Brisas Guardalavaca

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    A

    Loved the people the town and being able to walk about town and feel safe.

    Reviewed by April on May 25, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Really enjoyed our holiday at Brisas the people and all the little extras things so well done thank you Brisas will return for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    r

    tom & robin think we are going back in november

    Reviewed by robin & ankles on Aug 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    yes yes yes

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    Great Price, Beautiful Weather, Relaxing Vacation!

    Reviewed by M&M, Chatham, ON on Jan 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We went to Brisas Guardalavaca in April 2016 and we had a great vacation!! Weather was great, beaches were beautiful and the staff was very friendly. Norbello waiter at the buffet was always so friendly and happy to see us. Drinks were awesome - Spanish coffees at main lobby bar are the best! Sometimes the slushy drinks weren’t always frozen depending on the time of the day. Food was what we expected as this was our third time to Cuba. Pasta station & stir fry station in the buffet were really good. Breakfast at the Cuban restaurant is the best and it is a nice quiet spot to start the day. Snack bar offers fries and poutine burgers & hot dogs as well as individual pizzas during the afternoon which were delicious! Ice cream station was tasty. Resort is close enough to walk to the market. We stayed in the main hotel villa side was too quiet for us and the view from our room was absolutely amazing 418 Oceanview . Beach was very close to resort other places you have a bit of a walk to get there . Never had an issue with finding chairs at the beach or pool. Entertainment team and nightly shows were good especially the water ballet. Met many people that have been to this resort time and time again and they said that they are always improving it and love coming back. From what we saw Brisas is definitely a nicer and cleaner resort than Club Amigo we walked through that resort a few times . Would definitely recommend going off the resort for a walk, bike, moped or buggy ride through the surrounding villages and small towns to meet the local people. This is our favourite part of going to Cuba- the people are always so friendly and you feel safe. We always bring things to give away to people that we meet- no matter what you give them, they are thankful. One thing that we didn’t like was having to pay 2 CUC per day for a lock for our safe and then having to worry about a carrying the key all week. They should upgrade to the combination locks and include it in the pr

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    we loved our stay

    Reviewed by The Gallants on Sep 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We have been to Brisas twice and we are returning in April 2017. We brought our 4 children with us . We all really enjoyed our vacation . The villa was nice and spacious. We did not have any difficulty finding something to eat. The staff wa a always helpful . We will keep returning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great experience and holdiay

    Reviewed by Shantel on May 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    The hotel was great, food was to be expected it is Cuba and all. You definitely wont go hungry as there is always food available. The Pizza and the Ice cream were the best foods there. I travelled with our family with two children 8 yrs old and 13 yrs old . The staff were amazing, the excursions were fantastic, you must see the country side to get the feel for the culture and the local people. If you like quiet definitely stay in the villas well worth the extra money! Disappointed on how the tourists treated the beach area, plastic cups and straws littered the beach even though the hotel had recycling bins which was fantastic! Beds were hard, by the time I got use to it I was on my way home. All in all I would go back to this resort in the future!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    A great placed to relax and unwind. Would definitely return again and again.

    Reviewed by M Holland on May 23, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    An amazing place to stay! Would go back again in a heart beat. Staff is very polite and the facilities are well maintained. Excellent selection for food and drink. Absolutely awesome vacation experience!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Can't wait to go back!!!!

    Reviewed by Lewis on May 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Wonderful vacation! The resort was great, the staff were amazing! Only suggestion - read the description of the food at the buffet and know what you're eating. The food was good if you paid attention to what you took and weren't surprised.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    Love Brisas !!!

    Reviewed by Rick Patterson on Apr 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    4th time at Brisas Guardalavaca and will be returning. Great staff ,beach , Snorkeling and entertainment. The food in the buffet was very repetitive but lots to eat. Went deep sea fishing which was probably the biggest disappointment of the trip. Very hot with no where to get out of the sun and after 4 hours no fish!!! Snacks and drink on boat where pop, rum and canned tuna. Was told by boats captain that april is a poor time to go. I wish our representative had provided that info. Overall a great time at Brisas !!!

    What to expect (based on 4835 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Total disappointment.

    Reviewed by Angie P(Sherborne, United Kingdom) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We have just experienced the delights (I use it flippantly) of this hotel. Despite the best efforts of some of the staff, we were made to feel unwelcome and second class. The food was less than appetizing and the hotel was definitely dated and in need of a make over. Bottled water has to purchased if it's available to save on plastic. then We are issued with numerous single use cups throughout the day. The beaches are nice and the sea is clear and clean. However. The coral does not appear in good health and (compared to other places we've visited), there was little to see. Beware too of the swarm of locals who descend upon the hotel at the weekends. A thoroughly disappointing holiday.

    Rustic & Fun

    Reviewed by Jessie0012() on Aug 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I went to Cuba on July 30-Aug 6 stayed at Brisas Guardalavaca. This is my 2nd time staying at the same resort. I have been to Cuba several times but still like Brisas... If you are looking for high class resort this is not it, it's an older hotel, but it's clean rooms are comfortable, and that's all you need. Let me start off by saying the staff are all amazing from Junior the gardener with Jose,to Pedro in the 24hr bar, to Luis in the buffet restaurant, they were all amazing. The one reason but I love Brisas Guardalavaca is because every single day they have music and some sort of an event game for all of their guests to participate and have fun. I visited some other resorts they were very quiet completely dead everybody was doing their own thing if that's what you're looking for Brisas Guardalavaca it's not the resort for you... The food is pretty good you don't starve there's always something to eat anytime of the day. There are small stores Bank liquor store and a small flea market walking distance of the resort. I met so many people from all over the world the keep going back to the same resort every year because of the staff and the feeling they have and they get there they love it and so do I. I traveled there by myself this time and I have no complaints I'm going back in September with my friend looking very forward to it again... The only complain that I have is that they don't make mojitos ... Lol

    Loved it!!!

    Reviewed by Anniagarciaanllo() on Aug 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I had a great time with my family at Hotel Brisas Guardalavaca. We stayed at the Villas, beautiful, clean and spacious rooms. Reynaldo was adorable, attentive and knowledgeable! He is a great asset to your Hotel. Our housekeeper Sandra was amazing. Thank you for everything. I’ll definitely be back soon!

    Holiday

    Reviewed by rach67_12(Southam, United Kingdom) on Aug 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel is great, we had ground floor 100 yards to one of the pools. The beach was 250 yards away absolutely gorgeous. Room was spacious & cleaned everyday if you wanted your sheets changed you put out the sign. The staff we so friendly & most were happy to help. The disco is up on the second floor & hot!!! We enjoyed the music n dance floor was a great size. Thi was our third time to Cuba, the only down side was in the 24 hour pizza bar they kept running out of either burgers, pizza's or rolls but we always found something to eat. There is a little market on site about 150 yards away if you walk through our other hotel, it was great for leather goods & hand crated ornaments & knick knacks but go early as too hot after 11!!! The sister hotel is much quieter but both pool have a swim up bar fantastic to cool off. Loved the holiday & we will definately go back. The rooms have a hair dryer, fridge, shower was great too. When you want water you take the bottle you were given on arrival to any of the bars & they fill it for you.

    Hot easter

    Reviewed by cmls5763() on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    a lovely beach resort, staff do work hard, a la carte good, book early although can have more if you wait and ask. no real shade at the pools is a problem though, so get to beach where there are trees and umbrellas, need to communicate the breakfast restaurants better, the Villas open most days then shut with no notice, Cuban needs extra staff for sure

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX