Reflect Cancun Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Reflect Cancun Resort & Spa
    6. Reflect Cancun Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    Exceeded expectations

    Reviewed by Sherwood on Feb 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    We found a good deal to this hotel online and took a gamble. We were pleased with the overall experience. Lots of Canadians here from all over Canada. The waiters did a great job serving pool or beach side. The restaurants were awesome with lots of great food and options. The beach was the nicest in Cancun. A few folks trying to sell stuff on the beach but they were not pushy. This is Mexico! Would totally go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4581 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    So many better Cancún options for the price

    Reviewed by DallasVisitor2() on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Staff are hit and miss. Some are extremely rude. We tried tipping on day 1 to try and get to know the staff - didn’t really work. Alejandro at the the Beach Grill is outstanding and we tipped him accordingly. Staff doesn’t enforce the no-kid and private resort “zones” well so you might feel overwhelmed with non-guests. The restaurants shut down to accommodate small wedding parties and the food at most is more hit than miss. We had to eat dinner at the same restaurant several nights in a row due to lack of options. The bars shut down at 6. And no alcohol stocked in the rooms. We booked one of the higher end, exclusive rooms just below presidential suite, so very disappointing for “all-inclusive.” Place basically feels like one of those resorts that is trying to get maximum return out of minimum investment to ensure guest satisfaction. Will probably shut down in < a year. So many better options in Cancun and Playa. Don’t waste your money. Go somewhere that appreciates your business.

    IF YOU HAVE FOOD ALLERGIES STAY AWAY!!

    Reviewed by Vacation-Loca(Hagerstown, Maryland) on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    After several emails and FB messages confirming food safety, we booked this resort. We were attending a wedding at a different all inclusive resort, so we only ate breakfast the first day. Due to the lack of understanding from the restaurant staff, I asked for a meeting with the Food & Beverage Director and educated her on Celiac Disease. After speaking with her I felt confident that measures would be taken. Unfortunately, that was not the case. After severe illness, for the last few days the only thing to eat were snacks we brought with us. We spent those days in our room. The resort itself was lovely, even with the seaweed which is no fault of the hotel. Beach service was appreciated, and Luis did a nice job. This is the first time we left with tip money in our pockets. Hint: the OXXO shop across the street has medicines, Gatorade, snacks, etc. cheaper than the hotel shops. Shame we couldn't enjoy our trip. The hotel is in a good location, and I'd like to have been able to explore a bit. We've been going to Cancun for over 25 years, have stayed downtown, along the hotel zone, and along the Riviera Maya.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Room 1016, Seven Day Stay

    Reviewed by MyLasVegas() on Jul 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Note: I am a former Hotel Executive and have managed Limited Service to 5 Star and Michelin Rated Hotel Brands. This Critique is about Service, Quality and Safety.... Check In: Upon Check In, my brother (Room 612) and I were greeted by "Juan" who introduced himself as a VIP Concierge and that he would orient us with the property and its amenities. We politely asked him where we could feed the children and that we would do orientation later because we had been traveling for 10 hours with 3 young children. Instead of directing us to what we needed he insisted on finishing his presentation and rushed us into signing for some coupons that ended up being commitment to attend a Vacation Club Presentation. I told him to please stop and we would not sign anything to take away precious time from our vacation. When he finally realized that we would not sign, he said "Hasta La Vista!....Good Luck!...and walked away from us! He would see us throughout our trip and would ignore us and I caught him talking about us is Spanish to his colleagues in a negative manner....BIG mystake!!! I understand Spanish!!! Room 1016: Although I called numerous times these issues prevailed throughout our stay: 1) Air Conditioning did not work properly and was not cooling 2) Mini Bar Fridge was did not work 3) Sewage Smell from Shower and Sink 4) Toilet Not Flushing Properly 5) Balcony Sliding Door did not close all the way so it allowed the Hot Air to enter the room Food Offerings: Do Not bother to eat anywhere but the "The Grill!" Buffet, Ayami and Rissotto were all very disappointing. The quality and presentation of the Food was very budgeted! My brothers wife's Birthday was celebrated at Ayami Tepanyaki and we really looked forward to it, however the Tepanyaki Chef forgot to make a Plate for one of us and had to actually take food away from the other people to make an extra one for our party. The Buffet had almost the same food every night and did not offer much selection. Overall Freshness of the Food Offerings was not good. Room Service was a better option for Breakfast and Lunch, but extremely understaffed with wait times of over and hour. Long Wait Times of over an hour were the normal procedure at each restaurant. Elevators: During our entire stay there was only 1 elevator working, with NO AC and you could hear the noise from the Elevator Motor and Gears. I realize that this is Mexico and not the US, however the safety of the guests and staff should be a priority and 1 working Elevator for Staff and Guests is unacceptable for Safety above all. Please not that there is NO SERVICE Elevator so this definitely adds to the delays in Service and Convenience for the Guests. There is only 1 set of stairs in case of Emergency. Staff: Overall the staff seemed to have very low Morale and seemed overworked, tired and did Smile or Greet guests most of the time. Property Maintenance: I have stayed at DREAMS and am very familiar with the AMR Resort portfolio. This hotel is an obvious disconnect from what AMR promotes. Every part of the property lacks attention to maintenance. Its a shame because I can see the potential. Housekeeping: The housekeeping Staff is Excellent. They understand your complaints, but you can tell that even they are frustrated with management. Our Room was cleaned everyday, Linens, Towels, Shampoo, etc were always there. They were the only department that smiled at you and greeted you whenever they saw you! They even called maintenance for us when our request was not done. We were very thankful to housekeeping. Value: I paid less to stay at DREAMS, but was curious about this property due to its location and proximity to the Hyatt ZIVA. The view from our Room was SPECTACULAR to spite all the other issues. The BEACH was World Class. The Amenities, Food, Room Condition and Service were all disappointing. Time of this Review: I would have posted in real time, however the WI FI was part of the Service Issue. It is not reliable. Don't try to work from your Laptop here.....it won't be productive.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-1

    Staff Makes Alot of Difference

    Reviewed by Vegaschriss() on Jul 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Hotel: Needs updating, elevators not working properly during our first 3days. AC was not cold enough and mini fridge as well. Muggy thoughout the hotel, needs fans to circulate air. Pools were great and the beach. Restaurants: Ayami- Hibachi was excellent, sit down dining was ok, tuna sashimi and tuna steak was really good. Risotto- Beautiful ambience like Ayami but few choices, lamb ossobucco risotto was more like lamb pieces, 3 to be exact, parmigian chicken was better, portion wise and their gelato was excellent. Lounge/Beach/Pool: Ceviches were great and drinks Buffet: Variety but no so flavorful, churros were always out but aguas frescas were refreshing. The Grill: Best one in the resort for us. Center cut steak, ahi tuna, calamari,great choices we came back for. Room Service: Chicken breast, american breakfast, very good. Staff: For the price you pay, you definitely expect alot but will be disappointed however the staff makes all the difference from disappointment to a great experience. Management needs to step up and do better to improve hotel amenities, food choices and provide a great work environment. Happy enployees will trickle down to happy customers. Ana and Ricardo definitely did their best to turn a negative experience into a positive one. Staff like Cristian, Liliana and Mgr at Grill was excellent. Manager and server Miguel at both Ayami and Risotto were excellent as well. Geovany at Lounge was excellent and Ramon bartender at Pool. They stood out as well as Blanca in housekeeping. Julio of Concierge or the guy who pitches people the deals to attens their timeshare pitch was horrible, bad attitude after being told we just got in and had hungry kids and got upset after we chose declined his offer. Not cool at all. All in all. The staff does make the difference in the end whether a customer will have a horrible or a great vacation. Thanks to all the staff who went out of their way and you guys deserve a pat on the back for being at the front lines in representing your company. Keep positive, do an excelleny job and hope mgt fixes what needs fixing and gives you the credit you deserve.

    The pictures must be taken from the new building

    Reviewed by Shan M(West Midlands, United Kingdom) on Jul 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Nice enough hotel but a few issues that made it not amazing. The check in time is slow and took far too long after a 10 hour flight you could do without the sales pitch from hotel staff for timeshares at other hotels. Both of the lifts were very small. Hotel had 14 floors but only 1 lift that worked when it felt like it. Which meant excessive wait times for the lift. Even when they did work they felt unsafe. This was disgraceful, what would have happened if there was a person who had physical additional needs or was unable to climb stairs. Which we had to do many of times. Poor food at main restaurant. A lot of the food was cold. We started to only go to the main restaurant for breakfast and found the Grill much better taste and friendlier staff. The Ayami restaurant was awful. Other guests had also said it wasn't nice but we thought we would give it a try...regrets. The restaurant was terribly noisy, they didn't give cutlery assuming we can eat with chop sticks. When we asked for cutlery we were given a fork. The food was disappointing as we were told prior. The rice was cold and hard and the chicken did NOT taste like sweet and sour! Alcholic drinks selection were decent. However some soft drinks tasted quite watered down. Hotel room was dated. The shower was terrible and looked rusty. When in use it sprayed at all angles so made a mess. Room service was mediocre but quite slow and the waiters ask for tips when they bring your food. The room where we stayed was also extremely noisy 1) as we were at the back of the hotel because you're charged additional for a seaview. The noise sounded like a constant generator and was so annoying 2) the lobby area is huge and very high (14) floors so the sounds echo really loud. I actually can't believe how noisy this place is. Staff were pleasant enough but I found it rude and uncomfortable when they ask for tips. This was a common thing here and unpleasant...we do tip but do so off our accord. Most of the staff were pleasant enough however there were a few miserable and unapproachable female staff members in the main restaurant they really were off putting. The beach was nice but would have been much nicer had they made the effort to remove the smelly brown seaweed. It looked as if they could've cleared a lot of it. The sight of that put us off going into the sea. Every so often there would be a horrible smell of raw sewage around the resort. Wifi was pretty good. Gym was a bit worse for wear the machines looked and sounded old. The infinty pool isn't available for all adults only those who are upgraded. Swim up bar was nice service was a bit slow, was supposed to be open from 10am but they were seldom on time.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX