Roc Arenas Doradas

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    This place is Awesome.... No shirt, No shoes and Excellent Service!

    Reviewed by Janine Baxter on Mar 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    We had a group of 9 so the initial check in, sorting out rooms, safes and exchanging money was a bit trying. Probably because of language barriers but always double check and confirm exchange rate and monies returned. If you need anything, extra- water, toilet paper or towels etc ..talk to your maid directly - they are very willing and can make it happen! Front lobby bartenders and the coffee barristas made our trip. Mulatas are to die for -hot or cold. Friendly and attentive always with a smile. It is an all inclusive so the younger crowd liked to indulge, they were rowdy and having fun, some older people did not seem impressed but we had no problem... it is everyone's vacation. Good times and let loose! Definitely try the Italian restaurant across from coffee bar it was the best food there with 5 courses and good music. The free shuttle to Varedero was convenient for shopping and The Beatles bar rocks. Sadly, my only complaint was the beach, littered with cigarette butts and cups. Not any fault of the resort or staff, just guests being ignorant. We did the katamarand -make sure it's hot and not windy, the Havana day tour -a cooler temps best, comfortable shoes are a must, lots of walking and don't go on a Sunday, and the Jeep tour was great. We would definitely do it all again. Special thanks to Roly, Annens and Maria, you are good people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Great family experience!

    Reviewed by Luv2trvl on Jan 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first Westjet Vacations experience and also our first visit to Cuba and the Arenas Doradas resort. Although this resort is listed as a 3.5 star, I picked this resort because of my budget and most of all the reviews. My family and I were SO PLEASANTLY surprised by this resort. Proximity from the airport - A! You just want to start your vacation. You don't want to have to travel another 45 - 1 hour after getting off the plane. The WS transfer from the airport was so convenient. Well organized by WS. It's a guided tour along the way. Staff were great! The resort itself - A! Come with an open mind and you'll find the value. Rooms were spacious and clean - A! We brought our two kids age 7 & 3. Lots of activities for them. Mini club and its staff were so awesome. Kids pool - great! Lots of food options for them. Food was decent. Just get creative with condiments. The coffee bar - A+!!! It's Starbucks on Cuban coffee. We stayed in Block 5 and it was such a great room. Ground floor - easy access. Quiet AC. Spacious Room. Love the Villa Style resort so that you don't have to keep waiting for an elevator to get to your room. Beach access was so easy and beautiful! WS staff meets you the following day to help you plan your stay and confirm your return to the airport. Honestly, such great value! Thank you WS. Always a loyal customer.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    Perfect

    Reviewed by Hogie on Apr 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    The hotel was great. The staff was very accommodating. We would go back in a heart beat. When we first got there the first 2 days were a bit overcast so we went to Varadero the first day then Havana the 2nd. After that the days were beautiful. Town of Varadero fun to walk around. Havana tour was great to learn about the history of Cuba. We would recommend this hotel. Special thanks to Rocio at the front desk who kept her composure even when customers around her are sometimes rude & hi to Jesus at the pool bar. He makes everyone feel very welcomed. We found the food at the buffet good. Good selection, no complaints. We celebrated our 40th anniversary while there. For our anniversary supper we took in the international al a carte, it was perfect. Thanks again Paul & Sandra

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Westjet shouldn't be offering this resort.

    Reviewed by Scott on Feb 02, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    First of all let me say that our stay was ruined by weather. It was cool and rainy and windy most days of the two weeks we were there from Jan 16-30 2016. The water and beach were truly beautiful but it was a rare occasion to see people braving the often impressive waves. Beach walking was the only way to be close to the water but it was depressing to see people in sweaters and heavy jackets trying to enjoy a walk. It wasn’t that bad every day but the wind was relentless. What I can blame the resort for is the very frustrating time we had in the buffet restaurant. The coffee machine rarely worked properly and the famous Cuban coffee we so looked forward to never happened. Coffee cups were usually absent. We resorted to soup bowls for coffee, until they also were all gone. We had to scrounge up our own glasses, silverware etc on a daily basis. Sometimes we just couldn’t find any. The frustration level rose daily. The staff were overworked and barely had time for a smile. I realize that Cuba doesn’t have access to food we take for granted, but at least it could be hot! The bread and toast were great. The breakfasts were good if you went for fresh cooked eggs. Bacon was nearly raw. If you don’t like cigarette or cigar smoke, stay away from Cuba. Because of the inclement weather most people gathered in the one big bar/lobby area, but unless you went outside to look for a table cool , it was way too smoky for non-smokers. Our room:…..in bldg. 500, top floor…nice sound of waves, very close to beach. No hot water, ever. Water barely trickled out of the sink tap. Very old ugly room. Bathtub was so gross I took pictures to prove it to people. After a week of cold showers I asked for a different room. Got one in 100 bldg. Right close to lobby and ‘mess hall’. It was beautiful in comparison! Like a Mexican 5 star! It was recently renovated. Then evening came and we found out why it was available. We were the closest to the night club and the show stage.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3718 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Super Vacation!

    Reviewed by Zar T(Montreal, Canada) on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Over my expectation!Room was clean,towers been changed every day,hot water all day,pool was clean and well maintenance,food was much better from what i expect(my kids,me and my wife we all find somethings to eat every time). All the resort was clean and the shows are amazing! Coffee bar and Maria,who was there is N# one!My kids loved the mini club and the girl witch animated them was great.The beach....oh my lord!Soooo pretty,turquoise blue water...sunsets are WAW! Amazing hotel to anyone!

    Home

    Reviewed by Daydream191378() on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What can I say this resort is now my second home and everyone working here are my family. When I leave from here I always leave a piece of my heart and start the planning for my next visit. I must have been here 23 times now since 2014. I try to come a couple times a year to decompress and enjoy seeing everyone here. Roc Arenas Doradas is a quaint hotel situated on a beautiful beach. It has been well maintained by the grounds keepers. These men are there in the wee hours of the morning cleaning, trimming, landscaping you dont see so much as a piece of loose grass on the ground. The pool area has been refinished as is very clean with new lounge chairs. There is also a great towel bar with fresh big towels daily. There are many areas to find a cold drink and freshly prepared food. Daysi and Raul at the pool bar. Dayana at the beach bar with other workers. In the snack bar is jesus Arelys and ruben. The buffet you will find Milena Juliana Adalys Andy to name a few here there is lots of fresh meat for the grill and many items to choose from. Coffee bar Maria and Nuirys, I must say the best coffee in cuba! Lobby bar Daniel Miladys Pepe Roly Lisandra Jose to name a few. A la Carte Yahony Karennia Anniel Daniel Diana Leo Rosana and my personal favorite Amaury. The hard work that gets put into preparing for these special dinners is incredible and so is the food. Front desk ladies to name a couple are always there to help you with any concerns you might have and are always prompt with booking in when you arrive they are very professional and pleasant to see zoya and marelys. Entertainment staff is definately your highlight. This group of Yas Eddie Yeneibys Danilo Noremys Laz Yuya (hopefully Yuya comes back) these guys/gals are the party with lots of games contests shows alot of hardwork has been put into every moment. Very outgoing and funloving. I have to say Yas was the BEST new addition to this resort. He truly made mine and Iam sure I speak for many people's vacation. Front door yasmany maden Ariel hector again only naming a few Great guys riding in the golf cart around the complex dropping luggage off visiting whatever they are always at our disposal. Customer service Yoly she has been the most accomodating effective and efficient loyal and loving member at roc arenas! We love her so much for everything she has done for us. Now the only complaint I have and I dont like to is the service in the lobby store. I think the women in there need some work on manners and customer relations but other than that there are many neat gifts for purchase booze, Souvenirs, treats if you desire. Now I save the best for last our sweet Alina. Words cannot describe the hard work this beautiful Amiga does for us. Cleaning our room accomodating us with the necessities and just being a genuinely kind women. I will thank everyone for your hard work it is all of you that keep all of us coming back everytime. For anyone reading this feel free to ask questions. I will continue to support and recommend this amazing hotel to anyone. See you soon Roc!!

    Awesome family time

    Reviewed by Scramboca() on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Rooms are being updated, very modern, always clean with hot water. All electronic devices charge fine without adaptor. Cool blue light mood setting lights. Food is amazing even in the buffet. Shows are all entertaining. Lots of talent, especially the aquatic dance in the pool. This is the safest place to vacation at. I will be coming back to Roc Arenas next year. 5 star by me and lots of kids involvement.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Wouldn’t go back

    Reviewed by Tina G() on Feb 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The pool was great, the beach bar & grill were our favourite. Our youngest loved the mini club & the staff was great. But our room had ants, our toilet wouldn’t flush properly & we had to make calls to maintenance almost daily. We asked to switch rooms but were only given the option to upgrade & pay more but the room wouldn’t have been any better so we stayed put. We were unable to get pool towels for the first 3 days of our stay. The main buffet was not very good. My daughter got sick after eating at the Italian A la carte.

    Family trip

    Reviewed by Emilio C() on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Amazing time food vary good .. intertainment was good but we miss Yuma she put lots of life into atmosphere and we miss her smile.. the service was excellent it’s my second time coming with my family and we are all pleased with everything thank u for taking care of us ... Emilio

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX