Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. United States
    4. Florida
    5. Orlando
    6. Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®
    7. Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando® review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    E

    we loved our stay

    Reviewed by Erin on Dec 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Best location for the best price, right next to universal

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2632 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    If you don't want to sleep, this is the best option

    Reviewed by Joaco I(Denver, Colorado) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    If you don't want sleep, this is be your best option. The mattresses are very uncomfortable. No one in my family couldn't sleep. Also the people selling "cheap tickets for universal parks" will try to sell share times. But all this is after you paid. Avoid this guys getting your tickets online or any other way. I report this issues but obviously nobody will help you. The hotel smells and looks old

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Great hotel for family

    Reviewed by GianfrancoF348(Glasgow, United Kingdom) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is a great hotel to base yourself in for going to all the Florida parks. It is not the fanciest of hotels but it’s nice and very clean and the staff were great. It also has free parking. Another hotel we went to was $30 per night for residents. There is 5 of us three are kids 17, 15 and 8. The suit had a massive living area with fridge, microwave and sink area. It had two massive double bedrooms each with en-suite and the vanity area was separated so didn’t tie up the toilet or shower, this is great with two teenage daughters. Used the pool only twice as we were so busy with the parks but it’s fine. Hotel had an a-joining TGI’s which was great for coming back at night and not having to go looking for a restaurant.

    Some good; some bad - expect better from Holiday Inn

    Reviewed by wahoowa1213(Flemington) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    As others have mentioned, the hotel is kind of shabby and needs updating.The place was packed so you have the business to make it a stellar hotel. However, it was very clean. The staff was great, especially Diana Duvall at the front desk. The giant dispenser of fruited water at the entrance is a nice touch. The location was also convenient to Universal. However, the shuttle needs work. One of the main reasons for selecting this hotel was due to its proximity to Universal and the free shuttle. The shuttles should run more often than they do. Also, the night shuttles need to actually show up. We arrived 10 minutes before pick up time and got into an orderly line. At 9:50, five minutes after the shuttle was due, the line surged into a mass blob so that it was every man for himself. Joke was on them anyway since the shuttle NEVER SHOWED UP. We took a cab back. Update the hotel and get a better shuttle system in place to increase your rating. Disappointed in this Holiday Inn

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Not so honeymoon

    Reviewed by KateLouise85(Grimsby, United Kingdom) on Aug 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I don’t feel that this deserves the 4*s that it has – although it is more than suitable to rest your head after a tiring day at the parks, for those that have more high standards (like me), it might not meet your expectations. The cleanliness of this hotel is questionable. It’s not dirty by no means, but I found the public areas (i.e. hotel room corridors, lift areas etc to look a little shabby (i.e. carpets looked worse for wear and needed a good hoover). Apart from using guest services once and the car rental service, we didn’t use any of the hotels amenities so I couldn’t comment on this, however we did take a peek at the pool and for a hotel of this size, it was pretty small, and was right next to the car park (although walled off) so it didn’t quite have that relaxing pool vibe that other florida hotels offer. I will add though that the service we received from car rentals and guest services were perfect. This hotel was part of a package that we booked through Royal Caribbean as part of our honeymoon (we were going on a cruise straight after our time in Florida). Our booking stated that we were celebrating our honeymoon, and we even arrived with t.shirts that stated we’d just got married, however the receptionist didn’t upgrade us, neither was anything nice left in our room upon check-in, which was a little sad as well. The car park can get really full and one night we arrived back late (around midnight) and if it wasn’t for a car pulling out of a space, we would have to have parked somewhere else, which I completely disagree with seeing as though we ‘belonged’ to that hotel. They really should have enough spaces. Also (and this really put me off!), during our stay, I just happened to be walking back to our room down the corridor, and heard a dog bark from within one of the hotel rooms. I did not know this was a pet friendly hotel (Which explains the hairs on the carpet outside of the lifts!). The fire alarm went off in the middle of the night during our stay and I felt that the communication from staff was poor. We left the building, and were wandering around the car park at 4am – no one told us it was ok to go back in – we just used our initiative. We almost got back to our room (on the 8th floor) and the alarm went off again. It seems they have got an automated voice over the tannoy because this was a false alarm, but no one let us know, and we were left in limbo wandering whether to vacate the building again or not. The rooms themselves are large, however I wouldn’t class the beds as double beds – they are more ¾ beds, so 2 (medium build!) adults sharing would be ok, but not a lot of room left at all. The bathroom was small and sometimes not enough towels were left (why do cleaners always leave crap loads of flannels or small floor towels but only 1 bath sheet, even when there’s 2 adults sharing?! So frustrating!). I don’t think the bed sheets were changed every day, maybe not every other day either – I will say though, if you pop the ‘Do Not Disturb’ sign on your door, and the cleaners go past, I did find that they do not return back to your room later (I’ve always found that cleaners do usually do this), so twice during our week there, we came back to an un-made room which was a little deflating after a long day in the parks. I found that their cleaning wasn’t as thorough as it could have been as well! The location is ok – it is in walking distance of Universal Studios (about a 15-20 minute walk), and is next door to TGI Fridays. Not too far away is Wendy’s and Ihop but still a good 10-15 min walk. Apart from that, there aren’t really any shops/pubs etc in walking distance. All in all, the stay was ok but I wouldn’t revisit.

    Ok hotel....great service

    Reviewed by JeanRoes() on Aug 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel is older and in need of refurbishment. But it was clean and the people were nice. One concern is the deception of a pushy time share rep near the Universal shuttle desk. I nearly complained to the front desk, but the Universal rep (his name was Kerry) explained that he worked for Universal and provided me with such a good honest feeling that I was able to purchase my tickets and schedule the shuttle. It’s a shame that the services are tainted by the dishonesty and attitude of a time share company (shame on Holiday Inn for allowing this type of thing in their hotel). I’m sure Universal’s reputation takes a bit too. Please thank Kerry for helping me through the whole process. He was very calm and patient with my initial attitude. I’m a fan now.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX