Hilton San Francisco Union Square

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    s

    Ants and Construction

    Reviewed by shawn on May 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Stayed at the Hilton early May for a vacation with my significant other. The first room had an ant infestation (on 18th floor, questionable). We were then moved to another room that had construction in an adjacent room drilling with a hammer drill at 7am. When I complained I was ignored because it was our last day there. They do not value your busines, book elsewhere they may at least feign interest in your complaint. Terrible vacation experience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3813 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A great stay for a night

    Reviewed by jjdm922() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I was in SF for one night to attend a conference and had a lovely stay at the Hilton. Checking in was a breeze and got a great recommendation for dinner (Chinese) from the front desk (R&D Lounge: great Mai Tais and food). Room was clean and comfortable, everything you expect. I wanted to mention the pool. I swim most days and decided to try the outdoor pool and the Hilton. It is on the 16th floor of Tower 3 accessible with the room key and opens at 5AM; I swam at 6AM and had to pool to myself. LOTS of towels and the water was warm (warmer than the air). The pool is short, so not a great lap pool, but worthwhile to not break your routine.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    I thought the place was GREAT

    Reviewed by TwilightOverBoard(Mustang, Oklahoma) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband was here on business for a couple of days and we added to the stay to do some sightseeing as it was my first time in San Francisco. I'm not sure why the other reviewers have given bad reviews. I will try to address some of the bad reviews I read before booking the hotel. There are 3 towers in the hotel. We stayed in Tower 1, 44th floor, and we LOVED it! Our room was clean, spacious and the view was incredible! Our room was right by the elevators and we never heard anything from outside the room. I was in awe of the view. I'm not sure what it's like in Towers 2 or 3. But, if you can get Tower 1, one of the higher floors with a balcony, you will not be disappointed with the view. The lobby is very noisy. But, we didn't hang out there -- so I don't see the problem. As a Diamond member, we had coupons for a "continental" breakfast, but didn't mind paying the extra $10 each for the "hot" buffet. The buffet came with two free mimosa and custom cooked eggs or omelets. We felt $10 for the buffet was an excellent bargain and service was top notch. We never saw a line when going to breakfast and we usually ate around 7:30 - 8:00 am. We did have dinner one night at the restaurant; we split a cheeseburger and it was delicious. We also purchased some food in the general store, to take to our room, and it was delicious. Everything in San Francisco is expensive, but felt the charges for food at this hotel were in line with what else we found in they city. When we checked in, we were given a map of the area and were told to steer clear of the "tenderloin area," which we did. Apparently, this is a seedy part of the city. We walked to Chinatown and then to Fisherman's Wharf. It was an easy walk and we felt safe everywhere we went. The one evening we went out, we took an Uber. Didn't see any problems around the hotel during the evening - but didn't do any walking either. We did see a lot of homeless peeps on the sidewalks when driving to the hotel from the airport, but that was several blocks away and did not see them again during our stay. I never felt unsafe while at the hotel or in the city in general. We did not have a vehicle so can't speak as to valet service. I can say, the front desk person we dealt with at check in was wonderful. I wish I could remember his name. We always stay in a Hilton Hotel. If we come back to San Francisco, I would definitely stay here again. The balcony in our room was amazing. We even watched the St. Patrick's Day parade from there.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    You pay for the location!

    Reviewed by ralu25(toronto) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Whoa, the parking bill is ridiculous! Otherwise, the Hilton is convenient for cable cars, hop on/off buses and transportation. As others have said, does border on pretty dodgy area with oodles of homeless folks. Check in was fine (we arrived at 2pm) but the line-up a few hours later was lengthy. The room was fine with a decent view. We didn’t eat at the hotel (already having contributed to the parking fund, the idea of over-priced coffee and food didn’t appeal). There is a sports bar to the left that has a nice breakfast and a coffee shop to the right down a block that were both affordable. Great convenience store across from the sports bar where we bought some snacks. Room has small fridge. The hotel itself is huge but easy enough to get around (even the parking was accessible enough once you figured it out). Wouldn’t stay there again but other than the parking, it served our purpose well.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Business

    Reviewed by davehT3445DO() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Business trip with organization. Surrounding area horrible. Homeless everywhere around hotel. Not a good area especially at night. Dangerous people everywhere outside. Restaurant seafood jacks is close by and quite good.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Ask for Shancie! Exceptional service even at 4 AM

    Reviewed by Doug O() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Shanice provided some of the best service I have ever had as a guest anywhere. She not only met all of my requests but really went the extra distance to make sure I was happy and accommodated for my stay. She did all of this in an extremely fast and efficient matter, all with a smile on her face at 4 AM! As a Hilton Honros member, I will absolutely be booking another stay here in the near future as long as Shanice is promoted, she is the reason I will be back.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX