Iberostar Playa Mita

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    We love it here. This is our second time and it won?t be our last!

    Reviewed by Julie on Mar 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We absolutely love this hotel. Everyone goes above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant one. The food is amazing. The hotel and grounds are perfectly maintained. The pool is lovely. Rooms are immaculately cleaned daily and the turn down service is such a nice touch. I really cannot say enough about how friendly and accommodating all the staff are and I recommend the resort without hesitation. We will be back for a third stay!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Amazing experience! Nothing bad to say.

    Reviewed by Nicole on Jan 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    The staff were amazing, all amenities included - the cafe was amazing for coffee every morning. Cool billiards room to escape the heat every now and then. All restaurants had great food. Room service was fast. Amazing - planning our next vacation here already.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    First class all the way

    Reviewed by Angela on Dec 27, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    WOW!!! What A great place to stay..Everything N everyone was first class..

    A

    Can't wait to go back.

    Reviewed by Andrea W on Nov 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I loved this resort. I feel like we got an amzing deal through Westjet. The flights and transfers were flawless. The resort is secluded and scenic.I was able to walk the beach for hours and see just a handful of people. The rooms are nicely furnished. Well stocked and very clean. We had fun everyday at the resort and felt no need to leave. The alcohol is "top shelf" and the food was fantastic. Even for vegetarians like me. If this resort is in your budget, do not hesitate to book! You will not regret it. I have to mention that the staff is amazing. Every single staff member was friendly and helpful.They will go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Great place for all ages and totally worth the drive from PVR.

    Reviewed by Andrew on Apr 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This is one of the few resorts we've stayed at where the hotel is better in person than it looks in the photos. The resort is large enough to have lots to do and lots of space, but small enough that it didn't feel like we were constantly walking a few miles to get anywhere. We travelled Thursday to Thursday. On the Sunday of our stay, apparently that was the start of a big Spring Break week in the US according to another guest from Chicago yet our hotel wasn't overrun with spring breakers, likely on account of the higher price and the distance from the airport. This resort is perfect for families of all ages. We had our two kids 5 & 3 with us and they had a blast at the splash park and kids club, and in the pool. It was a very good mix of people: families with kids, couples without kids, young, old. It was nice to have lots for our kids to do but the place wasn't completely dominated by families with screaming kids. We would go back here in a heartbeat.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3734 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Had a great time (end of Nov) - staff was amazing!

    Reviewed by LisaT1303(Edmonton, Canada) on Dec 10, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just came back from a wonderful 8 day stay at this resort. We landed late and were very impressed when we arrived. Loved the ambiance at night. Check-in was so easy. Cande was great. Daye was also great at front desk when we had questions during our stay. Room was nice. It had a safe, fridge stocked with sodas, water and beer (behind cabinet), had a coffee maker, hair dryer, ironing boards and other basic necessities you would find. A soap dish would be nice as the orange soap we used to wash our hands daily with created quite the mess for the housekeeping team. Our housekeeper, Juanita, was fabulous. All staff here are very courteous, nice and always had smiles on their faces. Some know more English than others but they try and we try with our sad Spanish as well. The resort was bustling with activities for adults and kids daily with hard working Star Friends like Marcelo, Charley and Fatima. We were lucky to try out activities they lead such as pellet rifle shooting, archery, bike tour, ping pong, etc. You nor the kids would be bored with these activities. They were all fun and you will meet many people (esp. other Canadians). The bike tour was suppose to be 35 minutes, but take note that it may be longer as our group hopped off to check out the beach etc. Also, if you don't like to ride on cobblestone roads, there is a sidewalk you can use 90% of the time. It can get nauseating. You can see all the activities schedule by downloading their app (recommended) as it also has times for restaurants and other information including shuttle. The activities are pretty consistent daily so it would give you a chance to try different things out. There is also water sports near the beach. Katrina was very helpful with all our questions and they do a small snorkelling and scuba tour to the Marieta Islands without big catamarans with a minimum of 6 people (if I can recall). The resort has a splash park for the kids, a big pool with tonnes of chairs around it and the beach. If you decide to stick around the pool, note there are some black birds (looks like crows but not) hanging about waiting for you to walk away from any food you may have brought with you. We brought out a plate of desserts one time and stepped away for 2 minutes only to find them feasting on our sweets! We weren't even sure if the white stains on the corner of our towels was from icing or something else :( But you can easily exchange towels at the club house and there are times staff would come by asking if you would like new towels too (you get towel cards each time you return them). What took us away from our plate of dessert was one of the chefs (can't remember his name but he has sooo much energy) who was cooking up a storm of yummy paella out by the hut at the corner of the pool on the other side of the pool bar. Every day at 1 pm and 4 pm, he goes and cooks something for the guests in this big wok such as paella, seafood, tacos, etc. It's something we highly recommend going to. He puts on a show with music and dancing while he's cooking. They also have alcoholic and non-alcoholic punch. If you prefer the beach, there are some lounge chairs and umbrellas set up. If there's none available on the beach, no problem! On the side their are stacks of lounge chairs. You can put them anywhere you want and one of the staff will come by and dig a hole in the sand to put the umbrella out for you! The staff is amazing! We have never encountered this with the other 2 resorts we have stayed at. The sand is not as soft as the east side of Mexico but still pretty nice. The resort is isolated; there are no other resorts nearby although a Hilton is currently being build next to it. We also heard that the resort will expand with an adults only section later on. And now to the food! Before we booked, we read reviews and it's been inconsistent with the feedback on food. In the end, note that it really depends on what you are used to, what expectations you have and your taste buds. It's all subjective. And living in Edmonton, we have lots of yummy restaurants here to compare with. First of all, when you arrive, go to the concierge and book your a la carte restaurants early. They fill up fast as they open certain amount of seatings at certain times to avoid craziness (it seems to us). We ate at El Nopal when we arrived and we were blown away by the selection and quality for an international restaurant for an all inclusive resort. They even had gluten-free crackers and such. It changes daily with some same items including smoked salmon and tuna! The breakfast/brunch was just as good. We didn't mind going here when the other restaurants were booked up. The staff were wonderful, we had Linda (daytime at El Nopal and Bahía) and Maurico (night) and they always remembered what I like to drink - hot water! They were very attentive. We tried the Japanese restaurant, Tsuba, first. We love Japanese food. This was a teppanyaki style. Perhaps we had high expectations, but we did not enjoy it as much as we would have liked. We preferred Japanese Village here in Edmonton instead with our ginger and beef sauces. My husband and I felt it was bland and was okay. We also tried La Bahía with steaks. Again, we thought it was okay. I asked for medium rare and it came our rare. The waiter was nice enough to bring it back to cook it a bit more. The last one we tried was Pacific Express (french) and OMG was it good! Perhaps by then we had low expectations as other people we talked to didn't like it but we loved it! I had the duck confit and my husband had the beef stew main dishes. The appetizers of squash soup and lobster fruit salad was also delicious. Unfortunately, we had to skip the Mexican El Cuate Pancho as my husband caught a stomach bug. The staff noticed my husband missing when I went out and always asked how he was which was very nice. There was also the Coffee Shop StarCafé where we would get our teas/coffees, sandwiches and desserts from when the restaurants were closed as it was open 24 hours. They were good! You can also have room service (no charge for all inclusive) but it is a limited menu with burgers and pizzas. Yes, we took advantage of it one night cause why not?! :) *Note that you can take food out of the El Nopal and La Bahía during the day. La Bahía has some plastic plates at the bar and Mario was a wonderful bartender. For entertainment, they have singing/dancing every night around 9:30 pm. Very entertaining and great singers/dancers. Some were good, some were ok. We quite enjoyed 80s night. But then again, I love my 80s :) Before the show, there is a kids show too. At the beginning of each one, they do a presentation for those who competed in some of the activities and won (e.g. archery) where they get a medal and diploma. After the show (usually 30 minutes) there is Discotheque. We haven't been to it. We can hear a bit of it from our room but it does not last long and doesn't really bug us. It could be worse! Otherwise, there really isn't any entertainment like at other resorts. There are a couple of pool tables but we wish there was a games room or something. We did mention it to the concierge when they asked for our feedback of our stay and they said that they are in the works of doing one so that's great for those who may go there after us! I don't know the timeline of it though. And if you get bored and want to get out of the resort, we did go check out Bucerias and Sayulita. Both are close - about 20 minutes away in comparison to PV. We took the local bus to Bucerias. The bus (ATM) goes by the front gates (walk out the lobby entrance, turn left pass the golf course and slightly to the right at the end). We accidentally took the right as we asked a local staff gardening and he pointed us to the right. We took the bus by the secured gates where all the trucks were coming in. We didn't know but the staff there was able to wave the bus down (the first bus I waved to didn't stop) but it came every 5-10 minutes. The front of the bus window will have Bucerias written on it. It costs about 16 pesos. But get ready for a roller coaster ride as the bus driver we had was so pro at his job he was able to chat on the phone, drive and give change at the same time! And he drove fast through the local secondary roads to pick up other locals. We suggest sitting at the front to avoid any possible nausea :) We got off once we saw the Downtown Bucerias sign and just walked right. We went there because of the Art Walk (7-9 pm). So we took had time to wander about and ate at Mariscos El Payo (near the plaza) for some raw oysters. If you love oysters, you will get a dozen big ones for 120 pesos! One of the staff recommended us to go there for them. And they were delicious! The art walk however was not that great esp. of you come all the way from the resort. All the reviews said it was great but they neglected to tell you there's really just 5 art vendors and about 3 food vendors in this one small area. We were expecting something like the Edmonton or Playa del Carmen one. So we don't recommend going there unless you happen to stay in Bucerias. Our cab ride back cost us 420 pesos as it was too late to take the bus back. Through our app, we saw that the resort offered shuttle buses to Bucerias as well as Sayulita, PV and La Cruz. We wanted to go to La Cruz for the Sunday market but the concierge said they no longer have it (we later found out from another couple that there was still a market there). So we decided to go to Sayulita instead for 120 pesos each round trip - that's a great deal! The thing is you only get 1.5 hours to roam about. We mentioned to the concierge that it would be nice if they offered it longer so hopefully they will extend it in the future. But you have to book a day before (if possible) with the concierge and it has to be in cash. So make sure you have some pesos with you when you book. The only one with a nice time to wander about was the shuttle to PV (5 hours). But we do recommend taking a trip to Sayulita as it's a nice quirky surf town and the shopping was great. I wish we had more pesos with us! All in all, we had a fabulous time. Thanks Iberostar!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Peaceful Get-away

    Reviewed by alberta_canuckski(Edmonton, Canada) on Dec 08, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I am writing this review on my 9th of 10 nights at the Iberostar Playa Mita. We booked this property after having a wonderful stay at the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo in Playa del Carmen last March and of the advice of the delightful young sommelier Diego who took such good care of us there. This property is a good distance from Puerto Vallarta you need to understand that when you book. What this means is that you must plan for excursions to PV and surrounding towns because transportation can be challenging. The resort has limited shuttles to PV and to Sayulita- please note they fill up and other shuttles will not be added. Taxis are very expensive 400 Pesos to Sayulita (each way) which is only 10 minutes away yet only 600 Pesos to PV which is 45 or 50 minutes away. Go figure. Anyway first world problem out of the way - just know that up front. Now the good part- the resort is a peaceful immaculate oasis from the busy-ness of PV. It is staffed by some great people, I will specifically note Derek our concierge, Elizabeta our server for breakfasts, Claudia who kept us refreshed at the pool and Cindy our housekeeper. Gracious, thorough, kind and always ready to help. Food- buffet was good but less consistent than we experienced at the sister Lindo property- although all food was nice combinations were unusual and this made putting a nice plate together a bit more challenging. Pool-side (Pancho was the energetic and engaging chef!) a nice daily rotation of paella, fajitas, tacos and punches. Ivan at the beach bar made a mean bacon wrapped hotdog. A la cartes were very nice- particular shout out to the Pacific Express (French) and the Steakhouse. Coffee house is amazing and hubby loved the doughnuts. Beach is nice long and easy to walk. Some waves and high tides but for a bad swimmer like me not un-managable. Vendors were present but not aggressive like in the Mayan. Pool- nice warm but I think that is a bit small for the size of the property. Rooms- nice size, clean well appointed and overall excellent. Amazing wifi- BUT only outlet that will work to charge your devices is behind the TV all other outlets shut off when you leave the room so bring a power bar and charging plug and you will be fine. I would certainly recommend this property for anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Not a good base for exploring due to location. Would return at the right price point. PS 10 days is a perfect stay!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    6th vacation at this resort

    Reviewed by Walter S(Burlington, Canada) on Dec 08, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    After visiting this resort every year since it opened, 6times, the resort never ceases to amaze us, the cleanliness, the service and the food and drinks are superb.The Iberostar should be very proud of their employees as they work tirelessly to make guests feel at home. Our special thanks go to chef Aldo who goes above and beyond to make sure the food selection is outstanding and delicious, although some people do complain, would love to know what they eat at home? Aldo you need a vacation! Darcy in the restaurants is a true gentleman and helps everybody, thanks Darcy. Alex , Marco, Marcelo, and the rest of the entertainment staff, you guy's are great, keep up the great work and also a big thank you to Senor Nacho at the towel hut. Gracias. Our only suggestion to make this resort better is for the large groups of youngsters who stay at the resort is maybe bring along their mothers to clean up after them, also to show them where the washrooms are, We cannot believe you can drink all day in the pool without peeing. Do not believe the negative reviews about this resort, it is a piece of heaven on earth. Thanks to all, another great 2 week vacation, hopefully see you all next year.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Joyful 8D7N Vacation with Resort Entertainment Team

    Reviewed by liza y() on Dec 07, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Joyful 8D7N Vacation fm 29 Nov - 6 Dec, 2018 Firstly, express great appreciation to following ppl :- (1) LESLEY for helpful check-in and hotel service; (2) Entertainment Team (ALEX - Leader, CHARLIE, MARCO, MARCELO, CHRISTIAN, FATIMA, MISHAEL, LIZZY) for cheerful n enjoyable games playing, as well as NACHO for beach towels; (3) VICTOR for professional Yoga, Pilates, Zumba and Circuit Training Class; (4) MARCO n MARCELO for wonderful Zumba n Sasa Dancing; (5) ALEX n CHRISTIAN as MC - push up audience atmosphere to the highest on day games n night shows - Tks both of these two handsome boys; (6) GLORIA for crafting class with nice and patience attitude; (7) Singers n Dancers great performance in LasVegas n Pop Song night show; (8) Buffet Pasta Chefs - Cooking our Custom Made Order (Asian Style Veg) daily; (9) Restaurant Servers, Concierge and Room Janitors fulfill all our unique request. Dinner needs advance booking. Lots of food & fruits varieties esp in Buffet. Food Quality and Taste in Restaurants (Mexican, Japanese, Steakhouse n Buffet) overall is average (can be better), some of the food is a bit salty. Still hv room to improve. Unforgettable moment : (1) Games Tournament has Award Presentation On Stage b4 Show Time every night; (2) Hotel replaced un-function sofa bed by extra bed w/o charges; (3) Wide wifi coverage inside Resort Area - almost everywhere; (4) No obstacle 180 degree Seaview - Unbeatable. Need to improve : (1) Washroom Exhaust & Ventilation System (Room n Resort) is weak - bad smell being trapped; (2) Room n Spa shower-water-pressure is weak n not hot enough; (3) No Coconut Water beverage; (4) Poor TV Signal.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Happy 40th Birthday

    Reviewed by Nomad1999(Higuera Blanca, Mexico) on Dec 06, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We travelled to this resort in late November 2018 with three other couples. This was our second time for us and one other couple at this resort, as always the food was great (for resort food) What sets this resort apart from any other resort we have visited is the staff. Marco, Alex, Fatima, Christian, sexy Marcelo your entire entertainment staff are fantastic. We normally sit at the beach to avoid the pool entertainment but at the Iberostar Playa Mita we sit at the pool because of the staff. I can't say enough good things about them. I can't forget to mention Nacho and Elvia. Nacho is the towel guy is awesome, he loves to teach Spanish to those of us who speak very little Spanish. Elvia is the sweetest server in the entire place and this is a big deal because all the servers are fantastic we love you Elvia ??. As for the people who got ill at this resort personal hygiene is as important in Mexico as it is at home. Gastrointestinal bugs are everywhere and I will just say that when I was in the bathroom a lot of people didn't wash their hands ?? this helps spread this sort of thing. Can't say it enough, wash your hands after using the bathroom facilities. I would recommend this resort to people who want to take some time off from the hustle and bustle of their daily lives if you want to party hard and carry on I wouldn't recommend this resort. If you want to relax and be treated like family this place is for you.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX