Punta Leona Hotel

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    D

    Fantastic stay. All staff went above and beyond

    Reviewed by Darren on Apr 08, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    What a great experience. Right in the jungle of Costa Rica. We went on a few hikes in the area and saw beautiful birds and monkeys. The pool area was beautiful and the service fantastic. We had a buffet in the restaurant on weekends and an a la carte menu during the week. All the meals were excellent. The staff at the restaurants were top notch and the main desk team were always helpful and arranged a few tours for us. Would go back there again and will recommend it to others. The only thing they would improve the experience (which is hard to do as we really really liked it) would be a shuttle to and from town -even twice a day.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1064 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Nice place

    Reviewed by heatherf262() on Jul 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The room is small but it's clean and nice. There is one window that opens and it had a screen so you can choose to listen to the rainforest sounds if you want to. Air cond worked great. The pools are amazing!!!!! And the beach is great. Easy to walk to the beach from your room. There is an additional beach. You can walk to it at low tide. Otherwise there is a shuttle. There is a small group store in campus. Butterfly garden. The food is okay. Our dining hall was a bit chaotic. Hard to navigate. One bummer....I wish they provided coffee and milk before breakfast so we could enjoy outside. Staff very friendly.

    Great for Families

    Reviewed by sheerin_99(San Ramon, Costa Rica) on Jul 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Its a great opción for families with Kids. The hotel has a lot of acomodations options. They have big pools and whirlpools for adults and smaller pools for Kids too. They have 4 restaurants and a minimarket. The beach playa blanca its great with a big parking.

    Never Again

    Reviewed by CostaChica05(Austin, Texas) on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    It has been about 10 years since we last visited Hotel Punta Leona and boy were we disappointed. Check in was a bit of a disaster. The lobby was pure chaos and we found the staff to be a bit dismissive until they realized we spoke English, which we found strange. When we inquired about our room being ready (2 hours before official check in time) we were told it wasn't ready without asking our name or reservation information. Then upon learning we were an English speaking family the same staff member apologized and said our room was ready. This struck me as odd so I confirmed our room type a King Selvamar Superior room with a balcony she assured us everything was ready. After waiting an eternity for the shuttle to take us to the room (and one shuttle that didn't even stop) we arrive in the room to find it has 2 beds not the king we had reserved. This didn't work for us because we had no place to put the baby crib which is why we asked for the king when we made the reservation. We called and were told to wait while they figured it out. About 45 min later we were moved to a room with a king bed. The room was nice despite the balcony over looking the parking lot. We did see a large lizard in the room but found it part of the Costa Rican charm so if that's a deal breaker for you, you might want to go else where or pick another destination. We found the food to be practically inedible. I would avoid all inclusive at all costs. You're almost looked down upon for having all inclusive and almost nothing is included. You're given the same menu in every restaurant that includes casados with no beans (hard to call it a casado without beans). We wound up paying for most of our meals to avoid eating the same crap 3 times a day. The hotel property has a rule that you cant have a drink in the pool. You must have your drink in a pool chair. We found this absurd and super inconvenient. The pool and beaches were gorgeous and the only saving grace we found. We ate at the restaurant located on Playa Blanca and became seriously ill before we left the restaurant. The service was really really bad too. I was sick with tummy problems for 10 days after. It absolutely ruined the trip. The resort does not use bottled water and bottled water is not included with all inclusive and costs $1,500.00 colones per small bottle. Luckily we brought our own and suspect that I got sick from badly prepared Ceviche. Everything is pretty spread out across the property so be prepared to walk long distances in the heat and humidity. We enjoyed the exercise and well manicured property. The grounds are beautiful. The beaches are great with wonderful sunsets. We saw monkeys, armadillos, scarlet macaws and a toucan. My husband and I met in Costa Rica (he's from there and I went to college there) and we travel there at least once annually and we will not be back to Punta Leona. I would skip it and pick a different destination.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Great Place

    Reviewed by Trail559131() on Jul 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Have spent 6 days at Hotel Punta Leona I can say it was a great experience. The staff was friendly and the entire property was clean and well kept. The food was great. The only complaint I had was the hours. Most people are vacationing from other countries on other times zones. Nothing opened at the resort tell 7am at the earliest. And 9 am off-site. Sleeping in for us was 5am local time. And all we could do was wait 2-3hrs. And all-inclusive shouldn't be just a few choices of drinks. Why pay for the package if you have to pay Xtra for the good drinks. The all-inclusive was a waste of money. All in all I give it a 4 star for the property and experience.

    So so experience

    Reviewed by 55benitar() on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I came here with a group in June 2019 and I have to say I was disappointed. The resort is sprawling and we were put in a section that was at least a 15 minute walk to one of the only open restaurants —which is not something you want to do first thing in the morning or after dark. The food was mediocre, and our rooms were on the small side although they did have refrigerators and Wi-Fi. The staff, though unfailingly pleasant, were often confused by fairly simple requests. All in all I would say that this is a good place if you really just want a nice beach and a big pool and are looking for a relative bargain.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX