Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    N

    Celiac and Gluten-free accoomodating. A wonderful overall experience that will have us going back to Sandos

    Reviewed by Nykol Kroeker on Jan 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first all-inclusive trip following a celiac diagnosis within our family. The food available available at the resort was very accommodating with a specific "gluten-free" section available at the buffet. Whenever asked, the head chef also walked around with my daughter and I to explain what could be consumed at the buffet. The Italian and Mexican a-la-carte restaurants were AMAZING at accommodating all food that was order to be inclusive for my daughter. The resort, pools and beach were also wonderful and we will definitely be back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    If you are travelling with young children steer clear

    Reviewed by SC on Dec 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    If you are travelling with young children steer clear. If you are travelling with adults only, purchase the right class (family blue bands will not give you access to the entire resort only about 1/3). It is really sad what they have done to what sounded like an amazing resort for families pre December 1. Family Section - Section furthest away from the beach/ waterslides. To get to the beach/family section (1.6km), there are carts that can transport you (a bit of a game of chicken with buses travelling the opposite way and pedestrians as it was not built for this) Positives: activities, swim up bar and snacks, Room service available, jetted tubs in rooms Negatives: beach/pool with water slides is 1.6km away from rooms, rooms smell like mold, main buffet is 1.1km away Main Areas: Shows were great, Service was friendly and efficient, Food at the main buffet was the best I have had at a buffet. Tons of choices, sushi, pasta, fresh breads, cheeses, Chinese, salads, fruits, amazing meat, gluten free section, kids food section, great deserts, mimosas for breakfast! Kids club was tons of fun for a 2 year old and 7. They offer free service for 4 and above, for my 2 year old I paid for an extra babysitter in the kids club (20 an hour) Family Beach, waterslides and pool area Positives: Infinity pool, lunch bbq and snacks, beautiful views Negatives: Distance 1.6 km from the rooms, not a lot of shade, Limited seating, no lifeguard stations in the family area (there are 2 in the adults only), bathroom hasn't been built yet, not a ton of waiter service, Waterslides filled to high with water, Adults not allowed on slides - as they are too deep (above your knee) young kids cannot use any of them (including the baby ones), there are stairs to and from ? hasn't been planned for strollers, no pathed area to the pool (lots of exercise pushing a stroller through the sand), Pools are very cold, Construction noise all day long.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    Huge, modern hotel with amazing food!

    Reviewed by Marc on Nov 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This massive hotel has some of the best all-inclusive resort food you will ever eat. Thankfully you will get your steps in to burn off some of the huge meals you'll enjoy! The rooms are fine, the bars, restaurants and pools are great and the beach is MASSIVE. All day time staff speaks perfect English, and they will go out of their way for you. Amazing spot, would go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Loves the resort but hated my room, switching rooms seemed to be out of the question even after several complaints.

    Reviewed by Brian on Feb 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great beach, food and staff. Very disappointed in our room, balcony door wouldn't look, wrist bands wouldn't open door security had to come six times in the first one and a half days to let us in our room. Valuable lost time waiting 30 + min each time they had to come and then wait for them to finish each time to see if it work. Took them 2 days to finally change the lock mechanism. We were on the 4 floor and the elevator stopped working for the last 3 days of our stay. We were never offered another room or any compensation. Very disappointed in a so called 5 star resort as far as my accommodations. In desperate need of renovations in some parts of the resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    z

    not coming back

    Reviewed by zeljka on Jan 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    location, food and entertainment was great but room was bad, smell bad look bad, definitely needs renovation and update, bad lighting, useless hair dryer...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    A

    Sandos was great! Would recommend!

    Reviewed by ADay on Jan 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I were there for a short vacation of 5 nights in early November. What surprised me was the employees. We have not been to Mexico in years and partly due to being treated much better at other destinations than by the hotel staff in Mexico. This was NOT the case on this trip. Great and FRIENDLY service. Kudos to the hotel industry to improve on this point and so well. Sandos was great! The beach was wonderful! Food, good. Drinks, good. Service, great. Loved hearing the howling monkeys! We had a great time even with it raining 1.5 days. Only two little things that we didn't like so much personal opinion and they are just minor. The first is that we did not book the adults only- we did not think we needed it and wanted to be closer to the beach anyway. However, the adults only have a piece of the beach that is away from the daily activities and you have an unobstructed view of the water. I recommend even just for this, to book the upgrade. The second minor point is that we don't often like to enjoy the evening entertainment, but rather have a drink or two in the lobby bar at hotels after dinner. The lobby was so far away from our room and where we usually ate-and the lobby bar was a bit secluded and uninteresting, so we never went there. Very minor points and certainly did not keep us from enjoying this resort. Would return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Great beach, large rooms, good location.

    Reviewed by Funinsun on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    Location: located in playa car, on the south end of playa del Carmen. 35 minute walk to playa del carmen ferry, or 5 minute $7 cab ride. Playa car is a gated golf course community with a dozen hotels along the beach. Beach: exceptional, wide, long, no rocks. One side is for families, one side is adults only if you chose the 'select clubs adults only' package. The major hotel chains got into the playa car area for the beach. 5 Riu's, 1 sandos, 2 iberostar's, 2 wyndhams , and a handful of others. We go to the area for proximity to playa del carmen's restaurant 's and shopping and the playa car beaches. Have been to two of the other playa car hotels and they were good, we come back to sandos for the large separate adults only pool, the adults only rooms are also large with a jetted two person tub. If we were a family I'd choose this hotel or any of the other larger hotels in the area. It's the pools and separate adult beach that sell us on it. This is a large hotel 800 or so rooms. Families or those with mobility issues may want to stay in the section right on the beach. Adults section I refer to is a 9 minute walk to the beach, there is a golf cart shuttle that runs from the adult section to the beach area every 7 minutes. Food is good, large buffet, with a couple chefs to fry up fish or meat I'd you want fresh. Entertainment and shows are above average, always an early eve kids show. Evening entertainment setup is very good with the major bar, buffet, and mainstage all centrally located. For 300 less a week I would consider the Riu's or others in playa car if your not going for the adults only. But this hotel is priced about right, it's a 4.5 star with lots of amenities good rooms and service. You get what you pay for there's a $400 more a week riu five star in playa car and a $ 400 less riu 3.5 star also in play car.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 16450 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    this may be our last time :(

    Reviewed by Jodie-Poonchka(Milwaukee, Wisconsin) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We've been to this resort over ten times, so obviously we have liked it in the past. ***However, this will be our last time, as they've made changes that I find very unappealing for our family. Lovely resort, beautiful grounds, but I don't think they are family friendly. They segregate the adults and families. They moved the family section to the back of the resort - which is the furthest from the beach - about 2/3 mile (1 Kilometre). We are all healthy & able bodied, but the trek from the family section- at the BACK of the resort - to the family section beach is a solid 8-10 minute walk! They have golf carts, but they are almost as slow as walking and often full. I cannot imagine having small children or grandparents, or someone with any type of disability at all - that would need to walk so far. The main restaurant is also VERY FAR (as it is near the beach)! They also have different levels of service... so if you want better service, ...such as the ability to make dinner reservations, top shelf liquor, you need to pay for Royal Elite - so now if you upgrade to this, it's not budget friendly. Next, they sell time-shares - beware that they will approach you multiple times! The service at the swim up bar was terribly slow. Food is good. The dress code for the restaurants is inconsistent. The activities weren't well communicated. The shows are good, but same as last year. My opinion is that the resort is too big & Bigger Does NOT Equal Better. Too much hotel, not enough staff.

    We got Married at Sandos Playacar

    Reviewed by Claudia G() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I decided to get married at Sandos Playacar in April 2019. We had 65 guests and it was AMAZING! The hotel, staff and wedding personnel made sure to make us feel so special. THANK YOU RUTH, our wedding coordinator!!! Definitely recommend this hotel for anything: pleasure, vacation, business or even weddings!! The all inclusive package is great, drinks and food are vast! There is a family section and an adults only section, depends what you’re looking for. We stayed at the adults only, which is closer to the beach and it was very private. There are several restaurants to choose from for dinner, and about 2-3 to choose from for lunch. There is a “elite” bar inside the Meeting Point where they have Top Shelf drinks! But you can only use it if you’re in the adults only section, totally worth it! We would definitely stay here again!

    Best resort in Riviera Maya!!!

    Reviewed by Andy P() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We took our second vacation here. We just became Royal Elite members also. It’s hands down the best resort in Riviera Maya. We love everything about this resort. The ambiance is great. The service is above all expectations. The Kids club-Sandito is the best place for kids. They will be taking care of your most important possession while you are enjoying. Wendy, Alejandra & Camilla are best at what they do. Avenue bar is the best hang out place. Bartender Erik & Jose made us the best drinks. Our fav is Cadillac Margarita. The spa is giving you the best experience. We had Sando’s massage. Jesus & Laura are excellent massage therapists. Thank you Sandos for making our vacation the best. Andy & Marta.

    Above and Beyond and BEAUTIFUL!

    Reviewed by Countess_Zezenow(Cape Cod, Massachusetts) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Sandos Playacar is fabulous. The staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds are lush with landscaping that provides beauty and privacy at the haciendas. The property is large, but is laid out in such a way that you won't get lost. There is plenty of wildlife on the grounds as well as a few domesticated animals. The grounds and the beach are also a great place for birdwatchers. There are vendors on the grounds if you want to go on excursions of any kind. The spa and the gym are great. I always look at the cleanliness of the public bathrooms at the pool and beach areas. They get an 'A'. This resort is a great place for doing nothing but relaxing. Bring a stack of 1$ bills for tipping and never leave your beach chair.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great hotel with awesome service

    Reviewed by Kate C() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our family had a phenomenal time here. I highly recommend upgrading to a hacienda as the backyard pool and hot tub are a great benefit; especially when the kids need a little downtime. We wanted to give an extra special shout out to Carlos Escqlante at the Festival Buffet. He made the whole trip for us. It was our 7 year olds birthday and he went out of his way to decorate a table and to have the whole staff sing happy birthday to her. He became her favorite person and every day she asked to go see Carlos. There are not enough thanks for how special he made the trip for all of us. We would highly recommend this destination for families. Kids club was a major hit, there were plenty of activities and rooms were well maintained and comfortable. Outside of the Italian restaurant, the food was edible but not great. The Italian restaurant was amazing. Overall, great vacation!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX