Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 8727 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    STAFF NEEDS A lesson in good manners!!!!!!! not all the staff just some!!!!

    Reviewed by dynamnodiamondd(Levittown, Pennsylvania) on Oct 26, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Good day, I must say I've hear the saying the 3rd time should be the charm. HOWEVER, I visited this property recently (10/12-10/15/2020) for the 5th time and was in disbelief of how disappointed this visit was. I booked approximately 10 guest rooms (19 guest), some being return guest. We arrive at 1pm and at least 3 of my rooms were booked on the Preferred side. Upon arrival we were told the preferred club check in was closed. We proceed to the main lobby to pre REGISTER *which also seemed dissarayed and unorganized* because there was no attentiveness to me nor my guest i.e, greeting w/beverages / towels etc. We pre check in and as we are waiting, watched approx 15-20 ppl get get checked prior to us. Each status update attempted we were told they were checking the status progression of our rooms. Needless to say, it wasn't til approx 4pm-5pm that all of our guest were checked in *not to mention, to make matters worse, the very last room was for my previous wedding couple that hosted thier wedding there June 2019 *over 30 rooms min $18,000 in revenue the previous year* but experienced some inconveniences and mishaps from the property at that time*. They entrusted you all and my recommendation to return for thier anniversary in hopes there would be more effort and accommodations to make up for the previous time. This also, did NOT happen. They were not only the last guest checked in after 5pm when arriving at 1pm, but then were given the wrong room type, no acknowledgement of anniversary no nothing. Fast forward, I request to speak w/a manager and was approached by this very arrogant non challant gentlemen by the name of Fernando. He couldn't have been more uninterested in my concerns and complaints, as he stood flipping his hair and rolling his eyes. There was no resolution or service recovery efforts made, and as a manager this is beyond unacceptable. I am a travel agency owner/ AM Resorts Agent for over 30yrs and responsible to booking my clients in properties I respect and trust to offer the amenities and accommodations I personally expect when I travel. Secrets Wild Orchard Montego Bay did not meet up to these expectations. There were NO real upgraded treatment nor accommodations being on the preferred side. There was never anyone ino one in the Preferred club accessible at any given time,.so we had to go to the main lobby for EVERYTHING. No butler service, *which is sincerely missed being they are the ones that enhance having the preferred experience* and honestly just disappointing all around. Matthew [ DOOR ] BAGS that I have had in previous stays is a gem and one of the reasons I choose to return with this small group. He is missed and him along w/the other Butler staff need to be back on staff ASAP. The food was amazing, but the staff is in definite need of additional training when it comes to service recovery efforts, multi tasking and exemplifying being more approachable. It saddens me this email has to be done, but I am hopeful that when you know better you do better. Also, I understand staffing levels are extremely low due to the Covid Pandemic. However, that isn't an excuse to provide mediocre service or accommodations for those guest that have chosen to travel to the property. need help there and at least 2 butlers on preferredd side

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    So good!

    Reviewed by Spaluv79(Wurtsboro, New York) on Oct 26, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Obviously there is covid so the restrictions that you have at home are the ones you will encounter in Jamaica. We had the best time! I have never stayed all inclusive before but I did work at one for many years. These employees are so hard working, so kind! I found my self watching them as they worked. From our concierge to the waiters and housekeeping, room service, bar tenders and beach servers. Grounds keepers, activities and entertainment. They all are impressive! The two massage therapist Joyce and Stephanie holy cow! You are amazingly talented therapist, thank you! Andre our server on the beach for our last night was just so wonderful! And he carried the food from the kitchen to the bus stand on his head!! This man! I watched him hustle! And not one of his tables were neglected and the kitchen is not anywhere near the beach! Wow guys! So as far as the hotel its self we stayed preferred ocean view, the room was fabulous. The only problem we had was the tub on the balcony wouldn’t work. I mean you could soak but no bubbles. No big deal for me because i know how easy they can brake and I don’t need air bubbles to take a soak. The hotel was clean in the areas that we were in. The food was good, some times i didn't like it not because it was bad but because I'm picky. But if you look around you can find stuff you like. Room service was the bomb wish it offered breakfast items at night, thats just my thing though. Over all i would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to just chill and have a good time. The drinks are cold the jerk chicken is hot and its paradise! Ya mon!

    Disappointed and we are not hard to impress

    Reviewed by Lilykep911(Cleveland, Ohio) on Oct 25, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I have to start off by saying we booked this hotel very last minute because our original resort Iberostar closed two weeks before our originally planned trip. Checking in was a huge red flag. I know this is a pandemic but when we weren’t offered a drink after traveling all day and the staff looking at me like I was crazy for wanting a drink literally alarmed me. Our room was average and cleaned every day. On the positive side our view was beautiful. I could see the beach, pool and ocean. Room service was horrible and took HOURS. Options were very limited. One evening my husband ordered room service before dinner so that he would have a snack when we got home later that night. We knew it would take hours. The food was average. Once we found out that we could go to the neighboring resort Breathless it turned our service and food standards around. Sadly that was our fourth day into the trip. I kept explaining to the Breathless staff that we treated so badly and that weren’t hard to please. They were in disbelief. Here is the most important part of this review. READ THIS PART. If you are expecting 5 star service with that amazing Jamaican laid back vibe that I experienced five years ago RUN. RUN VERY FAR AWAY FROM THIS RESORT. Every single time I ordered I felt as if I was inconveniencing the staff and no it wasn’t just one particular person. IT WAS EVERYONE besides ALVIN. ALVIN was the only nice soul at the entire resort. I even asked the staff at Breathless what I was doing wrong. I always ordered nicely and sincerely. There was no wait staff at the beach. We came to relax but everything seemed to be a chore. The resort was also pretty run down. The stairwells were disgusting. I’m sorry to have to be so brutally honest but I want this to help the next person who I know will be SO DISAPPOINTED. I still love Jamaica and will go back... but NOT TO TGIS RESORT.

    EXCEEDED ALL EXPECTATIONS

    Reviewed by kengler42019(New York City, New York) on Oct 24, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay from 10/3-10/10. Everything about our stay and this resort was AMAZING. Despite COVID-19 - Wild Orchid did an amazing job. We felt very safe with the extra precautions in place. From not being allowed to enter the room, to the extra sanitizing of tables before you sit down. Everyone wore masks and practiced social distancing. The staff went well ABOVE to make sure we had an amazing time. Rare to find a place where every employee is happy and really cares about you. I can't say enough great things about Bernard Mazet. Secrets should promote this man and have him train every GM throughout Secrets properties. Bernard, we want to thank you for making our Anniversary the most special one ever! The Chief Concierge Keneve was outstanding and helped with every detail. Our room was perfect. The view was incredible. Restaurant choices were great. The only place not open was the japanese. Everywhere we ate, the food was delicious. We had a special romantic anniversary dinner in the gazebo over the water. Our waiter Andrew made sure everything was perfect. All the special details. Too many to list. Jhaenell, priority club happy hour server helped us in from the rain. The entertainment was exceptional. Thank you Star Fire for keeping us dancing and having fun. We can't wait to return with our friends who had to cancel last minute due to needing to quarantine upon return. SECRETS WILD ORCHID MONTEGO BAY. You have a great place and did a fabulous job! Karen & Steve

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Lower your expectations....or just blame COVID

    Reviewed by Tammy M() on Oct 23, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We booked our week getaway in January after a stellar week at Secrets Cabo last October. As we navigated through the pandemic and questioned if we should cancel, we proceeded with our trip having read the number of reviews about the safety protocols and procedures. That's the best part of the resort: plenty of masks and hand sanitizer! Sadly, the resort is run down, having sat empty for months. The hallways and stairwells were not swept the entire time we were there (you would be amazed at what accumulates on the 3rd level of an open stairwell in a week!) Housekeeping was inconsistent (missed us one day, sometimes we got towels, sometimes we didn't). Not all the restaurants are open, nor is the main nightclub and not once was there a piano player at the opened piano bar. We ventured into a secondary club one night, only to quickly leave as the smell of mildew was so overwhelming. While you were encouraged to use the ipad in the room to keep up with daily events, you were also encouraged to use the app which did not list the same daily events or restaurant openings. Do not take the info you see either place as accurate so just ask at the front desk if you really want to try a certain restaurant or participate in an activity. Speaking of ipad: use that to restock your mini fridge and to order room service. That was consistent. Food: the breakfast buffet does an incredible job as keeping folks distanced and hands free as there is a server at each station who loads your plate. The omelet bar is the best, as is the french brulee. Definitely hit the Sandbar for your lunch options of veggie, shrimp or turkey burgers. They wrap them up perfectly for carrying back to the pool or beach. Also keep an eye out for the jerk chicken kiosk which seemed to rotate locations most afternoons. The chicken just falls off the bone, it's so good! The best bar was Barracuda where Dowayne and Kerry Ann ran the tightest ship of efficiency, friendliness and entertainment. Along with Tanesha and Alvin at the pool bar, they were the gems among the staff, as many staff we encountered seemed to despise their jobs and they didn't mind letting the guests know. Dinner options are limited, but Portofino and the french restaurant are the only ones worth returning to. Definitely get the gnocci at Portofino! The sister resort St James is still closed, but the other sister resort Breathless is open and was the highlight of our trip (go check out the foam party at 3pm on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday or their amazing rooftop bar!) We did find out from multiple staff that during our time there (10/14-10/21) that the resort ranged from 21%-31% occupancy (Jamaican holiday was 10/19) but they were not staffed accordingly which was very obvious with long waits upon arrival, and often times at restaurants or in food lines. While we are glad we took the trip as we met new friends, got great sun and lots of sleep, we would caution anyone headed to this resort to consider paying full price for half the amenities, food options and service you would normally receive. Thank you, COVID.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-2