Aston Kaanapali Shores Condo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    D

    Nice Resort...but the beach is Gone!

    Reviewed by Deegan Pope on Jun 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    The only issue is there is NO BEACH anymore. You can't even go in the water. It's all jagged lava rock. Where the beach used to be there is now a wall that the water breaks onto and when the tide is low it is all rocks. Apparently there was a storm and the big rollers dug out all the sand in late 2014. Disappointed as the main thing we specified with westjet was we wanted direct beach access and they suggested this place. Otherwise, the staff was excellent. We booked 3 Condos all of which were really nice. Ours had some nice turtles tiled into the flooring. Our kids loved the pool which had lit up water spouts at night and a mini volcano and a water fall. We pretty much spent all our time in the pool when we were at the hotel. The hotel had lots of free things like Free Movie/PS3 rental machines, great tennis courts and equipement, free scuba lessons and hula lessons. Generally the staff and management are top notch.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Had an amazing time in Maui and enjoyed our stay at thIs resort!

    Reviewed by Jadetrix on Mar 06, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just returned from our second trip to Maui, first trip in 2011 and the first time we stayed at Aston Kaanapali Shores. Overall, my husband and I were very happy with the resort. I will agree with the other comments on the annoying $18/day resort fee and $9/day parking fee. The location is super convenient to a shopping area across the street, including groceries, fast food, clothing and breakfast and coffee shop. Kaanapali is a great area to be on Maui. Close to many amazing beaches!! The staff at Aston Kaanapali Shores were top notch! We requested a top floor suite which was available the second day of our trip. The move was worth it The new suite had a beautiful garden/pool and ocean view! Our studio kitchen was stocked with the basics. It pretty had much everything for utensils and cooking/eating. One thing we were surprised to find it lacking was salt and pepper. The resort did supply soap for the hand washing dishes and for the dishwasher. Everyday we got fresh bathroom and kitchen towels as well. The room was kept nice and clean and had modern updates. The resort itself has beautiful gardens and two pools and two hot tubs. The pools were great, the one hot tub in the garden area was in need of a cleaning, but the other hot tub by the beach pool was sparkling clean. The grounds were well maintained. The resort also has a two convenience stores with sundries. The pool/beach restaurant has great service and the food was good. Nothing exceptional and on the pricey side. Just an FYI in general nothing to do with this resort , on this trip we found the traffic from the airport to Northwest Maui to be painfully slow. We had to slow down to a turtles pace of 20-30 miles, even stopping completely a few times. The worst times to travel seem to be around 2:30pm-6pm daily. Overall, we would stay at Aston Kaanapali Shores again and I would recommend it for anyone thinking about staying at this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2826 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Enjoyable

    Reviewed by ExplorerAlaska(Lynden, Washington) on Feb 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We rented our room through a private source so cannot comment on Aston rooms specifically. The resort had 2 nice pools and hot tubs. Grounds are nice and the on site restraunt is decent. There isn't really a good beach here, but within a 5-10 minute walk you can access Kaanapali beach that is a lovely long Sandy Beach. From the resort you can enjoy beautiful sunsets, and observe whales & dolphins. There is an on site gift shop, health club, spa, and salon. Across the street is a grocery store and few other shops. You can also walk to Whalers Village via the beach walk ( get directions to beach walk). It is about 2.4 miles each way - a lovely walk.

    Mid-range resort. Good location

    Reviewed by TorontoOntario(Toronto, Canada) on Jan 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Stayed here over the Christmas/New Year's holiday. Reserved and pre-paid for a 2 bedroom unit with 2 bathrooms but very disappointed as I only got 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom garden view unit. Hotel said that the problem with the supplier, HotelBeds system and apparently this resort has experienced this problem before with HotelBeds reservations so best to re-confirm any reservations. Keep in mind that HotelBeds distributes through Bedsonline and GTA TravelBound, tour companies, airlines, etc. A 2 bedroom unit with 2 bathrooms wasn't available so I had to stay in the 1 bedroom unit. Unit faced into the courtyard. Between 6 and 7 every morning and at night, an unbelievable amount of miner birds sit on the roof edge or trees and chirp/scream loudly. It's cool to watch/listen to in the evening but not conducive to sleeping in for the mornings. The windows are single pane and not soundproof and these birds make a real racket. I also heard people calling at each other across the courtyard in the morning. It might be less noisy in an oceanfront suite, further away from the courtyard. Our unit was not clean. Walls, fridge doors had dirty smudge marks....I'm sure easily cleaned with a Magic Eraser. Unit was dated and could use a refurbishment. Kitchen was not well equipped. Pots and pans, kitchen tools, etc. were old or cheap. Fridge had a few dents in it, loud dishwasher, washer and dryer were small apartment sized and loud. Bed was not comfortable at all. Definitely needs an upgrade. Housekeeping was hit and miss. We never received enough towels or bath amenity supplies and unit was overall dirty. Air conditioning unit is loud. Beach is not a nice beach. Small. Lots of rocks. Better to drive elsewhere. Location of resort on West Maui is good. Food trucks and other food places are nearby as well as a supermarket. But next visit, I will stay in the Kaanapali area where they have better beaches. Would I stay here again? Probably not until the windows are upgraded to soundproof it better and the rooms are upgraded. Plus, Lahaina or Kaanapali would be a better place to stay in West Maui.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    More Maui, More Ka’anapali Shores!

    Reviewed by moniqueh647(Knoxville, Tennessee) on Jan 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Best part of my Hawaii vacation! The laid back and pleasant atmosphere of the Aston just made Maui amazing. Came to the island exclusively to run a race. I did not expect such a wonderful time at the hotel, considering it was a last minute choice. Highlights: Room: Room 203, great location and view. Had a AC problem which was quickly handled. Room was spacious and clean. Room had two patios close to the beach. Food: We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the beach club. Loco Moco.....the best! Healthy mushroom gravy portion. Lunch, buffalo wings. Sweet and spicy, great flavor. Hot out of the kitchen. Dinner, seafood pasta. No words! Very fresh seafood with a great cream sauce. Special thanks to Fernando who looked after my husband and I. Excellent service! Everything else: loved the relaxing vibe at the pool. Very clean. We rented a cabana which was comfortable. Happy and kind owners/patrons. Lots of pool fun. Overall very relaxing and I cannot wait to come back. Can’t imagine staying anyplace else on Maui! Thank you!

    family vacation, bday

    Reviewed by Di K() on Jan 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We booked the resort with Costco and overall trip saved us about 1500 from when I was looking on my own. The resort was super nice, all open. Staff was amazingly friendly and helpful from greeting to goodbye. Room service was excellent. 2 pools, both were super nice and clean. Hot tub was working, outdoor showers and super nice short walkway to the beach. They even let us prorate the last day since we were not leaving until 930pm and check out was at 11am. That was super nice. The only negative is that every morning around 515am the delivery truck backup horns could be heard until about 730 things were a bit noisy and the mattresses on both the pull out and queen were not very comfortable, but otherwise great stay.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Poor housekeeping service

    Reviewed by lovelygirl27() on Jan 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We stayed for 5 days in this hotel. The room was pretty nice lay out with kitchen,living room and 2 bedrooms but they were not cleaned regularly. Toiletries like shampoo/conditioner,soaps, lotion were not replenished daily.Maintainance guy just barged into our room without permission and without any job order request from us. Dirty rag was left on the bedside table by the housekeeper once or twice. Beds were not made. We had to put a note to housekeeper to change our bed linens and make our beds.???

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX