Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 2255 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL

    Reviewed by xtrailer99() on Jan 14, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Quite possibly, in fact definitely the worse hotel I have ever stayed in. This was a week from hell. On arrival to Cuba PCR tests were done, having had our PCR and lateral flow on the day of travel we knew we were negative. However it appears that Currently that people are picked to be positive, removed them from their families and basically charged money for medical expenses that are not required. 8 people from our flight tested positive, they took my daughter away leaving her really scared. Miraculously after four days of fighting, contacting the embassy with proof of our tests, we got the re test, and they were ALL negative! Quickest recovery ever known and much money paid to for medical expenses that weren’t required. TUI failed to provide a translator for their guests and some were made to have injections, X-rays blood tests and medications when none had any need for it or such procedures. Whilst all this was going on the families were locked up in a covid wing, only to receive the worst service ever known to man. Food was provided without cutlery to eat, the choice was burger, hot dog, pizza and salad. It didn’t matter what you ordered it was wrong when it came. Chips were delivered for breakfast! Toast had been sat since 6am and was like bricks. They left the used plates outside the rooms for days and then we had an influx of ants and cockroaches. Every room I was moved to had dirty sheets, paint coming off walls, we weren’t given and food and drink for 6 hours on the first day, we had no hot water for 2 days. WiFi we had to keep ringing every couple of hours to get it re charged. To begin with they weren’t even going to let me sit on the balcony!! They initially refused me a telephone line to call my daughter who had been taken away. They actually locked her in a room before the ambulance came to get her, then they were made to share ambulances! The week was hell from beginning to end, the service was poor, the cleanliness is very poor, the lifts don’t work, the food and drink is very inconsistent, cocktails are extremely poor. We came for my daughters wedding and ended up missing the whole thing. The day before the last day a housekeeper came to my room to tell me off for having extra pillows in my room, the receptionist had told me take my extra pillows whenever I moved rooms, in 7 days I had 6 rooms. Immediately after the housekeeper yelled at me the nurse came and insisted I had to leave now the ambulance was waiting, I of course questioned her why, she just said I had to go, I was with my 12 year old son on my own, so of course I said no....she started yelling at me also, so I rang my Cuban son in law, who had just arrived to translate for me. Surprise surprise when he turned up they said oh sorry wrong room! There is so much more that happened on this hell hole of a trip that I can’t get it all down, TUI reps are Cuban and did not get us any assistance during this awful holiday. He even went home just before the bus arrived to take us home and didn’t even make sure everyone was ok and safely on the buses home. I’ll attach some pictures. Sadly when I read the bad reviews I thought it can’t be that bad, by god it was worse! Rooms had missing light bulbs, and one reading light fell off and hit me on the head and was left exposing live wires. 2 phone calls to complain of this and they did nothing, again my Cuban son in law went to reception and they moved my room again. False advertising calling this place five star.... it’s not even 1 star

    Ok but not five star.

    Reviewed by chrisstudleygray(Worthing, United Kingdom) on Jan 13, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    A little about us, we are a mid age couple and always use trip advisor to search for holidays and we always write a review to help others. We try to add things others may of missed. We try and get 3-4 holidays in a year and never return to the same place. At the Iberostar we upgraded to prestige and it was definitely worth it for us. This is not a 5 star hotel, we would class it as three star at best. We had a good holiday but we did find loads of small things we did not like. Hotel and room. Because of COVID restrictions the hotel was not packed and I think some of the facilities were reduced, but it did not effect us. We upgraded to a swim up room, well worth it. We had a few windy days and our room was not sea facing and this was much better as we had more sun and sheltered from the strong sea winds. The room was great, everything you would want. Bad bits of the hotel. Half of the lifts did not work, meaning more people using the two main lifts. This is poor for social distancing. Poor maintenance, you can find broken tiles, broken handrails etc. One half of the main pool had murky water, the other clear water. COVID We gut tested on arrival at the airport. It was quick and easy. The hotel had good Covid measures with all the staff wearing masks and residents walking around in masks. When we visited in Dec 2020, Cuba had a very low rate of COVID. WiFi Was good and available everywhere but every three hours of use we would have to go to reception to ask for the next three hours to be added to our account. Pools One main pool with a swim up bar, loads of sunshades and sun loungers. We had use of the swim up to our room and it was a great pool. Restaurants Cuban, Italian, Japanese, buffet and panoramic restaurants were open and the snack bar when we visited in the new year. All were good, the panoramic restaurant was for prestige guests only but it’s worth going up to see the view even if you are not a prestige resident, no one will challenge you. The sunset is worth viewing from the roof. Bars The lobby bar, pool bar and panoramic bar were open when we visited. The beach bar was not open ever day. Smoking Smoking is allowed everywhere, it’s a shame there are no designated areas to smoke, you find a seat and get comfy and then someone lights a cigarette up next to you. Ahhhhhhhh Extra bits. Watch out if you bring e-cigarettes into Cuba, if they find them at the airport they will confiscate them. I have no idea why, but they will. Book a vintage car through Cuba compass, a driver and car for the day is about £150.

    Extremely Disappointing

    Reviewed by Lorraine M(Manchester, United Kingdom) on Jan 13, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Where do I start I never usually complain but the standard of this hotel is very poor paint peeling off walls, life out of order crack tiles in all corridors and no lighting. Dirty pots and glasses left in the corridors for days. On arrival we did not get any beach towels as we were told the machine was broken, took 4 days to correct. The beds had a mattress protector that was like sleeping in a plastic bag, the door of the room had to be fixed three times, the safe did not work, the rainfall shower head fell off onto my husband's back whilst in the shower causing a nasty gash. Food very poor choice and quality, had no mixers for drinks and as I like a wine and soda or vodka and tonic this was not possible. Wi Fi impossible you had to re-connect every 5 minutes if you walked more than 100 yards. We stayed in the Ocean View rooms which were supposedly premium fridge worked but very noisy so had to turn it off, no tea or coffee making facilities, there was an adults only pool but when someone's underpants had fallen off the balcony into it and were still there 5 days later and the only time I saw it cleaned was once a young lad threw a tub of chlorine in to it. I appreciate time are difficult but TUI and your representative need to address the issues at this hotel, as hard as the staff tried this is not what it is advertised as.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Christmas & New Year break, disappointment.

    Reviewed by LeeR477(Derby, United Kingdom) on Jan 13, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    A couple, staying from 28th December 2020 to January 11th 2021. Given the UK lockdown would be the last guests here in Varadero from UK TUI for a while. We travelled knowing that COVID would have made this very much a different holiday. As with other reviews, the primary problem with the hotel is lack of maintenance, and cleanliness standards falling far below acceptable levels. The hotel was unable to provide a 5 star service and should not have accepted guests falsely promising this standard. The tour operator TUI should also have been more honest in offering the holiday as full 5 star. For bother TUI and Iberostar we have raised complaints on this basis. Issues: Lack of any information about the hotel, facilities, spa/massage service and/or activities. This could have been emailed in advance. Most information from word of mouth between guests. Hotel WI-FI is free, but has to be extended multiple times. The connection does not persist for long and bandwidth isn't great so streaming for example is pretty difficult. Internet in Cuba is restricted, so accessing TUI website not possible. Nor is IOS / Play store if you are missing an app. Much of Varadero was closed, including the Marina. Other than an ad-hoc shuttle bus and Taxis. The position of the hotel on the peninsula, closure of local shopping centres meant guests would largely be tied to the hotel or have to pay out on Taxis to travel out - for example to Valadero Boulevard. Roughly 10 USD per fare. Marina about 2 hours walk, Varadero about 1.5 hours. No local shops or supermarkets. Sold a tour to Havana by TUI on the 1st of Jan when the city was completely shut down. Lack of information on the Peso change over on the 1st Jan. TUI indicated that most transactions would be cards which wasn't the case. No cards or ATM working from the 31st through to the 4th. Hotel shop closed without any notice. Only able to buy cigarettes etc from the neighbouring hotel by pretending to be their guests. No sunscreen, medicines (such as anti-histamine) available without going into Varadero. Pool was not cleaned and at one point was bright green. Broken floor tiles, with one guest cutting his foot. Broken hand rail in the lift. Frequent lift malfunctions, at one point only one lift in operation. No lighting at all on the floor / block 106*. Had to chase up / wait for beach towels for 2 days. Frequently run out of toilet paper in the rooms. Frequent issues with door keys, mag strip not working. We lost 1/2 day with multiple trips to reception trying to get the door opened and being told we had demagnetised the key. Only for housekeeping and ultimately maintenance also not being able to get in. Maintenance ultimately had to force entry and we had to move rooms. Snack bar / room service running out of certain foods. Often left with only option of a "ham & cheese" sandwich. Bar running out of wine, Vodka. No crisps/snacks or sweets etc. No obvious children's menu. Undercooked / raw food on the grills. Not all restaurants and /or bars open as advertised. Biting Sandflies in the bar area, i.e.. no pest treatment or information that this was a hazard. No warning / information on jellyfish on the beach. Lack of entertainment and animation. One magic show, one fashion show and a singer during the two week stay. No surprise here - that all of the staff we met did everything they could to offer a good service, but at times - specifically the lobby bar - overwhelmed. With the exception of the TUI rep who we found to be less than helpful. We can only hope this hotel bounces back after COVID so that it can be a viable employer and a place people can safely stay - but we will never visit this hotel or another IBEROSTAR again as it is evident the parent company were never prepared to invest to bring this up to 5* standard during COVID and instead happy to take guests money and run.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-1

    Service

    Service-3

    Great New Years Eve celebrations

    Reviewed by srablair(Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom) on Jan 12, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed a great 2 week stay here from 28th December incorporating new years eve. We noticed there is an SMC medical centre set up on 1st floor to deal with health problems but can arrange covid tests ahead of return flights if required.   There is some wifi in the public areas accessible with username and password which could be patchy and slow, but ok if you persevere. Some of the processes seemed a little strange but we put this dowm to it being Cuba! We would advise considering taking towel for pool / beach use in case of delays getting a blue pool towel. Also speak to customer services in the foyer to arrange bookings in the speciality restaurants on arrival. Take Dollars preferably in small denominations for tipping..everyone is really keen to get hold of foreign currency at the moment, although pesos are still good and Cuban Convertibles still valid for 6 months from now.    There is a currency exchange office on 2nd floor along from reception. Take colouring pencils for any children you might meet as people struggle to get hold of these. The hotel was using only part of the hotel due to the pandemic, but the 3 speciality restaurants were open at least at the start of our trip. ( lovely Tepanyaki, an Italian and a Cuban). Good choice of dishes at the buffet, Including traditional Cuban dishes, and served by the chefs to remove contact with serving spoons etc. The buffet was great for breakfasts lunch and dinner with a good choice of dishes and very good table service for drinks. Tables well distanced and hand gel used at all entrances. A special celebration dinner was laid on for New year's eve which we really enjoyed. Plentiful lobster and prawns as well as other dishes which we really enjoyed. Good entertainment throughout which included a regular pianist , singers, bands and conjurer, especially over the new year period. There was a stunning performance of water ballet in the swimming pool at new year ( acrobatics, ballet, synchronised swimming), which was very special. Disco plays nightly too but didn't go on too late so getting to sleep wasn't too difficult even at the front rooms of the hotel, which overlook the performance areas and patio. Very friendly and hard working staff who really worked to makes things special and enjoyable for us all. 2 large main pools which were great, one swim up bar. Also the hotel has a very nice sloping beach with safe access to the sea and good supply of sunbeds around the pool, garden, and beach areas. Maid service was great. We had a lovely lady servicing our room who had a great line in towel art which made our stay very special. The buffet was moved to the 11th floor at the end of the stay ( very few other guests towards the end due to widespread lockdowns), so we were able to enjoy the cracking view from the top floor. This is only available to those in premium rooms usually. It was a tricky time for the country as they also had a currency change at new year to contend with as well as the pandemic, ( systems had difficulty coping in the first few days which meant we had a few days without pool towels ( used room towels as emergency measure). Perhaps think about taking your own towels as a contingency if sufficient weight allowance. There are lifts in the hotel. Often these became quite busy,  (and sometimes some were out of action), so we tended to use the stairs. Consider a low room if mobility is a problem. Hop on and off bus is regular and convenient and a good way to see Varadero.