Be Live Experience Varadero

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    B

    Amazing crew, amazing beach! Loved our time in Varadero!

    Reviewed by BryanJ on May 08, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    We recently returned from our trip to Cuba and had an awesome time at Be Live Varadero. While the facility does show it's age, the staff show care in their treatment of their guests. There are many wonderful things that we loved with our stay - our maid Meibol was amazing, many of the frontline team were awesome and great with recommendations for out of resort dining, the buffet dining servers were amazing, as were the crew behind the grills and behind the fruit station! Virgilio at the coffee bar was amazing, as was Humberto in the beach bar. There were 2 a la carte restaurants and we loved the Asian one (notice that it's not just Chinese food - they have Indian, Thai, Indonesian, Malaysian as well - and a good selection of vegetarian options). My partner and I walked from the beach off of 64 St all the way to the resort and one thing we noticed is that the beach by this resort is the cleanest of them all. The beach is awesome in Varadero, i highly recommend. Would definitely go back to this resort again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    E

    This is most terrible all inclusive hotel that we have ever stayed! Dirty, run down, food is terrible. Guests have no manners.

    Reviewed by Elena on Jul 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Don't Book This Hotel

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    s

    great vacay in all respects

    Reviewed by sk on Mar 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    we loved our stay....staff, room, food was great...no complaints and would definitely return...thanks Belive for a great vacay!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2781 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not a good hotel to stay

    Reviewed by MS-Music76() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I went 5 days with my 2 kids. My kids and I are bilingual so in Cuba we speak Spanish, the treatment once the found out you speak spanish is totally different that if you do any other languages, so when they didn't solve my issues in spanish me and the kids spoke English instead, when I booked the hotel was sold to me as Be live expirience I got there the name is villa found out couple days after. Well checked in lady in the counter very nice,I went up to the room, first think I always check first is bathroom, I almost cut myself with the door, bathtub need emergency attention, nasty as possible, had not shower curtain instead a glass win that is hold on the bottom with a screw, you can clearly see not clean beside not painting on it,the door has a big gap with whatever was holding it to the wall, I'm posting pics, looked around none of the light switch work exept for 1 my daughter found lifht stayed on just to give me time to see 3 medium size towel impossible we can dry with that, 1 of them full of holes. So I tried the lamps and didn't turn on. Ac didn't turn on so I see a litle break box next to the door and everything in place, I went down and receptionist wasn't nice as before and sent me with someone else. I spoke to the person went back up to room. And see the Maid not identification whatsoever, she asked is anything was wrong and went in my room,Maid: what's the matter? Everything is clean, I cleaned it this morning I had being here many years and I do my job, the towels, I don't have any big as of today tomorrow morning I'll bring them, when you have anything to say talk to me I will be your Maid taking care of you. Anyways I'll let night shift to know if the can give you some later when the finish washing them. She kept talking first with attitude and then like we were besties. At this point I wanted to leave but then I realized I was in Cuba there was not point. I desided not to spend much time in the room. I found a sign that they didn't have at the rooms "do not disturb " kept it 5 days on the door and told them I don't want anyone in my room without my presence. So the electrician came in and asked me why I didn't have light,I said either AC, and he asked me again, why is it that the room is out of power. I reply in a mean way cause at this point I was aggravated, I don't know I'm not an electrician. So beside this incident I can sat tge beach is pretty and clean. The pool has some tiles off but the clean the pool every morning and the animation team was amazing, the buffet no flavor in the meat, but it has a beautiful soul lady doing the pancake, I think she is the only one that knows in the entire hotel how to provide customer service. So maybe the 4 stars the hotel has is just her treating the people right. The was also a guy at the door that always pending of what is need it and listening and helping. But the rest of the waitress not idea was going on, I have to get every single day my own silverware for me and the kids cause like I said we talk in Spanish to not be rude but once we did no more attention for us. They accept Cuban nationals now. Maybe that explain the destruction of the place is does not look as a 4 star. People are screaming in the halls, stairs, pool including a lot of cursing. My oldest kid wanted to say something yo like 4 kids around 4 to 6 years old that were cursing at each other,not parents around. In the morning on 5th floor in front of the elevators the Maids get all together for about 2 gours talikg avout their personal life really loud ,laughing and cursing. No one say anything, they woke me up every day... next day the toilet didn't flushed so I called the plumber took almost 3 hours to come. I flushed with a little trash can until he finally came in my second call to reception. There was no sorry for the inconvenience or what can we do for you. I was not going to spent my time anymore bringing out what they know for fact is wrong.... plase read and review before you book any hotel in Cuba. There are other selections,don't look at cheap prices you will be surprised

    RESTED AND RELAXED

    Reviewed by GinetteF56() on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Not our first time, so we knew what to expect. Reception was excellent. Our room was ready, everything worked perfectly. even in that hot wheather, the air conditioning held its temperature, hot shower were plentyfull. Choice of food was less than other times of the year, but still good. The grounds showed a shortage of workers, but you can always chip in and help the staff to pick up empty glasses and straws. Drinks selection could be a bit better but there was always choices . We will go back but not in the summer to many people. The pool was very crouded and loud, with lots of litter. Beach was wonderfull. Special thanks to Sayli, Malaika, Manuel, Javier, Damian, Isabelle, Roberto, Damary, Baro, Carlos, Jenny, Aday for there extremely hard work at the buffet.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Mom's 60th birthday celebration.

    Reviewed by Naomi P(Markham, Canada) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed from July 29 to Aug 2nd. It was about 15 of us and I must say that it is a beautiful hotel. A bit outdated but hey it's Cuba. Just a few disappointments 1. The food was very repetitive same breakfast lunch and dinner. It didnt change not one single day. We did dine at the chinese orential hotel which I have to say the food was absolutely amazing. I wish we could have ate there every day! 2. Bars were okay drinks were not that great at all so dont have your hopes up. 3. Wifi cards were not great and I swear we didnt get an hour as indicated ( 1cuc for 60 mins) wasnt worth it. 4. If you have USD take it. The exchange was better than Canadian dollars. But on the plus sides the beaches were just breathe taking. Clean, crystal clear water my goodness. Hotel grounds were very clean and well maintained thanks to those hard working staff out in the sun all day cleaning and maintaining the grounds god bless you. Overall it was a wonderful experience and cubians are just a friendly group of people Thank you!

    Warning - Do Not Stay Here

    Reviewed by chocokait() on Aug 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I decided to take my husband to Cuba as it would be his first time and I've always enjoyed myself. Please listen to the bad reviews! I can vouch for all of them. By far the worst resort i've ever been to its laughable. Please note that this hotel was formerly known as Villa Cuba. All they did was slap "Be Live Experience Varadero" stickers and signs where necessary. No effort to make the switch whatsoever. First: the staff is NOT friendly at all. Do not expect to see a smile from any of them lol. At the bars or cafe they do not greet you, they just nod their head at you to give your order, and they just turn around and make it. We felt bad so we decided to make conversation with the man at the cafe, asking questions about the resort.. 2 mins later he tried to sell us rum and cigars under the table. Talk about great customer service! The best employee was our maid, Yadani, who gave us extra water bottles and wrote us a note on our last day. I was not expecting the food to be great, as it is Cuba, but we did have a horrible experience at our first night there. I found a clear plastic wrapper in my food - I showed it to the waitress there and she just looked at it and said oh.. sorry.. ?? lol. At the same time, my husband found a full strand of hair in his food. We are not people to complain, so we just left it alone. Another time we decided to try the pasta at the pasta station. There was a cockroach running on the counter and the chef working there was acting like he didn't see it. We asked him to kill it and he simply just flicked it off. The pasta was not good! I swear the cheese there is all old. Luckily the food did get better as the days went on. I also have to note that there is no variety for breakfast, it's the same thing everyday. Ketchup is also available only on select days too lol.. And do NOT walk by the drink dispenser at the back because it reeks of old food. There are two other restaurants at the hotel, but you have to make reservations SPECIFICALLY between 11-12. Be prepared to wait in a longgg line due to demand but trust me you're gonna wanna wait because you will get sick of the buffet food. We were able to make reservations to the Bistro but not the Oriental restaurant because it was fully booked. They say the Bistro is Italian but nothing about it is Italian. The food was really good though! Beware of the locals that stay at the hotel (they take up about 70% of guests), they WILL cut in front of you in line at the buffet. One night at the pool bar, a local family was sitting beside us, the husband was noticeably upset with the wife. He decided to smash his glass cup (not sure why he had a glass cup in the pool area) on the floor. His drink was thrown all over me and a glass shard slipped under my husbands foot and cut him.. not to mention a LOT of glass pieces went into the pool. The next morning we saw a guy in full scuba gear searching for glass in the pool. At that point I just wanted to go home. Another note about the pool.. the tiles are not put on properly. Some are loose as you are walking in the pool. As I was getting out, I scraped my knee on the corner of the tile.. Thank god for bandaids!! As I needed them more than once. We also had a room in the villa, the one closest to the beach - so whenever we went to the hotel, I would have to use the bathrooms there. I strongly urge you not to use ANY of the bathrooms in the lobby, or by the pool as they are never clean and just gross. The only great thing about this resort was our room in the villa, and the beach. However, I will never come back to this resort. If you have the extra money to stay somewhere better, then spend it! You won't regret it.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    STAY AWAY ... VISITOR BEWARE

    Reviewed by Babyleafgirl(Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada) on Aug 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My recommendation is to stay as far away from this hotel as possible. After reading the reviews most were 4 and 5 star review I had a bit of hope for this resort, so we booked it for our 20th Wedding Anniversary (HUGE MISTAKE), however this hotel is worse than a rent by the hour hotel in Toronto (at least in Toronto they seem to clean their sheets or so I have been told). I have been to Cuba (Holguin) prior and was expecting it to be pretty much the same, talk about a letdown when we arrived at the hotel it was pretty late in the evening so we really couldn't see the state of the hotel, we were checked into our room 2513, and upon entering we noticed that the walls and ceilings were covered in BLACK MOLD. Given that it was late we decided to wait until the morning to talk to the front desk about being switched rooms as I was having problems breathing due to being Asthmatic. We went down in the morning to switch and got a bit of attitude until I said it was difficult for me to breathe, they then switched us to room 2703, however, in order to move to the room my husband had to stay in the new room while I went to the old room to pack up our stuff and bring it over as we were not allowed keys to 2 rooms at the same time, after we had made the switch we were then given the keys to the new room. The only good thing about the new room was the view. There was still a lot of problems with the room, severe mold on the walls and ceiling, dried blood on the bathroom wall (was there the entire week), blood on the comforter, blood on the sheets, the mattress was more like a box spring than a mattress, the pillows smelled like mildew and mold, the shower head in the bathroom is white and crusty from the water, the tub was supposed to be pink, but was almost black (you didn’t get a shower without wearing your shoes). The in room air conditioner barely worked and it constantly dripped water right in the middle of the hallway, if you weren’t careful when walking (like when you wake up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom) you would slip on the water. The resort: We were able to finally see what the resort looked like from the outside and all I can say is it is falling apart, and no one is doing anything about the repairs except to slap a coat of paint over the mold and state that they are refurbished rooms. If you walk out of the resort down the ramp towards the pool all you can smell is the septic system (you can’t flush toilet paper down at this resort). There are many areas around the main hotel that smell like urine, this is because parents tell their kids to just pee against the trees or in the grass rather than taking them to the washroom. The resort washroom, if you must use one outside of your room I suggest using the washroom on the 2nd floor heading towards the buffet, it is the cleanest of all of them. Stay away from the main lobby washroom (4th floor) this washroom doesn’t seem like it is cleaned more than once a day and the bins are over flowing with dirty/used toilet paper. The pool: while looks beautiful and has plenty of chairs for suntanning (about 70), there are only 7 umbrellas, there are 2 sections where there is shade under the palm trees, however on day 3 there they cut all the leaves off of 2 of the trees leaving only one spot for shade. There is no swim up bar which in my opinion is a good thing, however you still have many people, both adults and kids staying in the pool from open to close 9am to 7pm. The water in the pool was always clean and clear and while it was very warm water, it did make you feel refreshed in the hot sun. Just a side note: They spray pesticides from a plane once or twice a week, this plane ends up dropping the pesticide into the pool which people then swim in. Buffet Las Dalias (the main buffet): I can only say one thing about the food STAY AWAY. The level of cross contamination is insane here, they have one set of tongs, which they use to pick up fish, beef and pork with, they then it cook it on a grill and serve it to the customers. I had them cook pork (well done) and when it was put on my plate it smelled sour. The buffet consists of the following items, 4 different types of buns, 4 different types of bread loafs, 2 types of pasta including red sauce (very very sweet) or a white sauce (no flavour) and you can add mushrooms, onions, cheese, peas, tri-vegetable mix. There are 3 to 4 types of cold meats, 4 types of cheese. Vegetables consist of cucumbers, lettuce, olives. There are a few seafood selections (not sure of what type as I don’t eat it). On the hot buffet, there are 3 types of rice, a beef hash (ground beef and vegetables in sauce) fish, pork chops. There is also ice cream and a few desserts. Just consider that in order to get any of the food fresh you would have to go into the buffet the minute it opens as they run out of food constantly there (according to staff there is a food shortage). If you don’t like to eat early you will have slim pickings of what you can eat and most of it at that point has been touched by other people. People I met there choose to go into town to purchase their meals which says a lot about the level of food since they were willing to SPEND extra money just to eat. The pool bar/snack restaurant: This is the best place to fill your drinks if you wish to get slammed, in a 34-ounce bubba, 16 ounces of Rum, 14 ounces of another liquor, 2 ounces of juice and some ice. The best drink hands down were the non-alcoholic frozen lemonade. Be prepared when waiting for a drink to be aggressive as the people will just keep pushing in front of you, if you tip the gentleman working behind the bar, he will remember your face and will actually serve you over the rude customers. Around the back of the bar is the snack counter most of the time the only thing you can get is a grilled ham and cheese sandwich, they started to add eggs to the mix on day 3 there. On day two of our trip they had hamburgers, these were absolutely delicious they are served to you with cucumbers and cabbage add a bit of their “ketchup” and “mustard” and you could live on these if they offered them regularly, but sadly we never saw them offered again. The beach bar: We only visited this bar once, it is just a few steps (maybe 60) from the beach, the drinks seemed decent and the staff was friendly. Just outside of this there was a “booth” where they were selling rum & coconut drinks out of the actual coconut (not sure cost didn’t buy one). The Beach: Hands down the best spot at this resort. The beach is crystal blue with white sand (beware it gets very hot during the day will burn the bottom of your feet) very clean. There are plenty of lounge chairs and lots and lots of shade. The guys that operate the included items (kayak, paddle boats, catamarans) seem friendly, they will try to push a snorkeling trip on you for 20 CUC’s each person, once you decide that you won’t do it, they really aren’t that helpful. I tried twice to get on the catamaran and both times was told they were closing one was at 4pm (apparently closing due to Thunder, the other was a 12pm, and this time the guy was closing for 1.5 hours for lunch) We took out a paddle boat and were told we could use it for 30 minutes but not even 10 minutes into it we were being told to bring it back in as they were closing. My husband was able to take out the Kayak twice and really enjoyed it. There are very few fish at this beach and the few there are will follow you as you move around, it seemed like a sort of tag game with them. The Bistro: This is an ala carte menu restaurant, while the staff is very helpful, they have once lady who seats you and takes your order, another younger lady who serves your drinks and cleans up your plates and a gentleman who delivers the food and gives you buns and butter when you are first seated. We went to this restaurant to celebrate our Anniversary (prearranged with Dania public relations). The staff decorated the table beautifully with pink ribbons, beautiful white flowers, silver stars, rose petals and white hearts. Both my husband and I had the cream of asparagus soup, the pork in fruit sauce (onion gravy) and the chocolate cake for dinner, they then surprised us with a beautiful cake that we were able to take up to our room after dinner. The soup was amazing, my pork was served to me pink and when I say pink I mean there was still blood in it, this was sent back to be cooked further, the pork is served with one table spoon of real mashed potatoes and one table spoon of mashed sweet potatoes. Hands down this was the best meal we had eaten at the resort. El Cononial (Lobby Bar): This bar is a quiet bar, they have live music in the evenings, you can also get flavoured water here (coconut, papaya and cucumber). The bartenders here are a little stricter when pouring the alcohol so you won’t get smashed off one drink. Here your drinks are served in glasses and you are not supposed to take them away, if you do just remember to bring the glass back. El Bamboo (Asian style ala carte): didn’t get to experience, we were not able to get a reservation. Coffee bar (main lobby): this is where you get all different types of coffees, the closest coffee we found that we could drink which didn’t taste and look like tar was the Americano. In the morning they also serve donuts at this location. Overall: This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in some pretty bad ones. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone as it is in dire need of repairs and quality control for the food.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-1

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX