Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen
    6. Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Ripped Off

    Reviewed by Snb1979 on Apr 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The only thing this resort has going for it, is it's location. There is NO BEACH, don't let the advertised pictures fool you! The snack hut is literally 5 steps from the pool bar, and if you take a step backwards you'll fall off the sand hill. Nothing but giant smelly sand bags. The buffet food is decent quality, but zero selection. We ate off the resort more than we ate on the resort, and when you pay what this place charges...that's just unacceptable. Their evening entertainment consists of a very amateur 30 minute "show" followed by much to loud music in the tiny lobby bar area. I was so excited to go to this resort, and now I feel like I was ripped off.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    We loved our stay, best staff!

    Reviewed by SK Traveller on Apr 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    By far, some of the best staff around. Resort is fantastic! Not large and location is so convenient to 5th Ave. shopping in Playa del Carmen. Not the place for you if the beach is your priority as some of it has been worn away by the waves and storms. Can't wait to go back though!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11943 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    unhygienic toilet issues

    Reviewed by Tranquilizer_Family(Munich, Germany) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    As being an All Inclusive Hotel, obviously taking care of presenting food all day is a big job. Having high temperatures as an additional factor, required more attention. But hygiene is first! On the Pool toilets does take 3 days, after my repetitive request at reception to put soap to wash hands an keep it hygienic clean. Take a look on Foto to see the poor solution - only one, on men’s - for such a expensive hotel. Our room toilet wasn’t also deep cleaned some days. Having diarrhea some marks does had showing the past, if the toilet seat would had opened at all. There is a plus, small but, they start to use recyclable cups. They did not have enough, so that afternoon switch to plastic. At evening they are back. If they are cleaned as required? Maybe you want to buy or bring your own cooler cup, and use it on repetitive refill. Have anyway a nice time at Playa del Carmen.

    Summer fun!

    Reviewed by stefaniejaner() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had the most amazing time this past week. The hotel us absolutely beautiful. The rooms that we had (2 ocean view jr suites and 1 standard) were decorated tastefully and had all the right touches. Some rooms had towel creations and some had candies left after each day of house cleaning. We ate at all of the restaurants and were not disappointed with any of the selections. The best part of the hotel is by far the staff. I can not find the words to express how pampered we felt. And they were more than pleasant, they made you feel as if you mattered. They remembered little things about us. They were so friendly and made us feel so welcome. If we ever make it back to Mexico this will be our go to!

    Great Hospitality

    Reviewed by Ma L(Bronx, New York) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just finished a week at Panama jack playa and it was a fabulous trip. The location was great just minutes away from 5th Avenue only 45min away from Cancun airport and a quick walk to the ferry to Cozumel. The food was great if you couldn't find anything to eat that you liked at the buffet then you'll definitely find something at the other restaurants around the hotel. There was a theme night every night so the food was always different. My only food comment was they needed more variety of desert. Room service was great and definitely worth a try a night. It's a small resort but that definitely adds to the charm and awesome Hospitality that you get here. Jessica was always a welcome sight at the Buffett with a smile that was contagious every morning and afternoon(my husband was her biggest fan). The entertainment staff was also awesome keeping us entertained and having fun the whole time Eder, Carlos,Jesus,and Fernando were great at their jobs and are a great asset to the Panama Jack family. Cecilia is the bomb the way she seamlessly transitions from entertaining adults and children was awesome to watch and she was GREAT. While there is no swim up bar which I know some people like to have at their resorts the staff always made sure your cup never got empty. 6 days out of the 7 we were there there was little to no smell from the seaweed at the beach and the one day that it did smell it truly wasn't to bad I've definitely smelled worse on a summer day on a NYC subway. If your looking to lounge on the beach and in the ocean your whole trip this might not be the resort for you. What they lack in beach they make up for in Hospitality 10 fold and honestly the view still was killer. Definitely plan on going back to Panama Jack playa next summer with my family.

    Spa Visit

    Reviewed by gumbisdad() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My son and I stayed at the hilton across the street. Went to the spa at Panama Jack's for a massage. It was excellent. Raquel and Landy were exceptional. A very good deep tissue and relaxing massage at a good price. Highly recommend you request them.

    No TODDLERS Friendly (Kids Club sucks)

    Reviewed by Borquiex(Monterrey, Mexico) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Kids club installations are beautiful and very well maintained, the bad part is that I have a couple of twins which are 3 years and 8 months old, because they’re not allowed to use the installations (kids park) you need to prove that their 4 years old or older, my girl wanted to enjoy the “balls pool” but it was forbidden for her, I had to take her out crying only because of a really strict rule, they were very rude not allowing them play there to just enjoy some minutes there. It’s a rule that it doesn’t make sense. So if you have kids under 4 years old they won’t be able to use the park. You better go to another nearby hotel at the same price range ( The Reef Coco Beach, The Reef Playacar, Allegro Playacar, RIU Tequila, RIU Lupita, Viva Wyndham Azteca, Viva Wyndham Maya, etc.). This hotel is designed to not enjoy as a family together adults area are not friendly for younger kids and kids area are isolated and not others are alowed to share with kids. They only have this kids place for the pictures in prder to sell more via Internet, but in the practice the use of this area has many constraints (a lot of small prints). The pictures taken are mine, the hotel is very crowded with a lot of families and kids that in the end can’t enjoy kids area. NOT RECOMMENDED FOR FAMILIES WITH KIDS. NOT KIDS (TODDLERS) FRIENDLY.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX