Simpson Bay Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 1567 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Simpson Bay Resort

    Reviewed by 387indy(Coral Springs, Florida) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Simpson Bay Resort has recovered from the hurricane. Its located directly on the beach. Its on the Dutch side of the island (also has a French side). Modern decor, large comfortable rooms, all rooms have great views, six swimming pools plus a kids pool .SPA, gym, bars, four restaurants, minimarket, gift shop, water sports rental, and the casino. You have duty free shopping on both the Dutch and then the French sides of the island.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Convenient Resort

    Reviewed by Jennifer G() on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here a couple of year ago (pre Irma-February 2017) and it was very nice. With in walking distance to grocery stores and one was located right on the resort The resort also included different restaurants and eateries. There was even a pizza place that delivered to the pool or your room. The only negative is this resort is built on a hillside so walking around was a great leg workout and they do not allow the cab drivers to drop you off at your room. Only at the front.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    This place needs customer service training

    Reviewed by NinaT2356() on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We loved the first few nights, however the ceiling in our room started leaking on day 3. I will admit that we were offered free laundry services for the clothes that were soaked as a result of the leak. Maintenance came to look at the problem and couldn’t discern why the leak was happening, but since it had stopped, we agreed to stay in the room unless the leak happened again. The next morning the floor was soaking wet again from the ceiling leak so we requested a new room. After an hour of waiting, we finally received a key card to the new room. The new room was disgusting and uncleaned from the previous tenants. It looked like someone had literally left 5 minutes before we arrived. Apparently their policy is to move you into a new room and clean it “when housekeeping gets around to it”. We had now wasted an entire day of vacation packing and moving from room to room and we werent even able to take a shower in the new room because there wasn’t any soap. We were very frustrated to say the least. It wasn’t until we demanded a cleaned room that we were able to receive a voucher for lunch while housekeeping came to clean the new room. The next day we got a knock at the door with a letter saying that we would have to move rooms the following day. I called the front desk and told them that we had just been moved to a second room and refused to move again. I explained the situation and simply told them that we would not be moving rooms a third time. We then received phone calls at 8am, 9am, and 6am the next three mornings from the front desk asking us how we were. Not the best way to wake up on vacation! We eventually unplugged the phone just to be able to sleep in and stop being harassed by the front desk. Upon checkout we were charged for both rooms and ended up having to dispute this charge while fighting the time before our flight. I wrestled between Simpson Bay Resort and Divi Little Bay Beach Resort and it seems like I made the wrong choice in choosing Simpson Bay. We won’t be staying here again.

    Pleasant Stay at Simpson Bay Resort

    Reviewed by marianb82(Calgary, Canada) on Aug 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Simpson Bay Resort and Marina is one of the biggest, if not the biggest resort in St Maarten. It is located on the Dutch side of the island 5 minutes from the airport. Half of the resort overlooks the Simpson Bay with a marina and a large white sand beach with many watersport activities. There are two other parts of the resort. One on the hill and one overlooking a small quiet beach with beach chairs and shade. There is currently lots of construction going on in the nearby hotel which can become quite disturbing when enjoying the small beach. During our stay we rented a studio with full size kitchen. It was very well maintained and clean. The rooms were cleaned every day and so were the resort grounds. There are several pools for you to use all around the resort. Two large ones and three smaller ones. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Check-in was fast and easy. It is a timeshare resort so get ready to be bugged by sale associates to come and see what they dot to offer. I would highly recommend this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Two week at the Villas

    Reviewed by Brett D(Layton, Utah) on Aug 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We purchased our villa sight unseen 8 years ago and it was the best purchase we ever made. The resort is always well kept, clean and the people treat us like family. We travel to Simpson Bay Resort and Marina twice a year and love every bit of our two weeks. We are never disappointed with the food, Villas and all the resort amenities!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX