SeaGarden Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    K

    Great Bang-For-Your-Buck Getaway

    Reviewed by Kapow on Oct 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We just returned from a wonderful stay at SeaGarden Beach Resort in Montego Bay. This is a small, 140 room, Jamaican family-owned resort and as such, it doesn't have all of the amenities of the larger chain resorts, However, if you want an authentic Jamaican experience, this is the place to stay. Check in was quick and easy, and being literally 5 minutes from the airport makes the transport time for airport to resort absolutely painless. We arrived at 6:40 pm and were seated at the bar, bags in our rooms, freshened up from travel by 8 pm. The rooms are spacious, beds comfy and overall, very adequate. However, this is an older resort so there's not much sound barrier so you can hear anything going on in the hall, out on the street or sometimes, even from the adjacent rooms. The staff are wonderful, the food delicious but if you expect anything other than Jamaican fare, you're out of luck. The beach area, (or lagoon as we called it), was beautiful, clean and absolutely serene. There is need for some updating in practically every aspect of this resort, (bathrooms, seating at the bars, lounge pads by the beach, flooring), but if you can look past all of that, this is a great bang-for-your-buck spot. My husband and I loved that we could walk down the Hip Street to Margaratiaville, about 20 minutes, safely during the day. Be forewarned that the local vendors are VERY pushy and it can be somewhat annoying but part of the experience too. A special shout-out to our West Jet Vacations Rep, Kevin, who hooked us up with some amazing excursions and for a lot less than through other tour operators. All in all, we had a wonderful time. Would we go back? Probably if it was just the two of us but if we were travelling with our kids, probably not.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    We loved our stay! We will be going back here again one day!

    Reviewed by Jaime on May 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Short and Sweet, SeaGarden Beach Resort was the best! It is a quiet, clean resort with great staff that caterer to your every need. Small, little beach with a great beach bar and snack grill. The food was amazing. Love jerk chicken and those coconut drop cookies! I can say the food was amazing because I got to taste it. You see, I have Celiac Disease and a lot of tourist places do not realize the severity of my disease. Upon arrival, I met with Head Chef Kernel and Chef David who looked after and catered specially to me making sure I would not be contaminated with gluten. Each night they would take me around the buffet explaining what I could eat and if there was nothing there, they would make me my own plate. Anyone with a food allergy will only understand and appreciate how wonderful this was. I cannot say enough good things about these two men, who took time out of their busy day to make sure I was being looked after. THANK YOU never seems enough. So, anyone with Celiac Disease, this is your place! Every morning we were fortunate to be greeted by Aneicia Smith and Daneake Faulkner. Two of the nicest ladies we had the privilege of meeting. By the end of our stay, they would call us by name and have our table set up especially for us – hot bacon and candied pineapple. Damn that pineapple was delicious! Romaine, who greeted us at the front door nearly every morning with the biggest and brightest smile you will ever see. Trex and Dimitre did an amazing job of entertaining us throughout the day and every night. The energy and charisma these two have is something you will never forget. The nightly entertainment at this resort was awesome! Lastly, venture out and walk down Hip Street. You will meet some wonder people who are trying to sell you their goods. Talk to the friendly ladies outside the shops and get to understand what it truly is like to Jamaican. We will never forget Shelley, Shedean, Dean and Suzette! It was an amazing!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 744 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Very good all-inclusive resort

    Reviewed by 396luizv(Sao Paulo, SP) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The SeaGarden Beach Resort in Montego Bay, Jamaica, is located near the "Hip Strip", within walking distance of the famous Doctor's Cave private beach. Very close to Sangster Airport too. Beautiful gardens and a very interesting private beach, the main building is antique but very well preserved. Free parking lot and good wi-fi available. We got a big room with seafront varanda, very comfortable. Well-prepared food and drinks. Good shows and entertainment by the pool every night. The private beach is separated from the hotel by a narrow street with very few passing cars, but there is always hotel staff to help you cross safely. Very comfortable, lots of beach chairs and towels available for free, as well as snorkeling gear and 2-post kayaks. The beach bar prepares a variety of good drinks and snacks (hamburgers, hot-dogs, roast chicken with salad and french fries). Worth spending the day, swimming in the transparent warm waters, and watching the beautiful sunset there!!

    Wonderful escape from winter

    Reviewed by Sandy T(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Me and my friend stayed at the Seagarden the last week of February and we had a great time. The food was really good (omelette stn was awesome). The a la carte Italian restaurant was also really good. Loved the beach and the nicest thing was the the resort was close enough to travel down the street to a bigger beach if you wanted to (Doctor's Cave Beach). One of our favourite places to hang out was the pool bar, the bartenders there were the best. Some criticisms would be shower pressure started off not so good but got better at the end of our stay. Entertainment is a little soso the performers were good but the audience just wasnt into it. The disco was also blah we had the reception call us a ride to go to Margaritaville which was very convenient and the driver made sure we got back to the hotel safe. Overall though all of the staff were incredibly nice and I would return. Thank you for making my first trip to Jamaica a success.

    Disappointing All Inclusive

    Reviewed by Scenic69548() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The best thing about this property was the location, but even that was a bit of a disappointment since hotel would only provide free airport shuttle service if you booked through their website. Room smelled musty, air conditioner looked moldy and rattled, food was mediocre with long lines, hot tub was above ground and wouldn't heat up past 100, drinks were in small plastic cups with subpar liquor. Best thing about property is beach area with beach grill which promptly wrapped up business shortly after 5pm and didn't open again until 11am. People were nice, and property has potential, but it needs a lot of updating and customer service improvement. I even saw folks going to the store to buy beer since it was so difficult to get drinks.

    Great snorkel beach

    Reviewed by lorenet408(Regina, Canada) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Finally picked Jamaica and I am sure glad I did. Clear blue Caribbean water right here. I swam twice a day with four glass bottom boat trips added, it was exceptional swimming as the reef is right here. The resort is situated on a long shorefront with lagoons and gazebos, plenty of lounge chairs in a variety of settings, great sandbeach for little kids. There is a swimming pool, nightly entertainment that can be quite good. Security is evident, sleep well. Staff are exceptional, professional with personalities. Can’t wait to return to this resort. Best choice for us.

    Comfortable, Clean and Quaint

    Reviewed by KeysMH(Montreal, Canada) on Mar 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    After reading the reviews I was a little worried but having vacationed in Jamaica in the past, several times I gave it a chance. Jamaica is known for the fabulous food and the SeaGarden did not disappoint. The beach grill and the buffet were both great places to eat. Unfortunately while we were there the Italian restaurant was not open. The resort in my opinion needs a few more a la carte options. The room was always cleaned and the AC unit worked very well. The beach was small but there were plenty of places to swim and snorkel. More then enough loungers in full sun or shade. The staff kept the beach area clean coming around to pick up cups and plates. The entertainment could have been better especially after the dinner hours. The live bands and singers were great but there could have been more interactive activity at that time. Overall we had a great relaxing time at the SeaGarden Beach Resort. The weather was just perfect. Thank you to all the wonderful and helpful staff.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX