leave at 11:45PM. No Vacuum cleaner. The Pool is very close but always busy with children and babies, no solitude or relaxation. The BBQ are about 150-200' away and always busy, no table to eat at anyway. The upstairs neighbours were very noisy when we were there for 2 weeks.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1265 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great location

    Reviewed by Jbhes(Lompoc, California) on Apr 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed at Aina about ten years ago and the changes were generally not positive. The positives. The unit was clean, well equipped and the bed was comfortable. Location was great for walking about Lahaina. However. The greeting and departure contact at the front lobby was very neutral. On our previous visit it was very friendly and included a welcome drink. The added cleaning and parking charges were negative changes since our previous visit. Only the bed was comfortable. We were never able to get one TV to work and the other TV needed special attention every time it was used. Since we were not on Maui to watch TV we did not report the issues until our departure when we left a written report of the issues at the front desk. We will probably not return or recommend Aina. Maybe, if this was our first visit, we would not felt so negative about this visit. However, when comparing to our previous visit, the changes made it an overall negative.

    En oplevelse

    Reviewed by rejsebjorn() on Mar 31, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Be aware on arrival at the hotel you will be asked if you want to park in the hotel area or if you want to find a parking space on the street, outside the hotel area… If you choose the street and afterwards regret it, it´s just a pity for you, cause then you have to pay parking for all the days you have stayed there - that is, for all the days you have parked outside ...and no – they will not refund. And it will mean that you have to buy a parking place and your hotel stay at the same time, either you want it or not. Perhaps they should make it more understandable so we all could have a chance to understand it?. We did, however, see normal Americans that where checking out, being very shock at this and said it was a scam. It seemed like it wasn't quite clear from the hotel - what it was the hotel actually was selling!!! It such a pity to end our stay after such an experience. Apparently the receptionist was fully aware of this. It seemed like the hotel had enough guests and they were the ones who set the rules, and we could just had at stay home. When we arrived we were very tired, so the noise that was in the hotel room we thought was coming from the air-condition. Next night nothing was switched on, and that´s when we found out it was the fridge, that where making those laud uninterrupted sound in a very high tone. We turned it off and a natural defrost occurred. So after I cleaned it, it was put on the lowest keel and worked as it should - quiet. At this hotel, there is no cleaning on our stay. So we had to keep it clean around us. When we left, we had to pay 150 dollars finally for cleaning and tax. Therefore, it was very surprising that we found a filled trash bin from the last guest…. it was pretty disgusting. After contacting the reception, it was picked up quickly. Very disgusting, specially when thinking of what we paid for, not a work that was done. The day before we left the hotel, the socket/power outlet over the kitchen table went kaput, no power. We had to used the bathroom's socket for boiling of water and toaster. We informed the reception and they said that they might do it while we were there, but we said that we were on vacation and thought they could do the repair the next day when we left the hotel. We would`t spend more time on several repairs there. There are a naturally amount of many chickens in the Hawaii Islands. You have to be prepared for that. At this hotel, every night they started to talk already at 03am and 4am and 5am and 6am, you have the opportunity to get early up and experience the sunrise.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Maui get away!!!

    Reviewed by TimEnright(Yuba City, California) on Mar 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    A very relaxing vacation and great place to stay. Only walking distance from Lahaina. We stayed 8 nights and the accommodations were great. Two bedroom condo with everything and it was fairly inexpensive. Parking was the big hassle though. They charge $20 a night to park and you can’t do day by day. It’s an all or nothing deal. You could park on the street for free if your lucky enough or you could pay $15 to park across the street.

    Great location and atmosphere

    Reviewed by montanavisitor(Billings, Montana) on Mar 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    As usual, the Aina Nalu did not disappoint! My husband and I have stayed there every time we have visited Maui in the past 18 years and we love its location and amenities. Being so close to Front Street and the restaurants there is always immensely attractive to us.

    great location, bit run down

    Reviewed by cank(dubai) on Mar 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Although this is a great location, it is getting a bit run down. The rooms were not clean and the rugs smelled. The furniture is getting old and worn. The dishes were dirty in the cupboard so we had to wash them before we used them. Positives Location - you are right in the middle of town and easy to walk to most things. There are local buses that stop at back of Wharf if you need to go a bit further out - $2 one way or $4 for all day. Great front desk help No bugs in room Negatives - if at back - you hear roosters and highway non-stop Rude "concierge" lady who is only there to sell you trips. Freezing cold swimming pools and a hot tub that varied from tepid to extremely hot daily Not enough lounge chairs Garbages full around resort because guests are too lazy to take them out back Ridiculously high cleaning fee at end.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX