Grand Bahia Principe Coba

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    O

    Great staff, definitely would go back.

    Reviewed by Oldman on Nov 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Had a great time. Everything was good, good food, nice room, etc. Beach was a tad small plus the seaweed was terrible. The hotel can't be blamed for the seaweed though. We were there at the tail end of Tropical storm Michael with the wind blowing the seaweed in. They did have people cleaning it up as best as they could though. Had the use of the beach and most facilities at the sister hotel Tulum. Shuttle service was great and made getting around easy. Great place for kids. 24 hour snack bar was perfect if you got the munchies or a little thirsty at 2 am. Would go back in a heartbeat.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    s

    terrible experience here. Save yourself the headache and go elsewhere

    Reviewed by steve on Oct 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    I just spent a week at this resort and I am baffled at how this place has a 4.5 star rating. I have been to Mexico a number of times, and this is by far the worst place that my family has been to. With all of our visits to Mexico, we have never encountered rude staff, but at this resort we encountered this problem multiple times with the bartenders. The pool area was a mess, with garbage being left for days sitting on the ground and mold growing on the poolside lounge chairs. There is NO poolside service, so if you would like a beverage or food, you have to get it yourself. There is only 3, or better to say only 1 buffet restaurant, because after having lunch at the pool area buffet, it was decided to go to the main buffet due to the food quality. The food was OK, but pretty much the same thing everyday.We spent the whole week trying to find a drink that was worth drinking, but the low alcohol quality, and the bartenders inconsistency to make a quality drink made that next to impossible. The seaweed at the beach was piled up. I get that it s an ongoing process for the resort to deal with, but having a 3' windrow of weed on the beach for days in unacceptable. They could help this problem with more cleanup crews, but I doubt they care too much. Our Villa had no ice machine, and our room had a mini fridge that didn't work. After trying a few times to get it working, we just gave up. They would stock it sometimes, and sometimes they wouldn't. Our king bed was so old that it had large "dents" in it where previous guests had slept. We maybe slept for 1-2 hours at a time before waking up and having to change positions because some part of our bodies were numb. The bathroom had mold growing in the corners and on some edges. Shower toiletries consisted of shampoo, and conditioner, but no shower gel and hand soap, except for the last day that we were there. Our room had a dehumidifier, but no other rooms in our party had this luxury. They have work vehicles that are in disre

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    G

    Other than seaweed on the beach, everything else was great. Definitely considering going back.

    Reviewed by Gordon on Oct 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is an excellent resort. Great people, services, food and lodging.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Amazing people

    Reviewed by Joy on May 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I loved the people.. They r amazing .. My first family vacation to Mexico n i would go back there.. Buffet was good lots of selection .. Formal dining was great esp Filipe at La Gormet .. Had a lol hiccup during checkin but during the stay I forgot all abt it .. I was treated like a princess

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Loved this resort for families.... the waterpark is awesome!

    Reviewed by Christinek on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    The Coba is not directly on the beach, its a 5min walk, but i thought it was great as staying by the pool at the coba was really nice, it was quiet and relaxing. A definite stay for a family with the nice waterpark!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Clean Room, Good Food, Poor Service

    Reviewed by Peggy2017 on Apr 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Clean room and the food was good. It lacked service, and friendly staff. I personally would not go back, as it seemed that you had to tip big to receive good service. Due to the lack of good service we didn't tip as much as we normally do. The pools had lots of debis in them, and the pool bar had one bartender and one blender. We would try to order a few drinks when we were up there due to the slow service, but the bartender would just ignore you if you ordered too many drinks, 4 drinks being too many, or drinks that he didn't feel like making. Our drink orders got ignored on several occasions despite tipping and being polite. We got charged for a late check out because we called concierge to pick up our luggage, we were on the opposite side of the resort from the lobby, and they didn't come until an hour later and after another phone call. We tried to explain this to the front desk staff and they still charged us. We called for ice a few times and they were always prompt to come. One day the cleaning lady must have been cleaning the patio and she left the patio door unlocked, we were on the ground level, luckily nothing was missing from our room.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    N

    Don't think it's a 5 star resort and think of it as 2.5-3 star

    Reviewed by Not a recommendation on Oct 31, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    It was better then punta Cana but not worth returning to at all. Few issues that we faced last week when we were there. 1- it was 4 friends that went there 2 rooms with single beds. We also confirmed with our agent and also send an email to the staff to make sure it was 2 single beds per room. When we get there sure enough both rooms had single king size beds. When we asked to change our rooms they replied not till tomorrow. We had to call them the next day several times to get the rooms changed. 2- no system for the buffet room. You walk in find an empty table leave your stuff on that table and then go get food before someone else takes the table. 3- always trying to find empty clean plates as usually thought our stay there were non avaliable until you wait for them to being clean plates. 4-hard to find a server in there for drinks and majority of the time we didn't even find anyone to bring water to the table. 5- new room gives to us was on second floor and the TV, ac and shower were not working in the room. We called the front desk a few times but no one came to check. We gave a good tip to the room service to fix TV and shower issue but ac was hopeless. Definitely was not a 4.5 or 5 star resort and no one should book it thinking it is that.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    t

    The No-Ba is a 3*. Maybe.

    Reviewed by travelbird on Apr 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We did what we thought was our due diligence about taking our family of 5 to the Bahia Coba, as well we have been to other Bahia Principe hotels. Coba was a disappointment in so many regards. Check-in was fine. We showed up at 1.30pm and were assigned our adjoining family rooms, close to the children's pool as requested however of course, the room was not yet ready. Fine. We returned as told at 3.30pm and our room was no longer available and we were assigned to building 3 which is pretty much at the end of the resort. No amount of pleading would change this. Further, the explanations varied depending on who we asked and ultimately we were completely lied to. Someone else got our room. New room in villa 3: a/c wasn't working, really pronounced mould smell and the very worst: mosquitos. So bad. Our daughter had 3 bites in her mouth that swelled her cheek up. Disgusting. Food was blasé. Restaurant reservations were brutal -- lines to get a reservation were impossibly long. Our family of 5 was granted 3 a la carte reservations at the amazing time of: 8.30pm. Our final meal was at Tequila @ Tulum which was actually really very good. So that's something. We have been to many AI resorts, as well as cruising. Never have we experienced the lack lustre service we received at Coba. We started calling it No-ba as truly -- any request for ANYTHING was answered with a NO. No we don't have your room anymore. No we can't fix the problem. No, the mosquitos aren't that bad in your room. No we don't have any premium liquor. No we don't have cream for coffee. No we don't have a better dinner reservation time for you. No, we don't have pancake syrup. No we don't have guacamole. No the snack bar isn't open even though it's 24 hours. No we don't have anyone running the tween/teen clubs. No we can't do your currency exchange because we have no currency. No we don't have a shuttle taking you that direction. No you can't take a photo. Seriously: NO-BA.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    A

    Amazing Stay! Excellent Customer Service!

    Reviewed by Andre & Melanie on Jan 24, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    This is definitely a place to go for anybody looking for a great resort. It's three resorts into one. A lot to do every single day. Beach, Pools, Casino, Golf and so many excursions too. Staff was excellent! We we're located in Villa 4a. Outside of our Villa, was the Iguana jacuzzi/bar. Would like to give a big thank you to our bartender JESUS! He was amazing! So friendly and did his job very well. Meanwhile, we went for our breakfast and lunches at the Buffet Cozumel. We had our regular waiter in Jose Marcial Coomol Ciov. What a great gentleman. Smiling all the time, cracking jokes but most importantly giving us the best service you can think of!! A great resort and thanks again Bahia Principe. Andre & Melanie Ontario, Canada

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    I

    Quick get-away, but much better hotels in the Mayan to stay at

    Reviewed by Islander on Dec 07, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I have stayed at numerous Grand Bahia hotels in the past and figured I would try the Coba, it was a mistake. The hotel complex is extremely close to the highway depending on what room complex you stay in . The hotel grounds were not kept clean to what I am accustom to with the brand. Upon going to the sister hotel, Tulum it was evident that the Coba was the less loved child of the complex. The beaches which are government owned are very rocky and the nice beach is only accessible to the Akumal guests luxury property . Pools were extremely dirty and the main one had exposed wires which management was alerted to numerous times but did nothing about. The staff however, was excellent and actually cared about the stay. The Best Day Travel representative at the hotel was super helpful and helped us plan out our excursions which made the trip fun. Hotel says its a 5 star, 3.5 at best, pay the extra to stay at the Tulum side.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 15394 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    No regrets

    Reviewed by Mario M(Dieppe, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    2nd time at Coba. Was there in April 2015 and decided to go again this year but brought a couple of friends with us this time. As most have stated the GBP complex is huge. This has some advantages... variety in restaurants, bars, pools, quiet sections, activity sections etc... Personally, we liked Royal Golden offered by Air Transat Vacations. For us, the best perk of RG was the RG Lobby. It was never busy. Fast check in and check out... it made for a great rendez vous point with our friends and meant a personal connection with the great bar staff. It seems silly but it feels nice to be greeted by your first name. Henery, Julian and Antolino always made sure we had everything we wanted... great coffee in the morning... Appleton Coke & Mudslide in the evening accompanied by snacks. When we saw Henery at the evening show at the main theater she was genuinely happy to see us there too! Speaking of evening show... the Rock Show was great but i was a bit disappointed with the Queen tribute. It wasn't bad just not as good as the Rock show from the previous night. If you like nice walks, it's also a positive. If you have mobility issues trolleys will be around soon to take you to your destination. Like any resorts some things will please some people while it will be terrible for others. Do your research, choose wisely and enjoy your vacation... i know i did ;-)

    Good start..

    Reviewed by rjgreene05() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Despite my roommate and myself having a room next door to a family with small kids (toddler age) that woke up with the sunrise, the stay here was enjoyable. Check in, food, pool, drinks and service was good until we got home and realized that we were charged more than our bill stated when we checked out. They tried to blame the incorrect currency conversion on our banks, but turns out that the hotel did not use the correct rate although it was written on the bill. In communicating with the hotel about a refund, the process is unnecessarily tedious and long..

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Beautiful

    Reviewed by Sandra0907s(Edmonton, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Very beautiful resort. Everything was amazing; the food, the drinks. Rooms are nice and clean. The beach is beautiful. The staff are very friendly and polite.The resort is very clean . I recommend it and I will go again:)

    Stayed at the Grande Bahia Principe Coba Apr 9-16, 2019

    Reviewed by Shannen-Sin() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Grande Bahia Principe Coba Apr 9-16, 2019. This was our 4th trip to this chain of hotels. We previously stayed at the Grande Bahia Principe Coba, Tulum, and Sian Kaan. We previously very much enjoyed this resort hence continuing to return. This trip was disappointing though. We stayed with our 4 adult sons on this trip, and booked 3 rooms. The good: 1. Food- Food is good but not great, especially at the buffet. 2. Rooms- Rooms are clean, and well air conditioned. 3. Entertainment- The entertainment staff are fabulous at the pool and for the evening entertainment. The bad: 1. Check in experience- Upon check in we were assigned our rooms and the staff had assigned a king bed to 2 of our adult boys. We requested a room change to a room with 2 doubles (which our travel agent had specified), which the staff wouldn’t accommodate. Instead they put one of our boys on a pull out, which wasn’t the most comfortable apparently. 2. Raining in our room- We has torrential rain storms twice while visiting, and one of the roofs in our rooms was leaking terribly beside the bed and in the bathroom. It was basically pouring rain in the room. We asked to be moved to a room that wasn’t leaking, and the staff would not accommodate this request. Instead we were given towels to continuously mop up the floor. No apologies by the staff. 3. The 3 restaurant bookings that came with the trip- We were a little frustrated with the 3 restaurant bookings that came as part of the trip package. We arrived at midnight, so booked our restaurant meals first thing on the next morning. Most places were booked. We ended up with 3 reservations that were not the best times. Booked for 6pm, 7pm and 930pm which wasn’t the best times for us. On our last night we had a reservation for 6pm at the Brazilian restaurant which our whole group was very much looking forward to. I totally messed up and told my group the reservation was for 7pm. We arrived right at 7pm and told we were too late to be able to eat there after the staff realized that we arrived 1 hour late. I was very apologetic, and asked if there was anyway the could accommodate our group. The restaurant at this time was half empty, and yet the staff would not accommodate us arriving late. The manager just said “Sorry Miss, you should be on time”. Needless to say, our whole party was seriously disappointed. After this experience, we definitely will not be booking any future trips with a Grande Bahia Principe hotel chain.

    Really enjoyed our stay

    Reviewed by BB2Travel(Calgary, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our stay was early February 2019. This was the first time we had stayed at a resort this BIG... especially with access to 3 'attached' resorts. The food - buffets & alacartes - were fabulous. Always lots of food at the buffets, and a large variety of it. The alacartes were top quality. During our stay, it was quite windy. For us, we did not miss not being directly on the beach, as you could barely feel the wind at the pool. The pools are large, and plenty of lounge chairs. Could possibly use a bit more shade, but all-in-all no real complaints. The room was always clean, and the mini fridge stocked - and it was easy to get more at the bar, if you needed. The staff was fantastic! Every staff member we encountered was smiling and always friendly and polite. Although we could not use the restaurants at 2 of the other 3 attached resorts, we still did a lot of walking through them. All of the grounds were very well maintained, and we witness some groundskeepers cutting open coconuts for some kids... cool! We only have one very minor complaint... a item did go missing from our room. We did report it through a evaluation form left for management before we departed the resort. Sadly, we did not receive any response from management. We completely understand that management is not responsible for missing items (it wasn't anything of large value, but is not easily replaced), but it would have been nice to receive some sort of acknowledgement. In the evaluation, we also mentioned our experience at the Japanese restaurant... it wasn't the best, but it did not ruin our vacation. Overall, we would recommend this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX