Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
    6. Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Perfect Place for a relaxing Family Vacation!

    Reviewed by Carlos on Apr 19, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    After a lot of research we decided on Paradisus La Esmeralda and it did not disappoint! The service was superb and all staff went above and beyond to provide the best service especially Joao he helped book restaurants and gave us a fantastic tour of the resort, excellent service. We tried several restaurants and they were great ( only complaint is they need to have more seafood selection without additional charges). We had a fantastic photo shoot and they pictures turned out amazing, a little pricey but well worth it. I also booked Xcaret park through the resort, again a bit pricey, the park it self was mediocre but the dolphin swim was well worth it ( pictures are an additional fee) we booked with Fabiola and she was great. We also went to the 5th avenue markets a few times paradisus will have a taxi ready for you within 5 minutes and it?s a great place to visit, eat good Mexican food and buy Knick knacks. The beach yes it had seaweed but so does the rest of the cancun area but it was cleaned every morning. I would highly recommend booking a Bali bed at least once near the poor for parents to relax and kids to enjoy- also highly recommended a swim up suite. My kids absolutely loved the new water park and pirate ship. I consider myself to be fairly picky and I would highly recommended this resort, food was good customer service was above and beyond and all staff were friendly and helpful ( don?t forget to leave tips!)This is an excellent place to visit with or without children, it?s beautiful and the service is absolutely fantastic!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10607 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    We will come back again for sure.

    Reviewed by Robert S(Calgary, Canada) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent family resort! We enjoyed out time here very much. There was some seaweed on the beach a couple of days, but the staff got it cleared away very quickly. The food was excellent, but plan ahead to book your reservations for the specialty restaurants. We were especially fond of The Market, and don't miss the Teppanyaki show at Bana! The buffet was good as well for those days that you want something more casual. And if your morning coffee is important like it is for us, having the Illy Coffee bar on site was a life saver. They make great coffee and even though it isn't included, the price is very reasonable.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Family friendly resort - swim up rooms

    Reviewed by emilyb98(Charlottesville, Virginia) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My family of five and two other families returned from a family vacation. My family stayed in a one bedroom suite family concierge swim up room. The room was well appointed. The beds were doubles - not queens - but comfortable. The pull out couch was very firm but not horrible. There was a nice small table and two bar stools so we could eat breakfast in our room. We would have preferred a master suite swim up as it is larger but lacked the number of beds we needed. I would highly recommend the swim up rooms. Everyone loved it! Swim up rooms were fantastic!! So easy to jump in the pool. Plenty of room on the porch to store inflatables. Private loungers for the room in the pool. My kids may never be able to stay in a non swim up room again!! We stayed in Room 2007 and our travel companions were in 2008 (master suite swim up), which were connecting rooms. Definitely request these rooms if you are traveling in these rooms types. Plus, I highly recommend these rooms as the rooms on this side of the building are not hotel rooms but instead Club Meliá business suites so there aren’t any guests there and it felt like a private pool. Plus, these rooms are close to the beach access. If deciding between family concierge and swim up choose swim up but we loved both. Room service with no charge meant we had breakfast in our room every day and it was delicious. Olio, which is breakfast and lunch, only for family concierge was home base for us and ate lunch there every day. The buffet/salad bar was perfect for the kids and we enjoyed the tacos!! Plus, when they were done they could run into the family concierge lounge for gummy candy or the family concierge pool for a swim. Our butler, Jeaneen, was helpful. She arranged dinner, had special surprises for the kids (kid robes, special bubble bath, fish food, scavenger hunt, etc), brought anything we needed (extra towel cards, drying rack, matches, etc), and even dropped a bottle of wine off for us several nights. We were a little disappointed in the kids club for our age kids (12, 10, 7) as it skewed younger. The “eco tour” was a walk to look at the fish and the turtles in the lobby. We thought it would’ve been more like a tour of the whole resort as there were tons of cool animals - coati, grasshoppers, iguana. The game room was pretty busy but fun for the kids. Grab a foosball and enjoy the tables. The parties were so much fun and the kids loved those!! There was a fiesta with a mechanical bull and a bubble party! All in all I would definitely go back and recommend La Esmeralda to anyone looking for a fun, relaxing resort.

    The resort staff and service in particular Gladys, Ruben, Maria & Antolin at Guest services, thank you!

    Reviewed by HandJ201() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I spent 2 weeks at La Esmeralda, the resort is stunning with ample space. The rooms were clean and well maintained each day, both in the morning and evening. We had a pool view room on the 2nd floor with stunning views. The resort staff were all amazing, we would like to thank Gladys, Ruben & Maria at Guest services for all their outstanding help and Antolin at the front concierge, he welcomed us to the hotel with outstanding service upon our arrival to the resort. We would highly recommend this resort. Thank you to everyone at Paradisus - La Esmeralda, we had a great holiday!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wonderful Time with Family

    Reviewed by Journey29966072720() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I would recommend this place to everyone. We had a wonderful time and created many memories. We unfortunately visited during a time when the algae or seaweed was considerably bad. We did not spend anytime at the beach because of it. But That's in Gods hands so I cant blame the facility. Having 3 little girls I was a bit nervous to travel to Mexico because of what the news has been reporting. This was the furthest from the truth in my experience. We felt extremely safe and comfortable. We even ventured out multiple time (which I highly recommend). There are so many beautiful and amazing places to visit nearby. We used best day travel. The booking, transportation, and communication was seamless. I cant say enough nice things about our stay here. If you travel at least 3 times a year, its worth listening to their Melia membership program. If you don't it may not be worth it for you. Overall It was a great experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Paradisus, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

    Reviewed by juliafeacher417(Cinnaminson, New Jersey) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What an amazing experience once again at the luxurious Paradisus Resort in Playa Del Carmen Mexico. The Resort staff went above and beyond to ensure you had an outstanding experience. My mother who has not traveled in years do to health challenges was able to make the trip and she totally enjoyed herself. The Staff was instrumental in ensuring she had want for nothing. Thank You to Maria Castellanas, Marie Jurado, Gladys and Ruben in Guest Services who assisted me with my mother, long with Franscico in Regiatration who ensured she the beat accommodations, and so many others who who displayed 5 Star/Diamond Service at all times. Hilda Arenas, exceptional Sales Coordinator for our event. Hilda and her Team rolled out the Royal Purple (Red)Carpet. Their services were par excellence. The accommodations were well maintained and the housekeeping Team, yes you guessed it, Amazing too. I didn't frequent the restaurants as much, however, the room service was always on time and the food was delicious and hot.. I would recommend Paradisus to anyone who wants a relaxing environment, good food, aecstetically maintained facility and 5 star customer service. #FamilyFriendly #5Stars #5Diamonds

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX