Meliá Marina Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    R

    Our second time back at this hotel at the "Level" and we were even more impressed with service!

    Reviewed by Ringo on Feb 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    We stayed at the "Level" and the service, food and accommodations were the very best. Everyone went beyond their abilities to accommodate the most basic and complex request for us.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Avoid - Won't forget that smell...

    Reviewed by Darryl M on Jan 12, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Friendly and accomodating staff in a somewhat dated hotel beginning to show it's age. The most disapointing elements were the inconsistency with the meals (particularly the buffets), the sanitation (constant terribile sewage smells) and the hotlel was constantly running out of items from beer to toilet paper to hamburger buns. Overall a disaponting stay for the 6 of us that stayed in two rooms 12/30/18 - 01/06/19. Would not recomend and certainly nowhere near the 4.5* rating that WJ puts on this property. 5/6 of the people in our party left with upset stomachs. The beach, pool area and facilities were all decent but the hotel seemed to really be struggling to keep guests happy and the guests we spoke to seemed to have a similar experience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    ON RETOURNE N IMPORTE QUAND

    Reviewed by DPAQUIN on Mar 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    BELLE ENDROIT CLIENTELE VARIE PAS DE FETARD BELLE PLAGE DE TOUS POUR TOUS LES GOUTS

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    s

    We don’t recommend this resort to anybody.

    Reviewed by sally D. on Jan 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I stayed at that hotel last November for 10 days. We travel often to various countries but this was our worst experience ever! First, we booked a suite room, but it turns out to be really far from the lobby, gym and other activities. The apartment was full of mosquitoes! We spent the first hours upon our arrival to kill them thinking that we will get rid of them but they keep showing up all night. We contacted the clientele service management to change the room but they told us that the hotel was full and they will have the room sprayed with pesticide the next day. In fact, the hotel wasn’t full as we found out later they had shut off blocks of buildings to safe on electricity. We didn’t sleep well the first night as we were bitten all night. The following day, we waited outside the room all afternoon to avoid the pesticide smell. They were able to kill them that afternoon but the mosquitoes got back in the room that night and kept us up again. As well, we found a big cockroach in the bathroom. I never saw that size before. In the morning, we insisted to talk to a manager and she accepted to give us another room in the main building. Which was a small simple classic room with obstructed view of the side of the resort. She refused to compensate us for the difference of price between the 2 accommodations. But we were relieved to not deal anymore with the mosquito issue.The restaurants were another issue that I have to bring up. The food at the buffet was uneatable, very bland, no flavor at all and almost the same dishes every night. The food at the restaurant were items that was available in the buffet! In the morning to get fresh cooked eggs or crepes you have to wait in line forever as they only have one person with a little pan in charge of cooking them. The room service is very poor and we had to call them every day to get floor towel and small towel, as they don’t replace them automatically. The beach area was small and far from the hotel.You ha

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    n

    I had a wonderful vacations

    Reviewed by nick on Oct 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great hotel to relax, the food was really good, in special the desserts, really beautiful view from the room and the most important a wonderful staff, I wanna thank you all of you in special the staff of the buffet and the greatest, the bellman michel, who did a great job and help me up with directions and very friendly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    I

    Great value in the resort!

    Reviewed by IW on Aug 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Located in the very end of the peninsula with some fantastic views with the Marina and the Bay. The staff were wonderful. There is lots to do on the resort and has nearby shopping and other dining options nearby. Plenty of activities but does get noisy at night as all the rooms face the Marina and the nightly entertainment is just right outside.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    P

    Cancunesque, but that's not a bad thing!

    Reviewed by Phil C on Aug 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel may represent the new wave in Cuba as it feels a lot more like you are in Cancun than Varadero, but that's not a knock. Despite the sleek decor and upscale atmosphere their staff consistently display that famous Cuban hospitality as they go above and beyond to make you feel at ease. There's a lot to like about this resort. The food is better than any of the other hotels I've stayed at in Cuba. We particularly enjoyed the Oriental restaurant as the sushi and appetizers were actually really tasty and a lot more authentic than I'm used to for Cuba. The buffet has a wide selection and switches up regularly. We were very impressed with the entertainment staff as the nightly shows were top notch. Enjoyed the pool layout as the pool with the swim up bar has a lively atmosphere and the other pool is more relaxing plus there's plenty of loungers near both. I was a little apprehensive prior to arriving at the hotel about it not being directly on the beach, but my concerns were quickly alleviated as it's only a few min stroll from the pool area to the beach and they also offer golf cart service if needed. The beach is great even despite being near the end of the peninsula and they have lots of palapas plus they offer bar service only a few steps away. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the rain shower and water closet are nice features. They don't offer a steam iron which I thought was bizarre, but apparently not that uncommon. Depending on what floor you're on the views of the marina and ocean can be quite spectacular, definitely request a higher floor if you can! Another definite plus for staying at this hotel is that it's always the first stop after coming back from excursions.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Large rooms with huge walk in showers! Lively atmosphere in the evening

    Reviewed by Colleen on Jul 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beautiful resort overlooking the large Marina with shops surrounding the boardwalk area. The rooms were very nice with jetted tubs and walk in showers which could fit at least 2 people if you wanted. Food was fairly good and the staff were attentive if you can catch their attention as very busy lobby and buffet areas of the resort. Entertainment in the lobby and outside along the boardwalk was wonderful except when one day it started in early afternoon and kept going until late at night. If you have a little one to take a nap or even yourself it was difficult that day as music was very loud. Overall a great resort and located outside of the busy downtown Varadero area at the end of the strip of hotels.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    j

    great hotel.

    Reviewed by jstevens on Jul 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a large resort with many activities. The only down side is the beach is across the pedway about 300m away from the hotel. They do however have golf carts that will travel you back and forth if you wish. The rooms were large even for a standard size. clean, friendly staff. the hotel is about 15 minutes away from downtown varadero. We asked for extra pillows and was told they just had a few around the hotel and just had 1 left but the maid came the next day to bring another. the only thing to watch for during the rainy season is there's no windows down thehallways and the water tends to pool around,but they were quickly cleaning them up in the morning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Nice hotel with great views of the ocean.

    Reviewed by MP on Jul 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I enjoyed my stay at the Melia Marina Varadero. The staff was great, the food was tasty and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4416 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Stunning Resort

    Reviewed by LucasSuisse(Suisse) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    the hotel was fantastic. the infinity pool at the spa gorgeous, they provided us with fruits and teas in order to get some refreshments while enjoying it, the service at the level was good even being a bit crowded the hotel. we used the gym everyday, fantastic machines. the beach was amazing, clear waters full of life. definitely it is a must while in Varadero

    Excellent place

    Reviewed by xiltepin(Yokohama, Japan) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I went with my wife and father in law. We loved the views and all of the staff did their best so that we could have a great experience at Varadero.I would recommend this place who would consider to stay few days in this city.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    It does not deserve 4 stars!

    Reviewed by SPLFv() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    As soon as we arrived to the hotel people from the reception were with long faces, they told us that the room was ready but when we went there it was not ready, and the smell to mould was very strong also the washroom was very dirty, after we complained they changed us to a second room, same thing strong mould smell. The rooms are infested with roaches, (we were a group of 18 , and at least 3 of the 7 rooms had roaches in them) as soon as I turned the lights on they were crowding out from the shower and bathtub. Most of the towels where dirty and stained with a weird yellow colour, I don't even want to guess what it was. The buffet was poor, no variation at all, pretty greasy food, with a strong smell of dog’s poop coming from the small rooms located in the corners. The food in the restaurants was bad and the service very slow, the only good one was Don Ernesto. We booked the International for a birthday and when we asked for langostinos we got baby shrimps instead, the waitresses were bitter and rude. Most of the people that work there don't smile, it seems that they hate working there. The beach, on the other hand, was beautiful and the animation team was pretty friendly, especially Junior. We are not coming back to this hotel!

    Yeah... I won't be back

    Reviewed by shaunnidb(Toronto, Canada) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I went with my partner from Feb 28- March 07. I can say the only good thing about this place, is the BEACH. It is a long walk. So be prepared. The guy that shouts out "ohhhhhh" as he drives the cart is amazing, and makes it fun as he drives back. It is not fun walking there in the heat. Food- HORRIBLE. I came back with a parasite; which took FOREVER to die in my stomach. I was heavily medicated. The food is gross. Flies are all over the place. Please even touch/smell the desserts which I found repulsive. I will say the waiters are GREAT ! Yalena - The waiter is amazing ! She went over and beyond to serve us. I tipped her every meal! Anyway, there was a time I was eating salad from the pool bar, and ended up chewing on a snail ! un escargot ! C'etait horrible! There was another time I was eating a burger there, and ended up with cartilage from the dead animal in my teeth. I've never in my life eaten a crunchy burger. They run out of food supplies there too- always. The only edible thing is the fries! The halls of the resort going towards the pool look worn out and just old. They had a crib blocking our hall the whole trip. I did not like this. The wifi- forget it. It only works in the lobby- 1/5 times. It is annoying. There were manny many mosquitoes in the lobby which really ruined my exprience. I am not overly picky, and I expected not to be amazed in Cuba by the food, but I was really let down. Save your money people and invest in a better place

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Lovely resort with fabulous staff!

    Reviewed by Johnstonadventures() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had an lovely time at Melia Marina, we stayed in the Level, which I would totally recommend. The service from the staff is brilliant, nothing is too much bother. We had a beautiful marina view and the room was well appointed. I had been in communication with Yeinsy prior to our visit due to us celebrating our 10 year anniversary whilst there. We wanted a simple vow renewal with a meal, and I was so impressed with her help and support. We arranged to have this at the marina, and the communication and help at the resort once we was there was brilliant! Unfortunately the evening we were due to do this, there was a massive storm so the staff pulled out all the stops to relocate it into a restaurant, where they closed off an area and decorated it for us. They truly made it so special, and Yeinsy even took photos and videos for us and provided flowers for me. The food in the Level is lovely, my only suggestion is that they add more specials to the menu so that there is a bit more choice. But the drinks and eggs Benedict are great!!! We loved the beach and the pool and had no problems getting a cabana each day. The only issue we had was the weekend of the 26th of July (national holiday) where the hotel was very full of Cubans celebrating, so it was hard to get served at the bars and restaurants that day. The rest of the time it was no bother. We had a lovely time at this resort and really enjoyed it. The staff go out of their way to make it special! Thanks to Yeinsy, who was amazing, Michael and his team at the level and our wonderful waitress for our vow renewal meal. I forgot her name.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX