Sandals Royal Barbados

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 1842 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Sold dates when closed - refund very difficult

    Reviewed by focuss925() on Apr 11, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    The hotel was closed for the dates we booked and we aren’t able to reschedule the dates due to work commitments but rather than offering a refund they tried to tell me there is a 50% cancellation fee when the hotel is closed.. so effectively they sold us a holiday which didn’t exist and then made us spend hours trying to get reimbursed. This hasn’t happened and they are claiming it could take 30 days. If you sell something you don’t possess and cannot fulfil and withholds someone money in life this is theft. I would strongly advise waiting for Covid to pass before booking here if you value your hard earned money.

    The Jerk Shack - Best lunch at the resort

    Reviewed by ritzymartini() on Apr 03, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A M A Z I N G food! We got the fish-in-foil each day, sometimes twice a day. Camilla was so fun and upbeat each time we stopped in. It’s right next a beautiful pool with a swim up bar, perfect stagger distance.

    Warning to Sandals Management: Don't lose your loyalist because of Covid

    Reviewed by SunWaterScuba(Oakland, CA) on Mar 22, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This review is for managing Covid reservations and not resort experience. I am reading the bad reviews, not common for Sandals so this is a warning for the company. We are Sandals fans and have stayed at almost most of them. Never before have I had to invest hours on the phone going nowhere to change booking due to various Covid reasons. Our Nov 2020 trip moved to Mar 2021 and now moved to May. Like another reviewer, the resort closed in March (as it should due to the bumpy service few experienced), we were offered 50% cancelation ......blah blah blah. Very disappointing since we didn't cancel, that was a bad move by management. Now I am waiting for Barbados to change their travel policy, we have no interest of quarantining on arrival. We can bring a PCR test, we have now proof of vaccination so another test is not in our plans. Don't need to vacation that bad. Sandals - how you handle customers changing their vacation is very important: - Honor prices that were booked before, don't try to change them, not cool. - Change dates/resort and be flexible, this will go a long way These two things will keep your base. We really don't want to turn our back on you but from 5 star you are down to 3. Keep the big picture in mind please.

    Great getaway during Covid

    Reviewed by T-Ptraveler423333() on Feb 24, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I visited Sandal's Barbados in early November, 2020. There are actually 2 Sandals resorts that are side by side, and we were scheduled to have a swim out room at the older resort, but due to Covid, the rooms on this side were closed, so we were upgraded to a swim out room at the new resort. Our overall experience was great, as we felt very fortunate to get away at all during the pandemic. We have been to other Sandals resorts, and this one by far had the best food, and the service was also excellent. Face masks were required when entering most of the buildings, but not while in the pool or walking around outside. The resort was almost too quiet, however, as Britain had imposed a travel ban 2 weeks prior to our arrival, so most of the folks from Britain had already gone home, so it was just folks from the US that were there, for the most part. A couple of notes about travel. Coming into Barbados was not a pleasant experience, as there was a 2.5 hour wait to clear what I would call the "Health Ministry", which is basically a one on one interview with a government agent who told us what was required due to Covid 19. This could easily have been done using TV monitors and running a continuous loop, but that is not how it worked. There was a "fast pass" that was offered by Sandals, and I would highly recommend it, as the people that took this route were through the airport in 15 minutes. When leaving Barbados, make sure you check with your airline carrier to find out if you need any special documents because of the pandemic. We especially appreciated a couple of folks at Butch's Chop House that we would like to recognize. Kadeem was a fantastic server that went above and beyond, and Chef Ashley prepared a fantastic dinner for us.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Never Again Sandals! Pond Sand

    Reviewed by Johnnje21() on Feb 19, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We had booked Sandals Royal Barbados for March 13, 2021. They ended up not opening the hotel for covid reasons announcing 2/16 (no problem). After asking for a refund, they said by policy only 50% can be refunded do to "us" canceling. Policy they kept saying... after being hung up on by an agent, finally being fed up with not getting anywhere, we decided to take the offer and go to St. Lucia and the room available was a $1,500 difference which by policy we are "penalized" 50% of that. Imagine? Nope, it's a reality. I'm sure St. Lucia will be amazing but it's not what we wanted and certainly not our fault the resort wasn't open for us and look at this so called 5 star hotel bullying people into taking a loss so they don't have to. Apparently, US courts have no jurisdiction over them so good luck in a Jamaican courthouse....I hope secrets will enjoy my long, very, very long future business. I own my own company and would never do this to a client. We might just call and have CC company recall funds. A simple refund would have kept my business but Sandals can forever pound sand!!