Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    H

    Great location, beautiful beach, fantastic food, friendly and helpful staff.

    Reviewed by Happy Traveller on Feb 01, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    I had a wonderful stay at this resort. It's located on one of the best beaches in the area. The restaurants had great food and the staff were very nice. There are only 2 bars, the bar by the pool and a lounge in the main area so it was usually fairly relaxing. I don't think I saw a drunk person all week. If you're looking for a resort to party at this isn't it. Great resort for families, couples, singles. The gym was fairly small but had everything I needed for a good work out. I'm heading back to this area one month after my stay at Occidental Nuevo but the resort is full. I would have stayed there again if they had a room for me.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Immaculate hotel, amazing staff! Perfect vacation.

    Reviewed by SamlovedMexico on Jan 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Westjet made our travels stress free. Nice to have prearranged airport transportation. Our westjet rep was very helpful the morning after we arrived. We loved this hotel. The staff was amazing. Rooms, hotel, pools and grounds were immaculate. The beach was beautiful and we could walk for hours to the north. The hotel had free boogie boards kayaks and paddle boards. I recommend requesting a room in the south wing. The middle section was noisy with the lobby party/music until about 11 pm. Hotel needs to put felt pads on all chairs in the rooms and lobby. Check in was quick. Would have been helpful to be given more information about the hotel. There were generally always loungers available but it?s a good idea to lay out your towels in the morning. Dissapointing not to be able to use adult pool without upgrading. However main pool was never crowded. Our belongings were never touched on the beach, by the pool or in the room. We used the safe in our room mostly but found staff very honest. We had to ask occasionally for minibar refill despite leaving tips. Note the minibar is not filled by housekeeping so we left separate tips after we clued into this. Had to request water one day and they literally had it in our room before I got back up to our room. The al la Carte restaurants were amazing. The buffet had fresh diverse options. Seafood was excellent. It would be nice to make all restaurant reservations the first day. Servers were friendly and attentive. Loved having the option of having drinks brought to us on the beach! Bartenders were at times inconsistent. Main buffet was not always open at lunch just snack bar. I would have preferred the music at the pool in the lobby and in the shows be not as loud. The bass in the pool music was annoying. Entertainment was awesome. Very talented dancers. Beautiful costumes very synchronized and well choreographed routines. Note if you have children some of the costumes and routines are pretty sexy. 200 peso cab to town.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Best vacation by far. Occidental Nuevo Vallarta was top notch.

    Reviewed by Joe H on Feb 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We booked the Occidental Nuevo Vallarta through WestJet Vacations. From start to finish this vacation was amazing. We were picked up at the airport and taken directly to the hotel. Check-in was prompy, friendly and efficient. The resort is on the smaller side which makes it perfect for families. The rooms are modern and clean. Our room was within 100 steps to the beach and pool. The beach was beautiful with white sand and no rocks. The entertainment staff was there to ensure there was always something to do. There were boogie boards, kayaks, stand up paddle boards all available and free to use. The restaurants and buffet were all amazing. We never had one bad experience in ten days we stayed. The staff were all extremely friendly and genuinely there to ensure you had the best experience possible. The drinks were made with all the premium brands and the drinks made with juices were freshly squeezed. Try the Greyhound's! All in all this was a 10/10 trip for myself and my two kids. I will be returning to this resort again without hesitation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Loved it! Want to go back.

    Reviewed by WENDY and Olga on Sep 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Lovely property and great staff! Everyone from bellman Carlos, to check in Michelle, to Bartender Alfredo, to Servers Perla and Jesus and Angeles were all ready to serve and attend to our wishes! Alfredo kept saying..."it is my pleasure" to serve...and I truly believed he meant it! Location was excellent and food great....definitely want to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Good hotel

    Reviewed by Leni on Nov 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel was great, food, service, clean, location... all good. Only a couple of complaints. 1 time share people. I had to be rude to them to get the off my back. 2 no balconies 3 rooms next to the elevator are very noisy

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4683 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great vacation for young family

    Reviewed by JJNFTA(Montreal, Quebec) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just got back from 1 week at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta, traveling with our 19-month old son. We chose this hotel because of the reviews mentioning the excellent service and we were not disappointed. The entire team was friendly, attentive and simply wonderful. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and were amazing with our son. A special thank you to Erik, Ricardo & Eutimio for their wonderful service during breakfast and lunch. Miguel’s poolside bar service was also very much appreciated! The hotel was clean and well kept. We did miss having a balcony in the room, but overall this wasn’t a deal-breaker. Food was overall quite good. The Italian restaurant (Los Olivos) was especially great, as was our waiter Rafael. The pool area is kept clean and was a perfect place for an energetic toddler to expend some energy. Overall, we had a great time. We were looking for a quieter place where we’d feel comfortable with our little one, and that’s exactly what we found.

    great vacation

    Reviewed by Happiness725354() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My boyfriend and I went to are first all inclusive vacation together, and were not disappointed. the hotel did have a bit of trouble getting our room right, but Karla Montoya did her very best to rectify the situation. The entertainment staff were fabulous at making us feel really special Alberto Rosas, remembered my birthday right form the first thing in the morning and tried to make the whole day special. Karyna Cerda always had a smile on her face and made me feel very welcome at the concierge desk, and helped us to book the a-la-cart dinners. Daniel Garcia was do much fun in getting everyone to participate in volleyball and other activities. Humberto Meza was so nice making me feel at home, and Rene Garcia remembered our favourite drinks right from the very first order. Luis Robles was very good at being on top of bringing our drinks at the pool. All and all they try to treat everyone like a celebrity and make a great vacation spot...

    Great staff - otherwise too many negatives to return to the Occidental.

    Reviewed by jdc243(Goodland) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We go to PVR and Mexico all-inclusives every year. I will begin by giving a huge shout out to Danny and Aracely and the entertainment staff who were amazing and Rafael and Miguel at the pool who worked so hard to bring us drinks all day long. Rubi at the front desk was also very accommodating when we arrived. There was a big mix up in our rooms. She took care of it immediately and saved the day. The resort is clean and the grounds are beautiful. This beach remains one of the best I have ever been to and Puerto Vallarta is one of my very favorite places in the world. Here, however, are the negatives about the Occidental. 1. The Food - Nothing special anywhere. I think I actually lost weight on vacation for the first time ever. The buffet was not very good at all. Very boring and small compared to other resorts we have been to. The specialty restaurants were good, but reservations are hard to get and they only allow four for a seven night stay. I have never heard of this limit before. Here's a kicker - I had to ASK FOR GUACAMOLE AND SALSA to get it at every meal. The first day I thought that was a joke, as it is a virtual staple anywhere we have ever been. Also - a HUGE problem for us is there is no food service at the pool. Honestly, if we would have known that - we wouldn't have booked this property. Overall, the food is a huge negative. It is extremely difficult to snack at this resort... have never had this problem before. 2. Lack of live music or late night bar- the lobby bar is the only place to go and the only music was a violin player and a sax player another night. The "shows" were very good, however, and I will give them a good review on the Mexican fiesta night. But if you are wanting to dance or have a good time later than 11 p.m. - this is not the resort for you. 3. Weird deal but this is the only resort I have stayed in on the beach that does not have balconies. We booked an ocean view but not sure why. The window slid open but was odd not to be able to sit and enjoy the view. And btw - the walls and windows are like paper - you can hear everything... 4. Service - They work very hard, but just not enough people. Especially in the lobby bar. Be prepared to wait for drinks. 5. The Pool - Very boring. Very small. Nothing special. Only positive is it was the perfect temperature. We will not be returning to the Occidental. There are so many much better resorts to go to in Mexico. But - if you are wondering about Mexico in general - it is still a very beautiful and safe country full of wonderful people.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Occidental Nuevo Vallarta All-Inclusive Vacation

    Reviewed by Tracey T(Appleton, Wisconsin) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent 5 days at the Occidental, March 2019. Loved every minute of it! We would like to thank Jocelyn for her help during our check-in and check-out. She was extremely friendly and helpful with our dinner reservations. Daniel Garcia was always nearby with a smile and encouraging us to have as much fun as possible! Fernando Garcia, Agustin Beza (?) and Fransico were the best bartenders around! We never had an empty cup and you must try the pina coladas and the margarita royal. Fantastic! The area is very walkable. We didn't do any excursions due to the limited time that we had there. We went with another couple and we all would definitely go back in a heartbeat. Our room (royal level junior suite) was outstanding. Very clean, the fridge was stocked daily and had an amazing view. I would upgrade to a room with a patio next time. The bed was a little hard, but otherwise everything was amazing! Food was good/very good. Our group enjoyed the Italian and Japanese restaurants the most. The buffet was on the smaller side, but had everything you would need. The beach was very clean! All staff were very friendly and there to help. Thank you for a wonderful vacation! Can't wait to go back.

    Fantastic week!

    Reviewed by amkis8() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed a fabulous week at the Occidental! This was our first visit and were extremely pleased with everything. Palm trees and beach were amazing. Food and room were great. The staff definitely makes this place stand out! We spent every morning playing beach volleyball, followed by a nice swim in the ocean and Miguel would have our drinks waiting for us when we came out. Thanks Miguel! You were awesome.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX