Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. United States
    4. Florida
    5. Orlando
    6. Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®
    7. Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando® review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    E

    we loved our stay

    Reviewed by Erin on Dec 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Best location for the best price, right next to universal

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2508 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Very disappointed

    Reviewed by wisetraveler_12(Lake City, Florida) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    My family travels around Florida a lot due to soccer tournaments. We have had good experiences with holiday inn chain hotels so when we were planning on visiting a universal theme park, I was happy to find one that offered free shuttle to city walk and was within walking distance to the parks. In addition, Holiday inn hotels usually have breakfast included and even though this one accepted pets, I called and they assured me they could accommodate me in a room not previously occupied by a pet (in the upper floors). I even asked about shuttle service and was told I could make arrangements upon arrival. I even paid a little more to have a suite so we would have two full size beds and a sofa bed (we have two teenage kids). The problems started since we arrived. We got to hotel at around 4:30 and the room was still not ready. After waiting for one hour, they told me they had a room available in the second floor, (which is supposed to be the a pet friendly floor. When I told them about the pet situation, they told me I either took that room and checked it out or they had no idea how much longer I had to wait! I took the room reluctantly. I was also informed breakfast was not included. The room was fine, so we stayed. When I went to ask about the shuttle, they told me I had to make reservations 24 hours in advanced!!! Why didn't they tell me this when I called??? We decided we would go walking and they said I could use the shuttle to come back. I didn't need reservations for that. Went out to dinner and came back ready to shower and go to bed. My son went to make the sofa bed, no sheets or pillowcases had been left for it. I had to call front desk at 11pm to ask for some. Next day we walked to the park. When we left the park, we walked to the bus area where we had to wait. Waited for 45 minutes and no bus showed up. Finally decided to walk back, we were all tired and hungry. Not wanting to go anywhere, we called the pizza place the hotel left a flier for in our room. While placing the order I thought weird they would charge $4.99 for delivery when that is usually free. However, I placed the order anyways, they told me it would take an hour at most to get there. I decided to check the place out on trip advisor... Could not find it ... Thankfully, I was gonna pay cash. Exactly one hour later, pizza was delivered. It was ok... But I know I could have gotten much better for a better price. I didn't do my research. I though since the hotel is allowing these people to place advertisement, they should be good. I needed to use the drier and went to the lobby to ask how much it would be and ask for change. Woman at the lobby told me she didn't have change and I should try the gift shop. The man at the gift shop (not the lady at the front desk) was the one who informed me there was a change machine at the laundry room. I know many people would say to just shut up and be glad we had a room, but I felt disappointed. I went expecting a certain standard if service I am used to, my expectations were not met. Next time, I will look into one of the usual Hilton chain hotels we usually stay at, like the embassy suites. I can trust they include breakfast, even most have social hour. If they offer shuttles anywhere, there are never issues with it.

    Great Location and Nice Hotel

    Reviewed by loriicenhour(Columbus, Georgia) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We picked this hotel for connivance but found it very clean and a super location to Universal and City Walk. Checkin was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. The price was good as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay close to Universal for a good value.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Great location.Nice hotel

    Reviewed by jerb1227(orlando) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed 1 night to visit Universal Studios. I requested an early check in as I needed to rest before the Universal concert as I'm now disabled. They were able to do 1/2 hour early so not great. Pool was nice but towels were very limited. Room was fine. Double beds only and seemed clean but smelled a bit musty. TGIF is attached to hotel so easy food available. I'd stay again if going to Universal.

    Be aware of pre-paying any reservation at this hotel. You are unknowingly going thru 3rd party named Intercontinental.

    Reviewed by mimidenden(Mass) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I booked my sister and her family here for 5 nights. Prepaid $561. Holiday Inn site showed you can cancel 1 day in advance with no penalty. I had to switch dates, which they did, but not without virtually hours on the phone... wasted time and convenient (for them) dropped calls. Then my sister had to cancel all together due to work,(nurses rarely get the time off they need) so I called to cancel. They were happy to cancel, but when I told them to just refund my credit card, they said: "No, we can't do that." Hmm...Why? They told me it was because I received a discounted room of a whopping $5.00 bucks off per night. So after numerous hours on the phone, not to mention about 8 disconnects, and not just with me but also during 3-way conversation with Barclay Card dispute Rep. & Holiday Inn reps from Thailand, I believe they said. They finally said I could rebook but they would not refund. So I tried to rebook...and got disconnected, called again on hold for 34 minutes, disconnected. You know the redundant drill. This continued for a couple of hours until finally, even the 3rd party-Intercontinental representative, "Sam," was tired of being put on hold from Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal and apologized. She then passed me to some supervisor, who was going to start this process all over again. I could not deal with any more incompetence. I told the Supv. I was calling Barclay Credit Card and let them deal with these people. I had a very competent rep named Alice from Barclay Dispute Center on my first 3-way with Holiday Inn, who "recorded and documented everything...thank god." The next 3-way Barclay rep sounded very young and they disconnected on us twice. She was ready to give up. I told her she can't leave me hanging. Finally, I got 3 nights booked for my cousin, Crystal, who will be checking in June 21st. Glad someone could use it as the flip side is losing $561 for nothing at all. This is a glitch/loophole, whatever you want to call it and we need the government to step in and crack down on these companies. Cost about for 3 nights $380. So after paying $561, I asked if they could upgrade them so at least we get our monies worth. Nope....they are impossible to deal with. They just are hoping all people prepay so they can try like hell to refuse to refund them in the event of "life" because crap happens some times. They don't even want to change dates for you, it was like pulling teeth if you have a problem. This was 2 months in advance notice. We are not talking some elaborate high faulting hotel, it's a Holiday Inn for God sakes. So do not let them get a penny out of you in advance. This Intercontinental 3rd party from Asia is somehow in cahoots. I booked on HolidayInn.com. But if you call 1-888-Holiday with a problem which is the # on this site you are routed to this "Intercontinental company." Funny though, how Holiday Inn was paid from my credit card, but apparently by getting the $5 buck discount on each night unknowingly directed me to this scam site of Intercontinental. So Please be aware. I am waiting for my cousin to check in. If they give her any problems at check-in, I'm calling the Better Business Bureau. She better have a suite with a kitchen, that's all I can say. Oh almost forgot, through the many calls they changed their mind and said I could not switch the name of the person going and they wanted to know who told me that. Thank God Alice, From Barclay had the name "Roxanne" written down. Of course, you know that turned out to be another 20 plus minutes on the phone to verify! You might think I was trying to switch an international plane reservation, not an Orlando Hotel. So I give a 1 (there is no 0) for the Holiday Inn Reps. I'll post back later on the rooms after she returns from her 3-night stay. This hostage of money is morally wrong. They should have just credited me the $561. My cousin makes out, but my sister loses out. And $561 minus $380 is still a loss $181 that they are keeping. Never will I do business with Holiday Inn ever again.

    Holiday Inn made our Disney day perfect

    Reviewed by Joseph C() on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Awesome experience! All of the staff, both those who were the face of the company, and those working behind the scenes clearly are running on all eight cylinders and humming. We got a two-bedroom suite for two days so that we could go to Disney for a day and the room was absolutely perfect for our needs. Two completely separate bedrooms with separate bathrooms and a central area that included a living space and partial kitchen that included a sink, refrigerator and freezer, dishes, silverware, and even a dishwasher. All of the beds were incredibly comfortable and the rooms were maintained excellently. Thank you to all employees and leadership of Holiday Inn for making our stay wonderful!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX