Roc Barlovento

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    R

    Adult only, adequate, food is improving, had a great time everytime I went.

    Reviewed by RG on Aug 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great location , fantatstic beach,house staff are very courteous, desk staff are not pleasant and do not go out of their way as one would normally be accustomed to.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    The front desk staff at this hotel ruined our vacation.

    Reviewed by Cate on Mar 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The front desk staff at this hotel ruined our vacation. Every time we asked for assistance their answer was one of the following: no, wait or it will cost you. They were very rude and unhelpful. I would not recommend staying here at any price.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    a

    It's a 2 star at best

    Reviewed by ann on Aug 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    I booked this hotel knowing full well that it was only a 3 star and so my expectations were not high. The price was right, so I booked it. The best thing about this resort is the location. The beach is AMAZING and BEAUTIFUL. I also loved the fact that we are in the center of Varadero and in walking distance of markets, restaurants, etc. It is in walking distance to a neighbourhood where we met many friendly Cubans and were able to hand out gifts and treats to children and adults.The bad thing about the beach is that it is being littered with garbage and cigarette butts. The local people and many tourists from countries other than Canada, are not educated about the environment and how to take care for it. It was SHOCKING to see people drop cigarettes into the ocean and just leave their empty chip bags and cans on the beach. If this keeps up, the beach will be ruined. Staff from the resort do try to keep it clean, but they can't keep everything under control.The food at this hotel buffet was absolutely horrible. I am not a fussy eater at all, but this was horrible. Even the tomato sauce for the pasta was disgusting. Had to eat plain pasta all week. There were too many flies in the buffet. It was gross.The pancakes and omelettes for breakfast were safe, but everything else was pretty unappealing. The à la carte restaurants were much better than the buffet. You only get 2 reservations for a one week stay, but after tipping generously on our first visit, the waiters shook our hands and told us we could eat there any night with no reservation. And that is just what we did. We just kept tipping nicely. Yuniel and Yulina were the servers and they were absolutely wonderful.We had several problems with our room. The toilet broke, we had no towels and then the AC started dripping and creating a huge puddle on the floor. We finally had to be moved to another room where the AC didn't drip, but it also didn't work as well as it should.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    t

    we loved our stay

    Reviewed by terri on Mar 31, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    I loved the location, I loved that it was adults only, I loved the beach but needed new chairs, the staff were accommodating esp when I had to change rooms. The ones closest to the beach were not suitable. Room 358 was great. At breakfast when I was drinking my coffee once I neared the bottom there was a broken coffee handle in my cup. Accidents happen. I did not like the idea of a safe in your room opened by a room key. Did not feel safe with it. I used my visa once in the lobby to book an excursion and when I got home about 2 weeks later the visa called and said my visa number was stolen. Would I stay there again, yes I would in a heart beat. It was unfortunate that I had some bad luck but it does not factor that I would not stay there again. If I did I would want room 358 again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    4+ star service! Great hotel.

    Reviewed by Mking on Feb 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    We stayed at the Barlovento at the end of January. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The food is wonderful, for Cuba. Lots of options on the buffet and 3 great a la carts. Some rooms are updated. Our friends room was updated , ours was not. But still clean and functional. Tons of beach chairs always available. Wonderful entertainment staff. 3 bars and a snack bar near the beach, very functional layout, never far from a bar, food or washroom. 3 blocks from the large varadero market, make for a nice walk, no need to pay a cab. Will be recommending this hotel to friends.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    V

    Great beach does not make up for the rest

    Reviewed by Val on Apr 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Rumor has it that this hotel is being renovated - long over-due! Room 222 is SO in need of renovations that I would advise the hotel not to use it until it has: upgraded plumbing re water pressure , upgraded bed linens and towels, security locks on hallway and balcony doors, bottled water, a thorough cleaning-top to bottom, a second reading lamp. Buffet food would be more acceptable with hot food available, and real coffee. Beach is fabulous, except for the 400million cigarette butts, and the cigar smokers. The staff did their best. The feral dogs are running all over the resort in packs, and they're scary. I cannot recommend this resort, nor will I be back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    D

    The best Vacation, and going back as many times as we possibly can.

    Reviewed by Deb and Dave. BC Canada on Feb 08, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    Small Adult only Resort within walking distance to anything you might want. It is clean, staff are so kind and helpful. The beach and ocean are beautiful. We are going back for the 2nd time in April. We can hardly wait. We love Cuba and the amazing people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2363 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Average German centered resort.

    Reviewed by Paradise34655313478() on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Water in the room was hot and nice but the sheets smelled like a sweaty, overweight man. Upon checking in they informed us that the restaurants were booked up until a few days after our stay, which is the main reason why I am knocking off stars. Lady at the front desk was mean and the food in the buffet runs out fast and does not get replenished (especially the pizza). The beach was nice and many of the workers were too. This resort is centered around Germans so take that into account if you are from somewhere else.

    Okay trip....

    Reviewed by Stacey O() on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The pools were great, well maintained. The resort has a nice feel to it and is small and intimate. Not to far to get to a bar, or the ocean. I didn't like the service provided when trying to rearrange the dinner for my birthday. They were unaccommodating and advised they had no room but it was empty when we walked by. The shows were great and interactive and fun. There were multiple games done throughout the day which was also fun. The staff were friendly. The rooms were okay, but noisy at night time from the loud music after shows. the showers were horrible, the air conditioner worked well, but leaked the whole time... I think it was not very hygienic for them to refill random water bottles in a back room, where you cant watch.... and not provide new ones through out the stay.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    good for Cuba

    Reviewed by David R(Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada) on May 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    For the money you can't beat Roc Barlovento. They have clean rooms,decent food,fine entertainment,lovely beach,great entertainment. Our only issue was the water at at around 5ish would be cold or die out completely. You learn to shower up at a different time.

    The roc is always the best

    Reviewed by tractorman38(colborne) on May 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have been to the roc 8 or nine times always perfect. Food was good always something to eat , rum real good lol. Our maid in 105 is excellent top of her class. Entertainment and games are awesome thank u Legna . Front desk always helpful and rest of the stuff wonderful great job. Was there twice this year jan27/feb3 and mar 27/ April 3 and planning three trips there next year. Keep up the good work p.s thank u customer service for always giving us the rooms we request

    Our week at Roc Barlovento

    Reviewed by 49Doozer(Cold Lake, Canada) on May 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We arrived late afternoon 25 Apr 2019 to discouver after checking in that my request for a king size bed could not be meet and we where given two double beds. Being 6'5" I don't do well in a double bed. I was told there where no other rooms availabe and would have to wait till tomorrow after 2pm . Other members of our party got their requested kings but not I. Patience did not pay off the next day as the new room promissed had broken A/C. At this point you can imagine my fustration and I expressed it towards the front dest staff and the Roc+ rep. After some conversation within our group fortunately we switched with a single friend who didn't mind a double bed. My daughter, also out travel agent managed to snag me an extra bottle of Rum from the Roc+ rep to appease me. As the week progressed our bathroom had all four lights working but as fortune would have it only one light would survive hanging from the socket with wires exposed. Water leaking onto the floor from the A/C was never address so we had to mop it up daily with a bath mat. The food was good at the buffet and if Daisy was working that day we would get table service but not from any other worker. The three à la cartes where great and nothing but service. If you've been to Mexican 4* resorts and expected the same service. well lets just say you should close you eyes and think of your next resort vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX