Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    R

    "Amazing enjoyable vacation from the resort to the fiendly staff"

    Reviewed by Rod Cozma on Dec 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Just got back from an amazing trip to the Now Amber. As disabled wheelchair bound traveler we have been able to many resorts in Puerto Vallarta over the years. We found the Now to be very accessible with wheelchair accessible rooms. Ahead of time I was able to contact the Concierge Daniela and arrange for the handicap room and a booking at the chefs table in the Hibachi restaurant, she was able to honor our request, very much appreciated. Right from our arrival the friendliness and concern for our wellbeing was very evident. The staff were amazing, with their energy and smiling faces were friendly and very helpful. All the staff display courteousness, professional and a happy spirit that we appreciate and could learn from, they all deserve a big shout of praise and applause! Now for the resort itself, it is very beautiful and well looked after and did not seem to crowded or noisy at 71 per cent occupancy. Chairs and towels were always available. We were able to try Capers Italian restaurant 2 times, the food was amazing and had many choices. The Castaways restaurant had many choices including Surf and Turf and coconut ice cream. The Hibachi grill was an enjoyable food and entertainment experience and the Himitsu Pan Asian restaurant was great. We were able to book the French restaurant in the Secret side as well.Every morning w e would go to the Coco Caf? and get our coffee ,loti or cappuccino , and go to the beach and enjoy the ocean. Breakfast and lunch at Carnival had many tasty food options. Our handicap room was spacious and had everything we could ask for including a beautiful view of the resort and the ocean. The grounds were well maintained with a lot of room for everyone. Really, staying at any resort as we have been to many in Puerto Vallarta over the years one may encounter a few hiccups and things that may not go your way . We must remember that sometimes it is us that may have to make an attitude adjustment and go with the flow and enjoy yourself.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    We enjoyed our stay!

    Reviewed by SandyP on May 17, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    The Now Amber is very beautiful. We were not advised at check in that the room numbers are on the ground so we found it a bit challenging locating our room initially. The rooms are very nice and spacious and have a sliding door separating the room from the washroom with a separate door for the toilet. The El la Carte restaurant was very good with very nice presentation

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    I loved this hotel! Especially the freshly squeezed juice served at breakfast.

    Reviewed by Nada on May 17, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is an exceptional resort. I loved the spaciousness of the resort without being too large. A beautifully design lobby area - a modern twist with authentic Mexican decor. The rooms are a substantial size, and provide all the necessary amenities. The pools area is well designed with a large number of lounge chairs to choose from to catch some Vitamin D. A bonus is a swim up bar in the pool area.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Beautiful views

    Reviewed by Kris on May 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This a beautiful resort. The rooms are very nice and the views are spectacular. The Italian restaurant was my favourite, delicious! Excellent staff and service and a great location in Puerto Vallarta. You can walk to the Malecon in about 40 minutes. The beach in this area is the one downside. No fault of the resort, is just typical of this area. Just a bit rocky. The upside to the beach is that the servers come right to your chair to serve you. Still very nice if you're sitting and sunbathing and people watching. If you prefer a no Kid-zone you could try next-door at Secrets for an adult only experience, they are attached.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    First time, first Hotel ! Unforgettable experience overall!!

    Reviewed by Gigi on May 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Now is Wow...!!! Luxury, location, views, beautiful clean rooms and amazing food! Let's not forget the staff, always eager to help and please you!!!

    L

    A dream hotel with great location!

    Reviewed by Lena on May 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Excellent hotel with a beautiful view! Great location, 5 minutes away from downtown and good for both families or couples. Spacious room with separate space for the bathroom and shower and bathtub. At night you could hear the surf from the waves, very relaxing! Great selections of restaurants and food, the staff are all amazing! I was here with a group but would like to come back on my own time soon!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    I

    Wonderful hotel with great service and location

    Reviewed by Irene on May 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a great hotel with great service. The rooms were quite large and the service was amazing. The food quality was very good and highly recommend the Italian restaurant. We arrived quite late at the hotel and was happy to see that we could still get into the a la carte restaurant at 10pm.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Great Property. Great Location.

    Reviewed by NinaW on Apr 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    The Now Amber is an elegant resort. Although I found check in to be very slow, they were detailed & informative when it was my turn. I found the room number hard to find, until I realized it was on the ground. Quirky, but easy to navigate once understood. The room was spacious and I liked the separate room for the toilet. The dual sinks in the bathroom was nice and having sliding doors made the room feel more spacious. The restaurants were delicious with attention to detail. The property was full when we went, but didn’t feel crowded and the waiter at the pool took care of us. I enjoyed the location and would definitely stay there again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    k

    A nice enough resort but it lacks the polish to make it a five star destination. Over priced.

    Reviewed by knh959 on Mar 15, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Certainly not a five star resort. Sales, sales and more sales. From the moment you check in with the reception desk until you depart, somebody is trying to sell you something. Vacation Club, spa, tours, trinkets, t-shirts' hats, and on and on. The beach is sub standard and full of pebbles. If you plan on swimming in the ocean you will need beach shoes or very tough bare feet. Food was edible but not remarkable. If cigarette and cigar smoke bother you then be prepared. People a surprising large number of them smoke wherever they like INCLUDING in the lobby area, pool side and even while in the pool. Lots of private functions mainly weddings but no private function area - they just kick you out of the pool section they're taking over for the function. Full credit though to resort staff. They do go out of their way to provide the best service possible. I'd also like to give a shout out to the WestJet rep Monica. She was/is wonderful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Go somewhere else

    Reviewed by Mary on Jan 25, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort was billed as 4.5 stars but I would dispute that rating. The hotel was okay but not luxurious. The beds were hard and the pillows like bricks. The buffet for breakfast and lunch was mediocre. The evening restaurants were only good to average. The French one was the best by far. It was nice to have access to Secrets next door but it was really not much different as a resort. The gym was old and not clean, with broken machines. The beach in Puerto Vallarta seemed to be polluted. For the first time ever on a trip to Mexico we didn't swim at all because there was brown scum in the water; no other tourists seemed to be in there either. Perhaps it was the dirty and polluted creeks and lagoons that flowed into the bay, or the horse manure left on the beach that caused the pollution. We couldn't even sit and read on the beach because of the booming music from our own resort and Secrets next door each competing to be louder. Give it a pass. There are much nicer places to go in Mexico.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4173 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fabulous spring break with family!

    Reviewed by jill s(Evansville, Indiana) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Awesome Staff! Shout out to Humberto and Juan Jose! Golf and the Spa were great experiences. Great food! Beautiful Sunsets! Preferred club worth the upgrade! Resort compact so good for those with mobility issues.

    Fabulous

    Reviewed by WindyMiller09(Hove, United Kingdom) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We went there for our Wedding Anniversary. Not sure if the email I sent before we got there was why we got room 1553 but it was huge, with the biggest balcony/terrace we have ever had. The bed was so comfortable and huge too. The bathroom very well appointed and was open planned but could be closed. (Loo was in separate as you would expect!) We didn't get a happy anniversary banner on our door like other people did but no worries. One thing that was a bit annoying was the floor and hand towels were not replaced very often or they completed disappeared. Some of the bath towels had seen better days !! Staff where very friendly especially if you were courteous and engaged with them. Especially Humberto in the buffet restaurant; he made our Wedding Anniversary breakfast very special when we told him it was our special day. The meet and greet staff there are so nice and the little touch of putting your name on a slate sign and taking you to your table (inside or out) was lovely. The other restaurant were very good and being served a very lovely 3 course (smaller but delightful) meal was a nice. No over indulgence! The drinks were plentiful and choosing a different cocktail very day was fun. The pool concierge who came to clean your glasses was a nice touch and the pool waiters happily bought you your drink orders pool side if you wanted it. Also they got to know your drink of choices which made it a more personal service. The pools were lovely but the swim up pool was not so great. Lots of noisy wedding parties, they were mostly very loud, in big groups, drinking and smoking in the pool; and 'took' over with huge inflatables. But there's anther pools to get away from them. The weddings they have here, which seem to be every day, seem to have there own music after the Wedding ceremony which is quite loud but this starts from late pm and stops at 11pm. There a few children here but not many. It was quite nice to pop into the Adults only Secrets Hotel adjoining; Its very slightly quieter. We listened to a saxophone player one night and the 3 man band another night. The entertainment in the outside theater was OK, great dancers and acrobats, the magic show was good. But sitting on the huge concrete steps wasn't very comfortable - one or two times I managed to get a cushion. All in all the Now Amber Hotel is great and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Top Tip: We booked online direct with Vallerta Adventures and not with our tour operator as it was half price and we had a Dolphin experience which was great fun.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Birthday Trip

    Reviewed by monicadiaz0418() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Usually go to Cancun and wanted to try somewhere different for my birthday trip. Booked a 4 day/3 night trip at Now Amber through Apple Vacations. When we arrived the room was ready and decorated for my birthday! The property was beautiful, well kept, and very clean - even the bathrooms near the pool that are constantly being used by wet people. The food was fresh and delicious. The service at the hotel was the best part! The staff got to know our name and regularly checked on us. Santiago, our server by the pool, was so attentive and friendly. Cesar, at the Carnivale buffet made us feel like celebrities when ever we walked in. Odalys, the front desk manager, and her staffed ensured we having a great stay. I would HIGHLY recommend booking a vacation here! I hope to return with a larger group next time!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    A week of bliss

    Reviewed by darrenmc14(Portland, Oregon) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my first time staying at an all inclusive and it definitely won't be my last. Every staff member I encountered while staying their was friendly and helpful in a way that made you feel at home. Fabiola, especially, went above and beyond my expectations with helping book reservations for dinners, recommendations for places to explore outside of the resort, and even helped get items/decorate our friends room for their birthday. A huge thank you to Fabiola and the rest of the incredible staff you made our trip even more amazing than I thought it could be!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Expectations exceeded!

    Reviewed by Travels782(Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have always vacationed on the Cancun side, and when I first saw how much smaller this resort seemed at first view I thought I wouldn't like it. BUT, the staff at Now Amber are far superior to any we've met in the Mayan side. Friendly, efficient and happy all day long; they truly made our vacation an outstanding experience. Now Amber is not a quiet resort though - you may find some calmness in the morning hours up to about 8:00 am, but then it rocks all day long until around midnight. They do weddings and events like nothing I've ever seen, sometimes multiple times a day. The beach is lovely, but the Pacific ocean is a surfer's paradise rather than a swimmers. There's an undertow and some of the waves will literally knock you off your feet, yet it is not near as dangerous as Cabo San Lucas in terms of roughness. You just have to have respect for the ocean, and play in it with caution. We went into Old Town Puerto Vallarta, but our cab driver was an angry man who wouldn't talk to us, and demanded more money once we reached the town square. We refused to pay more as the hotel told us it would be $5 USD. We couldn't find a public washroom that didn't charge money, which is fine, but we also couldn't engage anyone there in our broken-Spanish to explain that we didn't have small denominations of peso's and needed change. I don't blame them; it's their country and we're the foreigners, but it was intimidating and we certainly weren't feeling welcome. We decided we were better off at the resort, and had a fantastic cab driver on the way back. We didn't do any excursions; we had thought about cabbing it to Bucerias or Sayulita, but were too timid and worried about finding more hostility so we skipped it. Maybe another time as we know a lot of people who love both those places. All in all it is a great resort; excellent food!!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX