Grand Park Royal Cozumel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    J

    Bad, Bad, Bad worst vacation i ever had

    Reviewed by Julie Robertson on Jan 05, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Whether you call it the Grand Park Royal Cozumel or the Park Royal Cozumel...it is neither Grand or Royal. The pathways were uneven and rough with many dips and pitches. The food was always cold even though there was plenty of it...call me old fashion but I believe meat, potoatoes and vegtables should be hot not cold. The first room they put us in had two single beds when I had requested a king and a view of the propane tank and main road so all night all we heard was the traffic. Then after 3 days of trying to get the room fixed they put us in a room that had children running up and down the hall all night long as well as the radios of the staff echoed in the hall way at all hours we did not get a good nights sleep the whole time we were there. All inclusive it was not if you wanted to use the gym you had to pay a 6 usd user fee and you need a key card for EVERYTHING to turn on the lights in the room, get a towel at the beach and you could only get one towel per guest. Also the drinks were not mixed well they had too much alcohol in them and were too sweet. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Wonderful, would love to go again!

    Reviewed by Jen on Oct 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Very very late review. My family and I went to this resort in 2014 as our first time to mexico. We had a great stay! The staff were very warm and welcoming, loved coming to staff already asking what to drink! The rooms were great spacious, clean, and everything you need. The private balcony was great so nice to wake up to that great ocean view and if you look close enough you can see playa del Carmen. The pools were breath taking! Specially the to oceanfront infinity pools loved watching the sunset. Oh and make sure you're balcony doors are always closed! Be had a very friendly gegos come in! The only flaw of this rst is the the beach, beautiful but wish it was bigger. And the rocks were bad for such a tiny beach. Food was great. Thank you park royal for making my family and I's first Trip to Mexico a memorable time! Can't wait to go back im January 2016

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Loved our stay ! Would go again !

    Reviewed by Katrina on Feb 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2014

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is amazing ! It was so nice pulling in and being offered a drink while waiting to check in. I rate this resort about a 4.8 . This was my first time in mexico and I had no idea what to expect but this resort was everything I wanted. The infinity pools were just breath taking ! Sitting there watching the sun set and seeing all the cruise boats . The food was just average I mean nothing to special but it was great . The staff were also great also making you feel at home and making your stay special . The rooms are kept to date and always cleaned. I Would definitely recommend this resort for a couple or family . Thanks everyone for the amazing stay park royal Cozumel !

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5273 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Staff are the only highlight

    Reviewed by guggs67(New Ulm, Minnesota) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Our group of 14 arrived two days ago. The first night we ate at the Italian Buffett and it left a lot to be desired. The build your own pasta station only heated the pasta for you then you put your own sauce on and didn’t allow you to add anything as far as proteins or vegetables. How bad was it, we asked for Parmesan cheese and we were told they didn’t have any. Today we went to make reservations and where told they weren’t any available for the rest of our stay which is three more nights. Yet tonight after we ordered Pizza Hut into the resort we noticed all three non buffet restaurants had open tables. If you have already booked this restaurant I’m sorry. If not look elsewhere. Our group has traveled together for the last 6 years and have always found everything great at other resorts but the nightly meal situation sucks. Breakfast is OK and the seafood restaurant during the day is good. Everything is a joke. Like I said above the staff is friendly and the adults only pool area is good but we paid for all inclusive and we are not getting what we paid for. I’d be happy to talk to management before I leave.

    A waste of time and money

    Reviewed by loricela(Powell, Ohio) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I really thought the bad reviews were exaggerated. It turns out they are right. Im so annoyed we wasted our family spring break here! First - the good : Snorkeling! Lots of beautiful fish right at the beach and around. Then - The BAD - everything else!! I guess you get what you pay for. We booked two double rooms as there are 5 in our family. We were given a double and a king. No explanation. Asked for a roll away bed, or a mattress, anything. Nope. Not even the extra blanket we requested. I have been covering my 5 year old with my towels from home. Beds- hard! Enough said. The reviews were right. Walkways - dangerous! Cobblestone and uneven. You have to pay attention where you’re stepping or you fall. My 5 yr old almost did. Can’t imagine ppl with strollers or walkers. Beach - small. And Not enough chairs or shade. Hubby had to be there at 6:30 this morning to reserve ours. View- was good but 3 cruise ships blocking it all day kind of puts a damper on the whole thing. Food - terrible. We’re not picky and have traveled all around the Caribbean but this is a joke! Breakfast was ok. But the rest is bad. Buffet has Limited choices, mediocre to bad quality. We asked to make reservations to their three “a la carte” restaurants. We’re told they are booked until 4 days from now. Then we’re told they have only 9 or 9:30 available time. And at only one restaurant - the Mexican - bc we have kids!! Of course we walked away. I don’t get it. Where are these families supposed to eat? At least give proper food and choices at the buffet???? And I have never seen a not caring attitude like this in Mexico. Been many times in Cancun and Riviera maya. First time in Cozumel but even with our adjusted expectations coming in this is a total letdown! Save your time and $$ and choose something else. Don’t make same mistake as we did !!

    Great Place to Rejuvenate

    Reviewed by rbuitron_11(Harlingen, Texas) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just left Grand Park Royal after a 9 day vacation. What a beautiful resort with some of the hardest working people. The hotel was clean, spacious, and had an awesome view. The restaurants were delightful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Jorge was our waiter in the buffet restaurant and he remembered us from almost a year ago. Thanks to everyone at this resort that made our vacation so amazing. Sad to be headed home.

    Negative food reviews are 100% accurate

    Reviewed by FBCLOU(Louisville, Nebraska) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    First, I would like to say I read dozens and dozens of reviews prior to our stay at Grand Park Royal, and decided to take them with a grain of salt. However, it was apparent the very first day of our stay that the food reviews were accurate. Breakfast and the snack bar food were the only meals we were satisfied with. The dinner buffet was a joke and unfortunately forced us to go off the resort for all evening meals. We were unable to get reservations earlier than 9:30 any of the nights we were there for the specialty restaurants. No thanks! We also had to purchase top shelf liquor in town, as the selection on the resort was very limited. So much for an all-inclusive experience. We will not be returning.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Unless you have no tastebuds and can sleep in any condition, don't stay here!

    Reviewed by Sightseer02844412457(Big Lake, Minnesota) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The beds are hard as stone, the booze is cheap and diluted, and the food is not only the same rotation, but cold and nasty...bugs in 3 meals in 5 days Good location, but not for me. Get a B&B downtown way cheaper and get a real Mexico experience, got to Fiesta Americana if you need an all inclusive

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX