Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    A

    Pretty good resort in Varadero

    Reviewed by Ahoy on Mar 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    The staff and service were great. We really liked the facilities of the hotel and the beach was beautiful. The one thing negative thing was that the rooms were in need of some repair. We had adjoining rooms, and one of the showers didn't work, so the only option was a bath. Lucky for us, the shower in the other room worked. Also, the rooms were somewhat run down- missing light bulbs, some water stains on the ceiling and it looked like some black mould on the celling in the bathroom. A lot of the drawers didn't open, the closet door didn't work, the door to the balcony didn't lock. However, we did have a good vacation and the rest of the resort was well kept, the pool, beach, eat was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    You get what you pay for!!! Great Stay

    Reviewed by Carl on Jul 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    My family stayed for a week. Overall the experience was great with both Westjet as well as the resort. The Westjet Representative was helpful and informative about the resort and what to do outside the resort. Explained what to expect in and around the city. We took his advise and went on a catamaran tour of one of the island paid extra , which for me was the highlight of the trip. The resort was good. But don't expect it to be 5 star as advertised. Far from it, but based on what we paid it was pretty good. Relatively clean, staff friendly, spoke at least some english, food was average. Alcohol was limitless : Suggestions The "orientation" by the westjet representative would be better done on the very first day of the visit. Resort suggestion - AC system was bad. Was very hot and the AC in the room and some of the public places were not up to par as what we wanted and experienced in other countries - The beach towel situation was ridiculous ! Stayed for a week and never was able to get a new set of towels. no matter what time i went to the clubhouse there would be no towels!!! - The facilities needs a facelift. At least the rooms need some upgrades Overall we enjoyed our stay

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Worst resort we've ever been to. Would never go back there.

    Reviewed by John & Doris on Feb 13, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our first time to Cuba and it will be our last. We've never been so disappointed in a resort vacation. The buffet was huge, but the food was terrible. We saw the same food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It wasn't very appealing. There was blue mold on the bread one morning. I ate the prepared for you spaghetti for lunch and dinner no bread thanks while I was there. The A La Carte Japanese dinner was the best of the 3 dinners we had in the restaurants. My husband thought he would have a hot dog one day, no mustard, no relish, no ketchup. He did love their ice cream though. Mashed potatoes, I believe were instant mashed potatoes from a package. Yuk!!!! Lobster was dried out and rubbery. They had hamburger patties, but no buns. I would have loved to have a salad. I didn't see lettuce once while I was there. There was cool water for showers nearly every day. The tub is so high that you could have a bad fall getting in or out of it. Not safe at all. Our bed linens were not changed once while we were there. We were given two beach towels and told to hold on to them as they would not replace them during the week. My purse was put on the top shelf of the closet and when I needed something out of it one day, I reached up and realized that the purse and everything in it was soaking wet. The pillows and blanket that were up there next to the purse were not even damp. What gives? The patio door had no lock on it. Every time it got windy outside, we got this foul sewer smell in our room. We realized that it was coming up through the drain in the bathroom sink and tub. Disgusting to say the least. The resort needs major updating and renovations. Most of the staff were friendly, but the main desk staff seem like we are bothering them if we asked a question. We often heard "Look in the book". We arrived Friday morning, but didn't get to see a Rep until Saturday morning. We had luggage missing, it didn't arrive until Tues. AM. Would not recommend to anyone.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Great stay!

    Reviewed by Maritimer on Jun 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    First time to Cuba...great experience! Food wise there was something for everyone no matter your taste. Room was good tub drained a little slow . Room was cleaned daily by great staff. All staff was very friendly. Will definitely go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    r

    Stay Somewhere Else!!

    Reviewed by rdc on Apr 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Booked this vacation through Westjet Vacations. This was our second trip to Cuba , our first visit to this resort and our last..... I am a positive person and shortly after arrival at this resort realized that I would have to draw on whatever positive energy I had make the best of a bad resort. Where do I start... From the beginning of the vacation the front desk staff were anything but welcoming and seemed indifferent. During a relaxing chat one evening with my family by the pool, my husband almost got the chair cushion pulled from underneath him by a worker who barely grunted and informed him to get up, as cushions were put away at 6 pm.... Later that same evening we watched people get escorted out of there chairs and told to move elsewhere because these chairs were being picked up and placed elsewhere. Many of the Resorts restrooms were closed for cleaning by 8 pm every evening and the ones opened rarely had toilet paper or paper towels. The Tex Mex a la carte was a fiasco...tacos and fajitas with no shells..just meat and beans. BBQ chicken with no BBQ sauce, just marinara sauce. Pool towels were rarely available as truck delivering them did not arrive for 3 days in a row. Buffett ran out of glasses and plates on a regular basis and tables were dirty. There appeared to be a skeleton crew of staff, trying to do there best in a busy resort. Glasses at bar were hot commodities and you were never sure if you would get one. The topping of all this was the sewer drain by tennis courts that back flowed raw sewage and human waste that was not cleaned up during our entire stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    A

    We had a week in Paradise at Iberostar Laguna Azul !

    Reviewed by Avery on Apr 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    It was our first time in Cuba and we loved it at the Iberostar Laguna Azul. The resort is very beautiful , the beach is amazing and the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Nancy, the girls at reception not so friendly but you don't need to deal much with them. We would go again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    " we loved our stay!! the staff was excelent.

    Reviewed by Bob and Diane Alford on Mar 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    For a first time visit it was great experience for us, Yes it was A great location, Yes the staff was very accommodating, Yes we would go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    d

    Expensive hotel with many maintenance issues.

    Reviewed by disappointed on Mar 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    There are maintenance issues all over the resort. Cool to warm water for showers. Shortage of clean linens and towels. Things in rooms that don't work well like sliding patio and cupboard doors, drawers that fall out not stops, lights that don't work, bar in tub came out of wall while I was getting into tub. Tub very high to get in and out of hot tub shower in hot tub hand held. Very dangerous for seniors. Lobby smokey and closed in. Desk person likes to send you elsewhere for help. Main bar off of lobby ran out of mint one day, no mojitios. Huge buffet, lots of choices, that no one wants. Grilled fish dry overdone. The Paella on the beach was the best food while there, served once a week, we were lucky to be there at the right time otherwise out of luck, few people even knew about it. Process to reserve al a carte long and tedious in smokey lobby. We didn't participate in the activities around pool or beach, loud music with minimal particiaption, not very creative. Seen better at other resorts. This is not a cheap resort fairly new about 7 yrs old. Someone is taking a lot of money out of this resort, but not putting money into it for maintenance. One positive comment, the beach is beautiful, but that is true anywhere in Varadero.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8994 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wonderful holidays!!!!

    Reviewed by Vitali T() on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This hotel is very nice . The location is very close in the beach . The Reception you will find a proffesional staff . The pool area is great . Entertainment team is good . The best view in hotel is in five floor . In spa amaizing ocean view . Magic for a unforgettable photo . Recommend . The best hotrl un Varadero ....

    Bad Experience

    Reviewed by MaryCGB(Houston, Texas) on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My first time in Cuba and I was very disappointed. I was there for the 4th of July weekend and I was very disappointed. I reserved this hotel because where ever I go I always try to choose Iberostar, but this time it was the worst service from all. The lady at the front desk had an attitude when I checked in because I didn't have the actual paper voucher for my reservation. I had it on my phone but she didn't accept. I understand her frustration, but she's supposed to be there to help. I wouldn't drive 3 hrs from Havana to Varadero if I knew I didn't had a previous reservation. Thanks to Jose I believe is his name (the bell boy guy with green eyes) he offered to help me and explained where everything was, like restaurants, pools, time for the hotel show and all that. The front desk person wasn't helpful AT ALL. They advertise the hotel has WIFI but you have to buy a prepaid card and it's good for 1 hr. so if you are going with your kids it will be a great idea to take some table games to keep them entertained. As far as Housekeeping, they didn't change my towels I had to request new ones a couple of times. Food wasn't very good and when I got there few minutes before they close ( I didn't know the times because I was never informed, to begin with) one of the servers approach me and told me to leave because they were about to close, I refused of course so he told me to hurry up and get my plate. I was very upset and I didn't even eat there. I had to request silverware every time I'll go because some tables didn't have them and they would take forever to bring them or they will even tell me to go get them,the same thing with the drinks they will serve you once and the server will disappear, they were not around to give you refills. If you are at the beach they don't have servers walking around to bring you the drinks you will have to get in line (LONG line to get it yourself) like I said it was my first time in Cuba not sure if it's supposed to be like that. I was expecting the same type of service as the others resort that I had stayed. I always ALWAYS chose resorts because of the attention you get (Cancun is #1 in attention to their guest) but this resort was definitely not WORTH the price. I'm definitely NOT coming back.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Cuba trip

    Reviewed by Zatooishwan o() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This hotel is amazing. The beach is beautiful with soft sand and crystal water. The customer service is very good as the workers are nice and quick to act. Also there is a huge variety of delicious food. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Please Avoid!

    Reviewed by LoddiLovesLoki(Vancouver, Canada) on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I'll start with saying when I booked this hotel, I took the negative reviews with a grain of salt. I could look past some bland food and less than stellar service. I arrived to a check-in desk in chaos. Clearly the staff were dealing with some disgruntled guests, and this was not the friendliest reception. I got to my room and instantly knew that every poor review was correct and I had made a mistake in booking this hotel. I had no lock on my sliding glass door, the room was infested with ants (they were crawling on the floor, vanity and bedside table) there was no washcloths, the glasses in the bathroom were dirty, mold on the curtains and lamp shades, dust on everything, stained chairs and walls, rusty fridge and a used Kleenex by the toilet (was there the whole time, despite several visits from the maid). Further more, the hotel has ZERO air conditioning besides the rooms, and very little shade to get out of the sun during the day. Food was questionable at times, I definitely was careful because birds and flies were everywhere because they leave the restaurants doors open (again, no air conditioning) I have been sick ever since returning home, so even with being careful I still ate something I shouldn't have. Elevators were often broken, and again crawling with cockroaches. I was ignored by staff every breakfast and lunch, dinner staff were very attentive though. One night there was a survey given to me and I noticed staff seemed hyper attentive to the point of awkwardness, obviously concerned about reviews. It was odd. TO THE "QUALITY MANAGER": Spare me the excuse that all these issues are surprising to the management because the same complaints have been showing up for months in past reviews. This is NOT a "CUBA" issue, this is a Laguna Azul issue. This hotel clearly needs systems in place to ensure all house keeping and maintenance is properly executed. There's no excuse to not have locks on the doors and bugs in my bed and on food. Pictures don't lie, the fact the you're arguing with many reviews claiming your hotel has a strict cleaning regime and proper food handling practices proves that you don't care for your guests well being. I will end on a positive note, the beach was beautiful and the staff were all very pleasant, especially the dinner staff.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-3

    Truly disappointing

    Reviewed by Pipo79Budapest(Budapest) on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    we have just come back,and truly disappointed.With all the respect to Cuban people,this hotel not 5star/all inclusive at all.Most importantly:still now Iberostar promotes on their website this resort with a waterfall that does not exists since months?A kid pool that is out of operation?Hotel accommodates 100s of people in 4-5 story buildings where lifts regularly out of service?Wifi can be purchased only for cash(!),but hotel does not have an ATM?And if You managed to buy wifi,the only indoor place to use it is in the lobby,where there is zero airconditioning/fans at guest areas,so all users sweat together while accessing internet?Hotel really needs refurbishment,but this could be costy/require resources.But to paint all the rusty,spotty,worn-out walls,surfaces,equipments,furnitures,etc.should not be a big deal?Or simply clean everything?We were put a room that have mold literally everywhere:ceiling,curtains,chair,lamp,etc.!Had to beg for simple towels to our bathroom,because only 1/person provided,so if You use them up for evening showering,won't have anymore to the next morning?Not a single softdrink/water is available in bottles/cans but only from machines/fountains in any food areas?And this has nothing to do with lack of resources,because even the smallest restaurants have them in Cuba.By booking at Iberostar,we expected at least some level of quality/service.But everytime we complained regarding the aboves to the staff, they could only "sorry" about them.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX