Disney's Art of Animation Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    J

    This Hotel is perfect for the kids!

    Reviewed by Josh on Nov 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Wonderful all the magic of Disney and it's movies all in one place! Also very easy to get from one park to the next!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8141 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    It was just ok

    Reviewed by MP1981(MP1981) on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I was expecting much better. We stayed in a Lion King suite. The decor was cute, but the cleaning left much to be desired. Day 1, there was a big clump of blond hair in the bathroom. No one in our family is blond. The next day, we were informed there would be a power outage for much of the day due to gondola work. This was inconvenient and I wish we were informed prior to our stay, but it was okay. We came back 45 minutes after the power should have been turned back on and it was still out. Additionally, our room was not cleaned that day at all even though we did not have the do not disturb sign out. I understand the power outage may have impacted things like vacuuming, but what about making the beds? There was another day that housekeeping didn't arrive until after 3:00 when we just got back to our room to rest after being at the park since opening. The toilets were very loud and spit water out when you flushed. My 5 year old was afraid of them. Food was expensive and mediocre at best. I wanted to enjoy a Disney hotel, but I think I will stay off property in the future where you can get a nicer, cleaner, and less expensive room.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Lion King suite.

    Reviewed by Waynebeav(Brighton, United Kingdom) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just returned from 10 days holiday a great hotel all the staff were so friendly always said good morning or afternoon or evening.The buses always ran regular to parks.Stayed in the family suite lion king 5 of us plenty of room still and was close to all amenities.We were on self catering only fault could pick that there was no kettle but picked a cheap one at walmart along with tea and coffee and sugar so ok.Food was ok perhaps more of a variety in evening would be good.Otherwise this was a holiday we will never forget.Thank You to all the staff will be back.

    Great stay and great staff.

    Reviewed by joshlawson123(Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed here for a week last year and only just got round to writing a review. We normally stay at universal and have done for the last 4 years but we fancied a full Disney holiday and it did not disappoint. The lobby is fantastic and check in was OK. We had a few issues at check in but everything was resolved very quickly. When we purchased our Disney tickets, we got an offer to receive limited edition toy story magic bands. We assumed we would of got these at the hotel but this was not the case. If we wanted them we would of had to of gone to the big Disney shop at Disney springs so we never got them which was very disappointing. We settled for standard gray ones. We stayed in the little mermaid section and the only problem was it was a little far from the main building but really this was no major issue because we are a young couple. The decor around the hotel was amazing although some of it looked like it could be maintained better and needed a lick of paint, especially in the lion King part. The food at the hotel was good and even though it was always busy, we never waited long unless we was buying pizza but you get it fresh so the wait was worth it. Buses ran often and we never waited longer than 10m. Every staff member we had an interaction with was lovely and polite. We opted to not have our rooms cleaned for a disney gift card, and even though we did this our beds was still made and towels changed every 2 days which we did not expect so thank you. Would we stay here again? Yes is the answer. We will be staying at a Disney property again next year for our honeymoon because honestly, it is the greatest place on earth.

    Items stolen from our hotel room

    Reviewed by Sheri1969() on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    On May 10, 2019, my daughter and I arrived for a 3-night stay at the Art of Animation, in room 1815. The morning of May 13, 2019, my daughter could not find her Versace sunglasses, which were purchased only 3 days before our trip. The sunglasses are model VE2168, and cost $245.00 plus tax. Even though she did not recall wearing them to the park on Sunday, May 12, 2019, we opened lost and found tickets to every place she went in the parks on Sunday, as well as the hotel. Upon arriving home on Monday, May 13, 2019, I unpacked my carry bag and purse and realized my $300 Coach gift certificate was missing. I brought the gift certificate with me in case we stopped at the outlet stores on the way home, which we did not. The gift certificate was in my purse, which never once left the hotel room. We have been Disney pass holders for 17 years. Despite the numerous hotel options, we have always stayed on property. This is deeply troubling. My daughter purchased those sunglasses with her own money that she received from her graduation. The Coach gift certificate was given to me by my brother for my birthday. Do not stay on Disney property. This is beyond sad.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-1

    LOVED IT!

    Reviewed by lindsayc09(Wimauma, Florida) on May 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We visited here this past weekend for our family vacation combined with Mother’s Day and my birthday. We have APs but this was our first time staying at a Disney property. I had read plenty of reviews on AoA and knew this would be an awesome fit for our 3 yo who loves Cars! We booked the Cars Suites and had an absolutely wonderful experience! We arrived pretty early and ahead of check in time, the front desk was super helpful and friendly with directing us to the pool and activities going on to do while we waited on our room! The splash pad was awesome for our little one! He loved running around and playing with the other kids! We loved the fact that The Big Blue Pool was a zero entry, perfect for letting him get in and out on his own. We definitely enjoyed the Cozy Cone pool as well, its great since they have the cabanas and you can relax in the shade for a while! We ordered pizza the first night and it arrived well ahead of the estimated time, from our hotel window we got to see fireworks from the Magic Kingdom and Hollywood Studios (4th floor)! Landscape of Flavors has a wide variety of options to choose from and everything was delicious! I had one small negative experience with one of the cashiers and am assuming maybe she was having an off day bc that was the only negative experience we had with the entire resort! It’s the perfect place to grab breakfast and go back to your room or enjoy eating there as well! On our last day we opted for late check out which was a nice little perk with choosing to swim for awhile before left. We wanted to make our stay as long as possible since we got a ton of rain on this trip! All and all we obviously enjoyed our stay and all the options and activities to do as a family and for the kids! We plan on returning and staying here again! WE LOVED IT!!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX