Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    We will not be recommending our vacation to family or friends.

    Reviewed by Sfacey on Feb 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and I booked a trip to this location last minute after doing some research. We were completely underwhelmed by the resort and how we were treated once we arrived. After arriving, we were hearded into a room rather than checking in. Getting to the room 3 hours after expecting to, the room was unclean and the A/C was not working properly. We had maintenance in our room every day for a number of issues. The A/C was leaking, the toilet handle broke off the toilet, the shower was lined with mould etc. The grounds were well kept but the size was very overwhelming. With 3,000 people at the resort, it didn't feel like an intimate vacation. The food didn't vary from night to night, the entertainment was lacking and the overall communication with staff was difficult. I will not be recommending this resort or this experience I had with Westjet Vacations. Our luggage was returned damaged which we are currently sorting through, so overall a very poor vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    S

    A week in paradise...We would go back in a heartbeat!!

    Reviewed by Sandy on Aug 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We travelled as a couple for Easter Break and we were very impressed with this hotel! I e-mailed ahead of time to let them know it was the first time my husband and I travelled as a couple in the 27 years we were together. I also requested a specific room and a la carte preferences for our time there. We got the room of our choice and as a surprise, the hotel had an anniversary banner across our room door, balloons in our room, a fruit basket, a bottle of rum as well as t-shirts and slippers! It certainly was a most pleasant surprise! We also got our reservations as requested for the a la cartes. The hotel is massive but easy enough to get around on the shuttles that are constantly going by. The hotel was extremely busy during this time of year, but we didn't feel the service lacked because of it. There were many pools to swim in, but we preferred the beach. It was wonderful! Although there is quite a bit of seaweed in the water which washes ashore, the workers clean the beach daily so it wasn't a problem. As for the drinks, I've had better at other hotels but they were okay. The shows were good but we did find there was limited seating with such a huge crowd. It is important to note that the hotel share amenities with 5 of the Bahia Hotels that are connected on the property. You are distinguished by the colour of bracelet you wear. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We would definitely go back!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Incredible

    Reviewed by Paul on May 23, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Thank you to Westjet Vacations and especially Giselle at this hotel. Everything was great. Giselle was there to answer any questions we had. Food at buffet and restaurants was great. Excursions Scape Park and Bavaro Splash were awesome. Resort was exceptionally clean, no bugs, lots of everything great. The pools were great however the beach was the highlight. Thank you for the wonderful vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    EXCELLENT

    Reviewed by BIG JIM, Tbay on Jun 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Very nice BUT spoil yourself stay at the AMBAR adults only same price more options EXCELLENT TIME THERE

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Love the Bahia...feels like home when I'm there!

    Reviewed by Dartmouth on May 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2014

    Trip Type: Friends

    Been there four times and would not hesitate to go back. Very big complex but never felt overly crowded or had to wait in lines for anything. Lots of choice and variety with food so there is always something excellent to eat. I also trust the food which is one of the reasons I go back. Beach can be a bit crowded at times but I've always managed to find a good spot. Love that long beautiful beach...one of the few times I find I can sit for hours and do absolutely nothing. Rooms are okay...not in them much anyway...I am are on vacation so I am at the beach early in the morning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    this is not a 5 star resort but rather a 3.5 star at best... very disappointed and misleading :(

    Reviewed by JP on Feb 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We booked this trip last minute and in hindsight, should have looked into each resort in a little more detail and asked a few more questions before deciding. For this trip however and consideration of the rating and a couple reviews on TripAdvisor; we booked our stay at the Bahia Principe Bavaro. Note: there are 3 main areas that make up the Bahia Principe in Punta Cana Luxury, Bavaro and Turquesa . First comment; don’t be fooled by the STAR ratings... Although the claim is that this is a 5 star resort, having traveled a few places in the Caribbean and elsewhere, we would not classify this as such. The Luxury area within might meet the 5 STAR rating, however we did not stay there so we are unable to comment on this part of the resort. Having hung out at both the Bavaro and Turquesa all week however, we would rate them no more than a 3.5 STAR. We will give a snapshot for those not wanting to read the lengthy details… 1. Beach is nice, people are relatively friendly and helpful 2. Rooms were good size and clean, service if required to rooms was very prompt 3. The Bavaro and Turquesa areas in our opinion are not for foodies of ANY level nor kid-less young people 20-45 looking for a fun and exciting group or couple trip either to party or relax ; most of the attendees were families or older couples that appeared not to vacation much 4. The food offerings were very mediocre at best, if you are a relatively healthy eater you’ll find the food limited and full of sugar, deep fried or processed which for us wasn’t the food of a 5 star rated resort. And nothing offered to dress it up…no hot sauce only tabasco which you had to ask for and limited variety of sauces, dips or toppings in any of the pool or beach areas. More of these were available at the large buffet…but who wants to travel all the way to the lobby when you’re at the beach… 5. This is a VERY large hotel with tonnes of people, many days it was more like a cattle drive

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Excellent

    Reviewed by Beach Couple on Jan 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    2ND time to this resort , great service and staff are so appeasing and so polite , hotel is so clean and modern ........ only issue we had was the WFI ....... connection is off and on but hey! who needs internet when you got the sun , beach and a drink ,, west jet was and is the best value to book thru and fly with

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11494 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Stop looking & book this resort!

    Reviewed by missy11691() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just got back last night from our trip to the Grand Bahia Bavaro. My boyfriend and I had the best vacation! I searched hours for a resort when booking our trip and decided on the Bavaro and we definitely picked the right resort! The beach is amazing - I was worried we weren't going to be able to find chairs but there is staff on the beach that will find chairs for you. The pool is also awesome and there was so many activities for adults and kids. As a tip, join the My Bahia Principe (for free) when you book. It allowed us to get a free shuttle to the resort from the airport. The ale carte restaurants are great (the Japanese was our fav), but make sure you email a few weeks in advance to get reservations set up or you may miss out. The buffet has a lot of different food than we were used to eating so we stuck with mostly pizza and french fries lol which was still good. Overall, great experience!! Definitely will return!

    Beautiful paradise

    Reviewed by Meadow-LaRue(Ottawa, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    the best part of my trip was made possible by a young lady at the front desk by the name of "Yuly". Upon arrival, from cold Ottawa to very hot Punta Cana, she was a doll. I had a headache when finally getting to the resort, and she was so kind. She had originally assigned bldg 15 with a garden view, but one of the best parts of my trip is early morning coffee on the balcony with a view of the pool, and so I asked for a pool view. Although she said the hotel was at full capacity, she went to ask her manager if we could be switched ... Needless to say, she was able to and we got bldg 14, 14305, overlooking both pools of Punta Cana and Bavaro. She also took her time to help me get internet access on my phone. I've had a flip phone for years and just bought a new android phone, so not used to all of he fancy capabilities. She was kind, patient, and very accommodating with a smile. Thank you Yuly, for giving me the one thing I love when I go away.

    Great family vacation

    Reviewed by ccp57(Hooksett, United States, North America) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a great vacation here. The amenities were plentiful. The restaurants were wonderful. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The beach was a shared public area, unfortunately but was nice. Our first all inclusive but not our last! Great value.

    Lovely hotel

    Reviewed by AndyCapp68(Lymington, Hampshire) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We are still here while I write this review, we travel a lot and I have to say the hotel is kept so clean, all staff we have come across so happy and helpful, pools are very clean we’ve had no problems with getting sun beds or table reservations, the food you have here there is so much choice. If we have had problems it’s bern sorted out ASAP we are even thinking of coming back here in August. My only thing is the beach is so crowded but we started going down in the evening where the sun was still warm and had a lovely swim.

    A la carte mexican choice

    Reviewed by Mellee76() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I wouldn't bother wasting a reservation for this. The basic buffet restaurant at punta cana had a lot better quality food (I have to say extremely better quality) I love fajitas and nachos....the best and only fantastic part of this restaurant was the guacamole hence the 3 star rating off me

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX