Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    F

    Did not enjoy Sansals

    Reviewed by FrancisM on Apr 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Overrated, not a 5* Resort. Rooms are old and need maintenance. Food in the buffet were scarce and cold. Club level not worth the price and the associated staff did not respond in a timely manner. Restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive. I would not go back to Sandals

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10432 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Family Vacation

    Reviewed by hreeder915() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved Dennilee The Jamaican Britney Spears! She was funny and so lovable. She was the best entertainment. Marland at the swim up bar! He was the best bartender! Room 2046 was nice and cold! The red stripes stayed stocked. Well done Sandals.

    2nd Sandals Resort

    Reviewed by 877Smarie(Yeovil, United Kingdom) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a really great time at Ochi, Jeremy & Richard we’re our Butlers, this was our first time having Butlers, we’d previously gone to La Toc in 2016, so our agent got us a good room rate at Ochi with Butlers & I was very unsure about it but they really do make your stay a bit more special! I’ve later read that Ochi is the ‘cheapest’ Sandals resort, we weren’t aware of this when booking, but I personally don’t think our experience here was any better or worse than La Toc but I think we preferred Ochi to La Toc simply because it’s bigger & there’s more to do & the beach / sea area was nicer in my opinion & because we had Butlers we just enjoyed it a bit more because they get you the best tables in the restaurants & escort you to dinner, bring you snacks by the pool etc. The food was a little bit disappointing at times. The beach party was a total let down for us, & personally I wasn’t a fan of muma at the rabbit hole but we loved the other two bands / singers that we saw in there during our 10 day stay & love the cocktails & servers in there! We did have an issue with water, staying in a HV1 butler village, we were top of the hill, initially when I saw the room I was super impressed! But then soon discovered that we couldn’t run the tub at all & we barely had any water from our shower, after 4 days of getting frustrated with little to no water & our Butlers repeatedly saying an engineer has been, we realised that when the other 3 rooms in our block were occupied, there was just no water or water pressure for us, we spoke to Maxine on the loop & she kindly moved us to a different groom, a G1 at the bottom of the hill & we had no issues there! The only problem with the shared pool for 4 rooms, if you’re upstairs, you feel like you’re invading the pool for the people downstairs, I preferred when we had the G1 & the pool was shared between 2 rooms, never saw our neighbours once though so we pretty much had it to ourselves! We preferred the manor pool, i guess because it was closest to our room, never had an issue getting sun-beds, I barely saw the playmakers but that didn’t bother me as I prefer to chill, sunbath, chat, drink cocktails rather than play volleyball etc We had cabanas by the manor pool 2 days & they were amazing!!! Odean & Richardo are the BEST! The difference we found between Ochi & La Toc, at Ochi by the pool it took a while to get a drink & the servers didn’t seem very happy, at La Toc the pool staff were amazing & were walking round the pool all day serving water & cocktails, but not at Ochi which was a bit disappointing , but when you have a cabana, Odean & Richardo will look after you all day! Last year we went to moon palace in Mexico, & we had drinks brought to our sunbeds all day long! Which was way better! The cabana days, for this reason, were our favourite pool days! But obviously you have to pay extra for it, we couldn’t have afforded to do it every day for 10 days! But 2 was a nice treat! We only did one excursion which was Dunn’s river & we really enjoyed it! It was busy the day we went but that didn’t bother us, the boat trip was great fun! Good food & drinks included in board! Overall we had a great time & would 100% go back! People moaning about its tired & run down & it should be a better standard, we thought that about La Toc toc in 20-6, but I think it’s just the Caribbean, it’s not Las Vegas where everything is ultra modern & glossy! We had no issues with how it looked! I think the advertising photos are a bit misleading. We had breakfast delivered to the room in the mornings, but we tried to cancel it about 5 times but the message never got passed on. We preferred to eat breakfast buffet at the southern. Some people moan about the hop, getting the bus to & from the hillside to the beach, but we had a right laugh on the hop & made friends with other passengers on route! Take a cocktail with you, it’s more fun to drink & ride! Entertainment in the amphitheater was amazing! We didn’t go every night or watch a full show but what we saw was incredible! We loved the return dinner, personally I thought the food was the best we had all week! & great company on our table. Food in order of Best to Worst. Return dinner, La Gourmand,Tapas on the Riviera, kimonos, Neptune’s, Kelly’s, vista, the manor, Valentino’s, southern. We didn’t think there was a huge ‘party’ atmosphere but maybe we were just in the wrong place at the wrong time! We stayed for 10 days over April / May & the weather was amazing! I’d go again at this time of year! I’d like to try another Sandals resort before returning to Ochi, the transfer is really long, as was La Toc’s transfer, but at least Ochi is a straight road, I’m sure we’ll be back one day!

    Good, with not as good as the other Sandals resorts we have visited

    Reviewed by Misti66(Isle of Man, United Kingdom) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We visited in August 2019 for 14 nights, flying with British Airways from Gatwick Airport to a Butler Suite . This was our third Sandals holiday having previously stayed in Antigua and Barbados. The transfer took two hours from the airport, which after a long flight and a three hour delay meant we didn’t arrive at the hotel until 4 am ( UK time). Sadly no one was available to meet us as the butters had finished for the day. We were kept waiting for 45 minutes whilst they found someone to take us to our room. The suite was in the butler village which was at the top of a hill and meant we were transported up and down on golf buggies by the butlers. The accommodation was pretty dreadful. Very tired and not very clean. The tiles were stained, broken and dirty and the sofa stained, saggy and old. We were upstairs In one of the four suites which a semi private swimming pool shared between the four suites. The staircase to the upper suites was frankly dreadful. Filthy, with rubbish stored at the bottom and condensation running down the walls. The bed was comfortable but so high, you almost had to take a running jump to get on it, and we are tall people! I have posted some photos of the tiling in our suite, the dust and the staircase, which we felt were just not five star quality as you expect from Sandals. The resort is huge and spread out over two sites, this meant you had to use hop buses to get around and we quickly became tired of that. When we had eaten at the beach side we had to get two buses to get back to our resort, and we wished every night we could just walk home. We have two butlers Donard and Damian. Donard was fabulous, brung up surprise cocktails and snacks by the pool, escorting is to dinner, decorating our room etc. Damian ran us a lovely bath one evening for our return to the room and brought a container of our favourite cocktail to put in our fridge. The staff at the resort are wonderful, we experienced excellent service throughout the resort with the exception of the gift shop where the staff were surly. Impatient, rude and grumpy. Otherwise, all staff were fabulous, smiling, cheerful and helpful. Special acknowledgement to the staff in the pool bar. A happier bunch off people I have never seen. They obviously love working together and it shows. Housekeeping staff, maintenance and the pool cleaners and lifeguards were also fabulous. Special thanks to Noel who cleaned our pool every afternoon and who was cheerful, helpful and super friendly. Food was great at the restaurants, our favourite was Le Gourmand, the French restaurant which was absolutely amazing. The French Onion soup was the best we have had anywhere, and the service impeccable. We liked Kimonos and visited twice as we enjoyed it so much the first time. We also enjoyed the Jamaican cuisine at the Manor House where the curried goat and red snapper were our favourites. We did think were were too many restaurants where you had to sit outside, at the mercy of the mosquitoes , and would have preferred more inside dining options. We visited the Speakeasy bar ‘The Rabbit Hole’ one evening and were blown away by the quality of the entertainment. Mama the resident singer was absolutely amazing! She really isn’t to be missed. We spent a lot of time at the main swimming pool which was lovely, clean and with easy access to the swim up bar. We did experience a problem the last couple of days with large groups of guests who travelled together and monopolised the bar area, behaving very drunkenly, screaming, shouting, playing their own music, drinking shots endlessly, having no respect for any other guests and who were never refused alcohol despite clearly being very inebriated. This did affect the enjoyment of our last few days. I have also experienced this at other Sandals reports and wish that they would adopt a couples only policy and ban large groups from behaving like this. So summarise we had a good stay, but felt that the accommodation was far inferior to the other two Sandals properties we have visited. We also felt that the resort was too large and spread out and didn’t like having to get bus after bus to navigate around the property. We didn’t like being at the top of the hill and would have preferred a resort where we would walk everywhere ourselves. We loved the staff at the resort though and felt they were better than at our previous Sandals in Antigua and Barbados. The food was excellent, and the Rabbit Hole ( and Mama) are an absolute must if you do go.

    Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

    Reviewed by Chrisonja M() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Second stay at a Sandals Resort in Jamaica & will be going back for a 3rd in another city again. We have had Great time at the 2 different Resorts. Adults only, definitely a party place We went to a number of night shows at the amphitheater, what a GREAT Time!!!

    Best person ever!

    Reviewed by Alaya_boo() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Dennilee was so awesome with her sprit and energy with games on the beach. I was nervous to play but her positive attitude made me want to join. I truly enjoyed myself with her and how she made me feel so welcomed. And I truly enjoyed my stay at sandals and can’t wait to come back to the beach and restaurants.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX