Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    A

    a relaxing trip that left us wanting to return soon.

    Reviewed by Al Berta on Nov 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    the staff were awesome! rooms were very clean. Israel was our pool server and he was phenomenal. The food was not really very tasty, except for the Italian restaurant, which our party found to be very good. wish we had stayed 10 days, as there is so much to see and do.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8002 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    2019 Vacation

    Reviewed by NorthStar782203() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Staff verify friendly - beach area nice, except for the Seaweed. Food was excellent, along with the staff. Never really had to wait for our seating. Adult pool should be for teens and older - too many young kids playing and horsing around. Also there were too many babies in this area.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Most Friendly Resort we have been to, The Staff were amazing!!

    Reviewed by Companion668838() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were last in Cancun 16 years ago so were expecting things to have changed a bit. We stayed for 10 days arriving late afternoon and leaving early afternoon, we had a late checkout as were in the Preferred club room, which other than a nice room and private concierge the other benefits are pretty much available to everyone, as no one checks at the so called private beach area and everyone had the same drinks choice. The food was delicious but the menus don't really change from one day to the other, and being Coeliac and on a Gluten free diet the options were more limited. Vanessa and Gabriella showed us to our breakfast table everyday and always had a smile and a laugh with us, Ribicoli & Arsenole were also very attentive during our meals in the world club restaurant. Our favourite Restaurant was the Bordeaux not only because it was adults only, but they had the best Gluten free options. The seaside grill & The Oceana did contaminate my GF Meals with a bread garnish more than once!! The Entertainment program was the same every week so the last 3 days had the same as the week before but we had the sun and pools so enjoyed that instead. We did get locked out of our room at 10am on our departure day which was a pain but Monica sorted this for us. The personal concierge and food and bar area was also a nice and quiet place that IS only for preferred club customers.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Little Disappointed

    Reviewed by porterhouse2019(Chicago, Illinois) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Just returning from a week at the Dreams, booked this trip a while back, and chose this resort based on reviews. Don't get me wrong, resort itself was beautiful! But found a few things a little disappointing. First thing we encountered, we had (2) rooms, the room types we had chosen and paid for when booking through Apple where not available the day of check in. However they did upgraded rooms for (1) night, and upgraded us to their preferred status. Had to be out by noon, was told correct rooms would be ready, we had to wait till 3pm, normal check in period. Basically lost an afternoon waiting to get settled once again. And yes, be prepared for the sales pitch, they claim not a time share deal, but it is. They will offer incentives to tour another property, they say it is only 90 minutes, plan on 2 to 3 hours... play their game, the more you decline, the more they will give!. Beach was okay, yes they have major issues with Sea Weed, they do their best to keep it clean. If going back, I would stay in Cancun. As for the food everyone ranted and raved about on here. It was acceptable, nothing was over the top. Taxi's are a rip off! Use their taxis, prices are high. Huge turn off when the dispatch guy at the hotel a kick back from taxi driver. Overall I enjoyed my week, weather was beyond wonderful. Resort is nice, clean, & safe. Downfall cannot walk from the resort to other local venues. Unfortunately I expected more based on reviews.. nothing seemed over the top, just average.

    First time at an all-inclusive resort!

    Reviewed by Sandybrat() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    After our flight out of Dallas was cancelled due to bad weather, we missed our cruise ship in Galveston. My husband booked Dreams all- inclusive resort near Cancun on the fly at 11pm that night. A very nice Uber driver named Richard sacrificed his plans with his family and gave us a ride all the way to Houston from Dallas (an 8 hr round trip for him). When we finally arrived at Dreams, I was blown away by how beautiful the lobby alone was. From the moment we walked in everyone there treated us like we were royalty. Everyone we encountered spoke English, which was a relief for me. (It was a little scary for me knowing zero Spanish in Mexico.) Every staff member had a smile and friendly greeting for us, and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The grounds of the resort were beautifully landscaped and had a very tropical feel. There were many families with children there with many beach activities like volleyball and soccer. Water sports like kayaking, paddle boarding, and catamaran sailing were available. There was,at this time, a lot of sea grass on the beach and in the water which, I believe, is a seasonal thing. They were working super hard to clear that stuff away, but within an hour it just kept accumulating on the beach. We went snorkeling off shore and it was not an issue. Our room was so beautiful. We had a direct view from our balcony of the sunrise over the water that we could see from our bed every morning. You could hear the waves crashing on the beach from the hot tub on our balcony. Beach accommodations were thatch-roofed umbrellas and cabanas with very attentive, friendly bar service attendants. We spent some time in the large infinity pool with a swim up bar where we overlooked the beach and ocean while we sipped our drinks. I could go on and on. Many thanks to all the wonderful staff at Dreams! It was an amazing vacation I will not forget. Good save!

    Very Pleasantly Relieved

    Reviewed by BRC72(Calgary, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had booked this trip six months in advance, but in the weeks leading up to departure we came across some very disconcerting reviews of Dreams Riviera Cancun. To be fair it was mostly around people's experience with fellow guests, namely groups of American Spring Breakers that were acting very loud, very rude and quite disgusting by some accounts. Most of these negative reviews were written by families like ours, who were looking for a relaxing week in a beautiful setting. I was now worried that we were faced with spending thousands of dollars on a week that would be anything but relaxing . I decided to email the resort a couple weeks before we left. The concierge replied promptly and subsequently the chief concierge also. They were very polite and tried their best to be reassuring. My last request was that they place us in as quiet a part of the resort as they could. Upon arrival we were immediately impressed with the look and layout Dreams Riviera Cancun. I also love the size of it and that you do not need a golf cart ride or 15 minute walk to get around. You can walk from the lobby at one end, to the beach at the other in about 4 minutes, and even less from every guest room. Some reviews said the rooms seemed small, but they are really just an atypical shape and layout compared to most hotels. We found the room more than adequate, spacious, clean and well-appointed. Indeed the concierge Christopher and the chief concierge Sarel, took our request to heart and put us on the outside, non pool facing side of the building. We were near the front close to the ocean with a partial ocean view and could hear the waves. Thankfully we did not hear any of the resort noise (weddings, etc.) at night. This was a welcome feature for those of us that are early to bed and early to rise. Even if you aren't an early riser I would recommend getting up early to catch the sunrise at least once during your stay . The resort is at its most tranquil and beautiful at this time . The pool and beach areas were well maintained and we loved the layout of everything. Relaxing on the wall of the infinity pool while gazing out at the beach and ocean only metres away, is all I could have asked for. A big thanks to Pedro and his team working pool front and the beach area. We felt taken care of. In fact the whole time there, we were impressed by all of the staff and their friendliness towards all the guests. We had the impression that everyone working there took pride in presenting the resort in the best light and that it ran like a well-oiled machine throughout. Very professional. The food was very good for the most part. Depending on your taste the buffet a little or a lot to offer, but still something for everyone. We mostly just had breakfast there. Try the breakfast at the Seaside Grill for a less buffet-like experience and a much nicer ambiance to eat breakfast by the sea. We also found it a nice touch to have no limit to al a carte restaurants and no reservations needed. The French restaurant was our favorite and another highlight was when after we went deep sea fishing, the chef prepared and presented our catch in a delicious and beautiful way. Thank you Felipe and team! I made a point to meet Sarel and Christopher (the chief concierge and concierge), so I could thank them for their attentiveness in consideration of my request for a quiet room. We had a nice conversation and they were very professional. The next day we were surprised at our room with a complimentary bottle of chilled champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries and cake balls. Thank you again for taking such good care of us when we were so worried prior to the trip. There are very few negatives about this place but here are two. First off, in typical resort fashion, there are people trying to sell you timeshares Etc. You can see them standing and waiting as you walk by. You only need to avoid them or say no thank you. Nobody was too pushy but we did see those who could not say no being taken around and given the entire spiel. It seems to be an unfortunate norm at the majority of all inclusive resorts. I understand why they do it but wish the whole idea would go away. It takes away from having a relaxing time when you have to be on the lookout for sales people... The other one is a safety issue. We have a three-year-old and noticed right away what someone else had also mentioned in their review. The entrances/exits to a lot of the buildings should have fencing at certain parts of the pathways. There her some pretty hairy drop offs that an errant toddler or drunk grown-up could easily fall into and get very badly hurt. They have beautiful fencing on all the balconies and other places, they only need to add a few feet of the same fencing here and there, to keep people from 'experiencing' these drop offs. It was the consensus of our group (4 adults under very enthusiastic three year old ), that we would return to this resort and would also consider other resorts in this brand family. Thank you to Sarel, Christopher and the entire team at Dreams Riviera Cancun, for doing their part to ensure this week turned out to be all we hoped it would be. Más maravilloso!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX