Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 8837 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A big letdown from my last visit

    Reviewed by JRob3217() on May 13, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Not sure what happened from Jan 2021 til May 2021 but seemed like a different resort. Back in January I was blown away with the resort, service and food. I couldn't stop recommending this resort to friends and decided to take my family so they could experience it for themselves. Not sure if it was the increase in occupancy or shortness of staff but service was horrible this time. Countless issues with not getting the items we paid for in our package, maintenance issues and no one answering phones at front desk, housekeeping, room service etc. Make sure you print out EVERYTHING. We had to spend hours with staff to get a beach dinner that was included in our package. We were told the hotel doesn't get that information and its the guests responsibility to prove what you paid for. I have never heard anything like this in all my years of traveling. We also noticed some issues with the different level of service and a different attitude from staff when dealing with us "African American" and white guests. On several occasions we noticed how we would get ignored or addressed with a "what you want?" and 30 seconds later a white guest would get a huge smile and warm welcome. I thought it was just me, but my entire family shared those same experiences. I even heard the same thing from several other guests of color.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-3

    Now feel I have family in Jamaica

    Reviewed by 376bonniev() on May 13, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Traveled with my family (7 of us in all) May 5 - May 12th. For 2 of us, this was our third stay at Wild Orchid; the other 5 were first time visitors. All of the staff are so friendly and accommodating, always going the extra step, taking extra time, all with a smile and "Welcome Home". Two exceptional people that come to mind are Sylvester, who immediately adopted all 7 of us as "his family". We learned so much about the resort, the island, Jamaican culture and history for him. He made us all feel like family. The second outstanding person we met was Kimberly. She served us twice in two different restaurants. What a fantastically pleasant, fun person. When we return once again in the future, we will seek both of them out and feel like family.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Awesome experience

    Reviewed by preferanonymous2018(Washington DC, District of Columbia) on May 12, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Group of 4 visited May 6-May 11, 2021. Upgraded to swim out plus butler service. Adia and Devon were our butlers and were very attentive and responsive during our stay. We saw Adia more but I think that was just because of the scheduling. Matthew, the porter, was also very friendly and personable and somehow remembered our names right away. We could count on being greeted cheerfully, by name, when we would pass him on the resort. The food was the best I've had at any all inclusive resort. We were disappointed that the hibachi place was not open during our stay, but overall very satisfied with the food offerings (Blue Mountain, El Patio, World Cafe). The resort was clean and very COVID cautious. On the day of our COVID tests we were in and out in less than 10 minutes. I can't say enough about how enjoyable this trip was. EXCELLENT customer service by everyone, from the hostess, yard maintenance crew, lifeguards, bartenders, check in staff. We also took an excursion to JamWest and had an absolutely wonderful, funny, engaging and safe driver, Ryan. I am hooked, can't wait to travel to Jamaica again. I would suggest purchasing rum from the airport since there was a markup at the resort shops.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Girls Trip 2021!

    Reviewed by Wander46211402998() on May 11, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a fantastic time here, the resort, the staff, the food, the entertainment were all above and beyond. We celebrated a short girls trip and were glad we chose this resort. RIght on the beach and not a long drive to get there.  It's a short ride of about 20 minutes from the airport, thanks to TCJ Tours for our transfers, great service and cold beers. We also used them to visit the negril 7 mile beach and Ricks Cafe, which was great and so much fun. We can't wait to come back to this resort. 

    exceptional staff memebers!

    Reviewed by M2066OTamandav() on May 10, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Currently finishing up a week long vacation at wild orchid in Montego Bay and had to say, even during a pandemic, I’ve never experienced a vacation where every. single. employee was so kind, so willing to go the extra mile, and so ready to not only make me feel “at home”, but so welcome and wanted to be there. Two individuals stood out the most that really made the trip something memorable. If I ever come back, I would love to be able to see them both again! First is, Sylvester. We met him early into the trip and he was so quick to “adopt” my family and I. He made us feel so cared for, answered our questions about the resort, about Jamaica in general and island life. We always met him in the early morning after getting coffee and spending some morning beach time before breakfast. Our first encounter was on my grandparents 55th anniversary, he congratulated them and made the most beautiful floral arrangement for them which was so so thoughtful! He knew we liked sitting in that spot so every morning he would lay our towels down on our chairs with flowers. Such a simple task but so sweet to know out of everyone, he chose to spend a little extra energy on us. I hope you are blessed to meet him if you go! Second was, Kimberly (I believe her name was), who worked in the restaurants. She was so friendly and personable, and so quick to match my families slightly sarcastic scenes of humor. We were a group of seven and she definitely was able to handle us with Grace. We actually found out the restaurant staff rotate between the different on site locations and we were seated with her two nights in a row at the Italian and Mexican restaurants. Again, we loved her and hope you get the chance to meet her. Overall the resort and experiences were amazing. I haven’t been here pre covid, so i don’t have anything prior to compare it to, so to me, everything was very exceptional, inviting, memorable and up to standard.