Allegro Palma Real

2.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 2 and 3 stars. 2 star - Budget accommodation with limited facilities and services. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    L

    Look Forward To Staying Again

    Reviewed by Leroy on Apr 05, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel overall was great. The people were quick and responsive when we asked for bed covers. Also the food was a lot better than I was expecting. To get to the beach you have to cross the street, which my be difficult for some, that being said the beach was amazing, best one I been to. The club is also connected to the hotel which is a plus especially if you do not want to rent a moped. At the end of the day it's amazing value for the price. Overall loved the stay and look forward to returning

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    Improve the food and we're coming back!

    Reviewed by ADG on Mar 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    The highlight of this hotel was the staff - they were incredible. I also loved the layout of the property and friendly atmosphere. The real downturn was the food. Having vacationed in Cuba before, I was greatly disappointed by the food, so much so that it may affect future visits. The resort is also in dire need of some TLC and maintenance. It is getting on in years and showing it. But it could be awesome again with a little investment in it. While the activities around the pool were somewhat appreciated, we did not feel they needed to go on all day - made relaxing around the pool rather challenging. But, again, the amazing staff was a sheer joy!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    S

    Never, ever again.

    Reviewed by Susan - Alberta on Mar 24, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: September 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The location is great and Moses is the best. Other than that, never again. This was our second visit and we thought we knew what we were getting. Not So! 2 different rooms in 4 days, the second worst than the 1st. Toilets don't work, no light bulbs in the rooms, safe broken, no lock on the patio door, and on and on. The housekeeper was great, the only good thing about the room. The food made both of us sick. After 4 days we paid to move to the Roc Barlovento and had a great rest of the holiday. Adult only, great food etc. Westjet was great to deal with. The waived the admin fee to move which saved about $200.00. When we got home they refunded some of our Westjet dollars also. Never again to this hotel. People, be warned.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Great hotel, great amenities, great golf!

    Reviewed by DC on Jan 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel services were great. Staff were courteous and accommodating. Had fun in their nightly entertainment. Golf included is a huge bonus! Will go back in a heartbeat.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Stay far, far away.

    Reviewed by Susan on Dec 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: September 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The only good thing is the location. We stayed there 3 years ago and it wasn't bad. This time it was horrible. We moved to a second room after 2 days and to a new resort after 4 days. 1st room the toilet didn't work and many other issues. 2nd room the safe was broken, no lock on patio door, no light bulbs in bedside lamps or in the hallway. We were both sick for the 4 days we stayed there. Nobody at the resort cares about anything. Once we moved our vacation was so much better. Westjet was most helpful but avoid this resort at all costs.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    By far the worst resort we have ever stayed at in 40 years of travel and we never do 5 star.

    Reviewed by Clayzie on Dec 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    the staff was good for the most part, the food was terrible. They had no beer 9 of the 21 days we were there and no Vodka more days than that. The water was turned off more than once in our building and no one could tell us when it would come back on. The worst resort we have ever stayed at.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    D

    Just hanging in there with regular service

    Reviewed by Dangermanmi6 on Apr 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Nice looking hotel at the far end of the peninsula. This hotel suffers from the usual Cuban problems in particular fountains not working, smoking allowed everywhere, and multiple equipment failures. Check in was a disaster of near biblical proportions, but check out was smooth as silk. Majority of the staff met or exceeded the standards the ones that didn't could be found in two locations; Lobby bar and Racket Club I'd normally name and shame but I feel that it is a management problem. Management has to be more hands on, service improved in the Main Buffet when Chef and Management were present and seen. For the beach all the normal praises apply to Varadero beaches with the added bonus that this section of the beach is quite quiet in comparison to other sections. Food the usual Cuban fare . Rooms a bit tired but serviceable. My rating on a scale of 1 to 10 I give it a 5 which is Read the reviews and make your own mind up.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Love the Palma! Definitely go back, feels just like home!

    Reviewed by Ms.Palmaxoxo on Apr 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I've been too Cuba twice, both times at Palma Real. Definitely go back again, loved this place. Perfect location, walking distance to; tons of shops, local bars, the beach is about a 5 minute walk! Food is alright, drinks are perfect, swim up bar is definitely the highlight, with the pool party everyday! Feels just like home when I'm here and very safe place! Also has Havana Club built in and free admission if staying here! Crazy fun place, this resort is awesome! Staff are very friendly too!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    b

    it was good before but the improvements have made it even better!!

    Reviewed by barb legere on Jun 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Single

    this is my second time. they are working hard to improve the look of the hotel i found it it is a friendly safe place to visit. the food is good always something to eat. a beautiful beach across the street and lotos of chance for eating out and shopping the staff are wonderful all you do is ask for what you want and they get it can hardly wait to go back!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Very disappointed in our all inclusive hotel. No complaints with reference to our flight experience.

    Reviewed by Calgary on Feb 27, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    location of this hotel was excellent. Beach was easy to access--the weather during our stay was very windy and cool but that is mother nature. Pool chairs adequate. Areas around the pools were clean.Our travels are extensive and we have never wrote a negative report on any of the hotels we have stayed at because the positives always seem to balance the negatives. This hotel was a very different experience.The elevator for our building did not work for the complete stay so stairs were the only option. The maintenance of ALL the buildings was VERY poor to the point of safety concerns. Our door handle for our room came off when we closed our door.Food -quality, presentation, temperature issues ie. cold when it should be warm and warm when it should be cold , variety, freshness---all major issues. The reserve restaurants equally of poor quality. I have to admit the coffee at the machines was good. Used bottled water, avoided ice, avoided raw vegetable hard to clean type etc. but both of us got sick by the end of our stay. Do NOT recommend this hotel unless it undergoes some major changes especially the maintenance of the buildings and food delivery systems. The Westjet representative was available as posted and gave out very good information. Airport transport very good.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3163 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    My family had a great time.

    Reviewed by Venture35049068296(Lakeland, Florida) on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were happy and enjoyed the stay. I have been in the hotel 3 times before and it is always a good experience. I will definitely go back to Cuba and probably this hotel bc it is affordable, it has a great position close to all in one and parks, there are also many convenient stores closed by and people are very friendly.

    worst hotel ever

    Reviewed by snache17() on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    went there with my 5 yr old and what a mistake. so many mosquitoes in the rooms we switched 2 times and they were the same fixtures broken and black mold on the ceilings.hair in the food twice and pools green with bacteria. no toilet paper in the bathrooms and reception never answers the phone. good luck getting towels as well. we will never be back that's for sure! dont waste your money!

    3* Hotel-3* Budget bonus 5* Downtown Location

    Reviewed by Lee M() on Jun 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I have visited this hotel 4 times in the past 18 months and would be happy to book again. Here is my view of the hotel: Upon arrival, you will be checked in at the reception desk in the main lobby. There is a ramp for accessibility to the right of the steps entering the main lobby (they are not easily visible). The staff are generally accommodating whenever possible. Some of them speak very little English so try to speak slowly and be patient. Yanella is my ‘go to’ girl for most things at the desk. The rooms are fairly sized with a dressing table in each room. Expect some peeling paint or small maintenance issues in your room, ranging from missing lightbulbs to damaged closet doors. The rooms are clean, as well as the surrounding buildings and pools. There are several pools available as well as one with a swim up bar. Two a la cart restaurants, two snack bars and a buffet. The food is basic but very good at the a la carts. The snack bars are pretty good but be sure to ask for burgers well done if you don’t want it pink in the middle. The buffet is repetitive but you will generally find chicken beef or pork on the menu. The main lobby bar is open until 11pm daily serving drinks and delicious Cuban coffee. Building one has a coffee bar/lounge and the drinks are by far the best on the resort and both Moses and Alex are an attribute to the Allegro Palma Real. The beach, well it Cuba, it’s amazing. You will however, have to walk 5 min to get there including crossing an intersection. Now for the best part, you can walk to Calle 62 (a very popular outdoor disco), the Beatles bar, Park Josone and outdoor markets within minutes. The choices are endless with quaint outdoor restaurants, museums, markets, shopping malls, even an amusement park. The hop on hop off bus gives you all day access for $5 or you can hire a horse and buggy (be sure to verify the price as they generally quote you per person), Cuba taxi or a vintage car ride. Be sure to negotiate the price as they will generally lower it if you bargain. After a full day of exploring, or a night at the many discos downtown you are conveniently located in town....rest and repeat!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing trip.

    Reviewed by AlfredColon(New Jersey) on Jun 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were my girlfriend and I, we have nothing to say that the experience was lovely, the treatment of the staff, the hotel amenities and the beautiful beach, since we plan to return next year. We want to thank everyone for giving us an unforgettable vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Disaster

    Reviewed by bencasey13(Melbourne, Australia) on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    WARNING! WARNING! WARNING! I have stayed in hundreds of hotels worldwide but this was by far the worst, by a long, long way. The demographic of clients this hotel attracts does not say a lot for the evolution of mankind. It is a meeting point for every redneck and morbidly obese bottom feeder in Latin America, along with their misbehaving tribe of offspring. While waiting in the mosquito infested lobby to check in, fellow guests continually paraded through in various states of undress, a lot dripping wet, rudely shouting at the top of their voices and smoking indoors, only to discard their cigarettes into the poorly maintained gardens. It seemed most guests had eyes only for the adjacent bar and the never ending flow of “all inclusive,” low quality drinks they were determined to make the most of. This brings me to the jewel in the hotels crown, the “all you can eat buffet!” The three daily meals resembled feeding time at the zoo and if it weren’t for the sheer size of the drooling guests, you’d swear they hadn’t eaten in weeks. Table manners and common courtesy are obviously not a high priority on Cuban holidays and the ravenous guests had no shame when it came to loading their plates with enough barely edible Cuban slop to kill a small horse. Hygiene took a back seat as tongs were overlooked in favour of sweaty, unwashed hands, and never in my life have I seen salivating grown adults line up fifteen deep while waiting for the supply of chocolate ice cream to be replenished. Just outside the dining room were the pools and things didn’t get any better there. The water was an unhealthy dark shade of green that prevented the bottom of the pool being visible, but this didn’t stop the overly enthusiastic, entitled guests from splashing up a storm to mid-90’s pop anthems, blaring distortedly over the cheap PA system that would surely cause permanent hearing damage if you ventured too close. We instinctively decided to avoid cholera and passed up the option of having a swim, unlike many of the excited patrons, cigarette in one hand, overflowing plastic cup in the other, and bathers two sizes too small. At one point a stray dog even joined in the festivities and was thrown head first into the murky water. Moving on from the pool, our next stop was the beach. With its crystal clear aqua water and white sand for as far as the eye can see, the beach was amazing. Unfortunately, instead of looking after this natural wonder, the guests use it as a giant ash tray. The sand is sadly littered with millions of cigarette butts and I even almost tripped over a used condom when searching for a cleaner area of sand to spend the afternoon. On first inspection our room didn’t seem too bad, then we realised half the lights didn’t work, there was what smelt like sewage leaking through the tiled bathroom walls, the smoke detector was smashed off the ceiling, the safe was inoperable and to top it off there were no towels. We conceded defeat when, after my third trip back to reception, were informed the hotel had run out of towels. All said and done, this was the worst three days of my life, and I wouldn’t wish a stay in this hotel upon my worst enemy. If the government is struggling with overflowing prisons they could always threaten wrong doers with staying at Allegro Palma Real and the national crime rate would surely drop. The only thing that could save this hotel is a bulldozer. Happy holidays.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX