Occidental Caribe

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    We had a great time

    Reviewed by Janis on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The beach is amazing as always in Punta Cana. The layout of hotel is excellent espeically if you stay in the 3340 area. Walk down the stairs or tak elevator and right at pool. Very short walk to beach. The beach snake bar is open until 5 am which is fantastic. The pizza parlour above the beach snack bar is a must. Personalized pizzas while overlooking the ocean. Every where you go in the evening there is entertainment, not just in one location. This makes it a very lively resort. People have said the people serving are not friendly. This was not the case, they were very friendly if you were. Even without a tip. This could easily be a 5 star if the updated the bathroom ( if functions just fine) and upgraded the buffet with a little more options or making sure they are cooking enough at one time. For example, shrimp on the grill. Chef would put about 15 on, and would be gone in 4 people. So you had to wait in a line, for next batch to be cooked. I have been to Rui and Grand Bahia several times in Punta Cana, and can say I would return to Occidental Caribe over them just based on layout of resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11945 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    DR Vacation

    Reviewed by Roam61751448114(Lehigh Acres, Florida) on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Very nice, the food was good, the beach was lovely. The entertainment was also ok. but was disappointed with the room service. Overall the employees were very friendly, courteous, and helpful. I will recommend this vacation, and will re-visit if needed.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    My stay

    Reviewed by NesaGonzalez(Brooklyn, New York) on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall the resort was nice and enjoyable especially for what me and friends wanted to do. But the food was poor and not good quality. The staff was nice and polite even lost my own towels and was found.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Amazing vacation

    Reviewed by Sherpa16273229316(Miami, Florida) on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We really enjoyed our stay. The entire staff were so friendly and accommodating. Definitely an experience we will never forget! The beach party was cool. And the late night pool party was so much fun.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    best vacations ever

    Reviewed by Vacation23340763698(Vancouver, Canada) on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    everything was perfect, the staff, food, bars, the osean just few steps away. The only issue that people should not get is the internet, which they charge you US $45 dollars and every 2 minutes was disconnected,

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Happy stay and will be back

    Reviewed by Run_HC_Run() on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I was a bit nervous because of some of the negative reviews but we had such a great time. We loved it! Family of 4 with 2 small kids. If you can, get an ocean front, so worth it. Buffet is not fancy but you’ll find it does the job well, and has vegetarian options and lots of fruits. FYI-make reservations the day you arrive for a la carte restaurants and you’ll have a different, nice dinner every day. You don’t have to tip but we did. It was a small token of gratitude and they seemed to really appreciate it and we appreciated their service. Special thanks to El Alcazar staff who rescued me with fresh milk for my entire stay for my toddler. A few restaurants do have dress code policies such as no wet clothes, shoes, etc. not big deal (there are signs posted) most guests were gracious but we did see a few tacky guests upset about it and be rude to staff (don’t be that person) there are plenty where you can be wet and no clothes...We are already planning to be back soon.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX