Be Live Experience Tuxpan

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    L

    Beach was great rest of hotel needs work

    Reviewed by Lisa W on Jan 08, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The location of the hotel was good, it has a beautiful beach to enjoy but the hotel itself needs wrk. There were tiles missing in the pool and the resort itself is tired and the room had a musty smell. The bars were very good especially the piano bar. While the restuarant staff was great the food was lacking. The ala cart restuarant was more enjoyable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    T

    Mostly loved the people secondly love the hotel.

    Reviewed by Tom on Mar 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have being going to this hotel for the past several years and will go back again

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2123 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    5 Star Beach 2 Star Resort

    Reviewed by jenniferq09(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We have spent 3 weeks at the Tuxpan, once in 2012, 2016, 2018 The rooms are dated, but clean. Last trip we were on the first floor, musty smell and ants in room, requested a change. Fourth floor views are the best. Elevators broken all week and no one offered to carry our bags up and down four flights of stairs. Fresh fish daily so we never went hungry. Pool staff are incredible each year, as are most of the wait staff. Beach is incredible, my son snorkeled all week onsite and the seaweed is never a problem. I could go on for days about the quality of this beach. We have been to several Caribbean islands and nothing compares to the white sand and clear water of Cuba beaches, especially Varadero. I will say however that I could feel the difference since change of management. The bartenders in the pool area were not particularly friendly, or motivated even with generous tipping. Also I was missing items from my luggage after the cleaning staff had been in my room. While nothing of value was taken (we use the safe) the feeling of violation will be why we do not return for a fourth visit.

    It is what it is

    Reviewed by Nana L(Sao Paulo, SP) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This is Cuba. They don't have the infrastructure and maintenance you would expect if you have been to all inclusive resorts before. The rooms are clean. The staff is the best I have ever seen. Apart from the recreation that is non existent. The food is good, we are vegetarians and had to be careful because they put meat in everything, but we could eat well. If you don't have diet restrictions you will eat very well, but it's the same thing everyday. The beach is one of the most beautiful we have been to. We even saw dolphins swimming. The alcohol is included, but only local brands. If you want good liquor you need to buy it. The pizza at the snack bar is good, but it finishes in a second. The elevator doesn't work most of the time and we stayed there for 9 nine days and didn't have hot water only for 3 of them. They have a lot of issues with keeping things working, but they try really hard and the people there are amazing. I now understand that all the people who gave them a bad review focused in the hotel. The people who gave them good reviews focused in the experience of being there. It is the best hotel we stayed in Cuba, the other 2 were really bad. So you can stay here, but maybe not for too long.

    trip of a lifetime!

    Reviewed by jhardy09289(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    where do I begin..... every time I come to the Tuxpan it gets better. I always have a great time here and I meet the most amazing people each time. I came to the Tuxpan for 4 days and I wish I stayed longer. I am going back to the Tuxpan in June because I miss it already. I know a lot of people say the food isn't the greatest when coming to Cuba but honestly this time the food was excellent especially the dinner time. Please dont let this discourage you from coming. The rooms are comfortable and the bars are great especially the swim up bar. Danielo you are truly the best bartender!!!!! see you soon for the banana pina coladas haaaa. ALL the staff are amazing. They are very friendly and will make you feel right at home. They take you in like family. The entertainment at this resort is amazing especially Adonis. He is the singer for the night time shows. The dancers are extremely talented and the management goes out of their way for you. This was my 7th time going to the Tuxpan and definitely will not be my last. SEE YOU VERY SOON TUXPAN AND MY FRIENDS AT THE TUXPAN!!!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Just returned March 3rd, Beware of VIP package.

    Reviewed by AmesandJames(Ingleside, Canada) on Mar 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    THE BAD Went to the Tuxpan due to Friends choosing this Hotel, I personally would not have chosen this resort. We read the reviews before hand and figured allot of people just complain about anything.But the truth is in the pudding,Very dated Hotel, they don't seem to fix the important things like the Elevator, its a 50/50 gamble, be prepared to do the stairs.The pool has many broken and missing tiles, our friend almost broke their toe.The beds are very hard,mattress wrapped in plastic..Wow. No coffee makers in rooms? but they claim there is?The list goes on and on, just read other reviews about the bad,,they speak the truth, to my disbelieve when I read them. Now for the VIP package that we purchased, IT DOES NOT EXIST at this resort, it's a scam.They claim to have a separate exclusive VIP check in. Welcome cocktail, Cool towel upon arrival,Welcome gift, Special reservation for A la carte, Premium drinks, Turn down service at night? YOU GET NONE OF THIS .If you are physically challenged, [Heads Up] as there are stairs everywhere in this resort that can not be avoided. The Good They do there best to keep the property and our rooms clean, which was appreciated. The service was descent, and usually friendly. The food was OK, we are in Cuba after all? By far the best part of our trip was the Beach and the Sunshine.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    Friendly & attentive staff

    Reviewed by mteetime(Vernon, Canada) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Yes the hotel is dated, but the rooms and common areas and grounds are clean and the staff are wonderful. They try to accommodate you in whatever your request. The staff in the dining room go out of their way to make sure you have a good experience, especially Vincente, Wendy and Roberto. The chef’s at the grill and pasta station do a great job, Alexis is the man for eggs. We found the food to be very good with lot’s of variety. While we were there they were updating the “Tropicala” stage & building facilities. The pool crew take pride in keeping the pool and surrounding areas clean and inviting. You need to leave a $15 (CUC/USD) deposit for the pool/beach towels at reception. You pick up your towel from the towel shop next to the pool. You can exchange for a new towel at anytime between 9:30am & 4:30pm daily. At the end of your stay when you return your towel you are given a chit to take back to reception for a refund. If you take your own towel, just remember with the humidity if it is wet it will probably not be dry the next morning. El Rancho restaurant is very good however you need to be at the restaurant in person between 3:15 and 3:30 to make a reservation for that same evening. They have two seatings, 7 & 8:30pm. Delicious capaccinos in the lobby bar. The beach is amazing. I would not classify this as an accessible property for folks with mobility challenges. There is a wheelchair ramp that leads up to the front entryway and another from the front entry around the outside of the building to the ground floor. The elevator is very sporadic and does not go to the fourth floor (there are 5 floors including the ground floor). Access to the buffet and pool is at ground level. Access to El Rancho restaurant and La Bamba nightclub are on the second floor.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX