Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Worth every penny

    Reviewed by Tony on Jan 24, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is our second visit to this Iberostar complex but our first time at the Grand Paradiso. Firstly, the drive up and walk-in was great but the check-in was a disorganized, which made for a rather disappointing start. However the facilities just make you relax by their design. The walk to your room is in an AC environment, which makes you feel relaxed right away. The ceilings are tall and the hallways wide and well-lit at all times of the day. Great atmosphere. The room was equally great. The rooms had a great selection of snacks and drinks. The cleaning services were great for the duration of our stay. Please be sure to tip them with their name and a thank you letter! I did have an issue with switch placement in the room, their brightly lit alarm/radio clock, and the lack of plugs by the nightstand but good beds and they don't turn off the AC in your room. Leave the room cool, to a cool hallway, and come back to where it was.... just a huge relief after a "tough" day at the pool. The pools were great, very clean and peaceful. In fact my wife and I went to go see where we were staying before... and It was like going down 3 stars in our minds. The most important part of the stay was the food and the alcohol. The restaurants were decent and the Surf & Turf buffet was amazing; you can either get off the menu or go to the buffet table. Please be aware, their water at the restaurants taste different because its filtered not bottled. This facility has real alcohol! This makes a huge difference the next day after relaxing day.... basically tastes better, digests better, and doesn't annoy you for the rest of the trip. At the other hotel in this facility we visited in our last stay, we stopped drinking because it didn't feel good. We felt relaxed the whole time, just wonderful! Pool time is 7am to 7pm. FYI the coupons they offer as incentive to book this are useless, see attached photos.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Over Promised and Under Delivered with Average Service.

    Reviewed by Kenneth R on Jan 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Upon checking in we where led to our room. Once the door was open, a terrible musty, moldy odour greeted us. I asked the host if we could be moved to another room. They declined requesting to clean the room while we waited after a long day of travel. About 90 minutes later they said the room was ready. The smell was still evident along with cleaning solutions. We again requested a move and again it was denied. With no other choice, we decided to stay the evening in the room in hopes of speaking with a manager the next morning. No luck. The second day the bath tub had only cold water and the drain had plugged. We where asked to stay out of the room the entire afternoon while they took the taps apart and replaced them along with the drain plug. The odour was still high. Next morning the electricity quit to the room. Called the front desk and several hours later a repair person showed up. He opened the panel in the closet, gave it a good bang with everything coming back on. The air conditioner would only go down to 22c and we cooked with the high humidity. Was told it was computer controlled. On the third day, I approached the manager at the main counter and asked if we could be moved. This gentleman was not in a pleasant mood as I was third in line with other guests requesting a move. By the time he got to me, his mood had deteriorated that I left. I later found out that the occupancy rate the week of Jan 15-22nd 2016 was just over 50% and felt they could have accommodated our request to move. This was not an inexpensive resort. After considering our experience, this resort is over-priced for an average experience. Noted I did not mention the quality of the food. It too was average considering our experience at other upscale resorts. The beach area is excellent as is the pool area, hot tubs and indoor pool area. The servers have a wonderful attitude when bringing meals to your table. Management was the surprise in the little attention to guests needs. Regards, Ken

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7095 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Outstanding Food

    Reviewed by Chris J(Ontario, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my first trip to Iberostar Grand adults only resort. Hotel is very clean, rooms quite spacious and really comfortable bed. Adriana who served drinks to the tranquillity pool was AMAZING.....so friendly, and efficient bringing drinks always with a HUGE smile. Murna has a kind soul, always checking to see how things are reporting back to management with guest suggestions. A real joy to speak with. Iberostar should be proud to have such attentive staff. I have been to many All Inclusive resorts and have to say the food was outstanding.....lobster daily, Alaskin King Crab legs at dinner and no up charge. The staff really would go out of their way to ensure your needs were met! Fantastic trip!

    Awesome........

    Reviewed by Funtraveler1966(Ogden, Utah) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had the most amazing time here at this resort and would recommend it to all my family and friends. The staff was very friendly and our Host Ulises was very professional and was making sure we were well taken care of through out or time there.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    a rare REAL 5 star experience

    Reviewed by AroundTheWorldinBMWs(Boston, Massachusetts) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Professional and prompt customer service, clean private beach and great fresh food! The shower didn’t work well, but they attempted to fix it numerous times. Service with a smile and attention to detail as well as friendly and helpful staff in all departments. Great couples getaway!

    Awesome!!

    Reviewed by ashix666(Tehran, Iran) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Really this property is one of the best resort on that area. Nice pool,beach and activities. All food and beverage are in the best quality and top-shelf drinks every where. Don’t forget after 11:30 am they have a BBQ on the pool side. Just drinking water a little bit should work one it because taste is not really good.

    The best!

    Reviewed by 523LeslieL(Hollywood, Florida) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I rarely give 5 stars, but this place deserves it! The attention to detail is impressive. They are constantly maintaining the grounds and facility. It is SUPER clean. The service is excellent. The food selection is very good with higher quality ingredients than other all-inclusive resorts usually have. You can literally eat a filet or lobster tail every day if you want. They have great seafood options, and you can order off menus at the buffet if you like. The rooms are spacious and quiet. You can customize your preferences in your mini-bar. The rooms are set at 22C, but they will lower it to 18 C upon request. We only used room service for coffee/pastries, but they have a very good selection on the 24 hour room service. They provide reusable purified water bottles in your room each day. I really appreciate the conservation efforts. The resort seems very well staffed and very well trained. Everyone is so helpful. We didn't want for anything. They never ran out of beach towels.The entertainment staff is great. We loved our time with Sailin, Oscar, Aaron and Julio. Yulisa took great care of us at the pool. Our (adult) kids loved the daytime activities, and the cooking classes are great too. If you like to work out, it's worth going to the fitness center that's common to the whole complex -- it's much bigger with more amenities. Nightly entertainment is above average for all-inclusive resorts. The new sand art show is absolutely amazing; do NOT miss It. It was windy while we were there, so the beach had a LOT of seaweed most days, but they are constantly cleaning it up. The beach is a bit rocky and definitely not the top feature of the resort. There are a several reservation-only restaurants that offer a good variety. My favorites were La Brisa and Toni's; our least favorite was the French. What would I change? Not much. BUT... The reservation system can be annoying, even impossible. When you spend this much money, you should be able to get a reservation, period. It can be challenging to get chairs at the pool at times, especially if you want a palapa. I think they could manage to get a few more chairs around the pool. Finally, the bathroom. The shower is small and awkward. My preference would be to tear out the jet tubs and expand the shower with a little more space for personal care items and a seat or shelf to make shaving your legs easier. SO if that's all you want them to improve, you've made a great choice. I would DEFINITELY go here again.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX