Meliá Las Americas

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    S

    We enjoyed our 10 year anniversary here, the beach made this place worth it!

    Reviewed by Shaun Guthrie on Feb 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    First before I even start on a review of this hotel, you really need to have the proper expectations set when coming to Cuba. This is my second time to Cuba and one must realize that if you are looking for 5 star food or 5 star resorts, this is not the country for you. You are coming to Cuba for the culture, the beautiful sandy beaches and the warm weather and for most of us Canadians, to escape the frozen tundra. We choose the Melia Las Americas resort based on the previous reviews with Tripadvisor as well my in-laws stayed at a Melia property (Melia Varadero) two years ago and they had nothing but good things to say. This resort however is an Adults only and that also appealed to us when looking for a place to stay. Our arrival was welcomed with a beverage which was great after the 45-minute bus ride however the lady behind the desk really didn?t make us feel welcome. We were offered an upgrade which another person happily showed us our original room and the upgraded room. We choose the upgraded room as they bed was an actual king and not two doubles pushed together. The bed still wasn?t like you?d expect back home, quite firm and this is pretty typical of resorts in the Caribbean. The balcony was massive (however mostly unused) and the room was a decent size as well. It was worth the few additional dollars (however could have been explained a bit better on what ?dollars? we were talking about). The room and overall areas are a bit dated as you?ll read in other reviews and to be honest you?ll find that at many of these hotels. They were built 20-30 years ago and while we saw one new hotel currently being built, there hasn?t been much in the way of newer hotels. So just be prepared for that. I suppose once more American dollars start flowing here post embargo, that will change. Even though the hotel is rated as a 5 star, it really isn?t but that?s just the way it is in Cuba and for our purpose it was fine and we enjoyed the room and hotel general area

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    a great place for beach and pools and golf vacation

    Reviewed by Luanna on Jun 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We really enjoyed staying at Melia Las Americas. The hotel is in a great location on the beach with a golf course within walking distance. We golfed twice and would take our clubs the next time we go. The staff was great. Maria Isabel was our maid and she was very efficient and helpful. One of the highlights of our stay was talking to Roberto, the hotel ambassador. He took us through the mansion next to the golf course and gave us a wonderful lesson on the history of Cuba. We are fussy eaters and were concerned about the food, but we made out fine . We enjoyed the specialty restaurants. Mercedes at breakfast did a wonderful job making us feel welcome. We would go back here.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6487 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    onother day in paradise

    Reviewed by Helen M(London, Ontario, Canada) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We are repeat guests, So that tells you something that we still come here and we could go anywhere and cant wait to come back. The service was amazing from the reception desk to the beach. The service from the level staff Lea and Pabella and the other ladies were great and helpfull. The Lemoncella was great for Breakfast with Marvin looking after our every request with smiles. The food was great . Nelson and Raul and Lou looked after us on the beach as thats where we spentmost of our time. Lirena at the towel place was always smiling and laughing it was nice to see such happy faces . As these guys are not on holiday always busy in the heat. A big thank you to the DJ Auto and Jose at the gym and the great entertainment and the dancers Sandra and Lillyanna . I cant mention all the wonderfull people who made a great week but just amazing as usual. The people we met were fantastic and had great fun so join in . The food was excellent . But If you get a chance to go out for dinner I would recommend a little place in Santa Marta just on the otherside of Varadero 10 cuc taxi cab each way but the food and service was wonderfull the place is called Mi Cocinita Mavis you wont be disappointed .

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Braskin - Salsa

    Reviewed by Sioli2808(Sao Paulo, SP) on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Braskin Ulloa Hernandez: great teacher of salsa that with a lot of friendliness, vivacity, joy and energy provides excellent moments of relaxation making even the most tense tourist without great dance skills (like me) risking a few parsley steps and finishing the afternoon at Melia very happy and relaxing. Congratulations on the excellent work and contagious energy !!!

    Excellent Staff and Location

    Reviewed by Chris W() on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Beautiful location with great staff.Braskin was great,made sure we were entertained and stayed engaged with team activities. Great staff and entertainment team. The rooms and food were fairly ok......

    Sun Filled Relaxing Holiday !

    Reviewed by BeachVaradero(New Brunswick) on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at Melia Las Americas Feb 1-8 & April 20-27 2019. Both trips were fantastic! Lots of beautiful sun filled days relaxing in our Cabana at the main pool. From the moment we arrived we were again made to feel welcome! The bellman are always very friendly and look after our bags with ease. Check was quick. We were upgraded to the Level and directed to a private check in area in the main lobby. The Level staff were welcoming and provided a general overview of the services offered by the Level. Our accommodations were located in the main hotel with a beautiful view of the main pool and the beach! Thank you for the beautiful rooms! We spent our days at the main pool (steps from the beautiful beach) where Nelson, Raul and team work hard to ensure the pool and surrounding areas are always sparking clean and are on hand to provide whatever you need. Always with a friendly attitude and lots of smiles! We ate breakfast mainly in the buffet because of the wide variety of food offerings and the great staff that work there. There are made to order options as well as prepared options to enjoy a full breakfast. We also frequently had dinner in the buffet, again because of the wide variety of food options, such as made to order grilling station and pasta station. We were well looked after by Yussimi, Castro and colleagues. On both trips we had dinner at La Arcarda. This restaurant provides an intimate atmosphere, live music and professional staff that make your experience one that you won’t forget! The food is cooked to your specification and is beautifully presented! An excellent experience that we would highly recommend to other guests!! Our favorite place for lunch is the Snack Bar. Alberto is a very hard working professional person who understands service, is very organized and pays attention to the little details. He has mentored Elvis over the past few years and together they make a great team. The food is always fresh and very tasty. The service is second to none and always with a smile and welcoming attitude!! The Lobby bar staff, Raul, Javi, Sam, Rosanna, and Belkis provide excellent service. They handle large crowds with ease, make excellent drinks, take pride in their work and as well spend time teaching the junior staff members. They are always pleasant, entertaining and funny! They make a great team!! The Customer Service team, Zahily, Isis, Osmani, Karina and Yelanie are working behind the scenes to ensure that their guests experience the holiday they dreamed of! I admire their tireless efforts, high level of professionalism and their genuine care and attention to the guests. They are there to help guests with any issue they may have. You can find them on the mezzanine level in the main lobby. We also see many renovations and upgrades taking place at the hotel. Areas such as the washrooms near the bungalows, the Italian restaurant upgrades as well as many of the bungalows are under a full renovation. We heard that the hotel plans to continue with renovations to all accommodations over the next few years. We noted over the past few years the increased level of attention directed toward general maintenance. The common areas and grounds are kept clean, outdoor lighting works, walking pathways are well marked and free from obstructions. All Public washrooms are clean and stocked with supplies. I would like to acknowledge the hard work of the lady (I think her name is Betty) who cleans the beach area washrooms; she does an exceptional job. You will often find here scrubbing and disinfecting the washroom floors, cleaning the toilets and shining the vanity counter. She is very friendly and takes pride in her work. She not only keeps the washrooms sparking, she also brightens up the vanity area beautiful flowers. In closing this is a beautiful hotel, the location is excellent and the beach is amazing… but those things can be found anywhere. The PEOPLE who work at Las Americas is the reason why this place is special to us and keeps us coming back for more!! We will continue to make Las Americas our winter holiday destination and are looking forward to celebrating 25 years staying at this hotel in 2020!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    RETURNING?... GIVE ME 2 MINUTES AND I'LL BE READY

    Reviewed by algom1960(Ontario, Canada) on May 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my third time to Varadero and my first time at Melia Las Americas and my take on the place is absolutely amazing resort. From the time we checked in to our check out we have no complaints. Thank Yohandra for a quick check in and answering all our questions and request and always with a smile, also a special thanks to Braskin Ulloa Hernandez he’s a great animator, astounding dance, tried to teach me salsa….pour fellow working with a person with 2 left feet and possibly tone deaf got to love him for trying. Our first encounter with Braskin is when he decided to take advantage of the tour that was offered just next door to the Dupon house very informative, funny, pleasant and very polite always smiling ready to dance with and a constant smile. Braskin is a astounding asset to the resort, a great dancer always with a hello how’s your day and always ready to help. Braskin enjoys his work and it shows when he’s interacting with the people it’s not a chore for him. The entertainment at the resort was different every night near to the buffet/bar are every evening they might have a singer, fashion show, piano playing nice, not loud perfect, when they were done the a different entertainment moved outside on the balcony just outside near the bar/buffet area nice also people could dance overall it was great entertainment not too much perfect for me. Well when talking about the entertainment I have to mention the promoter of the nightly entertainment which is Jolio, we never how he would dress up, different every time I seen the guy funny talker spoke many different languages. The buffet they had something for every taste bud, salad, cheese, breads, French fries, hot dog, hamburger, freshly cooked pasta to your liking, fish, seafood, cooked on demand and to your liking. In our party I was I of 3 people family member. We consisted of my brother -in-law, my sister-in-law, brother and sister to my late husband. My sister-in-law and I shared a room we had the view of the golf course and the ocean, amazing view while my brother-in-law had the view of the beach great view. Our rooms were spacious and very clean. The only minor issue we had was we had water in the bathroom on the floor one morning actually first morning there. He decide to go have coffee with my brother-in-law before calling down at reception to report the issue, upon returning to our room we meet with our maid, Teresa I believe her name is, had already been to our room and reported the issue…fix immediately for that we thank our little smiling maid Teresa thank you Teresa. My favorite was the beach marvelous beach and the entertainment was mind blowing I don’t know how they do it, all that energy and the heat my hat goes up for them. CUBA is a amazing place to visit and enjoy will be back many times, I hope and hopefully at this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX