Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    A

    Excellent Place to Stay!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Mar 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort staff were friendly, hardworking, cared about the details and were always willing to help. The resort is beautiful, you can tell the resort is not brand new, but it has been very well maintained and there is an excellent attention to details. The shop is good, but sunscreen is ridiculously expensive. The gym had essentially all the equipment needed for when on vacation with good music and cool temperature. The rooms were excellent as well. We stayed in the main building and everything was close by and not noisy at night at all. Some of the rooms are in separate buildings which might be inconvenient for some due to the need to walk up many stairs or take a shuttle to the main areas. Our room had a small plumbing leak, but resort staff got on it right away. There was a very nice view from the room, the bed was comfortable, there was lots of storage and the bathroom was good. The food is excellent and there is a huge selection. Each night the buffet had a different theme. If the theme food did not appeal to you there was always plenty of other food options to eat. The only issue I can think of is I wish there were condiments like ketchup, mustard, etc. for the burgers. We only went to the Italian restaurant, but the food and service there was excellent too. The drinks at the various bars were all delicious and there was a good selection. The pools were all great, good temperatures, layout, size and features. The beach was nice, clean, plenty of beach space and chairs and the usable kayaks were good. At the main pool there were always fun activities going on, but they would never hog the entire pool which made them completely optional. The club/disco was not too exciting or special, but that could be a bit because not a lot of people went. There were some evening/night shows that were great. There was an acrobatics show that was extremely impressive and fun to watch. There is also a long bridge you can walk across to get to a nearby island to explore.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4507 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Entertainment and scenic views

    Reviewed by Starfish03(Terrebonne, Canada) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I had never been to an all-inclusive resort from where you have views of both the sea and the city. This makes for memorable pictures and moments I enjoyed. It was really different for me, especially since we had spent the previous week on the sister resort on the island. The strength of this resort is the entertainment – for adults and for kids. Thanks to Lewis who kept the adults busy in the morning at the beach in a Caribbean vibe, and to Caroline who had our kids at heart. She was so nice to ours kids – when she saw we were going out to an excursion one day, she prepared the superhero masks for our girls to participate to the mini-disco at night. The beach was never full (resort was at 50% of its capacity) and almost empty in the afternoon. When the bay is calm, water is crystal clear without seaweed. My favorite pool was the one located around villas 20, much calmer than the one near the panoramic elevator. I really enjoyed the buffet – a lot of variety for lunch and dinner. It also had great employees such as Anthony and Barbara. I tried the pool restaurant for one lunch – lesser variety but my pizza was excellent. The best A la Carte restaurant was the French (great service from Kenia and Eddy), but also had a good food experience at the Italian. The house wine was OK in red, tasted strange in white (they definitely did not offer the same than at Cayo…). Reserve your A la Carte restaurants in the lobby area when you arrive and forget about the app which does not work well… The shows at night were nice – do not miss out the Circus show – and the area has a great view on the city, which makes for perfect nights! I recommend this resort – you will have a good time! It might not meet the criteria of white sand beach lovers or for ones that like a resort lost in vegetation.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    AMAZING

    Reviewed by heide84(Kitchener, Canada) on Aug 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    LOVED staying here! Everyone was wonderful. It was clean, well decorated and airy. I loved that the windows in the hallways were open to let the breeze in. The buffet was great, something for literally everyone no matter who you are or where you're from. The pool bar was great, bartenders even better. Props to Fernando and Raul!!! Gracias amigos!! Housekeeping did a wonderful job every morning (or afternoon?) of cleaning the rooms and tidying up (they even folded my pajamas!). We had no issues getting into the restaurants, even received a free massage (gave up an hour of our time listening to a sales spiel). Our room was on the 4th floor, but the noise from the terrace didn't really transfer through. We had a great view of the town and the bay (and partial ocean).

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Some helpful tips

    Reviewed by Ross32(Burlington, Canada) on Jul 31, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    1. If you are a beach walker, don't go to this hotel. It's nice, but its beach is very small and there is nowhere to walk, especially in hot months (the t is above 30C and it's hard to walk in town, whereas you could do it on the beach - but there is not walking beach). 2. In Samana it's impossible to withdraw US dollars from ATM, only local currency. If you are from Canada, it'll cost you 200 pesos (about CAN $6) just to withdraw some money. So make sure to bring US dollars from home. Canadian coin dollars are impossible to exchange into local or US currency, so the locals just toss them away. Beware of that (we were notified about it by the local guide). 3. The excursions are quite expensive. I went on a National park one - $ 90 US. But one has to go on them, "cause otherwise there is absolutely nothing to do there (unless you love to spend all your time at the beach or by the pool). 4. Don't be afraid to bargain for a massage in a spa. I negotiated a 50 min. general relaxing massage for US $40, whereas it costs 90 US according to their price list. 5. Not a bad place if you travel with kids or in a group, but excruciatingly boring if you travel alone and on a budget. Don't repeat my mistake.

    Awesome!

    Reviewed by Eumai() on Jul 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    El servicio de este lugar fue lo MAXIMO!!! My family and I really loved this place from top to BOTTOM. excellent customer service. They really made our stay an amazing and confortable experience. I want to thank the snack bar, ANAJULIA Y JUNIOR for always taking care of us and treat us like if we were THEIR FAMILY. They really made our stay better OUR KIDS LOVED THEM. Than you all and keep up the great JOB

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Second time around not as good as the first

    Reviewed by travelbugs008(niagara falls) on Jul 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I traveled to the Bahia Principe Cayacoa with my 10 year old grand daughter. First off I got a great last minute deal out of Toronto with Air Canada, Second, this was my second visit to this resort, the last time I was here it was still an Adults only resort. With that being said, I still enjoyed my visit knowing that it was a regular Bahia and not a Luxury. 1. Ride to resort- it is a 50 minute ride to the resort. There are no stops on the way and it is a beautiful area of the D.R. 2. Arrival and Check-in- We were asked to stand in the line to get checked in, as our arrival to the resort was at noon, I knew that it was very unlikely that our room was ready. There was no welcome drink while you were waiting in line. They had a whole bus load, and were quite organized but people were tired and thirsty. Our room was not ready. No problem, we changed in the washroom and went straight to the pool. 3.Room- Our room was ready around 2 p.m. and we took our own luggage up to the room, we were on the 5th floor, the views from this resort is spectacular. Our room was typical, my granddaughter and I shared a king sized bed. Bathroom is small but adequate, Bathtub/shower combined, small sink and counter top area. Air conditioning is OK. You have to put one of your cards in the slot to turn on the power in your room and if you open the balcony door it shuts off the air conditioning. 4.Internet-Sucks!! If you are with young kids and need them to be occupied from time to time, their are only 3 English speaking channels, the internet is only available in the lobby. I splurged and purchased the upgraded intranet so we could have it thru out the resort, I could answer emails and texts as they came in, a huge asset. Worth the money at least I thought, $79.00 per week for up to 4 devices, 2 phones and 2 tablets, worked for the most part ok. 5.pool and beach- If you are not mobile, do not visit here, stairs everywhere. The main pool was warm and clean. You take an elevator to get to the beach, which we did everyday, had fun swimming in the waves. There are other pools but we did not visit them, as well as another beach on the other side where the junior suites are. 6. Food/Bar- This is where I noticed a big change from the last time that I was here, the food has gone downhill. They do cater more to children now which is ok, but some days, I had a hard time finding items for myself to eat, little vegetable selections that is not covered in or soaking in sauces/water. Cheese selection was very good, some proteins I found to be iffy. The ala-cartes were just o.k. We did all 3 and there was not that much of a menu selection. Bars, I did not drink any hard liquor, I had a few beers and stuck to the red wine which was tolerable, I did have the white wine one night but could not finish it, way too sweet for me. They do have a cappuccino machine at the bar, and we enjoyed our coffee and hot chocolate daily. 6. Service- Impeccable, shout out to all the servers/cleaners/housekeeping staff and front desk staff, you all did an amazing job. You said good morning to my granddaughter every day, stopped to talk to her and made her feel special, kudo's to you! 2 of the people who stand out the most was Dady and Deborah? Also Jose was excellent. 7. Cleanliness- This resort is spotless, I have stayed at the Bahia Principe's on 7 different occasions, and I have to say that I give your corporation a thumb's up for cleanliness, even if you look under the chairs you will be hard pressed to find a spider web or a piece of litter. In closing, I don't usually go to the same resort twice as they are never the same, but I got a good deal, it was worth the money I spent, but I would not return to this resort. I want to try the Island next!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX