Marival Distinct Luxury Residences

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    C

    A fabulous place making for a fabulous vaction

    Reviewed by Carol F on Feb 17, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was the first hot vacation my husband and I have taken. We could not have chosen a better place! The condo was luxurious. We hoped for a fabulous balcony with ocean view and got exactly that. We could see and hear the ocean crashing from the generous balcony. Birds and Iguanas frequented the trees near our balcony. The condo was beautiful clean and well equipped, The maid service was impeccable. Turn down service, what a treat! The amenities of the residence were beautiful, quiet, staff were friendly and served beyond the call of duty. One of our favorites was the beach, just a 2 minute walk from the condo. Walk one direction, for miles there is beach fronted by private and undeveloped property. This allowed us to see sea turtle hatchlings being released, turtle nests and numerous shore birds, walk the other way and you are where all of the resort action is. Rides are free to the sister resort. The car and taxi service people were so amazing. Efficient and friendly. The concierge was extremely helpful as well. I thoroughly enjoyed the gym each day before my morning beach walk. We always felt safe, happy and pampered. I would completely recommend the Marival Residences! Loved, loved, loved our time there!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Worst first day of a trip ever, West Jet Vacations rocks when it comes to supporting their customers.

    Reviewed by P V Lover on Nov 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Unfortunately not the start to a great 10 day family vacation. The promised construction of the new Buffet area was not finished on schedule. We were subjected to construction noise until after 9 pm including jack hammering outside our window. Only one A la Carte was open out of the 5 and the buffet included moldy cheese and very bland food. We were told that our daughter could help her 3 year old daughter on the slides but she was whistled out. We were in the older suites section ,not the luxury half and because we weren't members there were pools and bars we couldn't use. We only stayed the one day and the concierge tried to ease all our issues including our oldest daughters Celiac / Glutten issues but we weren't willing to put up with 48 hrs more construction. West Jet was able to accommodate our request to change Hotels and the rest of our 9 days were awesome elsewhere.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    C

    Best All Inclusive Food EVER!

    Reviewed by CatN on Jul 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    I had the most amazing meals of my life at this resort! If you are a foodie I highly recommend this property. The staff was so friendly and hard working. The waiter even brought my beer to me while I was sitting in the pool. If you are looking for a nice relaxing holiday with great food and drinks I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2774 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    April 2019 vacation

    Reviewed by Mireille L P(Calgary) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Vacation from April 2nd 2019 to April 12th , 2019 We had great service from the staff such as the beach concierge Gustavo, Oscar Lopez, Victor and Jesus. These guys set up the towels, long chairs, umbrellas, bring drinks and food. The beach was clean and with no algae, the sand was smooth and it was very nice to walk on the beach in the morning before the heat of the afternoon. This resort/residences is a mandatory all inclusive. For the main restaurant named: Omaggio staff such as Guillermo, Omar, Ivan and Olga, they were great in explaining the menu, the food is fabulous and fresh, the service was excellent. The beach restaurant named: Mozza Mare is open to the surroundings and has a great view of the beach and ocean, the staff such as Alejandro, Fabiola, Pedro, Saul gave us an excellent service and were taking the time to speak with us. The bar area named Brunello with Lilia provided great evening service. The amenities were also excellent, the condominium was very clean throughout. (Marival residences are condominiums). The beach has been ready since 2018 and is very beautifully designed. It was what the Marival Residences needed to become a 4 Diamonds Hotel. The reception was accommodating for the time we arrived. Everybody was very nice and helpful in everything we needed. The concierge service with the staff Raquel, Jennifer and Guadelupe were always making sure every day that everything was taken care of and that we were satisfied with the service and our stay. Raquel made sure that we could have the room until 2:00PM since our flight was at 5:00PM. We made a reservation with Vallarta Adventures for the excursion named the Rhythm of the Night which happens on another island and provide not only the show but a buffet style dinner. The show we saw was: Savia, it was good but we were very deceived in the fact that it was exactly the same show we saw in April 2018. For the kind of money it cost, we could have applied it toward a couple’s massage. This was a very big mistake on their end. We were expecting a brand new show. We are recommending this vacation destination Marival Residences without hesitation.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    A Six Star Gem - April 2019 Stay

    Reviewed by Indy C(Redmond, Oregon) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    There a hundreds of resorts in the greater Puerto Vallarta area. Many have beach access, nice rooms, fitness clubs, resturants, kids clubs and the other typical facilities. The Marival residences has all of these and they're are the equal of any. What the Marival adds is an unequaled variety of activities and unsurpassed staff. The residences are the relaxed, quite facility with a top-notched beach club, first-class food, pools, spa and health club. The staff is highly attentive and accommodating. We had a variety of requests, from transportation to special arrangements in our accommodations. All were satisfied promptly. We must especially highlight the food and service. It's excellent as is from the menu. Important for several of our group are special dietary needs. The staff happily modified the menu to satisfy our requests, and they frequently prepared dishes that were not even on the menu. The beverages, including alcoholic, were top-notch. The wait staff was friendly to a person. It was a delight to get to know several of them personally. Thank you especially Hirmer (Luis Coya). Besides the great service, you brought smiles to our granddaughter. Speaking of kids, there is a club and baby-sitting services For more activity, Residence quests have full access to the Marival Resort (now emotion). This is great if you have younger children or grandchildren. This adds and larer kids club, additional resturants, a buffet and a fast-food option (great for kids). Meanwhile, you don't loose the advantages of staying at the Residences as there is a special, private area just for you. The staff here is equally friendly and respoinsive. Many have 10 or more years at the facility. A special recognition to the Chief Concierge, Carlos Gallardo. He sets the tone for the exceptional, responsive and friendly staff that made our week at the Marival Residences so memorable.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    A solid 3 - no more no less

    Reviewed by srohatgi(Rancho Santa Fe, California) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for 6 nights during our kids spring break. As background, we had bid on a 'luxury' property package at a charity auction, and we selected this property given its availability in April. Otherwise, we would normally stay at the St. Regis in Punta Mita. We arrived around 430-5p on Sunday, and it took us over an hour to get checked in. They didn't have our name on the registrar, and it took several discussions amongst different staff members to figure out that we were being considered 'owners' given our charity auction purchase. I had to call our contact to get things sorted. Even after that there was no explanation of the grounds or amenities or schedule, etc. upon check in. We did purchase all inclusive: 2 adults ($80 per person per day) and 1 child (7 year old @ $40 per person per day) as my daughter's (5 year old) all inclusive was less. Our kids were tired and hungry, so we desired a snack, but they originally wouldn't let us order food in the wine bar, Brunello. So we were directed to Lemongrass by the front pool. We were given room 615 which featured amazing views of the ocean. It was 4bed/4baths (2800sq ft) as all the bedrooms were on the entry level as there was a nice plunge pool on the second level. The room appeared nice and the beds were very comfortable, but looks can be deceiving (more below). Pros - Food quality. The food at all restaurants across all meals was amazing. This was shocking for a timeshare. Also, no reservations were needed as we were easily seated at all hours. - Ample beach and pool seating. We had no issue securing chaises or beds by either pool or seats right on the beach. - Beach itself is quite nice and you can use boogie boards, etc. for free. Cons - Wildly inconsistent service. We got extremely attentive service from Victor and his team at the Mozza Mare pool, the accompanying beach staff, and the guys who worked Lemongrass. We got wide ranging service levels from the waiters and staff at the other restaurants. Some would take forever to take our order. Some would just screw up our order. Etc. - Archaic visitor policies. We had some friends come visit us for a day as their daughter is our son's age. Yet, the hotel initially didn't want them to set foot on the property until we had paid for their all inclusive. So, we paid for all 3 of them, and even then, we could only hang out by Mozza Mare. And, when our friends left, the property was adamant that they return their wristband or we would be assessed a surcharge. We aren't a bunch of penny pinching college students. - Didn't receive 'owner' privileges. Apparently, we were supposed to receive beers, soft drinks, and waters daily to stock our fridge. Yet, they only came on Friday - our second to last day. We didn't even know about it until we told our owner concierge who claimed that we should've been getting it daily. - Room needs maintenance. In a 4 bath room, only 1 shower delivered hot water, but we had to wait for 15+ minutes. Several of the bathtubs didn't work (i.e., the water barely came out of the tap). - Limited communication about events at the sister property. Again, we got little to no communication about potentially fun events for our kids at the Marival Resort. We only learned about special dinners or kids shows because we ventured over one time to use the water slides, and the attendants there told us. I definitely wouldn't return, and if you have the money, I would encourage staying at St. Regis or Four Seasons.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Fantastic Stay

    Reviewed by getmeoutoftherain(Vancouver, Canada) on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at here for week in mid March. My husband and I along with the other couple we came with couldn't have been happier with our vacation. The property is a low key resort. On the small side, two pools (excluding the Sky Bar pool) with calm music playing. Predominantly adults, but a few kids around. The kids there were well behaved (good parenting). As a parent I don't think this would be the best choice for kids as there is not a lot of action. I heard that the kids'club was well run and enjoyed. There is a tennis court in excellent condition. You need to book a time to play. The beach club and lower area is a gem. We spent every day down at the beach. The staff there are amazing. They work so hard...Every day, all day! Marival...give them a day off. The guys (servers are male) were there to get whatever you needed...towel, sunscreen, food, drink, ice, lounge chairs. The beach and pool area is incredibly clean. I was concerned about beach vendors. While there are some there, they were not bothersome or aggressive. There is a restaurant and bar at the beach club and there is a small buffet set up. I like the fact that with the exception of the above mentioned buffet and one available at breakfast, all meals are a la carte. Portions are small, but you can always order more. Food presentation was top notch. We enjoyed spending sunset up at Insu, the roof top bar. Rooms are very large..like a condo set up. The only things I didn't like was the mattress cover which is waterproof...which made it very hot and also crinkly. Sheets were ok..but not super soft. Towels awesome and how can you beat L'Occitane ammenities. House keeping usually very good. Only part of the vacation we did not enjoy was the check in process where you enter into an introduction to timeshare. I did not want to waste time telling people we were not interested...therefore I had to be rather blunt and say I just want to check in..enough of this talk. Thanks to Victor and Octavio and the many other staff, along with wonderful food and facilities we had a fantastic stay. Definitely will be back within a year.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    if I could rank it 6 stars I would!!!

    Reviewed by JPG967(Gatineau, Canada) on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a nice resort. We were there while there was not a lot of clients around and it was simply amazing! I would go there again and again. The staff was awesome, the rooms are awesome, the food is.... you got it; awesome, I cant see any points to improve on the resort to be honest. We had to hitch a cab to go downtown and the staff were precautious and making sure we would not get into any random taxi, it was appreciated. The ONLY, ONLY point to improve is we got bugged maybe twice about the time share possibilities, but rethinking the whole thing it is really not that bad. The beach was not super nice when we went since they had a storm a couple of days before, no big deal really, we stayed by the pool and enjoyed the drinks :)

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX