Sunscape Cove Montego Bay

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    C

    Would definitely return in the future! Had a fantastic week!

    Reviewed by Courtney on Apr 06, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    all in all, it is a great well rounded resort, especially when traveling with kids! Would I go back to this resort with just me and my husband looking for a kid free vacation? I am unsure, it would really depend on how badly I wanted to get away from kids LOL They do a great job of catering to kids and have tons of activities happening throughout the day and evening for kids. And since this was a vacation more so for my daughter, it hit every check point that we were looking for. But this should be something to keep in mind if you are looking for a kid free vacation and thinking about this resort. I have been to the Caribbean multiple times, on resorts as well as cruises, and Jamaica is for sure on my top list of destinations to revisit. And at Sunscape Cove you definitely get very good value for your money!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    k

    Wonderful family resort

    Reviewed by kr on Aug 05, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    This is a great family resort, great beach, lots of activities. The waterpark was awesome.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    A great hotel for families with a budget. The waterpark and pools for kids are fantastic.

    Reviewed by Travlgurl on Jul 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The resort was well kept and rooms are very spacious. Really enjoyed the beach front room. The staff were very kind and did their best to accomodate.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Really liked it

    Reviewed by Diane on Jul 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Wow I have to say that for a value property it was awesome especially for family I would definitely good back for sure

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Ocean View was Fantastic!

    Reviewed by Di on Jul 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I loved this resort, it was very picturesque, there is something for everyone in a family, food was great, and the service was amazing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Fun for the whole family!

    Reviewed by Globetrotter on Jul 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Wonderful family friendly resort. Great waterpark for kids. Clean and spacious room. Welcoming staff. Overall, great property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Great value for families

    Reviewed by Jen on Jul 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    beautiful calm beach - great for young children to play in - access to the water park but can also have the quiet area as well-

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Would stay here again

    Reviewed by Kelly Anderson on Jul 20, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great Value Hotel

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Family fun for all!

    Reviewed by Sue on Jul 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    This hotel was fun and friendly. Something for everyone.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1767 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Family Trip to Jamaica

    Reviewed by amuth01() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    3 of my family joined 10 other friends and family for a week at Sunscape Cove & Splash. Very nice trip. Very nice resort. My family stayed at Cove. Edison was our butler. He was very professional and responsive. Made our stay more enjoyable and convenient for us by bringing us refreshments, coordinating dinner reservations and excursions.

    The Good, the Bad, and Ugly

    Reviewed by jwabb2432() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The Good - The service at the Cove restaurants (Terrace and DaMario) was very good: Deneashia (was our favorite), Jhonale, Joy, Shane, Omar and Albert Jump! The service at the Cove lobby bar was outstanding Lenworth made the best Margarita's and kept us entertained at night, and Rickie (day time bartender) and Shaquille Moore who filled in for Lenworth one night! Cove lobby Vinroy Bowen The Bad - The rest of the resort is in total disarray. The AC in the room was very noisy. The service and food at the rest of the resort bars and restaurants was completely hit or miss (mostly miss). Food quality at the buffet was OK at best. The drinks were not mixed properly and you had to wait for someone to take your order even though they weren't doing anything, or they would wait on people that were close to where they were standing (don't want to move to much). The beach (or lack there of) was the worst I've ever seen at a resort, the beach was dirty, the beach chairs and umbrella's were broken (around the pools also) and people would just move your stuff and take over your area...so rude! The life guards (sleeping, on phones) don't even pay attention to what is going on, my daughter-in-law had to run in and rescue a little girl struggling to get out of the terrible current that the slides make, and the life guard (what a joke) did nothing....he didn't even her and he was sitting 10 feet away! Entertainment staff was OK at best. Beach Security guard drinking a beer at 10 am... The Ugly - The rooms were like staying at a (no tell) motel, that you would only stay at because it's another 100 miles down the highway to a Redroof inn. The rooms were clean but he tub was stained and there was mold in the grout. We booked two rooms (family vacation) and both rooms were in the same condition! The so called beach. We would never go back to this resort, nor would I ever recommend it to anyone!!!! Feel bad for the staff that really do try because, it seems management gives them little to work with.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Some good, offset by really not

    Reviewed by John N() on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    There are actually two 'properties' combined here, the Cove and Splash. We stayed in the Cove, which seems to be the better accommodations from discussions with folks here. The whole place is dated - you can imagine how a property that is over 35 years old would show it's age, and it does. They do keep it clean and the staff is friendly and attentive. They just have some really goofy rules they have to enforce. For instance, the pool closes at 5. Period. It is still light for a period of time, but they close it. The one that really gets my goat is trying to get a basketball. Mind you, all three hoops are destroyed, but my son insists one is good enough to try to use. We go one day to ask for the basketball, it is flat. Come back we are told. We come back, they say it is signed out. We go check the courts, no one. This morning we go at 8 when the games center opens to sign it out. Can't - not until 10. Why 10? Its the rule. The hut is open, but no basketball till 10. Lots of little maddening things like that. The one rule they don't enforce is that it seems there is a European practice of 'reserving seats' with towels. By 0700, there are no lounge chairs to be had at the pool or beach. The practice is disallowed, but they don't enforce this rule. Otherwise, the food is pretty pedestrian as you might expect from a 'not quite' all inclusive. You have to purchase wine if you want it. Don't have your hopes up for Gin and Tonic because apparently only one bar has tonic water. Its relatively quiet and clean, landscaped and the beach has calm water due to the breaks. Good snorkeling right off the beach, go a little further out to the reef and it is even better. Kellys watersports with scuba is on site. Great staff there, good dives though Montego Bay just doesn't have a lot to look at. The rooms are being renovated. Nothing to gloat on there but I don't spend my time there anyway. Hard Rock is right next door and you can use it. Restaurants are on some rotating schedule. None are "very good" but you will be fed.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Not up to UVC standards

    Reviewed by Wanderer50509352294(Janesville, Wisconsin) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Staff unfriendly and unhelpful. Rooms small and outdated. Gift shops are a joke - both tried to over charge us. If you wanted water or a drink with your meal you practically had to beg. Dinner serviced extremely slow and sometimes your food was cold. Will never stay here again.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Arie Vacation

    Reviewed by lainsworth2015(Minneapolis, Minnesota) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The staff are very welcoming and work hard to make your stay great. Our Ocean front room was wonderful. It came with a butler who made sure w had all we needed to enjoy all the time we spent in Jamaica.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX