Ocean Varadero El Patriarca

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    We absolutely enjoyed our stay and would love to go back. It was the perfect location to bring our family together.

    Reviewed by Linda on May 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We loved the layout of the property as everything was within easy walking distance. The rooms were quite nice and the restaurants were more than adequate. We got excellent service from our maid, Gleisey, and the service in the restaurants was warm and friendly. Even the groundskeepers and pool attendants were friendly.. The only negative of our visit at this hotel was the service at the front desk. We found the staff there to be much less friendly and accommodating than the rest of the staff at the resort. Our visit to Oceans was to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with our family. When we checked in, they told us that we were being upgraded. However, the upgrade to "Privilege" only gave us a slightly larger room but caused us embarrassment, as we were not allowed to us the "Privilege" facilities in our section. Perhaps Oceans should consider NOT upgrading at all or upgrading the whole package for future patrons.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Enjoyed it and are definitely going back - soon!

    Reviewed by Alan on Jul 20, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Had a great time. Days on the beach, evenings in the piano bar. Took a couple of days to get comfortable with the food service, but after that it was fine. Staff was friendly an very accommodating. We went to relax in the sun and proved perfect for our wants.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    p

    tout aimé

    Reviewed by patricia on Apr 17, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    allo nous moi et mon amoureux ca fait deux fois que nous allons au el patriarca varadéro et ont n aime beaucoup... nous sommes aller oct 16 et avril 17 et sans parler du personnel tres gentil et accuillant et on va y retourner au mois oct 17 car ont aime bien la place et c est tres chaleureux... et la nourriture tres bonne...Merci

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Amazing and recommend anyone to stay here.

    Reviewed by Kim and Hugh Love on Mar 01, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We went to Varadero for our 2nd trip to Cuba. This resort was amazing. The workers friendly and helpful. The layout of the resort well thought out. The best thing was al a carte restaurants did not need reservations, we never ate at the buffet for dinner and did not have to waste time in the morning trying to get into the al a carte. Exchanging money was very easy and accessible 24 hours per day. We really enjoyed the little coffee shop that was open daily from 0700 to 2100hrs. The rooms were big and well maintained. We came back to our room with a new creature made on our bed daily. The housekeepers were very creative. There was always chairs at the pool to access without having to get up early in the morning to save them. Overall we can't wait to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Loved it....would return in a heartbeat

    Reviewed by Lee Rankin on Oct 10, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This hotel was really great. I have been to Cuba a number of times but never to this property. I found the staff friendly and very proficient at their jobs. The beach was really nice and the pools were great. The restaurants were good but we were there in "low" season and they alternated opening in the evening. Fine by me and a good business decision. The buffet was exceptional. Everything was fresh, clean and very nicely presented. Loved the fresh donuts and frittatas in the morning!!!! We took in the nightly entertainment. The shows were colourful, entertaining and well put together. The water/pool show was really amazing. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel and would recommend it to my friends and family. I felt comfortable, was treated well by all the staff and I never wanted for food or drink. As a bonus, we had towel swans, blanket "creatures" and lots of happy smiles and greetings. What more can you ask for when vacationing?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    A great place to spend a vacation in Varadero.

    Reviewed by Jerry Jaleel on Apr 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Overall one of the best resorts in Varadero. I have been a guest at this hotel three years in a row since 2013, and plans to go thete again this year. The service in fabulous, the food and drinks are great, the staff and management are keen to look after your interests. The white sand beach is fitted with lounge chairs and shelters. Its buffet with huge selection and ala carte restaurants and snackbar will cater to your interests. The bars are well stocked, and don't forget to enjoy some mojitos while you are there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    A great resort! Friendly, helpful staff! Well-appointed room!

    Reviewed by Sharon & David, NS, CAN on Apr 02, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I visited Ocean El Patriarca from March 22 to 29. Our room was wonderfully appointed.....up-to-date and clean, with excellent maid service. The air-conditioning did not work; however, if we had mentioned it, I'm sure it would have been fixed or we would have been moved.....we didn't bother, as we didn't mind the warm air. Staff maids, restaurant, lobby, gardeners, bars were all very, very friendly without being imposing. The entire facility was clean and well-maintained. Food - lots of it, and good variety; however, it seemed very bland, for the most part, but we decided this was cultural. The beach was always clean - ie, no garbage and the seaweed seemed to disappear overnight, which we thought must have been mulched or gathered by staff. Unfortunately, there were many people who did not respect the beach and left behind their bar glasses, etc of course, this is not a reflection on the resort staff, only to mention they did an impeccable job of cleaning up after the disrespectful guests . Everyone at the resort were always friendly and helpful. A lovely vacation!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Would go back in a heartbeat

    Reviewed by S&S on Jan 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    First time El Patriarca and first time at Varadero. Absolutely loved everything about the facility, amenities, food and people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    d

    Speechless

    Reviewed by djRice on Nov 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Wedding

    Great Wedding Destination! Thank you West Jet for the recommendation. Service was excellent. Beach was fabulous! Just what I needed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    g

    amazing

    Reviewed by gerilynn on Nov 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    This resort was fantastic.the staff treated us and themselves as family everyone worked hard to ensure our vacation was memorable.the rooms were close to the beach and very clean our maid was very accomidating with beach towels . The pool was closed for repair but who needed pool when you had such beautiful beach to go to.i would definatly recommend this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4704 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    ONLY STOPPED HERE 36 HOURS

    Reviewed by Mickylawton(Polesworth, England, United Kingdom) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Reception.What you realy want when you first get there is a smile off the reception staff. Big Ben in London smiles more.The lighting in the Restaurant was very poor you could not see what you were eating.Lighting in the room was very poor.You had to turn the brightness up on the TV to see a bit better.36 hours was enough for me.(But this is my Opinion) If this is your first time to Cuba We,ve been to Cuba 4 times.But this our hotel is not for us . cockroaches in the room.Dont want to write anymore.

    Roach Hotel

    Reviewed by iamjmigz() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We stayed at this resort end of July, 2019 to beginning of August, 2019. Let me first by saying that this is a 2.5? and NOT 5? resort. Pros: The beach is beautiful as is the pool for the privilege guests. Grounds were very well maintained and à la carte restaurants served a lot better food than the buffet area. Mike's Cafe is a quiet place to sit and talk and is possibly the ONLY place to have a decent cup of coffee. Cons: The food is less than desirable in the sweltering heat buffet area. There is no AC in this area and roaches are present. The lady in front of me almost lost her lunch after seeing a roach crawl just inches from food on the counter next to her. Also during meals the resort does NOT serve closed bottle water but high chlorinated tap water which is filled in empty bottles of water at à la carte restaurants and buffet area. The staff is ok and some are just down right rude. This is Cuba so service might take some time as people here work in slow motion. The rooms are dirty and are given a more or less a spit and lick shine every day. In one case I had a snail shell in my bathtub for four of my seven day stay, that I can only assume was left by the previous guests. Also had a swarm of ants and a roach in my room. The Internet is slow and only seems to work properly in lobby. On the weekend the Cuban local guests run the resort and will look down on you, cut in line in front of you and monopolize all of the resort staffs time. Last but not least in the past privilege guests would get a bottle of Santiago de Cuba Rum waiting in their room when they arrived but that has gone the way of the dodo. The entertaiment evening shows is a dirty dancing train wreck and after 15 minute you've seen it all.  In all I will NOT be returning to this resort and I am greatful it was only for seven days. If you are planning a vacation, I highly recommend looking somewhere else. I will be giving this a 2? rating as shills keep posting 5? rating trying to skew review system. They say a pictures is worth a thousand words, so you can ignore this review and take it with a grain of salt... so here's some photos to back up my words.

    Vacances

    Reviewed by Nada C() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The beach is amazing and it’s near from the hotel, the service is good, food and drinks are good also. I highly recommend this hotel. It’s the good place for family, there are shows and différents restaurant.

    Awful Resort

    Reviewed by Anthony C() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Not even close to a 4 star. Every negative review you read is accurate. Phones don't work, food is below average and the same everyday, ants, pool is the hottest I've ever swam in. Anyone who gives this place a 5 star review is fake or has been bribed. The only way you can leave this resort with a positive review is if it is the 1st trip you have ever taken in your life and don't know any better. Beach is beautiful but if you don't save chairs by 8am you are not getting shade. If you get to the beach after 11am you won't even get a chair to sit on. Our fridge was not filled for three days and i have a 1 year old, so i found myself scrambling for water for my daughter to drink at a "4 star" resort. They have room service and transportation to take you around the resort, oh ya, but once again, phones don't work so that's not gonna happen. As someone with a toddler i had a lot of luggage. Full 3 set suitcase, 2 carryons, diaper bag and summer stroller. When it was time to check out i had to walk to the lobby(wasn't close), get someone to drive me back to my room to get my things and travel back to lobby due to the phones not working. This doesn't happen at "4 star" resorts. Also, be very careful extending your stay as we heard from several different people all being told different rates. We were told 10CUC an hour up until 3pm. That went up to 11 the day of and another couple told us they were quoted 20 an hour. Please do not travel to this resort if you have a child 1-3 years old. Serious safety concerns.

    Not a 5 star at all

    Reviewed by VBGD() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    What do I say. Reading others reviewed we decided to take a chance. Not what we expected at all. Where to start. Got there late Saturday and ran to feed our kids something at the buffet as it closes at 10. There was barely anything to feed. We thought it would be better in the morning. Most definitely not the case here. What you had for breakfast and was left over was out again at lunch and then again for dinner and then again for breakfast the next day. It was the same horrible food day by day. The room was dirty and there was no light working in our washroom. Couldn't call reception as the phone wasn't working either and the smell of sewer that kept coming into our room. Walked to the reception to tell them all this and was told someone would be there to change the light. Also advised them that my shower was not working, I had 2 towels in my room and there were 3 of us there and 2 beach towels. Was told someone would be there. No one came. Had to hunt down a maid to get extra towels for showering and a beach towel. and beware there is always a shortage of towels. Had our beach towels for 3 days as they didn't have any to change. The maid took forever to clean the rooms (sorry did I say clean, make up the bed) to the point where the supervisor asked if we needed it done up everyday. Came back at 5 from the beach and our room was still not done and the maid was nowhere to be found. The power kept getting cut off in our unit everyday and no one cared. the beach is beautiful that is for sure. That was the only good thing at this resort though and the day time entertainment staff, Chocolate, Dyrone (Sorry if I spelt it wrong) Carlos were fabulous and tried there best to make us feel welcome. The buffet sucks. The food at the al la cartes were not bad, but the woman at the Italian Restaurant is just plain rude. Was advised that the hotel had gotten new management within the previous week, well they are doing nothing to fix this hotel. this hotel needs a total overhaul. Most definitely not going to come back to this one

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX