Las Brisas Ixtapa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    Fantactic, wonderful memories, amazing staff

    Reviewed by Lynn on Jan 24, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    The resort went beyond my expectations. The staff were amazing and always had a beautiful smile on their faces while serving you. The resort was spotless and the beach was so amazing and private. This is the most beautiful and gorgeous resort I have been to in many years. I felt relaxed after the first day and I did not want to leave to come home. The architect of the hotel is truly spectacular and the sunsets are so beautiful and different every single night. This is the first time I have been at aFan resort where the guests stand up and applaud after every sunset. I miss it already after one day back at home and will be again just to see the wonderful staff. Thank you Las Brisas, Ixtapa for the wonderful memories.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Love this Place

    Reviewed by Twitch on Oct 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Second visit here...we keep thinking we should branch out, but not sure another experience could top this one. Kids play in the surf for hours, private beach that allows you to relax.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3436 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Loved Our Stay!

    Reviewed by Randy K() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The beach alone makes this hotel a great choice. Loved the staff and the buffet food was good for Mexico with the restaurants better than good. Only word of caution is that if a person has mobility issues this may not be the hotel for them.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great property; difficult configuration

    Reviewed by skolb1123(Simsbury, Connecticut) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I am not one to laud excessively or lambaste needlessly, so this is just an honest review. The Beach: 5 stars 1) GREAT beach. Private, no vendors, many palapas. However, CAUTION. The waves are BIG, and there are undertows at times; undertows that may take you into rocks. 2) Service is uneven at the beach. There were never even 20 people on the beach ever, and we still had to wait a half hour or more for a drink sometimes. Other times, we had our drinks and next rounds waiting for us without even asking. Food: 3.5 stars 1) Some good things, some bad things. The buffets have a wide assortment of traditional Mexican foods, with great sauces and good labels, so you know what you are getting. 2) However, as others have commented....it is often cold, or lukewarm at best. The beef puntas had quite a bit of gristle; and not just one day....every day. The tinga and barbecued beef were better. Pork dishes were good. 3) Staff is accommodating; we ordered a few standard Mexican dishes that were not on the menu, no problem. 4) All-inclusive should be all-inclusive. We had to pay 50% of some foods at the specialty restaurants, though they DO label them, so you can avoid them if you wish. 5) Specialty restaurants: We did not eat at La Brisa II (mainly seafood), only at the Mexican and Italian,both of which were very good. We did not like that we could only make three reservations for the specialty restaurants during our week, and were relegated to the buffets the other 4 nights. 6) No coffee to go; for a beach walk in the early morning. They SORT of have a coffee station at BellaVista, but it's only the cinnamon Mexican coffee, of which I am not a fan. We had to have it made by the staff (they had no issue with this), a coffee station would be much better. 7) They charge for the mini-bar? Who does that? Activities: 0 stars There are none, and no music at the pool. Rooms: 4 stars Clean, ocean views, and firm beds. Hammocks on the balconies. No complaints, other than balcony furniture was old and in disrepair. Infrastructure/Systems: 2 stars 1) Pretty tired hotel, needs some updating. Lots of old/broken stuff, and the chairs on the beach are not long enough to accommodate anyone 6' tall, as I am. Makes them uncomfortable 2) Pools get leaves in them and the skimmers don't work, so you are swimming through light "muck". Not much traffic though, which was nice. 4) Configuration: Most important point of the review: A) If you don't like walking, or have any sort of challenge physically, you will struggle with the configuration of this hotel. The lone lunch restaurants are a LONG way from the beach (1/2-1 kilometer), with MANY inclines/stairs. I didn't really like the beach menu either, so traveling to the buffet was a must for us. B) The lobby is on the 18th floor, and you may call the elevator with the wrong (down or up) button depending on where you are and where you are going......as this is not the norm....annoying. C) Towel system: Towel Cards, have to have them or no towel, imagine you get charged if you lose track of your card or your towel. SO ANTIQUATED. Just give me the towel. D) Check-in/out Even with nobody in front of us, it took a half hour to check in. Almost EVERY Mexican resort gives a welcome drink of sorts to its visitors....nothing here. Really? Checkout was better, but still about 10 minutes. E) Coupons for specialty restaurants. Have to have them or no entry....so old fashioned; get it in a system so I don't have to keep track of them. F) Outside Presence: Be aware that there were weddings and corporate or locally sponsored events that had small effects. I understand that with declining tourist traffic, sustaining financial health depends on driving revenue from other sources, but these sources can impact the stay of vacationers, according to their tolerance levels. 1) People were noisy, uncontrolled at 2 events on the beach during our stay, one wedding and one party. Little sleep those nights. 2) There were groups that came in, some from local schools, and others from companies. If we had arrived at the buffet after them, we'd have had to wait a half an hour to eat. All in all, beauty can't be matched (stunning views from everywhere), food is ok, service is uneven, configuration was a nightmare for us, as were the operational aspects (check-in/out - towels - specialty restaurant rules, etc...). But the beauty/beach/water is so huge, it still rates 3.5 stars over all, but Trip Advisor doesn't allow 1/2 stars.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Beautiful views

    Reviewed by MaryKayS173(Aurora, Illinois) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I recently spent a week at Las Brisas. We loved the view from our room and from the pool. We spent every day at the adults only pool. One of the best things about this resort is that I didn’t have to get up at 6 am and save a pool chair. There was ways room, even on the busier days. The outdoor restaurant overlooking the beach was amazing with delicious food. The Italian restaurant also had wonderful food. It was a quiet and relaxing place.

    Wonderful get away location

    Reviewed by Stay09452849822(Coeur d'Alene, Idaho) on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    A wonderful week spent in the sun, in the ocean, and with very nice people. My 18 year old daughter and I were able to spend a week at Las Brisas in the first part of April. The hotel is a bit older, might be ready for upgrades. The good news is that when the hotel was first built they did it first cabin all the way, made to last for many decades. We should have done a bit more prep on our espanol before we arrived - for much of the staff, english was a bit of a struggle. That said, they all were very patient with our very spotty spanish, and would always find someone that could assist if needed. This would be the perfect hotel to stay at in Ixtapa if you really wanted to just hang, enjoy the beach and ocean, enjoy the many (5?) different restaurants in the hotel, the tennis and golf here, the swimming pools, spa, etc. Very unique about staying at Las Brisas in Ixtapa is the private beach, which keeps all vendors, etc from interrupting your chilling. If you're more into the party scene, you might prefer one of the many hotels in Ixtapa, located on the public beach. At Las Brisas it's a 20 minute walk (or $60 peso taxi) into Ixtapa with a variety of restaurants (Generals is a must, Ruben's if you hanker for a great hamburger & fries), bars, shops, etc. We walked into Ixtapa a couple of times, and took a taxi once. The staff here are absolutely wonderful. Victor (lifeguard) helped with many inside tips for getting around Ixtapa & Zihua. In the Las Brisas restaurant, Itzel was so wonderfully nice,she helped us with our spanish and so helpful and kind. You have to go to the lobby bar after dinner - you'll fall in love with Polo and Martim, and the rest of the staff. These folks have servants hearts, and really made a huge difference in our stay here. Be sure to plan a trip (or two) into Zihuatenjo while here. We traveled here three times (by taxi, $110 pesos one way), enjoyed each trip. Go to Bandidos Restaurant for wonderful food (their mahi-mahi tacos are superb) and service, these folks are wonderful. Will definitely be heading back here for another wonderful stay. One note about travel there and back: when we went, there was one (3 1/2 hr) flight in (arrives 2PMish) and one flight out (leaves 3:30Pish) to/from LAX. That means (unless you live in L.A.) travel to/travel from might burn 2 days each way. In my estimation, worth it.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Nice and relaxing... No night club boom, boom, boom

    Reviewed by Safari04907980914(Lake Errock, Canada) on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We've been to Mexico 6 times in the past 10 years and we usually end up in resorts that have night clubs. For the most part it's ok but Las Brisas was a very nice change. Super quiet at night so a good sleeping experience. Staff was always willing to help in whichever way possible. Our WestJet rep was amazing. I'd return again.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX