Bel Jou Hotel St. Lucia

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    L

    Wonderful Staff and Facility - had a great overnight stay under the circumstances!

    Reviewed by Laura Boire on Jan 08, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Our flight was cancelled and we were taken to this hotel at 10 pm. The staff was not expecting these extra guests and did EVERYTHING they could to welcome us at this time of night. The manager and kitchen staff made us all food and made sure we all had something to eat as none of us had had dinner and were starving. They either took it to people's rooms or to the patio were some of us were sitting. They got us into rooms right away and made us feel very welcomed. We spent most of the next day at this hotel and the food and staff were incredible. The view is breathtaking as you eat your meals. The grounds are very clean and the two pools were wonderful. Every member of the staff helped us until the second we got on the bus to go back to the airport. This resort had a very relaxing atmosphere. I would recommend this hidden gem!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 552 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-3.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Lovely hotel with brilliant staff

    Reviewed by janswill(Derby, United Kingdom) on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I booked a 2 week holiday at Bel Jou and on arrival we were made very welcome and shown to our room which had a balcony giving views over Castries to the sea. The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom had a walk in shower. There was a good choice of food from the buffet restaurant and house wines (with endless refills) were included. The drinks selection was also reasonable The hotel has 2 pools- our favourite was sited in the lovely gardens and had a self service bar!. The hotel is built on a hillside above the town but there is a complementary shuttle bus service into Castries and to Vigie beach. Thursday was barbecue night - the 2 we attended were excellent - great food a selection of local entertainment all rounded off with a good disco. The hotel closed for a refit on our last day and we were concerned that the service would deteriorate but there was no problem at all. As the clientele shrank, the management decided to substitute the buffet with a la carte dining. Some reviewers have complained about this but where is the problem in being offered a la carte for the same price! On our last night we were the only guests in the hotel and at dinner, we found that 3 of the staff had arranged to dine with us - a really nice touch!! On the last day the staff were having a closing party but they still came to check that we were OK. We joined them for lunch and a game of cricket before being sent off like royalty. Enjoyed every minute - fabulous!!

    25th Aniversary getaway

    Reviewed by Alan R() on Jul 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My Wife and I chose this hotel and St Lucia for out 25th Anniversary and could not have chosen better. We travelled with another couple and had a garden bungalow. The accommodation was functional, very clean and well proportioned. Really only slept and changed in the room, the rest of the time was either exploring this spectacular island or relaxing around one of the two pools. The staff could not have made us more welcome, they became friends not really staff!! Nothing was too much trouble for them and they genuinely wanted you to enjoy yourselves. From Brandon, Glen and Lyndon operating the bars, to Jaffrey organising the sports activities and aqua aerobics, themed BBQ night (Awesome) Bianca and her every energetic enthusiasm around the various evening entertainment. The hotel spa was great and used that twice whilst we were there. I mean, every sing member of staff were brilliant, even the very happy grounds people and any other staff member, they all make a fantastic difference. The food was amazing, huge choice, morning noon and night still trying to burn off all those additional calories. :-) Having never been to the Caribbean, we could not have asked for a better first time trip. The Hotel is currently having some building work done which I'm sure will just enhance what is already an awesome hotel. Great, Great Great!! Thank You Bel Jou, do what you do best, and to Dean the hotel Manager, well done and keep them happy! Your staff are your biggest asset!

    Lovely staff, peaceful holiday, very relaxing, but lots of steps!

    Reviewed by taffandhubby(Cardiff, United Kingdom) on Jul 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Do not really need to repeat all the positive comments made previously - we found them all to be true - the hotel was quiet as it was heading toward refurbishment closure, but staff maintained a friendly, helpful service and we had a great holiday. Do find out what day the steel band from the local special school will be playing at lunchtime (I think they visit fortnightly) as they are well worth supporting. We had seen them on a previous holiday, and the dedication and concentration is inspirational. Only one reservation - if you have mobility or breathing problems this might not be the hotel for your as it is impossible to avoid the numerous steps.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Cannot fault the hotel or the amazing staff

    Reviewed by TAFFY365(London, United Kingdom) on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We visited Bel Jou in early June 2019. We were a group of 15 staying in St Lucia prior to attending a family wedding. We cannot praise the hotel highly enough and we will definitely be returning. It spoke volumes that most of the guests were returning visitors, who had clearly experienced the amazing staff and lovely atmosphere of the hotel before. It was an outstanding and very relaxing experience. We very much enjoyed all the food, some of our group said the gym was excellent and the entertainment was superb. No complaints at all and no single outstanding member of staff - they were ALL amazing. See you again as soon as we possibly can!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Think twice before book

    Reviewed by Aleksa_Emma() on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We stayed there in June, two weeks before hotel was closing down. We weren't aware of upcoming refurbishment in advance. When we arrived we were not given bungalow as we booked but put in the main building. When we raised this issue with front office supervisor, she lied to us saying that there is a maintenance issue. It was pure lies as bungalows were closed down week before our arrival for refurbishment. Once we learned that hotel is closing down, our worries were that hotel will start to cut the corners. Unfortunately we weren't wrong. Dinner was changed from buffet and a la carte choice to a la carte only. We as a paying guests should not suffer just because of refurbishment. Entertainment. Please dont put a lot of hopes on good entertainment programme. All we saw entertainer to do is entertaining and engaging with staff members, sitting in spa or coffee shop for guests. Room. It was okay but on the website it says that hotel has been recently renovated. I am not sure how recently it has been but room didn't look fresh. Our shower doors didn't close properly. Spa - please dont go there and it was superb expensive and poor quality. Staff - line level staff members were amazing and superb friendly. Unfortunately I cant say the same for management team. We wont be back there and wont recommend the hotel for any of our friends or family. There are better choices in St Lucia.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX