Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
    6. Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Perfect Place for a relaxing Family Vacation!

    Reviewed by Carlos on Apr 19, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    After a lot of research we decided on Paradisus La Esmeralda and it did not disappoint! The service was superb and all staff went above and beyond to provide the best service especially Joao he helped book restaurants and gave us a fantastic tour of the resort, excellent service. We tried several restaurants and they were great ( only complaint is they need to have more seafood selection without additional charges). We had a fantastic photo shoot and they pictures turned out amazing, a little pricey but well worth it. I also booked Xcaret park through the resort, again a bit pricey, the park it self was mediocre but the dolphin swim was well worth it ( pictures are an additional fee) we booked with Fabiola and she was great. We also went to the 5th avenue markets a few times paradisus will have a taxi ready for you within 5 minutes and it?s a great place to visit, eat good Mexican food and buy Knick knacks. The beach yes it had seaweed but so does the rest of the cancun area but it was cleaned every morning. I would highly recommend booking a Bali bed at least once near the poor for parents to relax and kids to enjoy- also highly recommended a swim up suite. My kids absolutely loved the new water park and pirate ship. I consider myself to be fairly picky and I would highly recommended this resort, food was good customer service was above and beyond and all staff were friendly and helpful ( don?t forget to leave tips!)This is an excellent place to visit with or without children, it?s beautiful and the service is absolutely fantastic!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10601 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Paradisus, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

    Reviewed by juliafeacher417(Cinnaminson, New Jersey) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What an amazing experience once again at the luxurious Paradisus Resort in Playa Del Carmen Mexico. The Resort staff went above and beyond to ensure you had an outstanding experience. My mother who has not traveled in years do to health challenges was able to make the trip and she totally enjoyed herself. The Staff was instrumental in ensuring she had want for nothing. Thank You to Maria Castellanas, Marie Jurado, Gladys and Ruben in Guest Services who assisted me with my mother, long with Franscico in Regiatration who ensured she the beat accommodations, and so many others who who displayed 5 Star/Diamond Service at all times. Hilda Arenas, exceptional Sales Coordinator for our event. Hilda and her Team rolled out the Royal Purple (Red)Carpet. Their services were par excellence. The accommodations were well maintained and the housekeeping Team, yes you guessed it, Amazing too. I didn't frequent the restaurants as much, however, the room service was always on time and the food was delicious and hot.. I would recommend Paradisus to anyone who wants a relaxing environment, good food, aecstetically maintained facility and 5 star customer service. #FamilyFriendly #5Stars #5Diamonds

    Paradisus-La Esmeralda Family Trip

    Reviewed by Mariella S() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I had an amazing time at Paradisus. The service is A++ and the resort beautiful! Our Butter was Jonathan and he made sure we had everything we needed and more, Demetrio from Olio works very hard Providing excellent service, Joaquín by the Family Concierge pool made sure he was always smiling and attending our needs, Angelica super energetic making it fun, the rooms are very comfortable and nice and clean. Great variety of Restaurants from buffet to nice dinner and bars, my favorites Fuego, Mole and the Martini Bar. We are already planning our next trip for next year!

    La Esmeralda at Paradisus

    Reviewed by keaganCO(Brighton, CO) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I just spent 5 days at La Esmeralda. It couldn’t have been better. The rooms were very clean and each night there were slippers and chocolates by our beds. The entire staff was very gracious and eager to make our stay the best ever. All the wait staff were exceptional but Mario at Mole was beyond exceptional. He had a wonderful sense of humor, made certain our needs were met before even asking. Alejandro Mondragon at the front desk was also exceptional. He went out of his way to solve a couple of questions we had. If you are planning a family vacation I would rate this a 6 out of 5.

    Paradisus Mostly Delivered For Our Family - Again!

    Reviewed by Inquisitive19(Ellicott City, Maryland) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall: Consider this ... our family was back at Paradisus for the 2nd time in 3 years, something we have never done with any other place. I am not one that posts a lot of reviews but this place was exactly what we were looking for with our 7-year old son. You don't necessarily come to Paradisus if you want a beach and that's the only way you define your vacation. But they have got too many alternatives to the beach so that you can have a delightful time. Pros: Modern and beautifully maintained property that is super clean which matters to us. More than enough activities are offered for the whole family that are mostly part of the all-inclusive experience. Of course, if you want to simply relax, you can't go wrong here. Pools and the Pirate Ship offer plenty of memorable moments and I would highly recommend the swim-up suites which we love. Think your patio leading to your private seating in the water with your favorite adult beverage under a sunny blue sky. The new water park was a very smart move by Paradisus and we spent a lot of time there. In early August, the park never felt busy and it was a ton of fun with gushing water and many slides including a terrific separate area for the very little ones. Bars at the park and at the pools offered plenty of non-stop goodness. You could never go wrong with Mole and our family loved The Market. La Palapa was perfect for an adult only evening with a good Cabernet and grilled Octopus. Our suite was very modern and the staff did a terrific job keeping it clean. Cons: We did not really use the beach and it's a hit or miss with the Sargussum. However, the restaurant reservation process, if you want meals during regular evening hours, remains a mess here unless you are signing up for family concierge. Look, I completely understand that this is a business which is trying to sell the family concierge service for an upcharge. But having empty tables at a lot of these restaurants while not allowing others to enjoy the experience is a little short sighted. For example, we were told that Olio was simply not available for our family unless we wanted to eat dinner after 9 PM. Thanks to: The wonderful Paradisus Staff ... they are kind, attentive and always there. Adrian at the lobby bar next to Bana, Mario at Mole, Fabiola and Laura at reception, Juan and Alejandro at Market, All the Staff at the water park and Sunrise bar, Juan Cruz our room attendant, Marco at La Palapa .. these are special people.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Fabulous hotel, lovely staff.

    Reviewed by KLH68(London, England, United Kingdom) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel is fantastic, the staff are very attentive and helpful. Our room is very nice, it's cleaned more than once a day and the mini-bar is kept stocked up. Two things could improve paradise, lable the vegetarian food in the buffet more clearly and turn down the music by the pool. We would rather listen to Mexican music or silence than loud European pop music.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX