Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
    6. Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    W

    We made the best of it. We worked with what was offered and had a great time.

    Reviewed by Westjetter RLang on Mar 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    After visiting numerous 5 star and 4.5 star resorts this certainly isn't a 4.5 star as rated by Westjet. That said we made friends and did our best to enjoy our time there. The staff were awesome, no complaints there. We booked for the cove and idea of snorkling off the beach. There was so much seaweed that was impossible. There was 20 workers daily trying to collect it but it just sat in piles and stunk up the place. There was also a pond on the far side that was supposed to be "amazing" but it looked like a dirty pool of disease and garbage..ummm NO! I suppose this was just seasonal, so take your chances. I've heard it was nice in other months. There is a nice pool, though a bit small and not enough chairs, that said, if the beach didn't reek, more people would have been on the beach. Based on experience of other resorts, I wouldn't pay the same to stay here and not likely to again. it is not up to "dreams" standards.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    We stayed at the Dreams Puerto Adventuras from November 20-27, 2017. We were extremely disappointed with this resort in general. We have tra

    Reviewed by Travelaround on Dec 01, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Horrible, won't be back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    H

    Amazing Dreams comes through at DREAMS!

    Reviewed by Hector on Sep 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: August 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Our 8 days at DREAMS Puerto Aventuras was fabulous. Beginning at check in, where we were greeted with drinks and a cheerful staff, to our room overlooking the pool, beach and sea. Breathtaking! All staff encounters were friendly and courteous; great service. We enjoyed three nights of dining on the beach viewing performances, including the big fight between McGregor and Mayweather. What a sight, white cloth covered tables and chairs in the open air on the beach with the sea right there, astonishing; considering that there were hundreds seated. The kids Explorer club was fantastic. Chock full of activities for the kids both day and night. All Night time activity ends at 9:45pm, truly a full days worth of fun. Plus Dolphins are on the premises. Also Dreams is close to local attractions which we visited, Xplor, Xenses, Dolphins, etc. In conclusion, we took full advantage of the facilities; pool, beach, restaurants, games, aerobics, cardio exercises. This resort gets top marks mainly because of exceptional services that were provided by their staff.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Overall a great experience, would recommend.

    Reviewed by Chris on Dec 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very nice resort, most staff were friendly, drinks were good, although they seemed to be made differently depending on which bar you visited. Our first experience without an adults only resort. Nice to have an adults only area totally separate from the rest of the resort. Food was just ok at the buffet, A-la-cartes were much better. Beach was very nice, but a lot smaller than the pictures represented.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    H

    Not very appealing on the outside but rooms, beach, pool is good.

    Reviewed by Honest review on Aug 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This is definately not the Bahia or Iberostar....if you are looking to enjoy the beach and pool with your kids not worrying about the long walks to eat or swim then this is the place. Not a 5* more like 4* in Cuba this would be considered a 5* I've been to Cuba....Resort not so appealing on the outside but tbe rooms are spacious and clean. Bathrooms are very large with up to date decor. Hotel lobby not very appealing, pictures in the website are probably from when it was new. Furniture up to date. The rooms are not mouldy as some reviews say and the AC and elevators are fine. Food is ok. This is an honest review. If you pay maximum of $3000 Can. for a family of 4 then it would be worth it........I wouldn,t pay more. If you have never been to a 5* resort you will like this one as there is nothing to compare it to. Overall, its ok though. Service is good. Would I come nack? Not if i can afford a 5* expérience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great service, great food. Can't swim. Tiny pool.

    Reviewed by SS20 on Apr 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was a bit of a challenge to rate this resort. Good things first. The staff was fantastic, going overboard on every occasion. Most of the restaurants were great- Oceana, El Patio and Portofino. Buffet , Seaside grill were OK. Shows and entertainment were good. You can snorkel right from the beach. Theme dinners on a beach Caribbean, Mexican are great. Bad things. The beach is adjacent to a reef. The basin of water is tiny and shallow. So you can walk waist deep or sit in the water. Access to the sea is blocked by the reef. Shallow, plenty of fish, rocks and sea urchins under them. Bottom line is you cant swim properly. Pools are small and shallow. One of them with adjacent area is designated for adults only - an odd management decision for a family-friendly resort. The other is packed with families and drinking adults at the wet bar. You can barely stand there without touching another person. On a wedding day pretty much every day the volleyball field and, sometimes, the Barracuda bar get hijacked by wedding planners. Should they coincide with a theme dinner at the beach - you have almost no space for anything. Our room was dated and a/c was circulating wet cold air. Everything inside the room was damp and smelly. Bottom line is - service , food and entertainment are great,but barely compensate for the missing beach and pool areas along with dated facilities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5893 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Incredible Customer Service

    Reviewed by joeray333(Canton, Ohio) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just returned from a 7 day trip. From the moment we walked on to the property we were treated like royalty. Jazmin, the concierge was welcoming and accommodating. The customer service from everyone in the resort was outstanding. Highlights: incredible spa services, wonderful bar service (Pablo, Marco, Alfredo, and Fernando were amazing). Every bartender remembered our names & our drink orders. Well maintained facility. Delicious food (Portofino- was definitely the highlight). Great beach drink service-Dulce was always checking on us and keeping our drinks filled. Roberto & the entertainment team definitely kept the guests jumping & having fun. Jazmin....was outstanding. She arranged our spa services, provided car service for our group to shop in the local shops, and helped us manage the various restaurants. Jazmin and the excellent customer service (Erick- another concierge) were definitely note worthy. Areas for improvement: rooms had paper thin walls. You could hear everything in the halls, from the rooms beside you & above you. Each night a different restaurant was closed & was never sure which one. Was a little frustrating. Would I stay again, on the customer service aspect alone, YES. Keep in mind it’s not a large resort so if you are looking for tons to do beside relax, you may want to look elsewhere. I’m thankful for my week of relaxation and for the quality service we received.

    Waste of Money STAY AWAY - Extremely Disappointed. Ocean is UNUSABLE

    Reviewed by TravelingHoss93() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Staff at the resort is friendly and offers ok service. They are very accommodating and there to help out! As you’ll see below, extremely dissatisfied with my stay. Maybe that’s on me as I was expecting a lot more? Who knows. We were greeted and offered champagne upon arrival and had a smooth check in and bag drop off service. Feel completely ripped off and would like some form of compensation or refund. Probably won’t happen though b/c the guy in charge of responding to reviews will only say “thanks for your stay, we will let other departments know of the reviews.” After reading other reviews, it’s clear there’s no action taken to enhance the resort quality. We ordered through a vacations package and can’t believe after all the negative reviews it’s still offered. Other reviews mention this is part of the “AMR family” and shouldn’t have this brand associated with it. I’ve never heard of that brand before but won’t be going near it with a 10ft stick in my lifetime. Food completely sucked (breakfast was the only ok meal) and drinks are made very weak. Overall lack of variety on food menus, portions are extremely small and staff looks at you like you have a 3rd head when you order multiple quantities. So much for all inclusive? The resort is a pile of crap, nothing like what is advertised. Place needs to be gutted and fully redeveloped. Not worth the 4 stars online. 2 at most. Pools are hotter than a bathtub and are completely disgusting. There’s nowhere to cool off from the hot sun and beach chairs are dilapidated and falling apart. Had to scrounge for 2 solid chairs. Rooms are outdated and the air conditioning throughout entire property sucks and the room was always hot and damp. Where we ate lunch on Friday was so hot we left without eating and went back outside. The ocean is unusable as the seaweed is terrible. People are cleaning it all day (if that’s what you wanna call it). Their efforts are wasted and other resorts nearby seem to have it under control. The cove is disgustingly hot water with no water flow because the seaweed netting blocks the waves. Even without the seaweed issue, the cove in my opinion would still suck as it’s 3 feet deep and not what you’d expect from the photo shopped picture that’s posted. There nice clear blue water, but it’s 100 yards out or at the other hotels and not reachable. That’s one of reasons to visit Cancun, right? The other beach part of the resort has a rocky (giant boulders, really) beach front that is also unusable as it’s not sandy. So you sit in the heat all day and can’t cool off with a nice drink in the ocean or pool, or go to your room in the cold AC.

    Less than expected.

    Reviewed by Compass679437() on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Although I enjoyed that there were various activities and shows planned everyday, staff was very accomodating the resort, overall left much to be desired. Pictures are better than the real thing. Adult pool was cloudy. Never clear. Area close to the ocean was filled everyday with coarse sea weed, not clear blue waters like in the pictures advertised. As a beauty professional, i looked forward to my spa treatment which was great but locker room was not conducive of a resort spa. The "quiet lounge" was open and with the door open to the front lobby, I could hear every phone ring, front desk workers talking in full voice (not soft, as becoming a spa atmosphere) which I thought was very odd. Dim lights would have been better than the fake orange faux candles.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Weekend get away

    Reviewed by MirandaBouch(Colorado Springs, Colorado) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    When I arrived I was immediately shown to checkin and the process was smooth with the hotel grounds, restaurants and actives being explained to me. The front desk staff was very efficient and friendly making it a pleasurable experience. They called a bellboy upon completing checkin to help me to my room, which was kind of unnecessary as i was only there for the weekend so I only had a backpack. It was nice to have someone walk me to me room though as my sense of direction isn’t the greatest. The room upon entry was extremely clean and spacious. The maids did a turn down service twice daily which was a nice touch. Room service was good, basic menu and usual wait times for it to arrive. Bathroom was nice and I really enjoyed the shower layout with the rainfall shower head. Pools seemed well maintained, I spent some time in the “party pool” which had and attached hot tub and loads of kids splashing about and having a blast. The adults only pool was nice but far too quiet for me personally however the bartender there was amazing and very attentive. There is also a dolphin training area over by the adults only pool which offers shows daily (I believe), and a chance to swim with them and that was cool to watch. The beach was ok, not the deep, soft sand I’m used to from other locations but it was well maintained and on multiple occasions I saw staff going around to pick up litter from the resort goers which was nice. The ocean was hit and miss for rocks on the bottom and the surf wasn’t bad at all due to retaining walls. There was a nice gazebo area I spent some time in relaxing which is a very short walk from the entryway to the beach. Food was on point, not too many options as this is a smaller resort but I definitely wasn’t going hungry. The drink selection was definitely expansive to say the least. Top shelf was available and all the bartenders were not shy about using it which was a plus for me. Nightlife, there is a disco on site which I went to the one evening but that was a bust. There were very few people there wanting to dance or cut loose. They mostly sat in the bar area and drank, which is fine make your vacation your own. I did go off resort one evening with a group of people I met. Down the docks to a local bar and hangout there for a while, had a few beer and called it a night as it was very laidback and relaxed so I just wasn’t feeling it. The other resort goers all seemed to be there for rest and relaxation. I’m the type of person who enjoys getting up and moving, being involved in activities and being engaged. This particular resort didn’t offer this for me, I didn’t really see any activities going on and no real animation team as I’ve seen at countless other resorts so for me it fell short. The staff was exceptional, from the moment I arrived to the moment I left. Always smiling and welcoming, asking if I needed anything or just giving me a simple ola which was a nice experience to have as they all seemed happy and content to work there. Overall it’s a nice resort with great staff and good food however, not the vibe I usually look for when choosing a destination. If I was looking to kick back and relax I would absolutely chose this resort, unfortunately my personality doesn’t allow me to do this.

    Avoid

    Reviewed by 1983JOKERZ1983(London, United Kingdom) on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This hotel in my opinion should not be within the AM Resorts brand, its dated and very rundown. Our room was dark, filthy and seemed like we were in some kind of basement/car park area of the hotel.On check-in we advised that we were only in a Garden View room and that we should upgrade to an Ocean View Room for a cost of $50.00 per night, this as you can imagine put a negative spin from the start. On entering our room you were hit with a very musty smell and could already see why we were given the hard sell to upgrade. Everything in the room felt very dirty and sticky, we had a cracked sink in the bathroom ( this may not seem a big issue but this can be the start of where bacteria forms), furniture falling apart, hairs on and around the toilet that were left for our entire stay, mirror falling apart, dirty lamp shades, awful views, definitely not a garden view room, painting damaged, plug in the corner was not working, a lose cable that seemed to have not been fully repaired, bird droppings on the balcony that were also not cleared for our stay. On check out we noticed that a fire alarm had been activated in 2 places but no alarm, to me this would either indicate a problem or that it is out of service. We raised all of our concerns with the hotel, their response was what due you expect, you are in Mexico. I have been lucky to stay in over 10 AM Resorts all over the Caribbean, this is by far the worst, Such a disaster, there needs to be a massive overhaul. Maybe we feel this strongly as this was our firth holiday with our newborn, so cleanliness and health & safety was our main priority. I have more picture of the resorts failings but due to TripAdvisor limiting the pictures you can upload I cant show them all. They would have been of rips in the restaurant furniture, bird droppings that are not washed down form the loungers on the beach and also birds eating in the pool side restaurant. I look forward to hearing what the hotel have to say other than we appreciated your comments and will pass them to the relevant teams. Customer are not always right but, but reading the most recent reviews you can see this hotel is going down hill very quickly.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX