Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort
    6. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    K

    Wonderful stay. Bring ones and fives for tipping. Change is hard to come by.

    Reviewed by Kirk on Apr 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Great time for a week in early April. Really big resort. Bring a waterproof watch so you know the time. No clocks anywhere. Pool bats close at 6pm. Pools close at 8pm. Buffets aren't 5 star but the a la carte's such a steakhouse and Japanese Miso we're great. Seaweed in water and on beach but big deal. Warm water but small waves. No complaints. Great time for families and non families looking to unwind. So many pools.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Had a great time

    Reviewed by Nadine on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Overall great resort. Beach is lovely and so are the pools. However, when we booked I asked what was all included and we were told that the kids area (kids pool, buffet, etc. we?re all included) we have 3 & 5 year old so it was important to us. When we got there we went to the kids area and a staff member came out and told us we had to pay $9/person to play in the pool. The pool was ice cold so I said not to worry about it that we will leave. My kids had fun at the other pools and beach anyway but not the point. Not sure if this was westjet a error or if the hotel is trying to scam people. We talked with other families and they had experienced the same thing and other days they could go and play in the area. Other then this our stay was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Great holiday.

    Reviewed by Manitoba Seniors on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Go directly outside airport to your rep. About 45 minute bus ride from airport. Hotel was very clean. Room spacious and clean. Great selection and quality of food and drinks at numerous bars, buffets, and restaurants. Pools are clean and lounges plentiful. Nice beach with small rocks only along water's edge and sandy once past the edge. Not great for snorkeling due to waves stir up sand. Slacks or dress golf shorts and golf shirt with closed footwear acceptable in a la carte restaurants. A la carte reservations made behind lobby bar. Casual dress in buffets. Try the ice cream parlor and have a panini in the 24 hour Sports Bar. Lizeth Hernandez and Beatriz Caamal in snack bar/buffet closest to beach were wonderful hostess and server. Large resort with fair amount of walking. Comfortable foot wear such as runners/good sandals recommended. Entertainment in theatre was good most evenings. Staff were wonderful, friendly and accommodating and warranted tips in pesos which they genuinely appreciated.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    j

    Terrible vacation from strt to finish

    Reviewed by jb on Mar 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Please note that this is an official complaint concerning our trip to Mexico at The Grand Riviera princess and travels with Westjet vacations. Let me start at the beginning on our flight to Mexico, where we were booked on the most less desirable seats on the plane that we could not change. We were immediately advised by the stewardess that we were booked on points seats. The flight was not enjoyable by any means. These seats have less leg room than any other available seat on the plane. Upon arrival at the Cancun Airport we were not listed with the transportation company that brings you to your hotel. This delay was almost one hour waiting at the airport. Arrival at the hotel was less than welcoming. We were advised that our room was not ready and that our package was an "almost all inclusive package" meaning we were only allowed to dine at certain restaurants, order drinks from the left side of the bar, and no access to the wifi. We immediately requested an upgrade willing to pay for all extras to try and salvage this disastrous booking, but for whatever reason the hotel did not allow us to. Please note, we tried several times to upgrade without success. We were assigned a room at the middle area of the hotel, room 7251. Nothing special by any means, but we settled in none the less. On the third day we returned to our room to find an unbelievable smell from the paint and construction that had been done on either side of our room making it unbearable to breath. We immediately reported the issue to management and made our way to the front desk. The 1st person at the front desk did not want to accommodate us with another room, we then requested the manager. After much persuasion, the manager offered us a downgraded room on the other side of the resort. This was our only option. Room #1266. We were obliged to pack our belongings and wait most of the night for the transfer causing us to miss our supper and show. Room 1266 was in a state, the bed was b

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10515 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    M

    Reviewed by Curiosity67230189475() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Resort was very accessible. A lot to do and a variety of foods to try. Entertainment lacked a bit. Needed a better sound system as it became very difficult to hear in the back areas. Overall very enjoyable.

    Worst vacation ever

    Reviewed by Lisa S() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My family stayed here last summer. Mind you we are all adults! The web page indicates 8 adult only pools....you're very lucky if you can find ONE!! Oh there was one pool for guests in the Lagoon area which was where my husband and I were staying but our girls were not in those rooms. Even though there was no one int that area they would not let 3 non drinking quite adults to just lay by the pool quietly. Shocking!! The food was horrible!! The steakhouse that was included with our deluxe room was pitiful! The steaks were maybe a half inch thick and what was supposed to be medium rare was very very well done! We of course sent them back only to have the following steaks return mooing! This was the absolute worse all inclusive resort we have ever been to...and we go to a lot of them!! Good luck if you chose this resort! I selected based on the reviews,,,,now I'm wondering if they are all fake!!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-1

    Great place to stay

    Reviewed by 836Helen123(Manning, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed for 1 week. We did enjoy it. The sheets were a little weird, they didn’t use king size sheet some times, sometimes they just went to the edge, sometimes they over lapped in a spot where we slept. The room was very spacious. The fridge did not have a freezer which would have been nice to freeze a bottle of water.

    Excellent in every way!!!

    Reviewed by Ceriloup(Nicolet, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We’ve been to this hotel from 2nd to 9th April 2019 and everything was excellent : room was clean, food excellent and lots of variety, staff really helpful and very kind, outdoor very beautiful!!! Best barman ever is Eder and Carlos is the best waiter!!! Will go back for sure!!!

    Another Great Royal Holiday Vacation

    Reviewed by keith683(Idaho Falls, Idaho) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Riviera Princess Resort in Playa Del Carmen for 7 days, over spring break with my family and some friends. It was our first time staying at this resort. We were impressed on how large it was with everything you needed for a nice tropical vacation. Lots of options for food and drink at the resort, a nice beach, and very nice accommodations. Our concierge, Sarai was very helpful in showing us around the resort as well as helping us make reservations for activities outside the resort. Another thing we liked about the resort was it’s location. It was just a short drive to go to a natural water park, to a Mayan ruin, or to go deep sea fishing. All in all, it was a memorable vacation and once again we are thankful we are Royal Holiday members to enjoy such nice vacations.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX