Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen
    6. Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Ripped Off

    Reviewed by Snb1979 on Apr 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The only thing this resort has going for it, is it's location. There is NO BEACH, don't let the advertised pictures fool you! The snack hut is literally 5 steps from the pool bar, and if you take a step backwards you'll fall off the sand hill. Nothing but giant smelly sand bags. The buffet food is decent quality, but zero selection. We ate off the resort more than we ate on the resort, and when you pay what this place charges...that's just unacceptable. Their evening entertainment consists of a very amateur 30 minute "show" followed by much to loud music in the tiny lobby bar area. I was so excited to go to this resort, and now I feel like I was ripped off.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    We loved our stay, best staff!

    Reviewed by SK Traveller on Apr 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    By far, some of the best staff around. Resort is fantastic! Not large and location is so convenient to 5th Ave. shopping in Playa del Carmen. Not the place for you if the beach is your priority as some of it has been worn away by the waves and storms. Can't wait to go back though!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11371 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Marvellous Resort

    Reviewed by JourneyX3() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just returned from a lovely vacation at Panama Jack in Playa del Carmen .Beautiful setting, outstanding service. Great management- thanks Guadeloupe and Mayela. To servers Suleima and Emma, mucho gracias.Jose and Carlos, you were the best at at leading stretch and yoga on the beach every morning .Hector and Jaime at Bella’s thanks for superb service. And there were more, all giving great service every day and in every way. Very family friendly, even though we didn’t bring our kids. But I plan to come back and do that. Karaoke, bingo , aquacize, live shows. Lovely clean pools and facilities- and amazing fresh food. Kudos to all.

    Wonderful staff, very accommodating for food allergies

    Reviewed by brisa792011(Kelowna, Canada) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We visited Panama Jack PDC as a family of 4 (parents + a 4 year old and a 1 year old). We chose the resort based on very positive reviews of how accommodating the kitchen and wait staff were of allergies. These reviews were 100% correct. My daughter has peanut, egg and milk allergies and every restaurant was able to make special meals for her. The Italian restaurant makes their pasta from scratch and when they found out about our allergy needs, we were invited to come back 2 days later to have a freshly made vegan pasta noodle with meat sauce. We were thrilled. Special thanks to Antonio, our waiter, for setting that up! The staff at the buffet, Ventana’s, was excellent. Special shout out to the waiters: Abraham, Benjamin and Alejandro and the chef: Antonio for making my daughter feel special and making careful notes of what her allergies were every day, every meal. We were able to let them know we were coming ahead of time and they were able to make a dish that she could eat. The resort itself was great, close to the beach, although quite eroded. The kids club was good and very well maintained. The staff was excellent and very friendly. My only hesitance to giving 5 stars was the group of sales people constantly calling the hotel room and approaching you to try to pitch their “tour of the hotel” - code for time share. I declined politely several times and they finally got the hint. It was disruptive and annoying. The other hindrance to a 5 star review was the photography salesman who tried to sell us a $300USD+ photo package. He was quite rude when I said I only wanted a couple of family photos @$20USD! each. When I was finally ready to purchase he said the credit card machine didn’t work and asked me to pay in cash which I didn’t have on me. It left such a bad taste in my mouth dealing with him I decided to foregoing the pictures. All in all, a great, if small resort but it afforded us the ability to meet some new friends because of the smaller size. I would still recommend.

    Panama Jacks Resort

    Reviewed by jshular(ontario,canada) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stayed for 2 weeks, and absolutely loved this resort! Usually vacation in the Dominican, so our first time in Mexico. Food was great, very clean, and the staff are amazing! If your a beach/swimming in the ocean type person, this may not be the resort for you. We sat on the beach every day, close enough to the pool to cool down. And, they bring your drinks right to your beach chair.....great service! Would definitely recommend this resort!

    Where do any of the negative comments come from.....this place is FANTASTIC

    Reviewed by winnipegsunbug(winnipeg) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I truly do not understand how anybody can not love this hotel. Don't judge the hotel on the beach, there isn't a good beach anywhere right now, we tried several from Puerto Morelos down to Tulum, the seaweed is everywhere even though they are cleaning it non stop. From morning to night, everywhere they are scraping, clearing and cleaning the beaches. The people at this resort are fantastic, it is hard to narrow down by name as we were never disappointed in any service we received, from the buffet in the morning, to the beach side grille, to the three restaurants, the sushi bar, the coffee shop to the bars and through to front staff, housekeeping, bell boys and maintenance. These people are working long days and rotating through a multitude of areas. Our favorite pool waitress Erika moved from the pool on one side to the quiet pool, to the buffet, to the coffee shop and was always with a big smile. She was awesome and very helpful with a few questions I had about the area. The coffee shop gals were a delight every morning and each evening, by day three Marissa, the evening gal knew exactly what we wanted and had it half prepped before we ordered. Delicious sweets, ice cream and mid day sandwiches were fantastic.. The waiters we had in the Italian and Mexican restaurant were fantastic, Martin and Jose, very attentive and missed no details. Our favorite lady in the morning buffet was a great gal by the name of Erika, always smiling and happy to make up our daily requests, omelets, grilled cheese or whatever we wanted. I could go on an on about the service, it was frustrating to watch people complain that things were not quick enough...two bars within feet of the pool and people can't get off their butt to get their huge 'bubba's' filled or annoyed because waitress only brought two beers instead of the 5 they wanted. We never felt that we were not served regularly or without authentic smiles from morning to night amidst the rudeness of some people. We tipped regularly, it was never expected nor did it change our service. It was, however, greatly appreciated. Amazed at how many people after five star service thought it ok to leave nothing or throw a couple of dollars down after being waited on with white glove service. The rooms are fantastic, we were lucky enough to have a third floor ocean front room that overlooked the gorgeous pool and the ocean beyond that. The housekeeping did an amazing job of keeping our room in tip top shape, although we usually only had the room cleaned every second day as we didn't spend much time there. If we had our do not disturb sign out, they simply left a note asking us to let us know if we needed anything until as late as 10 pm. Every time our room was cleaned our mini bar will replenished with beer, water and pop if anything had been consumed. They are always cleaning within the resort, you could have walked in bare feet anywhere within the pool area or inside, as the floors were always spotless. Painting, cleaning, maintaining all day and evening. The food choices are spectacular. The sushi roof top restaurant, where the service and food was impeccable and well presented. Three ala carte restaurants, that never needed a reservation and you never waited more then 5 minutes. These were all fantastic, our favorite was the Italian, we dined 4 times in the 12 days we were there. The Mexican was also very good and nicely opened to the street. The Brazilian was very good as well. All service we received in all the restaurants was fantastic and every food request made was accommodated. The buffet changed daily and roughly every second day, the buffet was closed for dinner because a theme night was set up out side, a Superbowl party, a Mexican night, a BBQ/Jazz night etc. This made for nice changes to being able to mingle with other guests. The set up outside was fantastic, to watch it transform from pool chairs to table cloth table and chairs and decorations and set up in the matter of hours to accommodate all the guests. The set up looking like a five star set up only to be dismantled hours later and all pool set up reinstated for the morning....absolutely amazing the work these people do. The pool area is fantastic as well, we never had trouble finding a spot, yes people in some cases were putting towels on chairs as early as 6:30 am.but we never had an issue and in some cases if chairs sat too long, the staff would remove the towels. The two entertainment staff during the day are fantastic as well, Carlos and Jose. Many of the hotels we have been to have an entertainment crew of many. At Panama Jacks it is these two fellas and they work from early morning to late afternoon and then are back at evening shows as well. They have events planned all day from pool aerobics to beach volleyball, to water polo to dance lessons to bingo and the list goes on. They go nonstop all day, you never feel pressured to join in to anything but are welcomed to join regardless of your skill level. My son, at 10 joined many of the water/beach events and was always made to feel like a great compliment to the game. The entertainment is outside nightly and is well choreographed. It appears to be a professional team of dancers that are very talented. There were several themes from Mexican night, Fire show, A retro 40's to 90's show, Jazz night etc. Every night the show was different and actually was not completely repetitive in week 2. Unfortunately if it does rain, there is no formal show because it is outside, however, they make for up for it inside with Karaoke or stage singers etc inside. We enjoyed each and every one of the shows. 5th Avenue is close by and while at first we thought we would not enjoy that, we enjoyed many strolls down the strip, it is very different morning to afternoon to evening and well worth seeing on more than one occasion. We did turn our bracelets inside out as many vendors on the street recognize your bracelet and advise they were your waiter the night before, confuses them when they cannot tell. No one bothers you and a simple no thanks suffices. I had a few questions re booking some tours, Yesenia at Best Day Travel gave me a ton of information and did not pressure me into taking any specific tours. As a matter of fact, she advised on several options on many things and was super kind when I mentioned I was looking for a special soap for my dad that I had been unable to find. A couple of days later she advised she had gone and found me the soap as she knew how important it was to me....I thought that was amazing. Another example of how the people go above and beyond at this resort. I could go on and on about the pluses of this hotel, I rarely travel back to the same hotel twice, this one has made it onto my 'must do again' list. I like the smaller feel to this hotel, although it doesn't feel small, I loved the people, the food, the entertainment and the pool and entertainment staff. It was impossible for us to pick anything negative about this place and would highly recommend it. THANK YOU Panama Jacks for making this a very memorable vacation

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Kevin - Panama Jack

    Reviewed by Jessica R() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I want to start off by saying THANK GOD WE MET KEVIN! My boyfriend and I would not have enjoyed the vacation as much if it wasn’t for him. He taught us everything we need to know about the resort and always made sure we knew about any events or activities we could take part on. Thanks to him, we had An amazing Valentine’s Day dinner by the beach. And if we couldn’t find Kevin, He would always find us! Outstanding service from such a young intelligent man. Any problems we had were solved and taken cAre of within minutes. I’d like to also mention how friendly ALL staff are at this hotel! Beautiful resort and great ambiance! THANKS KEVIN AND PANAMA JACK!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX