Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Great place to relax, recharge and revive yourself.

    Reviewed by TNT on May 31, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a fantastic location for that much need rest and relaxation, great food with a wide variety of selection for all your dietary concerns. Staff and management are amazing and make you feel like you're at home. Beaches are very clean and you're not bombarded by outside vendors selling goods all day. Worth every penny and definitely going back I highly recommend this location.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    4

    Paradise with a catch !

    Reviewed by 481sunset on Apr 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort is located on a great beach in a quiet area, great walking and swimming and okay snorkelling for beginners. We visited over Easter, it was a great price for 10 days PROS excellent service, lovely suite clean and quiet. Bars in evening had music and great service. Food in buffet very good. Al la cartes okay but preferred selection at buffet. Beach was great for relaxing. Short 40 mins from airport check in on bus with beautiful scenery. CONS They added extra rooms to this resort and at this time of year very crowded, not enough chairs and shade on the beach for everyone. Pool very small to accommodate all guests. Quiet pool even smaller. Restaurants , beach and buffet became very crowded as hotel was overbooked.! SUGGESTIONS add another pool expand seating at beach. Would be great if guests would not reserve chairs at 630 am and allow others to use. OPPORTUNITY This hotel overbooked at Easter which gave us the chance to spend 3 days at the Grand Bahia Cayo Levantado ithat hotel was phenomenal at true 5+ star !

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7195 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not our cup of tea.......

    Reviewed by Stephen W() on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We visited this resort from Aug 3-10, 2019 with my 9 yr old son, 3 teens, my wife and my parents (late 60's). I'm rating this one 3.5/5 simply as it has some basic issues that bothered our party but would not bother lots of others. If you want the quick review - food is great and plentiful, beach is nice - not to Cuban standards but far better than Punta Cana beaches, resort is well maintained, lovely and in a great location. If you want the nitty gritty, read on......... :-) First and foremost, this resort is not All-Inclusive. It felt every time I turned around there was a payment required. I'm used to travelling through 5 Star resorts where once on site, you don't pay anything other than tips. Here however, the basics are covered, but anything above you pay. Quite upsetting for my little guy, there were pool tables and games in the lobby - poor quality tables but great for kids/teens, however it was US$2 per game - I spent $30 on this when the machine was actually working to give you tokens. My father ordered a "rusty nail" at the bar - US$12 per drink. Steak dinner - US$65 per person. Went to the Italian a la carte, the chefs special was US$32 per person. Wifi is US$30 per device/week, though a free service is also offered with enough juice to send/receive emails etc - my teens used the free service all week with few complaints, just don't plan on streaming. Our biggest drawback is that this is a very busy resort. It's probably the smallest resort I've visited in land size, but more rooms than any other (606 rooms). It's very densely populated and no space anywhere. The main pool by the lobby is adequate for a 300 room resort, but with roughly 1200 people there - it's packed all the time. There is also a 2nd "relax/quiet" pool that is nice - no music/dancing etc, but was also busy and not really great for my 9 yr old. By 7am you start to see towels going up on the all the loungers around the resort - beach and pool, a really annoyance to me especially when there are signs everywhere stating it is not permitted, though not enforced. The beach is a lot worse for this. It was heaving at all times. I'm guessing there's around 400 beds on the beach, and our first few days there - all 400 had either towels or people on them. We finally found a spot with 8 beds but was quickly informed this was for "prestige guests" only who pay US$50,000 (yes that is was I was informed) for the privilege of using those beds - I assume for 50 grand they get other perks too :-) Buffet was great, we all left every visit very full. Service was mediocre in so far as getting water/coffee refills. Another small annoyance with us being a party of 8 - we were told on 5 of our 7 nights that they could not put 2 tables of 4 together for us so I rarely got to dine with my family. Oddly, on the last 2 nights a manager was present in the buffet and we were provided tables for 8. On day #2 we went to book the sea food restaurant - just for 3 members of my family, and was informed it was already fully booked for the entire week - again a symptom of too many rooms on the resort for the number of amenities. As others have already mentioned, the AC in the rooms is just adequate - we had ours set to minimum for the entire week and it never got cold - though in fairness it was 35C outside. We stayed in building 10, right at the relax pool, in 3 junior suites. The rooms were fine, could use some updating but were clean and functional. The Samana region is lovely, true D.R. with the mountains on side and ocean on the other - much prefer this area to Punta Cana. That said, my wife was a little disappointed as she likes to venture off the resorts and go to markets - there's nothing like that within walking distance, you must take a cab to Las Torrenas (I believe it was US$10 each way). Overall we enjoyed our week here - the resort if not a bad resort, it just simply is too busy for us and doesn't have enough amenities/space to accommodate this number of guests.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Good family resort

    Reviewed by Anthony P() on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Went to Grande Bahia Principe El-Portillo in the Dominican at the end of June. The weather was great, the food was good but the beaches were just average. The actual beach was good but the water was surrounded by coral and because of the protective netting it was quite cramped. The service was mixed with some staff being quite nice but on average most were unappreciative when tipped. Young families would like this resort best. But teens and adults will find it boring as entertainment is sub-par.

    Family plan

    Reviewed by mustaali(Toronto, Canada) on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We went with a group of 21 people 15 adults and 8 kids. overall we had a great time, the food was great, variety was 4 out of 5 and service at the buffet was excellent. i was very impressed how fast they could turn things around. Even with group as large as ours. i wanted to give a special mention to Orlando our cart driver he was awesome, Maria the group liaison. the managers at the beach/snack bar was quite difficult to deal with when we went as a large group, we noticed exceptionally slow service in the brazillian restaurant. another issue we had was with the a/c units in our room. we had to call them 3 - 4 times before our room became the room from hell to the room from the arctic. the a/c had 2 settings, 17 C or 27 C. nothing in between. overall it was a good stay. the snorkeling off the beach is pretty fantastic.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    4th time back - didn't disappoint!

    Reviewed by Lynn7434(Guelph) on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our 4th stay at the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo. We have stayed at many Grand Bahia resorts, but this is our favourite - the size is perfect, beach and food are excellent. We requested a room in a specific building, and Maria Felix graciously ensured that we got what we asked for - she is a gem. We had a battery issue with the safe, but it was dealt with very quickly! Also, very impressed with how Santos keeps the quiet pool quiet - he is very pleasant while keeping good control of the noise level - this is an improvement over the last few times we were there when kids were over running the pool making lots of noise...there are other places where this is quite acceptable so it was nice that the quiet pool was kept quiet. Also would like to thank the following employees who made our stay a wonderful experience: Josefina at the main bar, Jorge at mainpool bar, Augustin, Devlin the driver, Michael and Santos at the quiet pool, and the omelette maker at the beach restaurant - thanks to all - we will be back! The friendly and helpful staff make this resort a real pleasure - food is excellent at all restaurants - buffet does get a little crowded at times, so be patient. Rooms are getting slightly dated. Staff should remove the signs at the beach palapas that say they can't be reserved - everyone reserves them very very early. We witnessed a nasty altercation that could have been avoided if the signs weren't there. Will definitely be returning - we love this place!

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Suntanto(Toronto) on Aug 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at this resort March 2019, better late then never on the review I guess. We booked it as our 1st AI resort with our 7 and 3 year old. We were both a little nervous that the kids were going to drive us nuts but the staff here bay far made our stay one of our best vacations. The main reason we picked this place was because of the great kids pool area, we ended up spending little time there as it was further away from the main areas. Also because there was such great kids club by the main pool and beach. Everyday Marilyn and her staff would walk by the main pool areas and take our kids away and entertain them with care and then bring them back 30 minutes later.....off and on throughout the day. Our kids had such a great time with them and meeting the other kids staying at the resort. She made our stay for the week a great one. We also had a great time playing around the pool, snorkeling and going for long walks on the beach with the kids. We also took out some paddle boards and 2 person kayaks. The food at both the beach and main restaurant was great and there was always something tasty to eat for us and our kids. The specialty restaurants also great, I liked the Brazilian the best as it had a great sunset view. We would return here in a heartbeat.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX