Meliá Marina Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    R

    Our second time back at this hotel at the "Level" and we were even more impressed with service!

    Reviewed by Ringo on Feb 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    We stayed at the "Level" and the service, food and accommodations were the very best. Everyone went beyond their abilities to accommodate the most basic and complex request for us.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Avoid - Won't forget that smell...

    Reviewed by Darryl M on Jan 12, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Friendly and accomodating staff in a somewhat dated hotel beginning to show it's age. The most disapointing elements were the inconsistency with the meals (particularly the buffets), the sanitation (constant terribile sewage smells) and the hotlel was constantly running out of items from beer to toilet paper to hamburger buns. Overall a disaponting stay for the 6 of us that stayed in two rooms 12/30/18 - 01/06/19. Would not recomend and certainly nowhere near the 4.5* rating that WJ puts on this property. 5/6 of the people in our party left with upset stomachs. The beach, pool area and facilities were all decent but the hotel seemed to really be struggling to keep guests happy and the guests we spoke to seemed to have a similar experience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    ON RETOURNE N IMPORTE QUAND

    Reviewed by DPAQUIN on Mar 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    BELLE ENDROIT CLIENTELE VARIE PAS DE FETARD BELLE PLAGE DE TOUS POUR TOUS LES GOUTS

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    s

    We don’t recommend this resort to anybody.

    Reviewed by sally D. on Jan 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I stayed at that hotel last November for 10 days. We travel often to various countries but this was our worst experience ever! First, we booked a suite room, but it turns out to be really far from the lobby, gym and other activities. The apartment was full of mosquitoes! We spent the first hours upon our arrival to kill them thinking that we will get rid of them but they keep showing up all night. We contacted the clientele service management to change the room but they told us that the hotel was full and they will have the room sprayed with pesticide the next day. In fact, the hotel wasn’t full as we found out later they had shut off blocks of buildings to safe on electricity. We didn’t sleep well the first night as we were bitten all night. The following day, we waited outside the room all afternoon to avoid the pesticide smell. They were able to kill them that afternoon but the mosquitoes got back in the room that night and kept us up again. As well, we found a big cockroach in the bathroom. I never saw that size before. In the morning, we insisted to talk to a manager and she accepted to give us another room in the main building. Which was a small simple classic room with obstructed view of the side of the resort. She refused to compensate us for the difference of price between the 2 accommodations. But we were relieved to not deal anymore with the mosquito issue.The restaurants were another issue that I have to bring up. The food at the buffet was uneatable, very bland, no flavor at all and almost the same dishes every night. The food at the restaurant were items that was available in the buffet! In the morning to get fresh cooked eggs or crepes you have to wait in line forever as they only have one person with a little pan in charge of cooking them. The room service is very poor and we had to call them every day to get floor towel and small towel, as they don’t replace them automatically. The beach area was small and far from the hotel.You ha

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    n

    I had a wonderful vacations

    Reviewed by nick on Oct 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great hotel to relax, the food was really good, in special the desserts, really beautiful view from the room and the most important a wonderful staff, I wanna thank you all of you in special the staff of the buffet and the greatest, the bellman michel, who did a great job and help me up with directions and very friendly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    I

    Great value in the resort!

    Reviewed by IW on Aug 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Located in the very end of the peninsula with some fantastic views with the Marina and the Bay. The staff were wonderful. There is lots to do on the resort and has nearby shopping and other dining options nearby. Plenty of activities but does get noisy at night as all the rooms face the Marina and the nightly entertainment is just right outside.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    P

    Cancunesque, but that's not a bad thing!

    Reviewed by Phil C on Aug 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel may represent the new wave in Cuba as it feels a lot more like you are in Cancun than Varadero, but that's not a knock. Despite the sleek decor and upscale atmosphere their staff consistently display that famous Cuban hospitality as they go above and beyond to make you feel at ease. There's a lot to like about this resort. The food is better than any of the other hotels I've stayed at in Cuba. We particularly enjoyed the Oriental restaurant as the sushi and appetizers were actually really tasty and a lot more authentic than I'm used to for Cuba. The buffet has a wide selection and switches up regularly. We were very impressed with the entertainment staff as the nightly shows were top notch. Enjoyed the pool layout as the pool with the swim up bar has a lively atmosphere and the other pool is more relaxing plus there's plenty of loungers near both. I was a little apprehensive prior to arriving at the hotel about it not being directly on the beach, but my concerns were quickly alleviated as it's only a few min stroll from the pool area to the beach and they also offer golf cart service if needed. The beach is great even despite being near the end of the peninsula and they have lots of palapas plus they offer bar service only a few steps away. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the rain shower and water closet are nice features. They don't offer a steam iron which I thought was bizarre, but apparently not that uncommon. Depending on what floor you're on the views of the marina and ocean can be quite spectacular, definitely request a higher floor if you can! Another definite plus for staying at this hotel is that it's always the first stop after coming back from excursions.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Large rooms with huge walk in showers! Lively atmosphere in the evening

    Reviewed by Colleen on Jul 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beautiful resort overlooking the large Marina with shops surrounding the boardwalk area. The rooms were very nice with jetted tubs and walk in showers which could fit at least 2 people if you wanted. Food was fairly good and the staff were attentive if you can catch their attention as very busy lobby and buffet areas of the resort. Entertainment in the lobby and outside along the boardwalk was wonderful except when one day it started in early afternoon and kept going until late at night. If you have a little one to take a nap or even yourself it was difficult that day as music was very loud. Overall a great resort and located outside of the busy downtown Varadero area at the end of the strip of hotels.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    j

    great hotel.

    Reviewed by jstevens on Jul 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a large resort with many activities. The only down side is the beach is across the pedway about 300m away from the hotel. They do however have golf carts that will travel you back and forth if you wish. The rooms were large even for a standard size. clean, friendly staff. the hotel is about 15 minutes away from downtown varadero. We asked for extra pillows and was told they just had a few around the hotel and just had 1 left but the maid came the next day to bring another. the only thing to watch for during the rainy season is there's no windows down thehallways and the water tends to pool around,but they were quickly cleaning them up in the morning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Nice hotel with great views of the ocean.

    Reviewed by MP on Jul 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I enjoyed my stay at the Melia Marina Varadero. The staff was great, the food was tasty and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4220 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing Stay

    Reviewed by Krista_Roulston() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our stay at Melia Marina was very enjoyable. By far the best part of the trip was the entertainment staff. Huge shout out to Jose, Luis and Richar for providing us with the amazing entertainment ! These boys really know how to put a smile on your face and make you hit the dance floor ! Thank you gentleman for allowing this trip to be so fun ! Will definitely be back !

    It’s a 2.5 from us

    Reviewed by vjuneg(Laval, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    First, the pros: Staff are really nice, they all smile at you and make you feel welcome there. Overall, service is nice and we really liked the staff people we met. The pool and beach areas are clean and the chairs are good enough. The resort, outside the rooms that is, is really is beautiful and well maintained. It really is just a small and nice walk to the beach, where there as much ameneties as if the resort was right on it. The marina side is beautiful. They have ok entertainment every night and a good selection of à la carte restaurants. The cons: Yeah... from what we’ve heard from other people there, food wasn’t bad at all. Being our first time in cuba, we were really over the buffet by night 3. It’s alright enough, there’s just no variety at all. The snack bars were out of stuff a few times so they came up with weird mixes of food trying to resemble something edible. The biggest problem we encountered was trying to switch rooms, which we had to ask 4 times, first time being when we got there. They told us the hotel was fully booked. We were located on the bottom floor, it was really humid and there were stains and stuff on pretty much every surface in the room. The toilet stopped working on night 1, was repaired after we asked twice on day 2. Shower and AC stopped working on day 3, we were told they had electricity problems coming from outside the resort. It seemed like most rooms were not affected, but hey, benefit of the doubt and we could still use the bathtub. On day 5, with still no shower and AC, the toilet stopped working again. The maintenance guy told us that he couldn’t replace a broken piece before the day after. That’s when I pretty much broke down. The guy called the front desk and they got us a room half an hour later. New room was much better, no wierd stains anywhere and everything worked fine. We stayed in it for 2 nights before our trip was over. Also, we came back with hundreds of bug bites despite not seeing many bugs there and so did a few people we met while on our trip there. Do they have bed bugs? Not sure, they told us they didn’t but hey, our stuff is still outside now that we are back home, just in case.

    April break

    Reviewed by S6986BIphilipc(Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Nice hotel, some rooms better than others (had to complain about the first we were given but they changed it without quibbling). Nice staff too, happy to help on the whole and to put things right if they weren’t right to start with. Great beach access and pool. Food was disappointing however, often running out of what you’d consider to be basics like fries, orange juice etc. Take the upgrade to ‘The Level’ - private restaurant, free Wi-fi and a dedicated concierge - if you can, it’s worth it.

    Nice buffet & nice view from room

    Reviewed by Catz123() on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Hotel room was ok but very noisy. This stopped at 11pm so only affected our sleep for one night. The buffet food breakfast was good and had fresh omelettes made to order. They need a better quicker toaster though. Had to queue up then took about 5 minutes to brown the bread. The al la Carte restaurants are impossible to get a table. The reception staff not very helpful. One of the Italian restaurant was closed on the Wednesday. Not friendly in the shops. Personally I prefer the Real Caribbean with beautiful beaches, the most friendly people & lovely food.

    Sunny times

    Reviewed by SuzanneM1305(Rockland, Canada) on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel need a little repair, especially the elevators. Most of the time they were not working (all 4 of them) or only 1 was somewhat working. But, aside that, the place is very beautiful. Clean and the workers go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Would definitely return there.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX