Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Great place to relax, recharge and revive yourself.

    Reviewed by TNT on May 31, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a fantastic location for that much need rest and relaxation, great food with a wide variety of selection for all your dietary concerns. Staff and management are amazing and make you feel like you're at home. Beaches are very clean and you're not bombarded by outside vendors selling goods all day. Worth every penny and definitely going back I highly recommend this location.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    4

    Paradise with a catch !

    Reviewed by 481sunset on Apr 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort is located on a great beach in a quiet area, great walking and swimming and okay snorkelling for beginners. We visited over Easter, it was a great price for 10 days PROS excellent service, lovely suite clean and quiet. Bars in evening had music and great service. Food in buffet very good. Al la cartes okay but preferred selection at buffet. Beach was great for relaxing. Short 40 mins from airport check in on bus with beautiful scenery. CONS They added extra rooms to this resort and at this time of year very crowded, not enough chairs and shade on the beach for everyone. Pool very small to accommodate all guests. Quiet pool even smaller. Restaurants , beach and buffet became very crowded as hotel was overbooked.! SUGGESTIONS add another pool expand seating at beach. Would be great if guests would not reserve chairs at 630 am and allow others to use. OPPORTUNITY This hotel overbooked at Easter which gave us the chance to spend 3 days at the Grand Bahia Cayo Levantado ithat hotel was phenomenal at true 5+ star !

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6811 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Pleasantly surprised!

    Reviewed by pctraceyl(Vancouver, Canada) on Dec 17, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Two week stay as a family of six. Resort was immaculate. Food was good, although kids quickly became tired of kids menu at a la cartes. Good selection at buffet with menu changing. The staff were exceptional and eager to please. The beach and water is pristine with no sargassum at time of our visit! It is a smaller compact resort easy to walk through or carts available.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    First impressions

    Reviewed by Undercovertourist905(St. Catharines, Canada) on Dec 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Day 1 & 2: Let me start out by saying I’ve read many reviews and was recommended to come here by a family that came last year around the same time. I arrived yesterday at the resort with my boyfriend. We are both in our mid 20s and we’re super excited for this vacation. I originally booked this vacation 3 months prior and when booking you can choose to request certain items for the check list (ground floor, close to lobby, close to beach, 1 king/ 2 double beds, etc). I requested to have a king bed, close to the beach and “honey moon” (honey means the decorate the door and added balloons, nothing special so don’t bother). Unfortunately when we arrived they gave us a room by the enterance, which is quiter but is about a 7 mins walk to the beach. I asked if we could be move and they said they were fully booked. However this was not the case because when went back to the lobby an hour later they were checking in more people but we didn’t want to make a big deal about it, mainly because we were located close to the “quiet pool”. Ok moving forward to the basics Commute: We landed in Samaná. The commute to the resort was about 40 mins and lots to see along the way Check-in: check in was fast. Aside from the minor issue I stated above everything else went smoothly. Staff: the staff her are wonderful and super helpful. The batteries were dead in our remote and they sent someone right away! Also the restaurant and bar staff and super friendly. One thing is not everyone speaks fluent English however they try their best and we haven’t had any issues. Food: we gave the food so far a 6/10. We been to the main buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner, nothing super special. The food isn’t hot but just warm but it’s hard to keep everything hot with such a big buffet. We also tried the French restaurant was good, everything was delicious. Wifi: Free wifi is only available in the lobby and it is on the slower side. You can purchase wifi for your room and the price varies depending on the amount of devices you will need the internet for. I read a review that suggested using “boingo wireless” which is much cheaper however we couldn’t get it to work so we purchased wifi through the hotel. I recommend upgrade to the “premium high speed internet”. The cost for 4 devices with the high speed is $79. Yes it is on the priced side but we were prepared to pay, also this internet can be used throughout the whole resort. Entertainment: it’s decent. Live bands, the music has a nice sound and the staff tend to sing a lot. Demographics: most people are older (40s and up) and some family’s. Which isn’t necessarily a bad things but we wish there was more people in their 20s or even 30s to mingle with. Also we find because we are younger some of the other tourists give us strange looks, I don’t know if they are wondering how we afford this place or what it is... but like I said, we definitely wish there was more younger people around. Room: the room is beautiful and spacious. We got the junior superior suit, definitely worth the up grade and very clean. We’re located in villa 10 which is closer to the entrance but it near a nice pool. Conclusion: despite all the negative things said. It is a nice resort just more on the quiet side and more basic.

    Great Stay

    Reviewed by TomHaliburton(Haliburton, Canada) on Dec 14, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Resort was amazing, staff as well. Front desk always helpful. Very clean. A better bed would be great. Wouldn't stop me from going again. Would just make it a 5 star instead of a 4. Time share people kept to the lobby and were very respectful when you said no thank you. You will have no problem finding something to eat. We were here on our 35th wedding anniversary and the hotel made us feel welcome with balloons and chocolates. Thanks so much to all the staff. Our 2 week stay was fabulous. Great job.

    Very good hotel and food. Bad service and beach... :(

    Reviewed by Montreal_CanadaBob(Montreal, Canada) on Dec 11, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    First time in Dominican Republic, before traveling always to Cuba. If I compare food it'S 5 stars in this hotel, but restaurants are not open 24h. I was sad to not enjoy a beautiful sunrise without my coffee. at 5h30 - 6h everything was closed! Beach is grey color, I hate big waves, but it was like a lake without any movement of water at all... that sucked too... some corals to snorkeling but it's far from Cuban white sand beaches! Service bad... no matter hove many tip You give :( So don't waste money... Going back to Cuba next time for sure. I am not difficult person, but it was a little disappointing :( But food was good... 5 STARS! Nothing to say bad, even if I try hard ;) If you go to eat it's definitely the place!

    Great resort, customer service could be better

    Reviewed by Karina G(Toronto, Ontario, Canada) on Dec 11, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My 78 year old mother and her friend were visiting this resort last week. I have booked premium suite. Two weeks prior to the arrival we called Sabrina, the manager, and explained that these are two older ladies that are coming for vacation. I asked to place them in the building 1, 3 or 5 so they can be closer to the beach to avoid long walks, because my mom has bad legs. Of course, I understand that there is no guarantee to be in the closest building, but at least I was hoping that they take in consideration their age and physical condition. Imagine my disappointment when I found out that my mom and her friend were put in building ...... 25. The farthest from everywhere building. Thank you Sabrina for your good heart. Thanks for taking care of older tourists. You are by far kindest person. The place was facing some utility building and it was stinky. It smelled like place where windows never opened. My mom’s friend made her way to the administration and complained. So, next morning they were moved to building 7, which was conveniently located in the middle of resort. Everything else was perfect. For those who is curious, Italian restaurant was the best. Brasília restaurant didn’t worth visit. Another note in terms of care about older people. My mom and her friend had a dinner at the French restaurant. Waiter asked what they would like to drink and offered a wine list without saying that wine on that list was not a part of the all inclusive deal and they were surprised to see $36usd charge at the check out. It is not a big amount, but this is just a scheme. You can’t take advantage of older people. That’s just not nice.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX