The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    Gorgeous property and great service keep us coming back!

    Reviewed by Lindsey M on Apr 12, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We stayed at the Westin Mission Hills Resort and Spa for our second time this past March. I must say that my previous expectations were met and exceeded this year! Our room was spacious and comfortable although, a long walk from the main pool and the staff was friendly and attentive. This was the first time bringing our kids along to this resort ages 10 and 15 and they thoroughly enjoyed the main pool and the other kids and teen activities offered. The kids especially enjoyed looking at the different animals who live at the property and the Friday night family movie. I found the main pool to be slightly crowded and noisy with many children, but I suppose that is what the purpose of it is. When we came here without kids last year, we really enjoyed the adults only pool for its quiet serenity. We thoroughly enjoyed happy hour with the best ever mojitos made by Javier and Carlos at Pinzimini restaurant. Breakfast was delicious too, but the restaurant's latte left something to be desired. Every time we stay here, we are absolutely blown away by how immaculately the grounds are kept - definitely makes for a very nice morning stroll. This is by far our favorite place to stay in Palm Springs! Thank you, Mission Hills. We will be back in May 2016!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Worst stay - staff was excellent and tried to accommodate us but the result was extremely unsatisfactory. Never stay there again.

    Reviewed by Cooper on Dec 30, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Would not recommend this hotel. I came down suffering from a cold and thought that with our 'mountain view sunset room over the golf course with a king bed' that I requested it would be okay if I had to stay in the room. We are both golfers and love staying at golf resorts. The room assigned to us was a double so we asked for a king and were put in this dark room with no natural light at all. Staff were excellent but after booking this for New Years I has no idea we could get so burned with this place. Bathtub sucks too. Very small. Not on golf course and no sunset or mountain view! No robes. Two towels. Two star! The last time we booked a Westjet vacation it was staying at la Quinta and it was so outstanding I did not think for a moment that the Westin or westjet would provide us with such a bad room, making for a very disappointing holiday. I'm so disappointed and sick at the same time, I dread spending the next four nights in this horrid room. Leslee cooper

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2743 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    I have always found their cuisine mediocre.

    Reviewed by Pam1751(Cathedral City, California) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    standard hotel fare, over the years, new chefs , variarions on the same dismal menu. excellent location and this could be a popular restaurant with locals but nothing newsworthy ever seems to happen here.

    DCM

    Reviewed by Dece M(Irvine, California) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    From the moment we arrived all the staff was friendly, available and helpful. We loved the bed and pillows were great too. My friend rented golf clubs to practice and was quite impressed at the quality and newness. They were much better than the ones she later rented at a nearby country club.

    Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

    Reviewed by travelersgroup18() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have been staying at the Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa for over 15-years. We travel extensively both domestically and internationally but this is our 'paradise' hotel - it never fails us from the warm welcome at check-in to the restaurants, pool and spa. The staff clearly undergo extensive customer service training because they excel at it!! Their attention to detail in our experience is impeccable. The surrounding grounds are magnificent and our choice of accommodation never fails to exceed. It is our perfect getaway and we look forward to many more visits with our friends and family over the coming years.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    This is NOT the place to stay if you are looking for service.

    Reviewed by drexotic(San Diego, California) on Mar 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Overall the experience was MUCH LESS than average and in many ways did not measure up to the service I'd expect from an inexpensive hotel, let alone a Westin. Starting with check-in, there was a line so an employee not working the desk was asked by one of the hosts working the desk to check us in. She acted inconvenienced and was not at all welcoming, short, and hurried through the process. We had requested a ground floor, king bed room but were given a second floor room. When we told her that my wife had difficulty climbing stares she offered a first floor room, without a pool view and twin beds that would be available in 2-3 hours. we elected to take the second floor room but requested a bellman to take the bags to the room. She seemed confused at my request and stated, "I guess I can find someone, but it will take me a while." I ended up carrying my own bags. After we were in our room I went searching for ice. There was not directions on the information in the room, on the posted fire escape map (seems to be a common thing for hotels to do) or posted on the walkway, so I called the front desk. The person who answered could not tell me where the closest ice was and transferred me to another person. They gave me accurate direction, however, when I got there the ice machine was our of service and from the dust and cob webs had clearly been out of service for some time. I ended up getting ice from the bar at the pool. After a long day of travel, etc. we were looking forward to some time in the pool / hot tub. Unfortunately there were no towels at the pool and no one there who could seem to tell us if more would come. We were headed to our room after the sun went down (maybe an hour later) when the towels showed up. After returning to our room to get ready to go out, we found that there was no soap or shampoo in the shower. When I called to have some delivered I was first told "housekeeping was done for the day." It seemed that I had to convince the person on the phone that we needed it and they sent someone, but it took 20 minutes for them to arrive. Once out of the shower, my wife looked to see if there was a robe for her to wear, there was, but strangely only one. Luckily, I'm not one to wear a robe. I think you can get the picture here. If I were to stay at the local Holiday Inn or Best Western, I would expect better service. I unquestionably expect more from the Westin! After the soap was delivered the front desk called to apologize and offered us a 3 day stay for the price of one night. I didn't have to consider the offer too long to come up with the answer. Why would I want to spend more time at the Westin Mision Hills if this is the service that I would get?

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Spring break stay with family of four

    Reviewed by stephanb905(San Diego, California) on Mar 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife, two small kids and I spent 3 days this week at this resort. We booked through Hotels.com and roughly paid $300/night when accounting for the resort fee tax (about $30/day) which was not included in the base rate. Overall we had an amazing stay in this resort. The check-in was pretty effortless as we were able to leave the car with the valet for a few minutes to go check-in. The concierge offered the kids some welcome toy gifts which was a nice touch. The hotel was completely full because of Spring break so unfortunately and because we also had booked though hotels.com, we were not given the best room (5-10 minutes walk to the pool, restaurants and lobby area) but we understood we did not have a choice. Despite being away and having a partial view to the parking lot, we were given a room in a unit with a private parking lot. The resort is broken down in condo style units throughout the property. Our room was very large, had powerful AC, super clean, with very comfortable large beds and also a large bathroom and patio area. The property itself is pristine and very well maintained. It feels like we were in an oasis of peace with a wonderful golf course, great restaurants with views, ponds, fishing area for little kids and various pools (adult only, family/all ages and kids / families only). We loved the pool area as it was well suited for adults wanting to relax with drinks while offering amazing options for kids like a fun water slide and shallow pools with plenty of seating / lounging areas. We enjoyed the gym which was also opened 24/7. The staff was very professional and courteous throughout the property as well. Bottom line, if you are looking for a comfortable, luxurious, fun and family friendly resort for a quick escape to the desert then this this is the place to go. I would recommend though contacting the hotel in advance to request a room in the vicinity of the pool / restaurants with a view of the golf course. This was the only downfall for us; we were on the edge of the resort and had to walk to the main places of interest but again it was great to walk as a family and they also had golf cart rides available on demand.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX