Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 8904 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    11 years later....

    Reviewed by V1029CUjennyj() on Dec 08, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    11 years ago I visited the resort for my honeymoon. My husband and I loved it. Every time we returned to DR and stayed elsewhere we were left comparing our current resort to the Palladium. We always wanted to return, however the price was never right, until this year. Check in was good and quick. I was told since we were celebrating our anniversary something extra was in our room. Upon check in we were never asked about Travel Club or attending a breakfast. Bellboy took our bags and provided a ride to our room. Once in the room, nothing was waiting as advised by front desk. I called 5 times and emailed, with no response. The room was fine, aside from dirty sheets. I knew it would be impossible to communicate to change them since I wasn’t getting anywhere with my “gift” in my room. Yes, the shower is difficult to get into. I can see someone who has mobility issues having trouble. Buffet food was good. However, I do have to say the first morning we had crepes at the Bavaro buffet and it was the worst I have ever had. The rest of our time we ate at the Palace and the crepes were delicious. We also ate at the Indian Restaurant, food was good but warm/cold. I ordered samosas to find the middle cold. Moving on to service was hit and miss. I’ve come to learn this is the Dominican way and just learn to accept it. I’ve never had a problem asking for tea with milk until this time. Sometimes I had to ask 3 times to the man in a black coat for milk. Other times I went up myself to get it. A couple of times we were completely ignored. However, a hostess did ask us once why we were not going to grab food and we mentioned we wanted drinks and we have been sitting waiting for a waitress to take our order. She corrected that immediately. I do have to say we didn’t tip as much this trip. It wasn’t getting us anywhere with regards to the buffet and better service. Yes, you have to wait to be seated by the hostess which was new for us and yes it can cause a line up but it wasn’t an issue. Lobby bar. I cannot day enough good things. My husband and I always spend our nights at the bar. On our first night my hubby recognized a bartender. Sure enough it was Francisco, the same bartender we had the privilege of meeting 6 years ago at another resort we stayed at. We were thrilled to see him at the Palladium he is fantastic. Ana, she has some sass to her but she is deep down kindhearted and I will miss her. Vidal, he always kept the drinks coming, always entertaining. Never missed a beat. Last Jordi, that man has the most contagious laugh I have ever heard. He is hilarious. All the evening bartenders were great and we tipped them well. Hey, did it change how we were treated possibly, but don’t we all work a little harder when shown some appreciation. Palladium you have a fantastic team working the evening shift at the PC lobby bar and I hope you let them know it. I was somewhat worried coming here this time with all the negative reviews with being bothered by timeshare and on the beach. For the most part we were left alone. (We were bothered when entering the Bavaro lobby once). I will say, I did notice they profile who they ask. If you a family they were on you. My husband and I travel simple and with that, tend to be overlooked. On the beach we were asked once and they moved on. No different than any other time in the Dominican. Last but not least. Checkout. I was asked how everything was and voiced my frustration with asking 5 times for something to be done and not getting anywhere. The hotel always responds to reviews and encourages guest to ask for help when needed rather that write a negative review. To which I did 5 TIMES. The response I received was “ I dunno what happened? But, the next time you come everything will be perfect” My response to that is, it doesn’t work that way. If I had to be asked 5 times to do something at my job I am sure I would have been fired after the third. In Mexico, you ask and within 30 seconds someone is there to help. But heck that’s the DR for you. I should also mention if you are looking to spend time with fellow Canadians this resort may not be for you. We were the only couple from our plane to be taken to the Palladium which wasn’t the case years ago. This resort had a lot of German, Russian and Spanish. Canadians were hard to come by.

    Excellent hotel

    Reviewed by j0j0777(Ottawa, Canada) on Dec 08, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Grand Palladium Punta Cana is a huge property but the staff is exceptionnaly friendly. The quality of the food is superior. The rooms are modern and very clean. Last night we went to the Japanese Restaurant and we had so much fun. our cooks Carlos and Luis and all the supporting cast : Noelia and Yosar made this experience very memorable. Thanks so much.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great Hotel, bice people

    Reviewed by Shamar T() on Dec 07, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Really great hotel, I am here for the fifth time and each year the hotel is doing something new and refurbishment are done regularly. People here are so nice, especially animation team Yahaira, Margarita, Azucar, Edilenni and Papa

    Amazing resort!!

    Reviewed by kaylamahontravel() on Dec 06, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Grand Palladium Punta Cana and had an amazing experience. There is so much to do on the resort and the variety of restaurants is great. The entertainment is also very good, there is always something happening at the pools; the beach; the lobby and the disco. I would highly recommend this resort!

    Grand Palladium Punta Cana

    Reviewed by MRGAMEY(Toronto) on Dec 05, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Best entertainment team at the Grand Palladium. Fredi, Moises, Indiana, Samuel and team. These guys keep everyone entertained. Their energy level is crazy. Hotel is great, lots of options for good food. Drinks at Sumptori are the best.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX