Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    Unacceptable, inattentive/unresponsive, strong sewage smell

    Reviewed by Monty on Jun 26, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    - Upon arrival at check in we were not given the double rooms that we had paid for and instead given single rooms and were told we could have a cot as the second bed. The staff never came to give us cots so we had to use the couch as the second bed. Unacceptable! - Once we got to the rooms, two of the three rooms fridges did not work and all of the drinks were very hot. We went to the lobby to let staff know but this did nothing and we were left with hot fridges. - All of the rooms phones would not work so we were unable to communicate with each other or staff to request more beverages or room cleanings etc. We were only given 2 beers per room and 2 bottles of water per room. Not being able to drink the tap water and only being given one bottle of water each without the ability to get more is unacceptable and a health risk. - When we could find staff they were not helpful and ignored our requests even after being tipped generously. The only time we got additional water was when we found a maids cart and we took the water ourselves. - Not once was any of our rooms cleaned during our stay, towels were not changed and the fridge was never restocked. The air conditioning was also very finicky so we would return to our rooms being unbearably hot at times. - One of the rooms, 35104, had a leak in the ceiling which leaked water (at least we assume was only water) all over the bathroom floor. See attached pictures. Again telling staff did nothing to improve the situation. - Next, and for me the worst part of my Punta Cana experience was the buffet. The smell of sewage was so strong within the dining area that it was nearly impossible to eat. - throughout most of the resort there was a strong chemical smell, some kind of cleaning product that they were mopping the roads with I assume was the source. This experience has totally turned me off of every going back to the Dominican Republic.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    We will not be recommending our vacation to family or friends.

    Reviewed by Sfacey on Feb 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and I booked a trip to this location last minute after doing some research. We were completely underwhelmed by the resort and how we were treated once we arrived. After arriving, we were hearded into a room rather than checking in. Getting to the room 3 hours after expecting to, the room was unclean and the A/C was not working properly. We had maintenance in our room every day for a number of issues. The A/C was leaking, the toilet handle broke off the toilet, the shower was lined with mould etc. The grounds were well kept but the size was very overwhelming. With 3,000 people at the resort, it didn't feel like an intimate vacation. The food didn't vary from night to night, the entertainment was lacking and the overall communication with staff was difficult. I will not be recommending this resort or this experience I had with Westjet Vacations. Our luggage was returned damaged which we are currently sorting through, so overall a very poor vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    S

    A week in paradise...We would go back in a heartbeat!!

    Reviewed by Sandy on Aug 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We travelled as a couple for Easter Break and we were very impressed with this hotel! I e-mailed ahead of time to let them know it was the first time my husband and I travelled as a couple in the 27 years we were together. I also requested a specific room and a la carte preferences for our time there. We got the room of our choice and as a surprise, the hotel had an anniversary banner across our room door, balloons in our room, a fruit basket, a bottle of rum as well as t-shirts and slippers! It certainly was a most pleasant surprise! We also got our reservations as requested for the a la cartes. The hotel is massive but easy enough to get around on the shuttles that are constantly going by. The hotel was extremely busy during this time of year, but we didn't feel the service lacked because of it. There were many pools to swim in, but we preferred the beach. It was wonderful! Although there is quite a bit of seaweed in the water which washes ashore, the workers clean the beach daily so it wasn't a problem. As for the drinks, I've had better at other hotels but they were okay. The shows were good but we did find there was limited seating with such a huge crowd. It is important to note that the hotel share amenities with 5 of the Bahia Hotels that are connected on the property. You are distinguished by the colour of bracelet you wear. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We would definitely go back!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Incredible

    Reviewed by Paul on May 23, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Thank you to Westjet Vacations and especially Giselle at this hotel. Everything was great. Giselle was there to answer any questions we had. Food at buffet and restaurants was great. Excursions Scape Park and Bavaro Splash were awesome. Resort was exceptionally clean, no bugs, lots of everything great. The pools were great however the beach was the highlight. Thank you for the wonderful vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    EXCELLENT

    Reviewed by BIG JIM, Tbay on Jun 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Very nice BUT spoil yourself stay at the AMBAR adults only same price more options EXCELLENT TIME THERE

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Love the Bahia...feels like home when I'm there!

    Reviewed by Dartmouth on May 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2014

    Trip Type: Friends

    Been there four times and would not hesitate to go back. Very big complex but never felt overly crowded or had to wait in lines for anything. Lots of choice and variety with food so there is always something excellent to eat. I also trust the food which is one of the reasons I go back. Beach can be a bit crowded at times but I've always managed to find a good spot. Love that long beautiful beach...one of the few times I find I can sit for hours and do absolutely nothing. Rooms are okay...not in them much anyway...I am are on vacation so I am at the beach early in the morning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    this is not a 5 star resort but rather a 3.5 star at best... very disappointed and misleading :(

    Reviewed by JP on Feb 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We booked this trip last minute and in hindsight, should have looked into each resort in a little more detail and asked a few more questions before deciding. For this trip however and consideration of the rating and a couple reviews on TripAdvisor; we booked our stay at the Bahia Principe Bavaro. Note: there are 3 main areas that make up the Bahia Principe in Punta Cana Luxury, Bavaro and Turquesa . First comment; don’t be fooled by the STAR ratings... Although the claim is that this is a 5 star resort, having traveled a few places in the Caribbean and elsewhere, we would not classify this as such. The Luxury area within might meet the 5 STAR rating, however we did not stay there so we are unable to comment on this part of the resort. Having hung out at both the Bavaro and Turquesa all week however, we would rate them no more than a 3.5 STAR. We will give a snapshot for those not wanting to read the lengthy details… 1. Beach is nice, people are relatively friendly and helpful 2. Rooms were good size and clean, service if required to rooms was very prompt 3. The Bavaro and Turquesa areas in our opinion are not for foodies of ANY level nor kid-less young people 20-45 looking for a fun and exciting group or couple trip either to party or relax ; most of the attendees were families or older couples that appeared not to vacation much 4. The food offerings were very mediocre at best, if you are a relatively healthy eater you’ll find the food limited and full of sugar, deep fried or processed which for us wasn’t the food of a 5 star rated resort. And nothing offered to dress it up…no hot sauce only tabasco which you had to ask for and limited variety of sauces, dips or toppings in any of the pool or beach areas. More of these were available at the large buffet…but who wants to travel all the way to the lobby when you’re at the beach… 5. This is a VERY large hotel with tonnes of people, many days it was more like a cattle drive

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Excellent

    Reviewed by Beach Couple on Jan 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    2ND time to this resort , great service and staff are so appeasing and so polite , hotel is so clean and modern ........ only issue we had was the WFI ....... connection is off and on but hey! who needs internet when you got the sun , beach and a drink ,, west jet was and is the best value to book thru and fly with

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11687 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Some lovely gifts for just-married ? ??

    Reviewed by ???????? ?() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Good afternoon ! We are just-married from France. We would like to spend our Honeymood in Punta Cana at Grand Bahía Principe Bavaro 5*. Does your hotel offer some nice things for just-married ? What exactly? Thanks a lot to inform us. We are looking forward to spend some lovely time at your hotel. Kristina and Nicolas

    Average.

    Reviewed by Dudachef(London, United Kingdom) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The Good: charming looking hotel, room was ok, good air con, nice breakfast , good variety of food, nice pools. Shows were better than expected. Some members of the staff are friendly. The Bad: - phone stolen from our room, Birkenstock taken from our beach beds. - we were 11 ( 3 had upset stomach) - -private in-house doctor very expensive and linked to outside clinic which charges A LOT. Travel insurers are aware and don’t pay. Be careful. We had to take our daughter and were unnecessarily sent to their clinic in town. Insurer asked us to move away. 2 x 20 min doc consultation plus medicine : 500 US dollars! - we filmed a mousse or small rat in one of the restaurants . We were put off our food that night. No even an apology given. - beach chairs and umbrellas are placed too close together , it’s not comfortable. - sand is a bit dirty around umbrellas. - agents selling memberships and excursions are all over the place , very annoying! - our room bathroom wasn’t clean properly , I’d bring bleach if I went back. - on buffet restaurants we had to wait for drinks every night, they only pay good attention if you tip daily. - hotel shops rob you : 10£ for one packet of 10 sanitary pads. No other shops at walking distance. - one guy at the customer service desks who booked our restaurants was proud and impolite. He acted as if he was annoyed or doing us a favour! Maybe he had just been promoted to his tie-uniform and desk ??. CERO customer service awareness. I had worked in the hotel/ catering industry for 20 years. I’d take him away from customers . Overall it’s a nice hotel but in my opinion it’s not good value for money. I’d pay half what we paid for something similar . A bit disrespectful to families who save a long time to have a holiday. Would I go back? Only if they send me a 90% discount voucher to amend it all.

    Ok Stay but Could have been much better!

    Reviewed by Marcel T(Calgary, Canada) on Aug 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The Good: Nice beach, pool, rooms were ok, nice lobby The Bad: Service is slow yet always they seem to want tips, was not allowed into the buffet with a nice looking Hawaii tank top as they said I need shoulders covered, not allowed into beach snack bar without shirt and shoes, the beach is packed with locals trying to sell you excursions, cigars, souvenirs non-stop seemed like every minute (very very annoying), the bars had all kinds of liquor but you have to pay for the better stuff (not really an all inclusive), wife got sick the 3rd day and couldn't even leave the room (maybe she ate something that got washed with regular water), everything like sunscreen was very expensive ($25 US and did not even spread properly. When trying to exchange it for something else it was like pulling teeth with them acting dumb as if they didn't know what we wanted. I ended up grabbing two replacement bottles and just left the store.) . The food was better than we had in Cuba but not as good as in Mexico. They kept running out of cups and plates. Also, the beach gets crowded so you have to go early to get a beach chair. Even though my wife put passports in a safe someone went into the safe probably looking for money. I always hide my passport and money in the room somewhere that the cleaning staff wouldn't think to look! I would say that our stay in Mexico (Riviera Maya) or Cuba was more relaxed with the people there bending over backwards to make the stay pleasant without really begging for tips like they did in Punta Cana. Not sure how the other resorts are but unless I get some spectacular deal on a package (hopefully some other better resort) I will not be in a hurry to go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Enjoyable stay but had its faults

    Reviewed by DavieWeirCYL() on Jul 31, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Visited here with my family, wife and 2 kids 4 and 5 years. Overall we had a really enjoyable stay. Check in and out was slow especially when travelling with 2 young kids. Room was clean reasonable size and comfortable however could do with being modernised. Pool areas decent especially the kids water park, this was 1st class for the kids. The toilets at the pools could do regular inspections, fairly frequently they were not the cleanest. Good selection of food at the buffet and the restaurants we visited were nice. The Japanese being our favourite. The selection of alcoholic drinks drinks was poor and the bar staff could be better. At times at the main lobby bar it felt like a mild form of racism as clearly the bar staff served Spanish speaking / looking guests 1st. There was one barman would stand and stare at me then a Spanish speaking guest would arrive and they would be served 1st. I found this extremely frustrating. One thing 1 do find poor with the Bahia chain is that since I booked through a travel agent I can’t join their loyalty scheme. They are still getting our cash but it’s via a 3rd party.

    Worst service ever!

    Reviewed by sandmen04() on Jul 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My cousin was getting marry in DR so me and my family booked this hotel from July 17-19. I have travel to a lot of Caribbean all inclusive resorts and by far this one has the worst service. First keys of rooms will never work and no they were not next to my cell phone which usually deactivate keys lots of people went to to reception complaining about key room not working. Staff favor word is no! Anytime you asked for something or needed something it was always no! We added an extra family member to my room and asked for an extra bed which they promised it will be there. We had to go to reception 4 times because the bed had never arrived in my room. Nine hours later at 11pm we asked for a manager and a very rude lady think her name was mileydy kept giving us the run arounds not trying to help and then said we are out of bed! Really?? She then proceeded to abandoned us by going to the back saying she was getting her manager but manager never showed up. Then we see her leaving the property we guess her shift was over and she didn’t want to deal with us. A spoke to a very nice gentleman think Haitian decent “Arismendi” started his shift around 12pm and was the only person who try helping us. He had no idea of the situation because no one explained to him what was happening. He finally got a manager involved who also try helping after seen us very upset and around 1am in the morning they decided to move us to another room with an extra bed. Next day we had a weeding so I called laundry service to get my wedding clothes steam. I read that they provide same day service if you call before 12pm. I made a call at 10am and a gentleman told me they didn’t do same day service, I explained to him it says it in laundry service pamphlet I had in my room that they do provide same day service. He put me on hold came back and said no not today maybe if you called earlier! Again really?? Now I had to iron my linen suit in the room trying not to ruin it for the wedding. The service here was horrible we only tried the buffet restaurant and food was average and service horrific. You will literally had to get up and try to wave someone down to get something to drink while eating. The trolley car service was also bad specially at night they wouldn’t stop and will always say I don’t drive to that part of resort. This is a big resort and it was always a hassle to get from one side to the other. You will see the drivers parked speaking to each other wasting time while everyone it’s waiting to get to their destination. One night one of the driver was talking to another driver about the fun night he had day before. We told the driver can we please go! And he continue his conversation in Spanish saying this people are rushing me I feel like telling them car is out of service and leave them here. I got up and said in Spanish you need to do your job we don’t care what you did last night! He was really surprised I spoke and started driving. Dominican Republic is a great place to visit but if you want good service stay away from this resort!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX