Barceló Maya Grand Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    D

    Choose your room carefully ,if they let you and you will have a great time.

    Reviewed by Daryle B on Nov 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Beautiful hotel, beach and pools-5 star.Food and service 3-4 star.DO NOT accept room near the entertainment theatres, loud music goes past 10:30 pm when the shows end usually to 11:30 or later.I think a 5 star hotel should provide wifi to all the rooms free.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Love the place!!!

    Reviewed by BarceloLover on Aug 07, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Great resort. We've been 14 times to this resort and will keep on coming back. Rooms are clean and safe. Staff may be a bit slow at times but you can have slow staff anywhere. Just take it in stride as you are on vacation. There are always chairs around the pool and on the beach. Regrding the "nickel and diming" espressed by others, well if you are expecting high end alcohol and wifi, you will pay for that. There is free wifi around the resort at certain times and after the 3rd drink, does it really matter what alcohol you are drinking?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Dirty Rooms, cheap food, indifferent service..NOT worth your $$ NOT 4.5*

    Reviewed by Frankenbarbie01 on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Travel Agent booked this trip.I was horribly disappointed! Upon checking in the receptionist says "this will do ..for now" making me think strange they plan to move us? Weird. We get to the rooms (4 people, 2 rooms) they are NOTHING like what we expected to be in! Moldy smelling, dirty floors (made my feet black!) FOOD remnants on the door hardware, a chunk of cardboard shoved into the electronic light activator (the power was going out repeatedly in my sisters room..safety issue!) on the ground floor and appeared to have been pried open at one point!. Since the receptionist said "for now" we decided the next day to insist on getting the rooms we believed we had booked. After repeated visits and complaints by my sister and myself I lost patience and got on the phone to Westjet. Turns out "Run of the House" means they can put you wherever they want (Thanks travel agent!!??) I used ALL of my purchased data plan dealing with getting our party moved. They finally agreed to move us...the rooms were 1 level up just as dirty and REEKED of cigarette smoke. I would not let the bellman unload our luggage, we went back to the front desk and insisted their Superior rooms were Inferior rooms and were NOT acceptable, I stayed at Iberostar resorts in the past and if they were not going to provide acceptable (clean and safe!!) accommodations we would leave the resort. They finally moved us from the Beach to the Tropical. This was at least a step up in the bedding department, it didn't feel like we were sleeping on shower curtains. We were all just so tired of arguing with the resort we decided this was as good as its gonna get. We booked a couple of dinner reservations and upon arriving was told No we have no reservation for you!! We insisted they needed to figure this out. We were seated at a table, rushed through dinner and no one batted an eye when a wine glass stem crumbled in my hand while eating! This hotel is horrible and I will never again stay at a Barcelo

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Would not go back do to the fact they are not truely an all inclusive as they charge for everything

    Reviewed by Dave on Jan 08, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    The resort is great and the beach is amazing however the resort credit is a scam, it is only a 25% discount and not a trye credit. The resort charges you for everything and nickels and dimes you on all their amenities

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6259 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Best buffet on site

    Reviewed by eallison09() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The tropical/Colonial buffet is by far the best buffet at the resort. Servers like Noe Lopez take the time to treat you like the only one in the room. The food always seems to be perfectly cooked here, which can be tricky in buffets sometimes. The hostess i had most days was Gisele Moreno. She was very sweet and always asked me about my day.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Family vacation March 2019

    Reviewed by SunnyDays174(Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    4.5 out of 5. Stayed at Barcelo Maya Tropical for one week, family of 4. As tropical guests you have access to colonial, beach, caribe sections but not the palace (but you can use palace beach area). Beach/caribe seem like one resort and tropical/colonial another, but its not far to explore all the different areas. Check in was very quick and pleasant. I emailed the resort a week ahead with room requests and my wishes were met - thank you Ivan Rivera and tropical front desk staff. Our room was in the middle of the Veracruz building on the third floor and was quiet and clean. Maid and mini fridge service was excellent every day. Everything in good working order - tv, air conditioning, safe, fridge, etc. I recommend a room on the third floor, it had a nice garden view and was not musty at all. The best feature of this resort is the layout and the beach. It's a large complex but nothing feels too far away. The property has a long beachfront and you are never far from the ocean no matter where you are. The beach is just fantastic with a lot of variety - sandy and sheltered by the beach/caribe section, and more rocks and waves (but also sandy areas for swimming) by the colonial/tropical section, and snorkelling at the palace or by the pier (fish and beautiful sea turtles at the palace!). An abundance of chairs on the beach, never a worry about finding a chair. Many palm trees on the beach for shade. It would be nice if the resort would add palapas for more shade. I recommend bringing your own snorkel gear. They have snorkels there but you are limited in time to use it. The pools are huge, lots of activity and chairs, and right next to the beach so you have the ocean view from the pool too. Great layout. A small kids waterpark at the colonial, plus pool tables, ping pong, giant chess, basketball courts - all near the pools. We didn't try the larger pirate water park by the maya mall. Seemed too expensive at $20 USD per person, even if you want to watch your child and not swim, still $20. I recommend the resort allow spectators in for no charge if they are accompanying a paying child. We might have used it if that were the case. The food at the buffet ranged from average to above average compared to other resorts I have stayed at. Breakfast food was the best and i appreciate that they had so many omelette stations. I never had to wait, in fact there were rarely lines for anything at the buffet or the bars. The snack bars near the pool/beach also good - there's one at each resort on the complex, we tried 3 of them they are all similar. For a la carte we tried mexican, santa fe steakhouse and kyoto teppanyaki. Great service and food at them all! Service at buffets and restaurants outstanding. Special mention of Byron and Moises at the tropical buffet (dinner) and Jose Villeria (breakfast). Thank you! One suggestion is to add hard ice-cream in more places. I only saw it at the beach/caribe buffet. Everywhere else only has soft ice cream that is very watery, I didn't care for it. I recommend booking your restaurants immediately after checking in, they fill up fast. There is a lot to do in the resort at night, the maya mall for shopping, sports bar etc. or there are 2 theatres to choose from for the nightly show at 9:30. The circus show was our favourite. The shows are held in very large open air theatres. Be aware that most things in the sports bar are extra charge. For example a 1/2 hour on the pool table is $5 USD. Mini-golf is free during the day but $10 pp at night. The resort appears to be quite accessible, I saw numerous people getting around with ease in wheel chairs, so that is great. I would give the resort 5 stars with a few changes. The wi-fi should be included. It costs $35 USD for 2 devices for one week. I recommend they build it into the cost, people have come to expect free wi-fi in 2019. There were many college students that took over the swim up bar, luckily i'm a beach person not a pool person, but I pity any guest who wanted to relax at the swim up pool bar because it was non-stop party there all day. There was also a concert festival taking place at the beach section. I recommend the resort cater to families or party crowd, but not try to mix the two. We did tip and I recommend you do too, I believe it enhances the experience, plus the staff deserve it they work very hard. I would go back to this resort in the future. Thanks for a great vacation Barcelo!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great first experience in an all inclusive resort

    Reviewed by susanwN4616SB(Collierville, Tennessee) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I planned a trip with our 2 college aged kids and their boy/ girl friends after Christmas and through the New Year! We book the Barcelo Riveria Maya at the advice of a coworker! From the time our plane landed everything was taken care of! Check in was a breeze and the wonderful cocktails during check in were a great idea. Our rooms were great and they made sure the rooms were all close together! The buffets were beyond amazing! The resort was full while we were there but it’s so large that it didn’t feel crowded. The pools were beautiful and there was always some fun activity to get involved with! Volleyball, waterpolo, Zumba, water aerobics, tennis etc. We met the most interesting people from all over the world! We Tried lots of new drinks and food! The best part was the staff were so very kind and friendly! The grounds are wonderfully maintained and beautiful. I highly recommend this resort! We had so much fun that my husband and I are returning in June!

    Service was amazing and Edilberto was excellent

    Reviewed by Shavit217() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had so much fun, service was above and beyond. 10/10 to Edilberto, who helped us with everything. Food was excellent and everybody who was with us enjoyed both the food and the service. Recommended and will definitely come again

    Pleasant vacation at the Barcelo Colonial

    Reviewed by Alana S() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were pleasantly surprised with the Barcelo resorts, specifically the Colonial. The pictures online did not do it justice. The resort has all the amenities you could ever need. We used the fitness centre, sports courts, sports bar, night club, many restaurants, pool and pool bar and many other hidden gems found on the premises. We had great service to our rooms and at the bars and restaurants. The beach is gorgeous to look at with beautiful trees and white sand. The water can get sandy and muddy as it was very windy and wavy. The weeds blew in with the wind. There are some rocks in the water, easy to navigate.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX