Iberostar Selection Bávaro

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    This hotel was not worth the 5 star designation, but had nice beach (fine sand, no rocks, but lots of seaweed) and great weather.

    Reviewed by Sandra on Mar 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    First room upon arrival there was water pouring out of ceiling from air conditioning vent. Second room had overwhelming moldy/mildewy stench, no other rooms stated to be available, offered dehumidifier or deodorizer. Opted for dehumidifier which lessened stench. Waited for third room next day which had strong deodorizer smell but was otherwise same layout. Both 2nd and 3rd rooms had brown stained bathtubs and 3rd room fridge did not work so kept room #2. Ants were crawling around bathroom sink. Only bottled water available to drink was that in bar fridge so had to wait a full day for room service to get bottles. Cleaning was minimal, wet towels were taken but not replaced and no clean ones were ever given. Cleaning lady helped herself to Sprite from bar fridge and left half empty bottle on counter. Westjet representative was contacted about state of room #2, said apology gift would be given, still waiting for it. This was not the renovated suite I was expecting as stated on website. Staff at buffet were unfriendly and would yell at you if you sat at wrong table or helped yourself to cutlery and napkins while waiting with full plate to start eating. Most staff were generally unfriendly. Watch out for your teenage girls - my daughter was very uncomfortable with male staff leering at her.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Always love my stay!

    Reviewed by Shirley on Oct 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I have travelled the world, but always enjoy a stay at the Iberostar Bavaro. I am returning for my 5th time on Dec.01, 2018. I have learned through the years how to enjoy a vacation. Remember, you are a guest in the country you visit. If their native language is Spanish, you cannot expect them to speak or be fluent in English. Just as you would be if Dominicans visited Canada. They are hard working people, and how you treat them you will be treated in return. I smile, they smile, I remember their names, they remember my name. I'm happy to recognize workers, and they me. I am thankful for the service they give me and I show it. If you have the attitude that they are there to serve you, and you don't give friendliness back, how can that result in a good vacation for all. We are so lucky to have these wonderful experiences, and should be thankful. The Dominicans do not enjoy the lifestyle we have, and they do not respond well to pompous and demanding attittudes from some travellers. Be happy, relax, have fun, and it will come back to you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    The customer service left a lot to be desired

    Reviewed by Aruna on Apr 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We family of 3 had booked this resort through westjet vacations last week 3-7 April . Whilst the location of the resort and the structure is very appealing, the customer service leaves a lot to be desired. These r some of my observations: - most staff cannot converse in English - 3 of the staff members including a guard could not give us the name of their inhouse Japanese restaurant and gave wrong directions - when I requested additional coffee creamers at 8 am, they hung up twice. Finally after getting the reception, I was told that room service staff only arrived by 9 am so I could not expect it earlier. I was flabbergasted at this as even inns have better service. - the live cooking staff handlers seemed to be totally impersonal and disinterested in their jobs. - while making dinner reservation for the Italian restaurant, i was told that as the computers were not working ,I could walk in at 8.00 pm. Despite that, I went over at 5 to book but was told that there is no problem. When I finally went at 8, they wanted reservation even though the restaurant was only 30% occupied. It was only when I really got upset that they relented. But by then, I was already put off. - at the restaurants, they take order for entree and desert at the same time, can u believe that they brought the desert even though we had not completed our main course. It was as though they were in a rush to finish. The time was only 9.45 pm. The bright side was the pristine beach and wonderful co travelers. All were mindful of each other's personal space during breakfast and courteous during our stay. The housekeeping staff was wonderful. However, I will not recommend this to anybody especially considering better options.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    We loved everything about this vacation and will be returning!!!!

    Reviewed by Family Vacation on Oct 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    The best vacation our family has ever gone on. The staff were so much fun, remembered us where ever we were in the resort from buffet to pool to the evening show. We will be back for sure. Our west jet rep Tanya went above and beyond for us. Everyone from the flights, to the excursions, the hotel staff, were fantastic. Thank you for making this the best 10 day vacation wonderful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11245 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wonderful Property with Plenty of Fun!!

    Reviewed by scubadivr1(Davenport, Florida) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This expansive property is a great all-inclusive resort. The themed restaurant options are great and the buffet offers plenty of variety (although it is the same food each night). The bars have friendly staff and the drink quality was excellent. The room was spacious and clean. We did have a first floor suite and found 1 palmetto bug in our room during the stay. Coming from Florida, we expect these as they can get into many nooks and crannies. This is not deter from how great the room was. We will return to this resort in the future!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Simply great service - and numerous return visits for us.

    Reviewed by Bill U(Annandale, Virginia) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We go for the beach - and Bavaro beach at the Iberostar Selection Bavaro is wonderful. Hotel grounds are immaculate. Food and drinks are excellent. Staff is outstanding. Franklin Trinidad and his reception desk staff are always welcoming and supportive. Shout-out to the Star Friends staff especially Mr. Break who helped me with my Spanish every day. Ernestina and Michael at the beach bar became good friends. I won't comment on the rooms because the hotel is closing August 25 for three months of extensive renovations. We've been to this resort about a dozen times now. Really looking forward to seeing it again after the renovations and additions.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Avoid hotel at all costs

    Reviewed by Natalie M() on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in. Terrible hotel experience, rooms were dirty, air conditioning was broken, hair dryer was broken. Guest services and reception were very unhelpful and rude. Food was terrible, not one good thing to say about the property. I’ve stayed in hotels all over the world and this was by far the worst.

    First time, 6 day stay

    Reviewed by g00mah(McDonald, Ohio) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First off the good.. Resort was in a nice location right on the beach. The entire property was super-clean - inside and out. Short walk to everything from our villa. I'd read reviews about the food not being good, but for us it was perfectly fine. The French restaurant had the best food hands down though. There was only one thing that I had that I truly hated at the buffet, and I'm a horribly picky eater. Most times the service was good (Virginia and Yorki were fantastic by the pool and at the pool bar) except at the buffet but then again it was busy. The bad: I don't have a lot of bad things to say. The only "bad" things which aren't really that bad is the service at times and our room. The room was super clean and the cleaning staff excellent but just needs some updating. The mirrors silver backing was coming off and the grout around the shower needs redone - just minor things. We would have no problem at all going back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by 377devint(Detroit, Michigan) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The service was amazing. The rooms were kept clean and very comfortable. I would recommend this trip to any family, kid friendly. The food was great and warm all day. I will be visiting again soon. Y??????????

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX